This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock

This traditional hand-molded stoneware crock glazed in an attractive white with blue stripes is made from a retired mold brought back by our artisans in Ohio. Lactofermentation is what gives sauerkraut and traditional pickles their signature tang; it also delivers probiotic microorganisms that benefit digestive and overall health. Simply place your prepared vegetables into the crock, lay on the included crescent weights, fill the gutter and add the lid. The crock's clever design allows carbon dioxide to escape the crock while keeping unwelcome microbes like mold out. In four to eight weeks, you'll have piquant pickles and sauerkraut. Attractive stoneware crock allows for easy fermentation of sauerkraut and pickles. 11 1/2" diam., 15" high; 3-gal. capacity. Includes two 8" x 4" stoneware crescent weights to keep contents submerged. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock
Review 1 for Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodForFriends
,Cumberland Plateau
,TN
July 17, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE IT !!!!
July 17, 2014
This crock is the best. I just made my first batch of pickles in it and they turned out great. Very Crisp. I hope make sauerkraut in it this fall and if it turns out as well as the pickles did I will not be disappointed. The inside of the crock is finished just as nice as the outside.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Appearance
Review 2 for Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SherB
,Lansdale
,Pa
July 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very big and very heavy!
July 3, 2014
I have nothing negative to say about this beautiful crock. That said, it was too big and too heavy for me. I had to return it. I live in a condo and it would be difficult to find a good place during the fermentation process and then to store this crock afterward. I did order the smaller crock and I am excited to give that a try.
The large crock was beautiful and has a great finish! It was simply too big for me .
Pros: Quality, Appearance, Design
Cons: Size
Review 3 for Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MisterP
,Sunnyvale
,ca
June 7, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Worth every penny!!
June 7, 2014
All I can say is, wow! I have done lots of sauerkraut with other methods, but the water seal/stoneware really perfects the lacto-fermentation process. This crock can handle a whole lot of cabbage. I would guess close to 20 heads. I did six heads and it was not even a third of the way filled. I was a bit leary about leaving so much air space in there, but after thirty days, not a bit of mold or any weird anything. Just fantastic kraut. I did have an issue, with the lid notches. They were cut way too big. I had to really monitor the water level every day. I contacted Ohio Stoneware, and they immediately sent me a new lid with smaller notches. Now that is customer service! Nothing better than a quality product with people who stand behind it. This is a very well made crock and if taken care of will last forever. One of my best purchases.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design
Cons: nothing!
Review 4 for Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
May 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Nice Quality!
May 3, 2013
I own several of the famous brown crocks that are made in Germany, but I think that, overall, I prefer the three Ohio Stoneware crocks purchased from WS. They are finished inside and out, which makes mildew practically impossible. Even the weights are finished. Something I can't understand is that my 3 gallon OS crocks seem to hold more than some of my larger German ones!
Review 5 for Large Ohio Stoneware Fermentation Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stumpy
,Geneva
,IL
April 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Nice Crock
April 5, 2013
I just received this crock but have not used it yet. Overall it is very nice and seems substantial without being a brick. I have 1 and 2 gallon OS crocks that impress me with their build quality. This may not be right up there with them but I think it will work just fine and likely better for the price than other options.
I think for more money a Harsch is probably a bit nicer, but the pickles won't notice.