La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4

Set a casual table with the rich colors of handcrafted ceramics - without the worry of breakage. Our salad plates look and feel just like hand-painted earthenware, but they're made of bamboo fiber and melamine, a high-quality material that is hefty, shatterproof and scratch-resistant. Dishwasher safe. BPA-free. 8 3/4" diam. Set of four. Made in China. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
Review 1 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu2
,NY
NY
October 4, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very pretty and versatile
October 4, 2014
We've been using these salad plates for a couple of years outdoors and even indoors on top of ceramic dinner plates. You wouldn't know they are melamine until you pick them up. We wash them in the dishwasher (bottom rack) and they've held up their color nicely. The plates have developed slight knife marks (they're hardly noticeable); but so has every other plate I've owned over time.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, bpa free
Review 2 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RetiredCaregiver
,Alexandria
,VA
February 2, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sets a Beautiful Table
February 2, 2014
This dinnerware is substantial and really gorgeous. I bought a set of four dinner plates, salad plates, and soup bowls in my local WS. Because it was sold by the piece, I was able to mix and match colors and patters. I wish the pieces were sold online individually so that I could add to the set I've started. It is hit-and-miss in the store as to what is available.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: pieces cannot be ordered individually
Review 3 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
May 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very pretty and durable plates
May 26, 2013
I'm very happy with this purchase. These plates are very pretty, look like earthenware, go well with other dinnerware, and are very durable. Because you don't have to worry about chipping or breaking, they're an easy plate to reach for even when grabbing a quick sandwich when alone. Only glass should be used in the microwave (for health reasons). Therefore, not being microwavable is not an issue for us. And unlike the outdoor beverage glasses WS sells, these are BPA free.
Pros: attractive, Durable, Size
Cons: price
Review 4 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pinwheels
,Belmont
,Ma
April 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Spring & Summer Entertaining!
April 18, 2013
I am absolutely thrilled with these plates!! When I first saw these advertised in the Spring catalog I couldn't wait to try them. I paired these with the dark blue rustic melanine plates & bright yellow hemstitch napkins. Presented with the Nito Chargers and table accessories this is the prettiest Spring tablescape I've seen! There are many gorgeous melanine and mediterranean designs out this season but for me, Williams Sonoma's is the prettiest :)
Pros: pretty durable
Review 5 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shawna926
,Chandler
,AZ
WA
April 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
April 12, 2013
I ordered a a few sets of the salad plates, dinner plates, and bowls. I was very excited to get them and I was very disappointed when I saw that they are not microwave safe. Although I don't use the microwave that often, this is a detail I assumed would be visible on the website before ordering. The plates are indeed beautiful and seem like they would be resistant to scratches and breaking but I will be returning them because I was not aware of the microwave detail.
Pros: light, seems like good quality
Cons: not microwave safe
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Enthusiast
Posted May 2, 2013
melamine + microwave never mix
For the record, of course return them if you would like -- but in the future, know that melamine has never ever been microwave safe. So don't buy melamine if you want something you can microwave, :)
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted April 21, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
surprised
these plate are even better in person.
I'm surprised that you would return such beautiful and durible dishes only because they're not microwave safe. It's like returning fine china with a gold or silver band because they're not microvwave safe. I only microwave in glass. I think you should reconsider....
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynnmo
,Palm Coast
,FL
April 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far, wonderful
April 11, 2013
Love the look and feel. I am using these as "every day" plates and they are holding up well. I was concerned that they would scratch easily or the colors would fade after multiple dishwasher use. Hasn't happened yet.
Pros: excellent quality, lovely colors durable
Cons: can't use in microwave
Review 7 for La Med Melamine Salad Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paulab
,Lancaster
,PA
Lancaster, PA
April 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great salad plates!
April 27, 2012
I love these salad plates! I pair them with white plates and the Neto chargers and it makes a beautiful table setting.