Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill

Simple, healthy cooking starts with this French enameled cast-iron grill pan - it performs equally well indoors or out. Use it to grill up everything from fresh seasonal vegetables to sizzling steaks and shrimp. High ridges sear food with authentic grill marks, while keeping it separated from fatty drippings. Slender grill pan fits over a single burner on your stovetop or outdoor grill - or use it under the broiler. Cast iron absorbs and distributes heat evenly, then retains high heat for perfect searing. Durable, nonreactive black enameled interior requires no seasoning, and it's simple to clean. Colorful porcelain-enameled exterior makes the pan handsome enough for table service. Extra-wide loop handles are easy to grasp, even when you're wearing bulky oven mitts. Dishwasher safe. 13" x 8 1/2". Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LauraTX
,South Jordan
,UT
September 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice piece but overrated
September 16, 2014
We bought this piece after hearing rave reviews about the company. We're not super impressed with the grill- it's a pain to clean, smokes if anything is left on it and doesn't seem any better than other grill pans we've bought. Also, the bottom chipped after the first use (and we just took it in/out of the oven). I expected better given the price and how small it is.
Pros: Shape
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SammyNC
,Southport
,NC
August 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect grill for two
August 29, 2014
This is a perfect size grill for my wife and myself. Fits over one burner nicely. Grilled a NY Strip to try it out and it was absolutely perfect! Grill is easy to clean as long as food hasn't been heavily marinaded. Let the grill cool before soaking or cleaning. Keep a gas burner at med/low for good results.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bobrj
,Prospect Heights
,IL
July 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfit Fit and Good Grillin'
July 22, 2014
Just got this grill.
Yes, it needs to be "very hot" before you place the item on grill..."oil" the grill before it heats up...use canola oil or other low smoke oil.
For cleaning...let it cool down completely before adding hot water and some liquid detergent...soak for a very "long" time...clean with a plastic brush if you have raised grill feature ...and finish off with regular dish washing light scrub cloth and soap....rinse and dry....no need to "season.
Fits on our new gas stove "perfectly" over the center burner.
Enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Shape
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexxx
,Austin
,TX
July 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
all-time favorite pan
July 4, 2014
This is my first cast iron Le Creuset piece. I used it for the first time today to cook beef sliders and turkey burgers. It was a bit tricky to preheat to an even high temperature, because this is the first time I've ever cooked with cast iron. All in all, after some adjustments, my burgers were great, with perfect sear marks. The pan heated evenly, and was the perfect size--it fit about 8-10 sliders. The ocean color is absolutely gorgeous.
The pan was very easy to clean, despite the large amount of burned grease from the beef. I simply let the pan cool, added some mild soap and hot water between the ridges, and let it sit for about an hour. Then I just ran it under some hot water, and lightly went over the ridges with a soft sponge. It took about 30 seconds to clean.
I absolutely love this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Visitacion
,Rpv
,Ca
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
7of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick grilling.
May 31, 2014
It is convenient. But I would have preferred it to be nonstick. It was not easy to clean after grilling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UVB1
,Gilbert
,Az
January 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
20of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely difficult to clean
January 26, 2014
The first time we grilled a marinated chicken and it took forever to clean, but for the most part it came off. The second time I grilled hamburgers and it cleaned well, no marinade. I continued to use it without a marinade and I was okay with that. It worked well, but then m y husband wanted to grill teriyaki chicken breast and that was a huge mistake. I've been soaking and scrubbing for the last three hours and it still isn't clean. I would never recommend this product. My next grill pan will be stainless steel, no more coatings for me. Terribly disappointed.
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mckennarae
October 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill
October 17, 2013
We use this grill multiple times per week - I love how it heats evenly & provides more surface space than a square grill pan might. We use it for burgers, chicken, fish, etc - make sure you oil it and wait to put the meat (or whatever you are cooking) on until it is HOT (do the water test). We use it medium heat and it works perfectly since it conducts heat so well. Four stars because it can be a little bit difficult to clean with the ridges, but not too difficult as it doesn't stop us from using it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeckyJulian
September 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great indoor grill
September 4, 2013
Love this little grill. Perfect for our small farm house and regular sized stove. It is my "go to" item when I don't want to fire up the outside grill for just me and my hubby. Nice sear marks on steaks, burgers, chicken. I still don't have the veggies down yet, but I'm working on it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SKMS
,Miami
,FL
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
19of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Item but need better instructions
August 5, 2013
Was looking for something like this for ages. I bought this in the hopes of being able to grill smaller portions for which firing up the grill doesn't seem logical. A little disappointed because the food sticks very easily even on low heat. Took me several days, several soaks and gentle scrubbing to get the burnt marinade off of the grill. The food was cooked well with the exception of the sticking despite the seasoning with oil. Use more oil and it starts frying the food instead. I'm going to try salmon tonight over a much lower heat. Fingers crossed otherwise it's going back.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, food can stick easily
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
BeckyJulian
Posted September 4, 2013
A heating tip
This is a grill that needs to heat in advance over slow and steady heat to bring to the proper temp for cooking. I sit it on my stove top for 10 minutes - I have electric stove :-( I noticed that another reviewer put it in the oven to preheat - sounds like a good idea. The preheat makes a huge difference. If the grill isn't hot enough, or isn't seasoned with a little oil, things will stick. Good luck!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Teagerin
NJ
Posted August 7, 2013
Try, Try Again
I had the same issues that you had when I purchased this grill - I was so disappointed. Then I called my Dad who instructed me to fry bacon in it and it will work beautifully thereafter. He was right! I have now given this grill as a gift a few times...but ALWAYS with the instruction to cook bacon in it first, even if you don't eat it, give it to a neighbor! Hope this helps whoever reads it.
+4points
4of 4found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeCreusetLover
,Minneapolis
,Mn
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this grill!
June 25, 2013
This grill is so handy. It fits perfectly on the elongated center burner of my gas range. Great design. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LoveToGrill33
,Chicago
,IL
April 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my new grill!
April 18, 2013
I have been looking for an indoor grill for a long time. I wanted to avoid getting an electric grill and I wanted a grill that would maintain it's temperature without burning food. I was also concerned about smoke. I ordered this grill last week and have used it a few times already. I have to say I absolutely love it. I put it in the oven at about 375 degrees to get it hot and then I move it to the stove top. It really doesn't need a hotter oven because it reaches a high temperature at that level. I've grilled meats and vegetables and so far I am super impressed with the quality. The food tastes great. I haven't had issues with smoke either.
The only downside is that it's a bit small and not long enough to lay across two burners. It would be perfect it it were just a few inches longer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, temperature is evenly distributed
Cons: Size
Review 12 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CEmom
April 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+25points
29of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't broil with this
April 11, 2013
The sales pitch says can be used to Broil but the manufacturer's instructions say do not use in an oven hotter than 375.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Katie, Cookware BuyerApril 24, 2013
Hi CEmom,
I have confirmed with Le Creuset that the Skinny Grill pan is indeed broiler-safe. It sounds like you may have received the wrong care manual with your product. The maximum allowable temperature that you mentioned sounds similar to that of products with the old (type A) black phenolic lid knob. Since the Skinny Grill has no such knob, you don’t have to worry about temperature restrictions. I will email you a new care manual so that you will have the correct information for your product. I’m so sorry for the confusion. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
-Katie.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CEmom
Cape Elizabeth, maine
Posted April 25, 2013
Thanks for the quick response. I have used it to broil and it works great!.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KJacksonvilleFL
,Jacksonville
,FL
Jacksonville, FL
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+82points
86of 90found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite grill pan!!
March 11, 2013
I have 2 of these that I use in my oven. I put it in a cold oven & pre-heat to 450'F then before I put whatever food I am cooking on the pan I paint it with oil with a silicone brush. Then cook your food. Allow to cool when finished, then squirt on a little Dawn detergent & soak for about 30 mins & I scrub with a brush. It cleans up sooo easily this way. I LOVE this shape because it's larger than the square or round pans and I store my 2 pans standing up lengthwise beside my large pots & they take up less space than those with long handles. I could also get 2 of these side by side in my small wall oven. I am so glad to see WS finally carrying this piece of Le Creuset!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design