Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin

Patterned after vintage designs found in Le Creuset's archives, the Heritage collection re-creates the enameled cast-iron cookware that Chuck Williams brought over from France over half a century ago. These traditional gratin pans are ideal for baking everything from egg dishes to hearty vegetable gratins, and the larger pan can double as a roaster for chicken, pork loin or smaller beef roasts. Beloved by generations of chefs, the pieces offer flawless performance and stove-to-table versatility. Cast iron body distributes heat slowly and evenly for uniform cooking and optimal browning. Sand-colored enamel interior resists staining and chipping and makes it easy to monitor cooking process for less sticking and burning. Oven-to-table piece helps keep foods warm for serving. Dishwasher safe for fast, convenient cleanup. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
Review 1 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
radioviejo
,Medellin
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-11points
1of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It´s a nice kitchen piece, but in the second use o
December 12, 2013
I was very happy when received it, and use it inmediatly, in the second use when was over the stove it broke in 3 pieces.
Cons: Fragile
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
melesine
Posted December 8, 2014
Don't use stoneware on the stove
It sounds like you must have bought the stoneware version, which is no stovetop safe.
0points
Customer avatar
BabsieBaby
USA
Posted November 16, 2014
Inaccurate Review
Cast iron doesn't break. You must've purchased the stoneware au gratin dish which is way more fragile than cast iron.
0points
Customer avatar
fullmoon
tulsa,ok
Posted June 26, 2014
cast iron breaks?
Are you sure this was the cast iron and not the earthen ware? I have heard of the cast iron chipping in a fall but not into pieces.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanceMamaE
,San Diego
,CA
December 5, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can use with the broiler!
December 5, 2013
I love this baker. I use it to make tritop nachos - quick and easy with the broiler and the nachos stay warm during the games since this is cast iron (stoneware bakers should not be used with the broiler!). I can get a wonderful crisp topping with my lobster mac cheese in this baker. Au Gratins of course. And I make my Irish Whiskey Stew with Masher Topping and broil the top. This is used quite a bit in my home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Ellsworth
,ME
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Favorite
September 29, 2013
Another excellent Le Creuset pan I will be using a lot
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile!!
August 25, 2013
I can't believe all the uses I have found for this piece. Au gratins? Sure. But roasting veggies, stuffing at thanksgiving, cobblers and crisps, cinnamon buns! This pan has a million uses!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Literally a must have
July 26, 2013
I use my au gratin so much I never put it away. I love to saute vegetable for a savory bread pudding right in it, then add the remaining ingredients and finish in the oven.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlsva
,VA
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite
February 10, 2013
This is probably my favorite piece in the kitchen and I have surely bored friends to tears with my raves. I mainly use this to roast vegetables and for that purpose it can't be beat. Wether I'm aiming for crispy kale chips, tender crisp asparagus, or caramelized root vegetables this is the baker to use. It's also the perfect size for 1-2 servings of chicken or fish with vegetables around. As others comment I find LC easy to clean. Worst case you soak it with hot water and a drop of soap and within 30 minutes it's a breeze.
I have over the years used a cheaper handed down enamel coated cast iron pan, heavy duty cookie sheets and even pyrex for different vegs when I felt I needed sides to keep things contained and my results were truly disappointing when compared to using this baker. I highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Oval Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picassosfist
,New York
,NY
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always Great
January 26, 2012
As always, Creuset makes a great product. Be sure to get the cast-iron version of their stuff rather than the stoneware. The stoneware falls apart/breaks/cracks VERY easily, whereas this stuff will be amazing forever.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight