Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4

In the heart of the French countryside, the Dubost family has been creating fine cutlery for four generations. The design of these steak knives was inspired by a shepherd's tool first manufactured in the village of Laguiole in the 19th century. Made of thicker, heavier-gauge stainless steel than other Laguiole flatware on the market, each is hand polished and finished for a difference in quality you can really see and feel. Set includes four 4 1/4" steak knives and a wooden storage case. High-quality, heavy-gauge stainless steel provides superior durability and stain resistance and pleasing heft. Slightly curved blade with serrated edge cuts easily through meat. Bolsters are decorated with a tiny bee, a symbol of France's Laguiole region. Handles of polished stainless steel with three visible rivets. Individually polished and finished by hand. Knives coordinate with our Laguiole flatware. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
Review 1 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 15, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dubost Laguiole Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set
February 15, 2015
We Love Our Steak Knives.
We wash them by hand.
Nice presentation, our guests always compliment them.
Sharp blade slices perfectly.
Enjoy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kemabr
,Olathe
,KS
January 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a disappointment
January 30, 2015
I was so excited to replace the crummy big box store knives that my husband brought with him to our marriage. I selected these for others to buy us as a Christmas present. It was important to me to have something that was attractive, not Made in China, dishwasher safe, and most importantly something that would do its job. These knives could not be more of a disappointment. They arrived incredibly dull. Won't even cut a piece of Longhorn Colby for a snack. And while they may be dishwasher safe, they come out looking ragged and sad. My husband is happy he still has his cheap, but very sharp and durable knives. What good is a steak knife that won't cut?
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Dull, High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
coldcold
,strongsville
,oh
January 6, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
esthetically stunning and functionally superior
January 6, 2015
knives purchased as gift for 2 couples-the knives themselves were wonderful-the wooden box not so-- one box was coming apart(inside) so I took it back to store-of the five sets they had in stock,three of the boxes were defective-such a shame to put quality in a junk box--
Pros: Quality, Balance, Weight
Cons: box is poor quality-useless
Review 4 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PleinsenseCook
,Austin
,TX
Austin, TX
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless and Classic
January 1, 2015
Already owned 2-sets of four bought in France for 9 yrs now and recently bought another 2-set at Wm Sonoma. The best steak knives, it never gets dull; no sharpening needed. It's classic!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessB1983
,Los Angeles
,CA
August 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp Knives, Easy to Clean and Store
August 26, 2014
These knives are very sharp and excellent for cutting steak. I like that they are simple and complement whatever pattern of china you use. They come with a storage case (which many other steak knives do not) and are dishwasher safe.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 6 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grabers
,Burlington
,KS
August 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Knives
August 9, 2014
We have an older set of these knives and wanted to add to the set. These are beautiful, a little more ornate and very sharp. Would not hesitate to give as a gift. Love them!
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WyoCowgirl
,Johnston
,SC
July 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful knives
July 16, 2014
These knives are both beautiful and functional. They fit the bill for a very sharp steak knife. This is a purchase that will last a lifetime. I am very pleased with the quality and happy to replace my old steak knives with these beauties. I did shop around for Dubost Laguiole and Williams Sonoma had just what I wanted for a competitive price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarjS1
,Bradenton
,FL
Bradenton, Fla.
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knives That Make the Cut
January 15, 2014
Slim and sinuous, these knives from southern France have a chic, industrial appearance with the exception of an ornamental bee, thought to have been approved by Napoleon as a tribute the courage of local soldiers. If you favor blades that feel like surgical instruments and look at home in modern or post-modern spaces, these rust-resistant beauties are for you.
I neither eat nor serve steak, but when five of my six worn wood-handled knives were lost to careless handling after 50 years of service, I decided to replace them with Laguiole's stainless set of four. Sounds abusive as well as abrasive, but I use them to loosen my muffins from aluminum tins. I now celebrate my breakfast fare with Gallic flair.
Please don't put these in reach of children or pets or nestle them in a linen napkin or even set them directly on the surface of a valued table. This is seriously wonderful, not "wounderful," cutlery!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 9 for Laguiole Jean Dubost Stainless-Steel Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeMaS
,Tonawanda
,Ny
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice set
January 5, 2014
Wonderful design and cuts through steak with ease. Have 2 sets and will be buying more for summer parties. Great value!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape