Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven

This special anniversary edition of Le Creuset's classic Dutch oven is an essential for collectors of the company's colorful enameled cast-iron cookware. Called the Mariner's Star oven, it features a distinctive raised pattern of a sailor's compass rose on the lid. Available only at Williams-Sonoma, Mariner's Star is being released in a limited production run of 1925 ovens to commemorate the year Le Creuset was founded. One-time, limited-edition release of 1925 ovens with a mariner's star design and stainless-steel knob on lid. Each oven is marked with a series number on the lid knob and comes with a certificate of authenticity and numbered medallion. Cast iron retains and distributes heat evenly, perfect for slow-simmered soups, stews and braises. Enameled finish resists staining, dulling and chipping and requires no additional seasoning. Light sand color of interior enamel makes it easy to monitor cooking progress and prevent sticking and burning. Dishwasher safe for fast, convenient cleanup. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KannaC
,Escondido
,CA
January 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A star addition to my kitchen
January 29, 2015
I was so excited to order and receive this exclusive Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven, that I was on pin's and needles with anticipation. It did not disappoint, and I used it that day to cook up some homemade chicken stock. It cooks so evenly, and weighs so little compared to another brand, that I knew that it would be my favorite piece in my cooking arsenal. Plus, it is so beautiful to look at, that I leave it on the stovetop and smile every time I see it! Definitely makes me want to cook all the time! Homemade soups here I come!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted January 30, 2015
Top 10 Contributor
A star addition to my kitchen
Congratulations on the addition! I love mine!
What number did you get?
Enjoy!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
psfoodie
,Palm Springs
,CA
December 25, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+27points
27of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
December 25, 2014
WOW!
What A Beautiful Stock Pot!
My Partner Was The First To Review This Amazing Le Creuset Collector's Piece.
I Had To Surprise Him With Another For Christmas.
Our new one is 1121 out of 1925.
Happy Holidays Everyone From Sunny Palm Springs California!
Love & Sunshine!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, gorgeous
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted December 29, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
What A Wonderful Holiday Surprise!
Tacos and Albondigas Soup On The Menu This Weekend!
Happy New Year!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
May 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+49points
49of 49found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More expensive, but worth it!
May 28, 2014
The Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner Oven is much more expensive than the normal 5 1/2 quart Dutch oven, but it is worth it if you see food and cooking as an art and not just a way to sustain you.
Of course, this Dutch oven doesn't fall short of what we've all come to expect from Le Creuset Cast Iron cookware in terms of actual cooking performance.
I am the proud owner of 1812/1925!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, too beautiful to keep hidden
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted December 25, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
The Most Beautiful Stock Pot!
Thank You For Your Wonderful Review!
Happy Holidays!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MimiDC
,Nashville
,TN
Washington, DC
March 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+26points
26of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Mariner French Oven!!
March 3, 2014
I received WS gift cards for Christmas and decided to put them towards this beautiful French oven. I own several LC pans, but this is my first 5 1/2-quart-sized oven. It's perfect for a large pot of steel grain oatmeal, soups, chili, chicken, roast, etc. I have #64 of 1925, and I look forward to the next special LC, celebrating their 100th anniversary!! The Mariner is displayed in a prominent space in my kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheHappiCooker
,Ok
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+29points
29of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Mariner Star French Oven
January 24, 2014
Just received the Mariner Star French Oven as my 1st piece of Le Creuset. I love everything about it, the color is rich , the quality is superb. It is so beautiful, cannot wait to use it as well as add more pieces. I have number 94/1925.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AdmiralMar
,Portland
,OR
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+27points
27of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely beautiful!
January 15, 2014
This dutch oven is beautiful, and works as well as it looks. The Marseille blue is a wonderful shade of blue, and goes perfectly with the nautical compass on the lid. I highly recommend this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, beauty
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthernFoodie
,Atlanta
,GA
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+26points
26of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This pot is gorgeous!!!
December 19, 2013
I received the Mariner oven as an early Christmas gift and I am in love with it. As with all things Le Creuset, it is a beautiful piece of cookware - the color is just amazing. I do not think I am going to use for cooking, I will use as a display piece. It proudly resides as the centerpiece with my other La Creuset pieces on the Enclume stand I recently purchased. If you are thinking about purchasing, do it - you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, beautiful colors
Review 8 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,Jackson
,NJ
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+26points
26of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waited months for this one!
December 10, 2013
Thie piece is GORGEOUS. I waited months for this to be available, calling all the Le Creuset stores to hold one for me. Landed number 197! This pot has its own shelf in my kitchen. Its perfect for any LC fanatic/collector!
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 9 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Dutch Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
November 9, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+43points
43of 43found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous Le Creuset Mariner Oven
November 9, 2013
I am proud to be the first to review this amazing dutch oven.
I am number 631 of the 1925 produced.
I purchased this particular pot because of the higher sides. It's my new favorite fryer to use for my homemade tacos.
I have other Le Creuset dutch ovens, stockpots and bake wear. They are an amazing addition to your kitchen.
Professional performance and results every time.
The holidays are upon us you must treat yourself or a loved one to one of the 1925 produced.
Happy Holidays!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, collector's item
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
psfoodie
Palm Springs, CA
Posted December 25, 2014
Whoo Hoo!
A Wonderful Christmas Surprise From My Wonderful Partner!
We Love These Stock Pots!
We are the Proud Owners of 631 of 1925 and 1121 of 1925.
Happy Holidays Everyone!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Customer avatar
psfoodie
Palm Springs, CA
Posted December 25, 2014
Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
Just Beautiful!
Merry Christmas!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted January 1, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Le Creuset Mariner Oven
Gorgeous Authentic Homemade Tacos Palm SpringsBaker!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)