Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker

Comforting casseroles and homey fruit cobblers bake beautifully in this versatile pan, thanks to its wide cooking surface and low sides. Made in France, the pan is also ideal for roasting vegetables and small cuts of meat. Cast iron coated with durable porcelain enamel distributes heat slowly and evenly. Easy-clean nonreactive interior does not require seasoning. Wide bottom and low sides ensure perfectly cooked cobblers and casseroles. Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction. Vibrant, colorful exterior for stove-to-table presentation. Small: 13 1/4" x 8 1/4" x 2 1/4" high, 2 1/2-qt. cap., 6 lb. 8 oz. Large: 15 3/4" x 10 1/4" x 2 3/4" high,5 1/4-qt. cap., 10 lb. 2 oz. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
32 of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
Review 1 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrBob
,Mt Laurel
,NJ
November 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love Le Creuset
November 8, 2013
I recently purchased the rectangular classic baker. I love it. It keeps the food warm and is easy to clean. I have several Le Creuset pieces and I am happy will all of them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jainie
,Appleton
,WI
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Much better than glass casseroles :-)
January 22, 2013
For years I have struggled with glass casserole dishes. The need for genuinely even heat distribution is most apparent in my ancient scalloped potato recipe and clean up with glass gets to be a real challenge also, as they age. Since I have been very pleased with all of my Le Creuset equipment, I decided to try this rectangular baker. Excellent. With the even cast iron core, every dish, from sweet to savory, is uniformly done and cleaning is very easy, providing a lifelong piece for my kitchen and a wonderful legacy for the grand kiddos.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 3 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ericw
,NYC
,NY
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
3of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fragile - cracked twice
October 9, 2012
I've owned two of these. Both times, they cracked right through, so i ended up with two separate pieces. Once it happened in the oven (at 400 degrees). The other time was last night. I roasted a chicken and took the pan out of the oven. It was sitting on the counter with the chicken still in it, when it split in half. Lasted about 1 year in each case. I'll never consider buying Le Creuset again.
Pros: Color, Versatile
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted November 10, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
You need to return the pans
They will replace them for you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavy and Versatile
August 1, 2012
I have the large size and even though it is quite heavy, I like the fact that you can use on the cooktop and the oven. There is virtually no clean up, as with any of the LeCreuset pieces. I have used for roasts, chickens, lasagna, and casseroles. I knew before I purchased it would be a heavy piece and although I do not use it all the time, it's a nice alternative to a stainless or glass version. It's great for the holidays, as you can take it from the oven to the table. I also recommend the LeCreuset trivet, you may need two for the large one.
Review 5 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaJC
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding piece
February 4, 2012
This is a great addition to my kitchen. I've baked and braised in it. It heats very evenly, even over one burner and is a snap to clean.
I tried making a frittata in it, but would still recommend a full nonstick surface for this vs. porcelain enamel, though the cleanup was not awful.
This is also an excellent piece for braising, because it goes from the stove to the oven. However, it needs a lid to be a true brasier. I use a same size Pyrex dish as a lid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Color, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margo78
,Juneau
,AK
Juneau, AK
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great baker
December 17, 2011
Excellent quality, like all Le Creuset. Heavy, though--especially once you get it full of lasagna. Even cooking and easy cleanup are my two favorite things about this pan, but I also love the bright, happy yellow color.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 7 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monette
New York
June 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very practical size
June 1, 2011
size fits my Breville Oven, not too big, not too small
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 8 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stirgently
Fort Lauderdale
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versitile Baker
January 25, 2011
This sturdy baking pan is the perfect size for lasagna, roast chicken and other family meals and is beautiful enough to sit on the table. My only regret is that is does not have metal handles at each end like an earlier version I purchased.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bara
PA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect size for those smaller size Roasts
December 26, 2010
I searched long and hard for a really good roasting pan for the 3 1/2 lb chicken or 5 lb. rib roast that would not smoke up my oven and cause my sensitive smoke alarm to go off every time I opened the oven door. This is just the perfect size to keep that from happening and the fond is great too.
Review 10 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunshine53
Laurel, Maryland
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite "new" baking dish
July 28, 2010
You pay for what you get and while this is a pricey purchase, its the best buy I've made in awhile. I bought this exclusively for my cobblers and I am not disappointed. Not only bakes well, but looks good on the table. Will have to save a few more $$ to purchase more Le Creuset.
Review 11 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LALAB4
May 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Purchase
May 24, 2010
I purchased this for my mother for Mother's Day and she absolutely loves it.
Review 12 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sueswa
Spokane WA.
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect baker!!
May 18, 2010
I have used the same Le Creuset baker for 25 years and am finally purchasing another. The original one is still fine, but I wanted an additional for those times when you just need one more pan. Keeps hot food hot for serving and bakes evenly all the way thru. Perfect for deep dish pies as well as lasagna. Love it.
Review 13 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJ72205
Little Rock, AR
April 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Utensil
April 10, 2010
Worked great right out of the box for baking one of Lidia Bastianich's wonderful Valdaosta casseroles.
Review 14 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clay
Falls Church, Virginia
February 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You'll get more than your just desserts
February 4, 2010
We were raised by a wonderful Southern dessert chef who happened to be my mother. While Mom could cook our Dad's New England/French cuisine beautifully, her creative talents shown when she focused on desserts. Unfortunately she never had a pan like this for her pineapple upside down cakes or cobblers. Every time that I use this pan, the evenness of baking allows for a little longer at a little lower temperature for a better blend of spices and textured viscosity that pays homage to her skills and love of cooking and entertaining. As with all Le Creuset cook and bake wear, the pan is heavy but the lip of the sides allow for a secure hold when transporting and the quality of the entire mold cradles your recipe to ensure another successful dish. The French cremes and sauces will have to wait for our next dinner party.
Review 15 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorafromRichmond
Richmond, VA
January 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Lasagna Baker
January 28, 2010
I'm just in love with all the Le Creuset products. The lasagna I made in this dish came out perfectly. The heat distributes evenly throughout the baker and it even keeps the lasagna warm throughout the entire dinner. I honestly can't wait to use it again!
Review 16 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TravellingFoodie
Toronto
January 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just a baker, it's a roasting pan too
January 28, 2010
This product does the job of two. It's the traditional size of a baker for lasagna similar to my old set of pyrex glass ones.
But it's also a roasting pan! Unlike my pyrex glass bakers, I can put this cast iron baker on my stove. This means that after I'm done roasting meats, I can deglaze the pan on the stove top and make gravy!
I don't own a dedicated roasting pan and now that I have this, I don't need one (unless it's a large turkey). I made roast lamb tonight and seared it in this baking pan and transferred it right into the oven.
I'm so happy since I have a small kitchen and space is always an issue. Finding cookware that's multi-functional always is a joy.
Review 17 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cornonthecob
Heidelberg, Germany
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have
January 15, 2010
We do a lot of entertaining, and attend pot-luck style dinners often, so this pan is wonderful! It is large enough for a crowd and keeps dishes warm. I love to prepare ahead of time, so it goes in the freezer or fridge and strait to the oven, and back to the fridge no problem. I like how quickly and even it bakes. I recomend cleaning with the Le Creuset Cast Iron Cookware Cleaner from time to time, keeps the piece looking like new!
Review 18 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BJMG
Memphis, TN
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Le Creuset Is A Winner
January 13, 2010
My wife loves her Le Creuset baker dish. In fact, she loves all of her Le Creuset pieces she has collected over the years. I purchased this baking dish for her as a surprise, and she has already made 2 or 3 dishes in it over the holidays. The cast iron means even heating and food stays hot, and the enamel coating is top-rate. It cleans relatively easily, and looks great, too! You can never go wrong with any Le Creuset. It's expensive, but worth every penny, especially if you watch Williams-Sonoma for sales on it. This stuff lasts a lifetime.
Review 19 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WCRay
Walnut Creek, CA
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
17of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SIZE??
January 10, 2010
I love Le Creuset, but...
I purchased this item to work with classic "standard" recipes. ie: 8x8 (64 square surface inches[ssi])(~5c), doubled to 9x13 (117 ssi)(~10c). The problem is usable cooking volumes with those classic recipes.
The Small baker has the advertised dimensions of 8 1/4 x 13 1/4, but when measured on the INSIDE (and not the outermost dimensions including the handles), they are ~7 1/2 x 11 1/2 . The Small Baker has approximately 86 ssi(~8c), it is neither large nor small by classic standards.
I guess that I really should have bought the Large Baker which has the advertised dimensions of 10 1/4 x 15 3/4. I esttimate that it would be 9 1/4 x 13.1/4 (~122 ssi.)
My criticism extends to only the usable dimensions = volume, and not the Le Creuset capabilities.
It will be necessary to dimension your recipes appropriately (thickness/volume and cooking time) to use the Le Creuset Bakers to their highest capabilities.
Review 20 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Rectangular Baker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathiem
Aurora, CO
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Casserole Dish
January 10, 2010
I now have both the large and small Le Creuset Rectangular Bakers and wouldn't trade either one of them for another casserole dish. Food cooks evenly and clean-up is an absolute breeze. They are wonderful additions to my other Le Creuset Cookware!
page1 2 next