Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press

Whether you're preparing Italian-style panini or all-American grilled cheese sandwiches, stovetop grilling is twice as efficient with this ridged cast-iron press. Heat the press on a burner, then place it atop the food in the pan and both sides cook at once.Cast iron absorbs heat gently, transfers it evenly and retains it well.Weighs down food for even browning and searing; great for cooking steaks, burgers and chicken breasts too.High ridges leave attractive grill marks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
konekoneko
,new york
,ny
September 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
versatile, sturdy, quick
September 19, 2012
used in conjunction with le creuset's 10" square grill pan, i use this press not just for panini, but for quickly getting the grilled element to marinated chicken, or for slightly blackened corn cobs, which i love. easy to clean, and super fast to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SOUVIDE
,Santa Fe
,NM
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Panini press and pan for sous vide steaks
September 4, 2012
Yes, I know that my nickname misspelled sous vide, but that's all the characters New Mexico will allow on a license plate!
I routinely use the Panini Press and the corresponding Panini pan to finish sear steaks that have been cooked sous vide.
Just get both the Panini pan and the press super hot on a gas burner, blot the steak dry with a paper towel, add salt and pepper and maybe a little oil, and press down to sear it, making nice grill marks.
If you want a little deeper Maillard reaction, cook the steak to about 51C, use the Panini press for the grill marks, and then sear it some more with a MAAP torch.
The steak will come out a beautiful rare/med. rare throughout, with a nicely seared exterior.
Cleans easily with a stainless steel pad.
And you can also use it for sandwiches!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeepster
Nebraska
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite!
March 21, 2011
I wanted this mainly for keeping my burgers nice and flat in the skillet while panfrying; always had a problem with burgers puffing up into a thick patty with a small diameter. This press works great! Just sit it over one burner while the skillet is heating on another and it helps speed up cooking time. As the booklet that comes with the press states, it does press out extra fat while cooking too, so you won't want to "squish" the patties too thin or they might get tough.
Haven't actually tried it for panini yet but it works great for bacon too. You can't go wrong with Le Creuset in my opinion!
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolt
San Francisco, CA
February 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than expected
February 22, 2011
This is a wonderful accessory for pressing paninis. I originally planned to buy a regular, old brick for $1.25 and use it, but find spending the extra for this a worthwhile purchase even though the two work just as well.
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quel77
Eugene, OR
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I survive without it?
September 20, 2010
Has a wonderful weight and the size fits my Le Creuset Reversible Square Griddle/Grill perfectly. I even love using it for bacon as well as sandwiches.
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4MileCreekChef
H-town, Texas
February 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use Panini Press for the best steak ever!
February 18, 2010
I heat the press and the square panini pan to 500 degrees (note: you may need to buy the 10$ stainless handle as the 500 degrees will occasionally crack the plastic top).
Move the griddle to a burner on high and sear your steaks (seasoned only with sea salt and black pepper) 2 minutes (with the heated panini press on top). Then flip and turn the panini press 90 degress for the perfect cross grill marks. After a total of 4 minutes (2 on each side) move to the already heated 500 degree oven with a William Sonoma thermometer in the steak and cook to 124 degree internal temp ( for a steak cooked medium rare)--- note I usually don't keep the panini press on in the oven. Once the 124 temp is reached-- take out of the oven and put the steaks on a plate. It will continue cooking rising to about 135-140 or so by 5 minutes which is the perfect serving termperature.
Enjoy!! It will taste like a high dollar steak house.
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lemony
Maryland
July 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How to use with glass top range
July 28, 2009
I was also disappointed to have not learned until after purchasing this item that it is not intended to be used with glass top ranges. I have come up with a way to use it, though--I preheated the press (the piece with the knob) in my oven at 400F for 15 minutes rather than preheating it on a burner. When making multiple sandwiches, I return the press to the hot oven in between sandwiches. I did have to flip the sandwich because the grill pan was a little hotter than the press, but this was easy, and it did not affect the grill marks on the sandwich.
Review 8 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KarenFL
Orlando, FL
January 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not good for glass top stoves
January 6, 2009
I was very excited to get this press. After reading through the booklet that came with it, I found out it is not suitable for use on glass cooktops. Apparently the press does not get hot enough to work effectively.
Quite a let down as this was not mentioned in the description at all. :(
Review 9 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Panini Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoAnnKG
Dallas, TX
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
5of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Limited uses
September 3, 2008
I bought this to go with a grill pan which I used once and have not used again. I think it would be good to make paninis although it is very heavy and might squish the bread flat. The grill pan does not produce the desired results for me so I grill outside year round and don't use this press much. It might be good for bacon but I have not tried that.