This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle

Expand your cooking options indoors and out with our premium cast-iron griddle, ideal for preparing everything from hash browns to grilled sandwiches to fajitas. Spacious 14" x 14" cooking surface. Heavy-duty cast iron heats evenly and retains temperature superbly. High back keeps foods from falling over the edge. Ideal for making griddle favorites on the outdoor grill, it can also be used on the stovetop and in the oven for frying, broiling and baking. Great for indoor cooking of barbecue favorites like burgers, chops, veggies and more. Large handles make it easy to position and move. All-over enamel coating simplifies cleanup. Safe for use on gas or charcoal grills. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
27 of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
Review 1 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jannki
,San Marino
,ca
February 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I love my plancha
February 7, 2014
This cast iron griddle has replaced a lot of my cookware. I use it on the stove and have used it on the grill. I cook my eggs, charr my veggies, Grill my bok choy, etc.. its does a perfect job everytime. and clean up is a breaze, if you remember just to scrape the pan with a flat wooden untencil everytime after cooking and push all the scrapped food to a corner. once it has nearly cooled down, i move it over to the sink and rinse it away with a scrub with soap. its dries fast and then i oil it and put it away in my oven for next time. Its a fantastic product and the food turns out so good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
Review 2 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BiliousB
,Chicago
,IL
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Removing the Foam stickers before first use
January 28, 2014
The stickers are a pain, as you can see from all the comments. First, center the griddle over the gas burner and turn on to a low/simmer setting. As the griddle warms gradually, it will release the glue and you can peel the sticker off with a spatula. Gently scrape off any residual glue with the spatula. Then use Goo Goo Gone for the final clean. This took 10-15 minutes, but was worth it for an easy solution.
Review 3 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LovesMyGrill
,Santa Clara
,Ca
January 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
seems like a good product but...
January 25, 2014
Seriously W-S; how come your quality control team not realize what a mis-step the foam disc's are!!!
Thanks to the suggestion that one reviewer had to use a hair dryer to the discs to get the foam off - but it doesnt come off entirely or cleanly for that matter, i wish i had a heat gun at home that i could take to it... for the final bit - i used my thumb like an idiot - and now i have a blister the size of a penny ....
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scoobyscoobydoo
,Fishers
,IN
January 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
great product
January 10, 2014
Quality product. The foam discs adhered to the griddle are a little irritating and take a little initiative to remove. But, I was able to remove them without issue by aiming a hair dryer at the highest setting to each disc, removing the foam by gently peeling it back by using the blades of closed scissors (I'm sure the back of a butter knife would work as well). The remaining glue was removed with ease by spraying goo gone on each site, letting it set for a couple of minutes and wiping the remaining glue away. All in all, about 10-15 minutes of extra effort after opening the box- well worth it for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Strength, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 5 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarkWhoLovesToCook
,Fair Oaks
,CA
September 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Great Product - but...
September 18, 2013
This is a great product and works well. However, when they assembled the product they used a foam adherent to attach a piece of cardboard that tells you how great the product is. I spent over an hour with soap and water, Goo-B-Gone, rubbing alcohol, and a lot of elbow grease to remove the four nickel-sized foam pieces from the pan. Ridiculous!!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, packaging
Review 6 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisamarie1113
,San Clemente
,Ca
September 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
La Plancha Cast Iron
September 11, 2013
This was bought as a gift, my step father loves it. The color, the weight, the durability for the BBQ, it was a hit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 7 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kyetta
,Brooklyn
,NY
NYC
September 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Love the pan! HATE THE STICKERS!!
September 10, 2013
I love this pan. But why the stickers? A real the pain in the neck TRY to remove the foam stickers. I still haven't been 100% successful. Shame on you Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebeccav
,rockford
,MI
August 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My favorite pan for mexican cooking
August 21, 2013
I love this pan so much, I bought a second one for our house boat.
I wish it wasn't so heavy, but it's still one of my favorite pans.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SylMag
,Huntington Beach
,CA
July 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great for outdoors BBQ
July 18, 2013
I love it, it is a little heavy but it is good to grill veggie and fish.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight
Review 10 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michele
,Jackson
,CA
Jackson, CA
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
July 17, 2013
I purchased this and waited for it to be delivered and used it that night on the bar-b-que. I love the size. It is very heavy so be careful carrying it and don't drop it as it will chip. I haven't used it in the oven or on the stove yet but I am very anxious for that. It was a little harder to clean than I was expecting but I'm hoping it will be easier when it gets broken in. Overall I am very pleased and would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 11 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
XCoastie
,Ligonier
,PA
July 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great Griddle
July 4, 2013
It is easy to get the stickers off. Just warm the griddle a little bit and they come right off. We have had many griddles over the years---But this is the VERY BEST !!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 12 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnaML
,new orleans
,la
New Orleans, LA
July 3, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful addition to the kitchen
July 3, 2013
This is a terrific product that I have now used almost every day since I bought it. However: the stupid glue dots were impossible to get off, as most other reviewers have stated. Also, it is necessary to cure it first, despite what the info with the product says. It is heavy and very big, so storage is a potential issue. I am keeping mine or in the BBQ or on top of the stove for now.
Having said that: I love it and highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 13 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ca1i
June 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Glue problem solved
June 29, 2013
I just received (6/13) my plancha. The "instructions" are now attached to the plancha with 4 foam dots rather than the glue people are complaining about. I'd imagine that there is still some remaining stock with the glue...but for those who find that problem a deal killer, Williams Sonoma listened and solved that issue.
Review 14 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PJUDS
,Lafayette
,La
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome Grill - Poor Packaging
June 25, 2013
This is an awesome pan for grilling, it's just the right size... and makes a perfect gift. The packaging on the other hand is a nightmare. There are four glue drops that are almost impossible to remove, I almost had to send back the fathers day gift that I purchased... how embarassing. We did finally manage to remove the glue after many attempts. This is a great pan, please find a better way of packaging so people can enjoy it.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design
Cons: poor packaging
Review 15 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vodkachica
,San Antonio
,TX
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great griddle with handles!
June 22, 2013
The white stickers are a menace but the griddle will last a while!
Pros: Durable, Strength
Cons: Weight
Review 16 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orchid
,New York
,NY
June 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
the best griddle
June 21, 2013
I was really impressed with the quality and easy cleaning of La Plancha. It is versatile and roomy.I can prepare pancakes and sausages at the same time or fry eggs and warm up homefries. I am very satisfied with it. Its quality tells me that will last forever. It is heavy so handle it with caution
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 17 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Candi9999
,Centreville
,VA
June 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great For The Grill
June 16, 2013
First off, the last reviewer complained about the glue..I do agree that was the strongest four little circles of glue I've ever had to remove but Glue Gone or Goo Gone got it off within a few minutes..
I heated this up with the grill tonight, and cooked shrimp brochette (a bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp).. Hubby and I can't say enough how great it was! It browned the bacon so quickly! I can't wait to cut a lobster in half next and sizzle it up or cook veggies and and thin slices of New York Strip to make fajitas..These dishes are literally impossible to cook in the kitchen because of the splatter! I've been cooking for 35 years and I have almost every gadget out there, but this is an investment I will get use out of for my next 20 years of cooking :).. It also cleaned up beautifully..It's cast iron, but it's been treated somehow so you don't have to oil it and season it afterwards...This is an amazing cooking tool! **** 5 STARS!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 18 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sourdoughgal
,Heaven
,CA
May 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Chipped and sticky stuff
May 24, 2013
I received this today and I followed the instructions to wash before using.
I can't get the sticky stuff off that holds the paper cover on it, and also i put this into hot sudsy water to soak and wash, it chipped immediately.
Okay...Williams Sonoma...how do we get the sticky stuff off the grill? There are four spots the size of a nickel, about a, eighth of an inch thick,,,they won't come off!!!
I am waiting for ananswer, I would like to use this tomorrow.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, sticky stuff!!!!, chipped immediately the red came off, sticky stuff!!!
Review 19 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mebnie
,Amarillo
,TX
Amarillo, Texas
May 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Cast Iron Griddle
May 17, 2013
Haven't used it yet because I can't remove the sticky stuff that was used to put the cardboard cover on it.
Help!!!!!!!!!!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SDCD
Posted June 16, 2013
Fix for glue
If you put a paste of baking soda on each spot (baking soda and a little water to make paste) and then pour white vinegar on it and let it sit for 10 minutes it will come off
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for La Plancha Cast-Iron Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LMSM
,WA
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I LOVE this griddle
October 20, 2012
I have been using this griddle all summer and I will be using it throughout the fall and probably winter. (Weather permitting.) I am so happy to have this. I ordered it from a W-S email offer and I wish I had ordered at least two more for gift giving. Love it.
Pros: Quality, Strength
page1 2 next