Laguiole Flatware Set

In the heart of the French countryside, the Dubost family has been creating fine cutlery for four generations. The design of this flatware was inspired by a shepherd's tool first manufactured in the village of Laguiole in the 19th century. Crafted of thicker, heavier-gauge stainless steel than other Laguiole flatware on the market, each piece is hand polished and finished for a difference in quality you can really see and feel. Five-piece place setting includes a salad fork, dinner fork, dinner knife, soup spoon and teaspoon. Twenty-piece flatware set includes four 5-piece place settings. High-quality, heavy-gauge stainless-steel implements provide superior durability and stain resistance and pleasing heft. Handles of molded resin or polished stainless steel with three visible rivets. Individually polished and finished by hand. Knife bolster is decorated with the signature Laguiole bee. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.54 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
22 of 37(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Laguiole Flatware Set
Review 1 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taya
,lodi
,CA
December 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!
December 1, 2011
I love this flatware have had it for 3 years, never had any problems with it. Looks elegant on the Holidays table. Gave this set as a present to my Grandson and his wife for Christmas 2 years ago and they also love it. I gave her the four set and this Christmas will add the next four set with the server spoons so she will have a service for 8. I give it 5 stars. My daughter has had this flatware for 6 years and never had any problems with it and by the way I love the small spoons, great for petit desserts!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, love the red, elegant
Review 2 for Laguiole Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cookswife
Maryland
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed!
July 8, 2011
Within a month or two of using this flatware, it started crumbling and cracking. I loved the look when it was new, but it did not last at all. It is flimsy, bends easily and does not hold up in the dishwasher.
Pros: Color, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile
Review 3 for Laguiole Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ebk208
Pittsburgh
April 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Total Junk
April 22, 2011
We put these on our wedding registry without actually seeing the set because I love Laguiole knifes. When we opened the box we were totally disappointed. The craftsmanship was really poor--It looked like it was a cheap knockoff of real Laguiole. The desert spoon and salad forks were also tiny--pretty much baby food sized. A full dinner set wouldn't be worth the price they charge for 1 setting.
Cons: Quality, Design
Review 4 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AugustinaForever
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Ivory Colour
April 4, 2011
We've been using this set for almost a year now and we are pleased with our purchase. The utensils are durable, have a nice weight to them and we like its old world charm. The ivory colour is beautiful and looks just like the photos. I'm thinking of buying the matching spreaders.
Review 5 for Laguiole Flatware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ChefSue
Kailua Kona, HI
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They do spot!
March 1, 2011
Many of the pieces, especially the knives, have started to spot & corrode. I do use the dishwasher (they are advertised as "dishwasher safe"), but we have only used these pieces for 5 weeks. Very disappointing for the price. I could have found flatware this frangible for much less.
Review 6 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLH1203
West Palm Beach, FL
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Laguiole
October 17, 2010
I love this flatware. Note: the teaspoons are TINY... almost like a demitasse spoon. I use the tablespoons more often. Mine have not rusted and I've had these for two years now. Thinking of adding to my collection.
Review 7 for Laguiole Flatware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
julia123
Reno, NV
October 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
red flatware
October 10, 2010
Really loved this when I first got it 3 years ago, but now I'm having to replace mt flatware because it is all faded and cracked. REALLY expensive for something that did NOT hold up.
Review 8 for Laguiole Flatware Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chef999
Omaha, NE
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Flatware but Size Issue
August 6, 2010
Shouln't have been, as the measurements on the website are accurate, however I was a bit surprised by the small size of the smaller spoons and forks. I can't even call them teaspoons or dessert forks, as they do not at all resemble what we would expect standards of these to be. They look to be best suited to a child's Easy Bake Oven set.
Review 9 for Laguiole Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mdmd
New York
August 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but do not wash
August 3, 2010
I love this flatware however over a short amount of time when washed in dishwasher they break apart.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TOMFROMNY
Bellmore L.I. N.Y.
Posted March 25, 2011
Don't understand other reviews!
I purchased two sets of Ivory Laguiole flatware about 4yrs ago. I have used them for every day and also formal occasions. They have been washed over a hundred times and show little or no wear. I have even dropped them on a granite floor and the plastic has held up just fine. This flatware is very well made (especially the knives) and I consider myself extremely critical! I love this product and Williams Sonoma! T.Y.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Laguiole Flatware Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bettissima
El Paso, TX
July 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Laguiole but....
July 9, 2010
We love using Laguiole daily however, the handles have begun to crack and the set is now incomplete. Does anyone know where these might be repaired or replaced? I'd like to continue using in my Provencal kitchen.
Merci.
Review 11 for Laguiole Flatware Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MaggieB2
New York, NY
June 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice but too expensive for quality of product
June 11, 2010
I really like the look of this flatware- It is casual but refined for everyday use. The quality of this item does seems poor. The product tends to rust easily. We have had the flatware for 3 weeks and we already see rust spots on most of the pieces. Also, the flatware is almost too light weight. We have the Laguiole steak knives and they seem to be 5 star quality compared to the everyday flatware. I expected more.
Review 12 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BWeber
Birmingham, MI
June 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality
June 1, 2010
So glad they are still offering these. I bought the 20 piece set 4 years ago as my everyday flatware and need to expand! If you do use the dishwasher, the blades of the knives do start to have rust spots, however, these are easily removed and cleaned with "bar keepers friend" or any other polish. Atter 4 years of use, they still look brand new!
Review 13 for Laguiole Flatware Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chipsie
Colorado
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
red flatware
May 2, 2010
We purchased the Laguiole Flatware in Red. The pieces have good heft to them, are a good size and are well made (the steel part) although we were disappointed in the "cheap" look of the plastic. The knives are very sharp (thank you!) and can easily double as steak knives. They are comfortable in your hand and have a nice metal bumble bee ornament on the bolster. The only problem with the knives is when you rest one on the edge of the plate, it tends to turn blade side up due to the weight distribution.
Review 14 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lorieb
Phoenix, AZ
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Styling
May 1, 2010
I have been using this flatware for years and it is wonderful! It is stylish, well crafted and worth every penny.
Review 15 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
March 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Flatware
March 29, 2010
I have had a 20 piece set of this flateware since 2006 and am VERY pleased with them. They go ideally with my Fiesta Ware. Great look and heft. I love the knives - they are actually sharp and have remained so.
After reading the other reviews, I'm not sure what they have been doing but my set have held up very well in my dishwasher. True, I do handwash the knives, but then I do that for all my fine kitchen knives, so it has not been a burden.
The only draw back I can see is their expense, but I've just ordered a second set of 20 so I truly think it's worth the money.
Review 16 for Laguiole Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ducati08
nj
March 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better go with ALL stainless!
March 5, 2010
I had received the product as a gift 2 1/2 years ago..within a year and a half the handles started cracking and falling apart. So not worth the money...go with all stainless!!!
Review 17 for Laguiole Flatware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
zuni19
Asheville, NC
January 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for giants or children
January 30, 2010
First off the quality of the set is wonderful. However, the sizes are way out of proportion. The dinner fork and soup spoon are way to large (look at the measurements) in both length and spoon width. The teaspoon and salad for are so small, just my 3 year old daughter uses them. The actual spoon length is 5 7/8" and 6 1/2" salad fork. We don't even use this set because of the aforementioned complaints.
Review 18 for Laguiole Flatware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sugarhillgirl
Wilmington, DE
December 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive, Functional, but Great Customer Service
December 7, 2009
I purchased the navy set in July 2006. It looks and feels good and the knives are impressive! The petite forks and spoons are also fun! In February 2009, I noticed the enamel cracking near the rivets on several of the pieces. As adults with no children who generally handwash our dishes (with some dishwasher use) we were a bit disappointed. The good news; however, is that Williams Sonoma offers premier customer service & the best (lifetime) replacement policy. Although the navy is no longer available, we easily reached agreement on a replacement set! Thank you Williams Sonoma. I love your store! One happy customer!
Review 19 for Laguiole Flatware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JennaB
San Francisco, CA
December 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this silverware!
December 2, 2009
This silverware is great for everyday use and for entertaining. It has a lifetime warranty which really sold my husband! The knives are sharp enough to cut through anything so we don't have to go out and by steak knives. My mom has the same set and has said that some of hers have showed a little rust, but I have yet to see that myself in mine.
Review 20 for Laguiole Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gautreaux
Virginia
November 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great simple everyday wear!
November 29, 2009
Not only do these utensils look great, but they function well too. The knifes are not the standard butter knives and cut meat like our Henkle knives. Also, they seem to be holding up to dishwashing in a dishwasher. They feel solid but not too heavy or awkward. I would definitely buy these again!
page1 2 next