Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill

Simple, healthy cooking starts with Le Creuset's enameled cast-iron grill pan, which performs equally well indoors or out. Ideal for everything from vegetables to steaks and shrimp, high ridges sear food with authentic grill marks, elevating food from fatty drippings. 13" x 8 1/2". Cast iron absorbs and distributes heat evenly, then retains high heat for perfect searing. Durable, nonreactive black enameled interior requires no seasoning, and it's simple to clean. Slender grill pan fits over a single burner on your stovetop or outdoor grill - or use it under the broiler. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
43 of 54(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
June 17, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This grill is not your friend
June 17, 2016
I have used this at least 10 times and each time I want to love it and not regret this purchase. However, it just doesn't cut it or live up to the positive reviews or expectations for an indoor grill. For example, I typically use it for thin chicken cutlets. If the chicken breast isn't completely flat, you have to work hard to get it to cook evenly (I test it with a thermometer. The ends especially if they "puff" up, are under temperature while the flatter part of the chicken is at 165. It's a pain to clean (you really aren't supposed to put it in the dishwasher per a WS salesperson) but using Bon Ami does clean off most of the grease. If you think this will cook your food quickly, it won't. It seems to take longer to cook chicken or hamburgers on this grill than a regular skillet or fry pan. It's easy to store because it's small but you can only cook 2 whole chicken breast cutlets at a time (fyi). It's mediocre at best. I probably should have returned it.
Pros: Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Elizabethtown
,Ky
June 9, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just used this for the first time
June 9, 2016
I grilled asparagus on this little grill and it could not have been better or easier to use. It heated quickly, did not make a mess and was easy to clean. The asparagus was delicious. This little piece is a real find!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NY, NY
June 8, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill
June 8, 2016
Love this grill, heats well and cooks food very well. Easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Quality, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Cleveland
,oh
June 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
griddle sticks
June 8, 2016
so surprised for a Le Creuset item. it was too small once I set it on my stove top and I grilled shrimp kabobs and they stuck terribly. could not get it clean.
I have a number of other Le Creuset pieces and absolutely LOVE everyone of them. this one was a dud.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Fleetwood
,PA
June 3, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill
June 3, 2016
We use this grill when we are cooking for just the 2 of us or when the weather is not good for cooking outside. Convenient. Tasty dishes. Cooks pork, beef, chicken, vegetables with beautiful grill lines. Cleans well after pan is seasoned. Thinking about ordering another when we need to cook for more people.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Kent
,Wa
April 19, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty only
April 19, 2016
This grill is so beautiful, and it did a lovely job cooking our chicken, but we have used it twice and have found it extremely difficult to clean; in fact, I would go so far as to say it is impossible to clean it so it looks as beautiful as it did before we used it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Cookware MerchantApril 25, 2016
For stuck on food try adding a little water to the grill and bring to a boil on the stove. This should help release those hard to get bits. Be very careful when pouring the hot water off after cleaning
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
LovedNana
Posted May 12, 2016
Thank you
Thank you for the tip. It isn't good as new, but it is a lot better.
0points
Customer avatar
marelovesWS
CA
Posted May 2, 2016
CLEAN AS GOOD AS NEW!
I use Bar Keeper's Friend with all of my Le Creuset and Staub products. My skinny griddle is as good as new every time I wash it! And I use my Skinny Griddle 2-3 times a week! http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/bar-keepers-friend-cleanser-polish/?&&utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
April 14, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Feels just like grilling outside.
April 14, 2016
Very good little grill for the stove top! Grilled chicken, burgers, even veggies come out great. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
Review 8 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
April 10, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Skinny Grill
April 10, 2016
We've used our grill pan twice and love how it "grills" our fish and beef. The salmon we grilled on our stove was the best we've ever had! And it looked beautiful with the grill marks. We aren't able to have an outside BBQ, and now we can finally have amazing inside grilled meats and veggies. So exciting!
Cleaning: First time, it was a bit hard to clean. The second time, I spread the oil over the entire grill prior to grilling, put water in the pan immediately after removing the salmon and it cleaned effortlessly!
Highly recommend the Skinny Grill!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 9 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Moultrie
,Ga
March 30, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very poor design
March 30, 2016
I was very disappointed in this item. I have many LeCreuset pieces; this is the first disappointment. It is too narrow and the burner flames come up and over the sides and mean while it is too long and the ends never get to heat up. I returned it after two uses, WS was very helpful. The square design is much better.
Cons: Shape, uneven heat pattern
Review 10 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Petersburg
,Fl
March 6, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, love this pan
March 6, 2016
This is my first Le Creuset piece and I love it. I use it for almost everything, roasting vegetables, cooking steak, chicken etc
Cooks evenly and everything is moist
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 11 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange County
,CA
February 21, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Indoor Grilling Pan
February 21, 2016
It is the right size to use easily, every day.
Cleans up easy too. Stores great. Anything I use it for turns out spectacular. I'm using it more often than I thought I would!
Love grilling asparagus and lamb chops on it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, great results
Review 12 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,FAIRFIELD
,CT
January 31, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best stovetop grill pan...
January 31, 2016
Have one of these and recently gifted my daughter with another. Its the best pan for low fat grilling indoors. Le Creuset pots and pans are of unequaled quality. Many in my collection are more than 20 years old, and still used everyday. Highly recommend.
Review 13 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Manitowoc
,Wi
January 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the skinny grill
January 22, 2016
Love it. Great to use. Heat pan to medium or medium low before adding oil. I prefer canola. You probably don't need as much oil as you think. I like to brush it around with one of those rubbery brushes. As other have said, don't turn until food is crushed.
Clean up has been easy. Little Dawn ,Soak if necessary, lightly scrub with non abrasive pad, rinse and dry.
Love and use my other LeCreuset pieces often.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 14 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
January 14, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great grill
January 14, 2016
I got this grill as a gift and i love it! You do not need high heat. Med-High is the best. Let your pan heat up then put oil or food if oil not needed. Let your meat cook then flip. Many people make the mistake of removing food before it has naturally released. That creates a mess then harder to clean.
I let my grill soak while its warm and use a rubber scraper to remove food particles in between. DO NOT USE SOAP! Then I take my sponge or brush to clean thoroughlly. I love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Easy to Store
Review 15 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Harbor Springs
,MI
January 13, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brilliant!
January 13, 2016
Easy to use, easy to clean and the meals are delicious. I can't wait to try more recipes. It's not too heavy and looks great on my stove top.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, gorgeous
Review 16 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Boston
,MA
December 31, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First Piece
December 31, 2015
This is my first piece of Le Creuset and it's fantastic! I was expecting it to be much heavier and it's not, it's surprising light. I use it to grill vegetables, burgers, steak this winter and the food is equally delicious. Highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Size, Weight
Review 17 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Mystic
,CT
December 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perhaps I did something wrong?
December 28, 2015
I purchase 5 .. yes 5... of these for Christmas -- four as gifts and one for myself. My daughters are all out on their own now, living in the the city without grilling availability. So, I thought this would be a great way to grill and eat healthy. I tried it for the first time tonight to cook one steak and one pounded chicken breast. I watched the video, and followed instructions. I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED. Both the steak and chicken came our delicious, as did the grilled vegetables. Real con --the house is still smokey two hours later. It would be easier to use the outside grill, without the messy clean up. The grill pan is still in the sink soaking as I can't get it clean. I hope that my daughters have better luck. An expensive item (x5) to not like it. I may try one more time, but am saving the box and receipt for it's possible return.
Pros: Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, smokey
Review 18 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
December 24, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill - Impossible to Clean
December 24, 2015
If you are looking for a pan that will remain in pristine, clean condition use after use after use - forget this grill. Food will stick and the colored enamel will not stay pretty after your first use. That's the nature of a cast iron grill...they carbonize and that makes them non stick. Having said that, the size is perfect for making a meal for one or two.
Pros: Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 19 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Upstate
,NY
December 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I hoped the bad reviews weren't true....
December 13, 2015
Been contemplating buying this pan for over a year. Was VERY concerned about the reviews that said it was hard to clean, but then so many also said cleaning was no problem. Received it as a gift and was so excited to try it out. Pre-heated on medium heat. Well oiled. Minimal seasoning on the steak. It is MISERABLE to clean. Scrubbed it last night. Soaked overnight. Scrubbed again this AM. Still not clean. Currently soaking again. I have spent more time scrubbing the pan than I spent grilling the dinner. Very disappointing for a very
expensive item. Believe the reviewers that say it is hard to clean. Will return to store.
Pros: Color
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
miraj1090
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted December 23, 2015
Very simple trick - Don't give up in the grill.
After you are done cooking, get the water running hot as it can come from the tap - about a half a cup - and pour it into the pan. Turn the heat down to simmer and leave it there for a few minutes. If the water boils off, add a little more.
The bits will scrape off gently with a wooden spoon, allowing you can clean up the pan as though it is sparkly clean without scraping off the special coating.
Cold water immersion would likely prove disastrous as the temperature shock would most likely cause the cast iron to crack.
I have not given much thought to the science behind it, but it made sense to do this when removing the delicious, browned bits of fond from any other pot or pan.
Cast iron is low tech cooking equipment, and like anything else, it has its tricks once you figure out how to maximize its utility.
Don't give up in the grill. It is well worth the investment. You are going to love it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Rectangular Skinny Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Philadelphia
,PA
September 10, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Orange grill pan for stove top
September 10, 2015
Great pan for a great price! The pan fits very well on the stove and hears up perfectly. Clean up is very easy as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable
page1 2 3 next