Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet

Whether you're cooking on a stovetop or an outdoor grill, this enameled cast-iron skillet performs impeccably. Its ample elongated shape is ideally suited to cooking everything from a pork loin or whole fish to generous portions of seasonal vegetables.Cast iron coated with durable porcelain enamel distributes heat slowly and evenly.Easy-clean nonreactive interior does not require seasoning.Excellent for searing, sauteing, blackening and panfrying.Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction.Vibrant, colorful exterior for stove-to-table presentation.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
Review 1 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luv2Cook25
,Broomfield
,CO
March 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Everything Pan
March 7, 2013
This pan is incredible! I was worried based on other reviews that this might be too big for my stovetop but I was pleased when I opened the box and found this skillet to be large but not too large. Even though it's bigger than my burner, the entire pan heats up and cooks beautifully because it's cast iron. I find myself reaching for this pan a lot because it can do everything! I love that it can go from stovetop to oven to table. The red is a great color!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Weight, Size
Review 2 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GiavannaMaria
fargo
July 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Magnifico!
July 10, 2011
I got this skillet for mother's day a few years back. I thought it was so weird looking and didn't think I would really be using it. WOW! Was I wrong! This is my absolute favorite pan I have ever owned! I use it so much, that I don't even bother to put it away anymore, I just leave it on the stove-top so it's always ready to use. I am always discovering new uses for it. Great for a creative and/or gourmet cook. Also wonderful if you cook for a large family. It's not hard to store either, when I need it out of the way it fits nicely in the oven. Very Highly Recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 3 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatMomToo
Eastern Idaho
June 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better Roast Chicken with the Oval Skillet
June 27, 2011
I like to butterfly and oven roast a chicken, especially in winter. With the oval skillet, I can sear the breast, flip the bird over, and finish the cooking in a hot oven. The chicken develops more flavor and better pan drippings than with a conventional roasting pan! The chicken cooks evenly and when it's done I can make a flavorful sauce or gravy. Yum!! I think the skillet will also be terrific for a large fillet of salmon or a pork tenderloin.
The pan requires two hands to move it into the oven (due to the size and weight) and might be a bit difficult to store, too. But for me, the cooking advantages greatly outweigh these concerns!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gourmetgoddess
Columbia, MD
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
electric stove not helpful
December 26, 2010
I know this is a good pan so I gave it 5 stars - my experience of not having a great stove to accommodate the length was disappointing. I thought it would fit nicely over two burners but it actually only covers one and 1/2 so the other side of the pan is useless with an electric stove unless you just want to pushed cooked food to the side?
recommend measuring the space with both burners before buying.
Looking forward to giving it another go when we get a better stove.
Review 5 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abycats
Manhattan
December 20, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useful over two burners
December 20, 2008
The long length of this pan lends itself to being placed over two burners to cook pancakes or grilled cheese sandwiches. The elongated shape is also ideal for cooking several things in the same pan. Tonight I oven roasted potatoes with a bit of olive oil, butter, rosemary and garlic. When done, I moved the skillet to the top of the stove, pushing the potatoes to one end to quickly cook some scallops on the pre-warmed other end. A dream to clean on top of it all. Am sure already that this will be one I reach for often despite the weight. Very pleased.
Review 6 for Le Creuset Classic Cast-Iron Oval Skillet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LHnyc
NYC
December 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is really useful. Highly recommend.
December 3, 2008
I was really ambivalent about buying this. It is a weird shape and I thought maybe I would only use it for one thing - frying fish. I knew I needed it for that and ultimately gave in. Turns out, the shape fits in my broiler perfectly so I can broil 2 little chickens in it in 20 minutes - or broil a whole fish or cook a pork tenderloin.
The shape is remarkably useful. It also fits well in the dishwasher. Obviously, since it's Le Creuset it works brilliantly, looks cool etc. But I'm using this pan more than my 12'' round one.
Highly recommend!