Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven

This special anniversary edition of Le Creuset's classic Dutch oven is an essential for collectors of the company's colorful enameled cast-iron cookware. Called the Mariner's Star oven, it features a distinctive raised pattern of a sailor's compass rose on the lid. Available only at Williams-Sonoma, Mariner's Star is being released in a limited production run of 1925 ovens to commemorate the year Le Creuset was founded. One-time, limited-edition release of 1925 ovens with a mariner's star design and stainless-steel knob on lid. Each oven is marked with a series number on the lid knob and comes with a certificate of authenticity and numbered medallion. Cast iron retains and distributes heat evenly, perfect for slow-simmered soups, stews and braises. Enameled finish resists staining, dulling and chipping and requires no additional seasoning. Light sand color of interior enamel makes it easy to monitor cooking progress and prevent sticking and burning. Dishwasher safe for fast, convenient cleanup. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
May 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+24points
24of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More expensive, but worth it!
May 28, 2014
The Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner Oven is much more expensive than the normal 5 1/2 quart Dutch oven, but it is worth it if you see food and cooking as an art and not just a way to sustain you.
Of course, this Dutch oven doesn't fall short of what we've all come to expect from Le Creuset Cast Iron cookware in terms of actual cooking performance.
I am the proud owner of 1812/1925!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, too beautiful to keep hidden
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MimiDC
,Nashville
,TN
Washington, DC
March 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Mariner French Oven!!
March 3, 2014
I received WS gift cards for Christmas and decided to put them towards this beautiful French oven. I own several LC pans, but this is my first 5 1/2-quart-sized oven. It's perfect for a large pot of steel grain oatmeal, soups, chili, chicken, roast, etc. I have #64 of 1925, and I look forward to the next special LC, celebrating their 100th anniversary!! The Mariner is displayed in a prominent space in my kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheHappiCooker
,Ok
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Mariner Star French Oven
January 24, 2014
Just received the Mariner Star French Oven as my 1st piece of Le Creuset. I love everything about it, the color is rich , the quality is superb. It is so beautiful, cannot wait to use it as well as add more pieces. I have number 94/1925.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AdmiralMar
,Portland
,OR
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely beautiful!
January 15, 2014
This dutch oven is beautiful, and works as well as it looks. The Marseille blue is a wonderful shade of blue, and goes perfectly with the nautical compass on the lid. I highly recommend this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, beauty
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthernFoodie
,Atlanta
,GA
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This pot is gorgeous!!!
December 19, 2013
I received the Mariner oven as an early Christmas gift and I am in love with it. As with all things Le Creuset, it is a beautiful piece of cookware - the color is just amazing. I do not think I am going to use for cooking, I will use as a display piece. It proudly resides as the centerpiece with my other La Creuset pieces on the Enclume stand I recently purchased. If you are thinking about purchasing, do it - you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, beautiful colors
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,Jackson
,NJ
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waited months for this one!
December 10, 2013
Thie piece is GORGEOUS. I waited months for this to be available, calling all the Le Creuset stores to hold one for me. Landed number 197! This pot has its own shelf in my kitchen. Its perfect for any LC fanatic/collector!
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Mariner's Star Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
November 9, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous Le Creuset Mariner Oven
November 9, 2013
I am proud to be the first to review this amazing dutch oven.
I am number 631 of the 1925 produced.
I purchased this particular pot because of the higher sides. It's my new favorite fryer to use for my homemade tacos.
I have other Le Creuset dutch ovens, stockpots and bake wear. They are an amazing addition to your kitchen.
Professional performance and results every time.
The holidays are upon us you must treat yourself or a loved one to one of the 1925 produced.
Happy Holidays!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, collector's item
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted January 1, 2014
Top 25 Contributor
Le Creuset Mariner Oven
Gorgeous Authentic Homemade Tacos Palm SpringsBaker!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)