Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin

Patterned after archived designs, Le Creuset's Heritage collection re-creates the enameled cast-iron cookware that Chuck Williams brought over from France over half a century ago. These traditional gratin pans are ideal for baking everything from egg dishes to roasting a chicken. Cast iron body distributes heat slowly and evenly for uniform cooking and optimal browning. Sand-colored enamel interior resists staining and chipping and makes it easy to monitor cooking process for less sticking and burning. Oven-to-table piece helps keep foods warm for serving. Dishwasher safe for fast, convenient cleanup. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
Review 1 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WhatsCookinGoodLookin
,Annapolis
,MD
Annapolis, MD
February 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More Versitle Than I Thought
February 26, 2015
I have a large gratin and several small gratins in cast iron. I have use the large dish for roasting veggies. Either the large or small are great for family or individual services of mac and cheese, scalloped potatoes, shepherd's pie, yams, cobbler, roasting strawberries, and more. Left-overs are always wonderful when stored, reheated and served in the small gratin dishes. The heritage collection in particular makes a nice aesthetic transition from stove/oven to table. I've received many complements on them, and fellow foodies love them as gifts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 2 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEKD
February 5, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
February 5, 2015
Le Creuset has a widely available line of stoneware bakeware but only a few pieces are available in enameled cast iron. I bought the 14" gratin and I am pretty confident that my stoneware and pyrex are going into retirement.
I preheated the dish last night when I prepared a lasagna and the finished product was beautifully baked through and through. The noodles on the bottom layer were just as well done as those on the top. I'm excited to use this dish for preparing casseroles and even appetizers for guests.
It's quite heavy, of course, and unlike other enameled cast iron LC products, the bottom of the dish has the cast iron exposed instead of coated. That doesn't make a big difference to me, but it's worth bearing in mind and you will want to ensure that the bottom is bone dry when you're done cleaning it. Cleanup, however, is a breeze with a bit of soft soap and a sponge.
This gratin dish would be tough to break, although you still have to be careful not to chip the enamel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
radioviejo
,Medellin
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-16points
1of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It´s a nice kitchen piece, but in the second use o
December 12, 2013
I was very happy when received it, and use it inmediatly, in the second use when was over the stove it broke in 3 pieces.
Cons: Fragile
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer avatar
smcinSF
San Francisco, CA
Posted April 17, 2015
this is a baking dish not for the stovetop
I have had the cast iron enameled one for over 40 years and it sill works just perfectly.
0points
Customer avatar
kass413
PA
Posted January 25, 2015
A different problem
This is in response to the gratin dish that broke into 3 pieces. I have one and it was manufactured in France, no problem. I think the main issue here is where it is made. Need I say more? Williams/Sonoma just doesn't get it when it comes to CHINA. Very disappointing.
0points
Customer avatar
melesine
Posted December 8, 2014
Don't use stoneware on the stove
It sounds like you must have bought the stoneware version, which is no stovetop safe.
0points
Customer avatar
BabsieBaby
USA
Posted November 16, 2014
Inaccurate Review
Cast iron doesn't break. You must've purchased the stoneware au gratin dish which is way more fragile than cast iron.
0points
Customer avatar
fullmoon
tulsa,ok
Posted June 26, 2014
cast iron breaks?
Are you sure this was the cast iron and not the earthen ware? I have heard of the cast iron chipping in a fall but not into pieces.
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 4 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanceMamaE
,San Diego
,CA
December 5, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can use with the broiler!
December 5, 2013
I love this baker. I use it to make tritop nachos - quick and easy with the broiler and the nachos stay warm during the games since this is cast iron (stoneware bakers should not be used with the broiler!). I can get a wonderful crisp topping with my lobster mac cheese in this baker. Au Gratins of course. And I make my Irish Whiskey Stew with Masher Topping and broil the top. This is used quite a bit in my home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Ellsworth
,ME
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Favorite
September 29, 2013
Another excellent Le Creuset pan I will be using a lot
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile!!
August 25, 2013
I can't believe all the uses I have found for this piece. Au gratins? Sure. But roasting veggies, stuffing at thanksgiving, cobblers and crisps, cinnamon buns! This pan has a million uses!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Literally a must have
July 26, 2013
I use my au gratin so much I never put it away. I love to saute vegetable for a savory bread pudding right in it, then add the remaining ingredients and finish in the oven.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 8 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlsva
,VA
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite
February 10, 2013
This is probably my favorite piece in the kitchen and I have surely bored friends to tears with my raves. I mainly use this to roast vegetables and for that purpose it can't be beat. Wether I'm aiming for crispy kale chips, tender crisp asparagus, or caramelized root vegetables this is the baker to use. It's also the perfect size for 1-2 servings of chicken or fish with vegetables around. As others comment I find LC easy to clean. Worst case you soak it with hot water and a drop of soap and within 30 minutes it's a breeze.
I have over the years used a cheaper handed down enamel coated cast iron pan, heavy duty cookie sheets and even pyrex for different vegs when I felt I needed sides to keep things contained and my results were truly disappointing when compared to using this baker. I highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 9 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picassosfist
,New York
,NY
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always Great
January 26, 2012
As always, Creuset makes a great product. Be sure to get the cast-iron version of their stuff rather than the stoneware. The stoneware falls apart/breaks/cracks VERY easily, whereas this stuff will be amazing forever.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight