Larchwood Original Board

Professional and home chefs alike prize this board for its extraordinary performance and unique natural beauty. Masterfully handcrafted in Nova Scotia from native larch wood, the board features traditional butcher-block end-grain construction that showcases the wood's bold natural patterns and ensures heirloom-quality strength. Crafted Eastern Canadian larch wood, sustainably grown and harvested on Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia. Wood is kiln-dried and milled on site, then hand selected and matched by the master artisans who handcraft the board. Dense end-grain construction adds strength and resistance, and helps preserve knives' sharpness. Soft rubber feet keep the board stable during use and help keep the underside dry. Carefully matched for color and pattern, the wood ranges from brown to orange to beige within each board. Crafted and finished in a 30-step process, the board will retain its naturally unique beauty for generations. Made in Canada by Larch Wood, a small company of master artisans dedicated to producing exceptional products from native woods. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Larchwood Original Board
Review 1 for Larchwood Original Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
globrit1
,Norwalk
,CA
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must cutting board
February 26, 2013
I highly recommend this board. It is a dream cutting on it and easy to clean and store. I liked it so much I bought another one for when I have lots of choppng, cutting or mincing to do so I can have everything on the 2 boards.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Shape
Review 2 for Larchwood Original Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
matstomato
,Bainbridge Island
,WA
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This cutting board warps
February 10, 2013
I will preface this with the fact that use this product every day. It is possible this cutting board is not built for heavy use. I also live in the northwest, where it is humid, so this may be partially contribute to my problem. I don't soak the cutting board in the sink.
The first cutting board I bought warped in one week. It rocked on the counter every time I used it. I put shims between the feet and the cutting board, which helped temporarily, but it continued to warp, so I decided to exchange it. I haven't had as much a problem with the second cutting board, but it has warped slightly. I can tell when I put something flat on top of it and it wobbles, but it's not rocking on the counter. I have had this one for approximately one month.
I have decided to keep this cutting board but I do feel that for the price, it should not be warping.
I would recommend this to someone who doesn't plan on using the cutting board very often, but I wouldn't recommend it for heavy, everyday use.
Pros: Size, Weight, attractive
Cons: warps
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lightsourceon
Monterey, CA
Posted November 23, 2013
Contact the company - Larch Wood
Give Larch Wood a chance to make good on their warped board! Call or email them with the picture.
They are skilled craftsman with pride for their work. Worth a try ?!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Larchwood Original Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MollyCat52
,Lake Villa
,IL
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome cutting board
October 7, 2012
I saw this Larch Wood cutting board at my local W-S store. They were out of stock at this store, so I just ordered it from the online store here. It is really a work of art, love to use it, and I also keep it out on the counter. This was a bit of a "splurge" buying a cutting board in this price range, but so happy I made the purchase! Would make a wonderful wedding or anniversary gift too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Larchwood Original Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saucygirl
,Santa Teresa
,NM
March 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks beautiful out on the counter.
March 15, 2012
Looked at the Proteck End-Grain Rd Cutting Boards in the W&S store in Albuquerque,NM and noticed all the boards had cracks!! Saw the Larch Wood Board and fell in love. The board is truly magnificent.....a work of art. The rubber feet is a nice plus. It's pricey but well worth it. Oh, I might add...it comes well oiled. Do follow the on-line care instructions.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight