Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte

Patterned after designs in Le Creuset's archives, the Heritage collection re-creates its vintage enameled cast-iron cookware from half a century ago. These cocottes are optimized to provide steady, even heat for everything from slow-cooked pot au feu to hearty casseroles. Heavyweight cast-iron construction distributes heat slowly and evenly for uniform cooking. Sand-colored enamel interior resists staining and chipping and makes it easy to monitor food while cooking for less sticking and burning. Heavy, tight-fitting lid seals in moisture so foods emerge tender and juicy. Oven-to-table cocotte help keep foods warm for serving. Dishwasher safe for fast, convenient cleanup. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
Review 1 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,The Woodlands
,TX
June 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful Cocotte!
June 13, 2016
I love this cocotte and use it often. It adds an elegance to whatever is cooked in it. The metal handle is useful for higher temperatures in the oven. I find it very easy to transport from the oven to kitchen, very easy to clean, and so pretty that I leave it out to remind me of my aunts' kitchens in France.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Review 2 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Fargo
,nd
May 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Crack on third use
May 1, 2016
Loved the size, loved the color. Made great chili, cheesy hash brown potatoes, cooked a roast and "crack" thoroughly disappointed as thought it would be great. Handle on top is too small to get a good grip with oven mitts on. But it was the bottom that cracked in the oven. Took back to the store and got my money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Color
Cons: Quality, Weight, cracked
Review 3 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Annapolis
,MD
Annapolis, MD
January 23, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Remember Home Style Cooking?
January 23, 2016
The "Heritage" design/style of Le Creuset harkens back to the 1950's and reminds me of my grandmother's kitchen. Quince reminds me so much of my mother's sunny yellow kitchen in the 70's. I picked up both the 2-1/2 and 4-1/2 quart cocottes. The larger cocotte is perfect for cooking tenderloins and dumplings, and the smaller one is superb for mixed vegetables and other side dishes. The Heritage line is my preferred cookware when preparing old family recipes. These cocottes are favorites to serve dishes at Thanksgiving and other special gatherings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Review 4 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Greensboro
,NC
Oak Island, NC
October 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Terrific addition to my kitchen
October 11, 2015
I have several Le Creuset products, both stoneware and the cast iron enamel pieces. This has to be one of my favorites. The 4 qt size is perfect for a whole chicken or medium size roast. One can brown and then go directly into the oven to finish. The built in handle on the top does not limit the temperature of the oven (but it is hot, so remember to use your gloves...). Easy to clean and take care of. Like any lifetime product, you need to treat it respectfully and it will last you for years. My oldest enamel cast iron Le Creuset is over 25 years old. Still in perfect shape. Kudos to my Greensboro NC W-S store for recommending this item!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color
Review 5 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,PALO ALTO
,Ca
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
10of 16found this review helpful.
Good, but...
November 28, 2014
Le Creuset gets promoted on all sorts of cooking shows. I gather this is because the off-white interior enamel shows well on the camera.
I've had a number of cocottes from Le Creuset and have switched to Staub (which has black more-than enamel interior). It has no surfaces that rust; the unenameled surfaces of Le Creuset do. You must be careful to store it dry and with paper towels between the lid and the pot. I do this for all my cookware, but still. It's also not stain resistant; the enamel stains. I gather you can try some milk method to restore it but it never worked for me. The one Le Creuset I still have (the others chipped and stained too much) which I admit to having for 20 years is still useful. But I had to replace the chipped and broken black bakilite knob with an optional stainless steel one. I don't understand why it's not shipped standard that way - as Staub cocottes are. Note: none of my pots go in the dishwasher, but they get heavy use.
Pros: Color, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
smittycdm
Paradise Valley, AZ & CDM CA
Posted December 15, 2015
Why Ever Put in D/W?
No, Le Creuset is not stain resistant, but a little Bartender's Friend with a very soft sponge will make it look like new. I'm surprised no one told you this. I never put ANY pans or KNIVES in the D/W. Thanks for your review, I always read them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Casper, Wyoming
July 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Why isn't Cocotte an everyday word?
July 31, 2014
We've had this Cocotte for years and never seem to run out of new ways to use it. Their Dutch ovens are, of course, fantastic, but this odd-shaped pan may just get as much use, mostly because its integrated handle means it doesn't have the same temperature restrictions of anything with the black phenolic one. Casseroles, side dishes and even desserts have all turned out beautifully and stay toasty warm at the table.
Review 7 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Humble
,TX
July 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
True to Le Creuset
July 26, 2014
Was already sold on Le Creuset quality and performance. What I was really looking for was the heritage styling and price. I use the heritage skillet with the wooden handle even more often. Love them both.
Pros: Quality, Versatile, Design, performance
Review 8 for Le Creuset Heritage Cast-Iron Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Le creuset heritage cocotte
January 15, 2014
Perfect!! I purchased both sizes in cherry. I luv le creuset. Perfect for any size dish. I will get years of use to come.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: none
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kartersmum
Allen, tx
Posted December 13, 2014
Makes a statement on the table
So pretty in person & looks gorgeous on the table or at a buffet. Love that it's cast iron. Keeps food hot long after removal from oven. So many great uses for this piece.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)