Le Creuset Cast-Iron Oval Doufeu

This cast-iron oven takes its name from the combination of the French doux and feu to describe its "gentle fire." Pronounced doo-FUH, the cookware is designed to provide the constant self-basting that yields a juicy roast thoroughly infused with flavor. 9 1/2-qt. cap. Cast iron coated with durable porcelain enamel distributes heat slowly and evenly. Easy-clean nonreactive interior does not require seasoning. Tight-fitting lid has a recess for ice cubes; warm vapor from simmering food meets the cool lid, promoting condensation, and nibs on the lid's underside direct the water droplets to the center of the pot, continually basting the food below. Without ice, it works equally well as a Dutch oven for everyday roasting, simmering and serving. Matching integral handles on the pan and lid assist lifting the heavy filled pan. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
3 of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Oval Doufeu
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Oval Doufeu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WhatsCookinGoodLookin
,Annapolis
,MD
February 3, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best. Pan. Ever.
February 3, 2015
After 3 years of cooking in this pan every 4-6 weeks, I have concluded that the Le Creuset Doufeu is simply the best pan ever. From complex flavors such as Julia's beef burgundy stew to simple one pot meals like corned beef, meals turn out better in the Doufeu design than other French ovens; it locks in moisture and flavor. The capacity yields about 8 nice, generous entrees. Because Le Creuset is the lightest weight cast iron per quart compared to the competition, I wouldn't want to handle a pan this big by any other brand when at capacity. The 9.25 Le Creuset Doufeu is manageable and magnificent, and makes mouth-watering meals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Oval Doufeu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HelenFitzG
,PALO ALTO
,Ca
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not really Le Creuset
November 28, 2014
My Doufeu must be 25-30 years old (7 qt size). It's a great cooking pot for stews and soups. I gathered at the time that this style / pot was acquired by Le Creuset. It looks nothing like their standard - more to the pity. The double handles are great. It's uses - putting water in the top - are endless.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WhatsCookinGoodLookin
Annapolis, MD
Posted February 3, 2015
Cousances was purchased by Le Creuset
In 1957, Le Creuset purchased the Cousances foundry and continued making products with the Cousances name for decades. Cousances was well-known by 1957, having been around more than 4 centuries when LC acquired it. What you have might be Cousances; the foundry's original enamel color was orange (the color of molten iron glowing).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Oval Doufeu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All It's Cracked Up To Be
April 30, 2012
In a world where most things do not live up to their advertising, this Doufeu is the exception. Meat does retain juices and the braising sauce has more flavor. Simply put, it is all it's cracked up to be and more. I like to braise often on the stove top and this produces the best braised meat dishes I've ever made. It's worth every penny I paid for it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape, Design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
cajungal
Posted March 29, 2015
thanks
please send me recipes too, I would absolutely be so grateful as you have cinched me buying this pot as well. thanks.
0points
Customer avatar
cookiemoi
Dunwoody, GA
Posted September 2, 2014
Recipes?
Your review inspired me to go buy my own. Could you please share recipes and tips to cook in Doufeu?
I would like to understand conversions to cook in Doufeu.
Thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)