Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin

Patterned after vintage designs found in Le Creuset's archives, the Heritage collection re-creates the enameled cast-iron cookware that Chuck Williams brought over from France over half a century ago. These traditional gratin pans are ideal for baking everything from egg dishes to hearty vegetable gratins, and the larger pan can double as a roaster for chicken, pork loin or smaller beef roasts. Beloved by generations of chefs, the pieces offer flawless performance and stove-to-table versatility. Cast iron body distributes heat slowly and evenly for uniform cooking and optimal browning. Sand-colored enamel interior resists staining and chipping and makes it easy to monitor cooking process for less sticking and burning. Oven-to-table piece helps keep foods warm for serving. Dishwasher safe for fast, convenient cleanup. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
Review 1 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
radioviejo
,Medellin
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It´s a nice kitchen piece, but in the second use o
December 12, 2013
I was very happy when received it, and use it inmediatly, in the second use when was over the stove it broke in 3 pieces.
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanceMamaE
,San Diego
,CA
December 5, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can use with the broiler!
December 5, 2013
I love this baker. I use it to make tritop nachos - quick and easy with the broiler and the nachos stay warm during the games since this is cast iron (stoneware bakers should not be used with the broiler!). I can get a wonderful crisp topping with my lobster mac cheese in this baker. Au Gratins of course. And I make my Irish Whiskey Stew with Masher Topping and broil the top. This is used quite a bit in my home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Ellsworth
,ME
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Favorite
September 29, 2013
Another excellent Le Creuset pan I will be using a lot
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile!!
August 25, 2013
I can't believe all the uses I have found for this piece. Au gratins? Sure. But roasting veggies, stuffing at thanksgiving, cobblers and crisps, cinnamon buns! This pan has a million uses!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Literally a must have
July 26, 2013
I use my au gratin so much I never put it away. I love to saute vegetable for a savory bread pudding right in it, then add the remaining ingredients and finish in the oven.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlsva
,VA
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite
February 10, 2013
This is probably my favorite piece in the kitchen and I have surely bored friends to tears with my raves. I mainly use this to roast vegetables and for that purpose it can't be beat. Wether I'm aiming for crispy kale chips, tender crisp asparagus, or caramelized root vegetables this is the baker to use. It's also the perfect size for 1-2 servings of chicken or fish with vegetables around. As others comment I find LC easy to clean. Worst case you soak it with hot water and a drop of soap and within 30 minutes it's a breeze.
I have over the years used a cheaper handed down enamel coated cast iron pan, heavy duty cookie sheets and even pyrex for different vegs when I felt I needed sides to keep things contained and my results were truly disappointing when compared to using this baker. I highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picassosfist
,New York
,NY
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always Great
January 26, 2012
As always, Creuset makes a great product. Be sure to get the cast-iron version of their stuff rather than the stoneware. The stoneware falls apart/breaks/cracks VERY easily, whereas this stuff will be amazing forever.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
river08
Bakersfield, CA
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for smaller casseroles
March 14, 2011
Since we are now empty nesters, I use this all the time for lasagna, chicken and noodles, etc, and it serves two, with a bit leftover for lunch. I have had this, a smaller one, and some augratins, all in the cast iron, for 30+ years, in a brown color. These and my saucepans with wood handles, and my small and large dutch ovens, have stood the tet of time. My daughter inherited grandma's flame oval oven, and loves it.
Review 9 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traugott
Kensington, MD
July 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Gratin, Versatile for Other Dishes
July 8, 2010
This baker browns nicely on top without burning around the sides or on the bottom and is beautiful enough to go on the table. I am only sorry that the Sonoma Green color has been discontinued.
Review 10 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennieG
Connecticut
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
30+years and still going!
February 23, 2010
I purchased this au gratin baker 30 some years age as part of a Le Creuset set. My kids have stolen the rest of the set, but no way are they getting this one. It is an ugly orangey color, since discontinued, but it is the best for all kinds of baking. Always used for baked fish. It is also almost indestructable. Love it!
Review 11 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nctrains
Raleigh, NC
January 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite dish for fish
January 31, 2010
White fish (catfish, flounder, etc.) filets look great and taste wonderful when oven fried in this pan. We will probably never use a different pan for fish in the oven.
Review 12 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
j458
Georgia
January 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great baking dish, pretty, too.
January 22, 2010
I love my new Le Creuset oval au gratin. It is perfect for preparing and serving an extra large portion when the whole family is together, and it is pretty.
Review 13 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doryce
Houston, Texas
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Le Creuset
January 15, 2010
Can't do better than this. They are a bit weighty but if you have the strength, they give you the optimum tools for the job.
Love the color, love the finish, love the size
Review 14 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeoLady
Houston, Texas
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for baked dips
January 9, 2010
I have now used this for my spinach and artichoke dip several times. It holds a double batch and is perfect for serving the dip out of the oven and keeping it warm.
Review 15 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MScott
Wylie, TX
October 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny!
October 19, 2009
Love the "slate" color. Wish they would make more in this color. I've tried several other "French" cookware products and you get what you pay for. This is the top of the line and is worth every penny. This will be passed down for generations!!
Review 16 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patsy1watsy
Troy Michigan
October 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LeCreuset Apple Cavort to Autumn
October 1, 2009
I absolutely love my new AuGratin pan. I got my favorite folks together >
kids / grandkids / good friends < to celebrate the Labor Day holiday and wanted to transition into the new autumn season. With my recent purchase in the warm autumn "flame" color I make a homemade apple pie...yes home made from the crust to the last spice and baked it in as a cassarole for all to love and enjoy. The reviews were all thumbs up for the entire package.
LeCreuset is on the top of my list.
Review 17 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emmapug
Vienna, VA
July 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best baking dish ever
July 25, 2009
This is the best dish for baking many of my favorites: scalloped potatoes, cauliflower au gratin, eggplant parmigiana, and New Orleans style eggplant and shrimp casserole. In a hot convection oven, it yields a georgeous brown crust on both the top and bottom of the casserole. It was worth every penny and I'm considering buying a second one to have on hand for the holidays as it can't be beat.
Review 18 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kikib
Sunnyvale, CA
April 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOYAL Le Creuset Fan
April 15, 2009
This Le Creuset product is an excellent multi purpose baking dish. It is durable & cooks & retains heat evenly. A must have in any kitchen.
Review 19 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SugarCookieBrooklyn
Brooklyn, NY
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A classic!
February 5, 2009
This is a great multi-purpose dish. Normally I take a while to make a decision, comaring different brands, styles but in this case I was having a dinner party and needed this exact size for a shrimp scampi dish (Ina Garten's recipe - WOW!! A hit!) so I bought it quickly to arrive in time. It's goregous (I bought it in Dune) - food cooked beautifully and evenly thanks to the heavy bottom and looked elegant on my table. I find myself looking for certain recipes...just to use it again! I would use it as just a serving platter too, it's that nice.
Review 20 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pam549
Alexandria, Va
February 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this cookware.
February 2, 2009
I used the Au Gratin last night for my Yorkshire Pudding....perfect. The pan also solved my problem of how to get the pudding to the table (which used to be cooked in the roaster) and keep it warm during the meal. No more left- over cold Yorkshire Pudding at my house!!
page1 2 next