La Cornue CornuFe Stove, Gloss Black

From La Cornue, this appliance features the superb workmanship and styling that have distinguished the French company's stoves for nearly a century - but with one significant difference: it's available for shipment without the customary long wait. To accomplish this, each one is assembled using innovative new manufacturing technology, then finished by hand. The professional-style cooktop is configured with five powerful gas burners. Below it, two electric convection ovens feature French side-swing doors; one offers seven functions, including convection and conventional baking/roasting options as well as broiling and defrosting. Proportioned for use with standard 24" deep base cabinets, the stove can be adjusted in height. Four oven racks are included. Professional performance and classic style, scaled to suit the home kitchen. Three12,000 BTU burners, one 17,500 BTU center burner, one simmer burner adjustable from 600 BTU to 6,000 BTU. Two ovens with side-swing doors; one offers seven cooking modes. Choose from fittings in satin chrome or satin chrome with polished brass accents. 43" x 28 5/8" x 35 13/16" to 36 7/8" high. A propane conversion kit is included to convert from natural gas to propane. High-Altitude kit required for elevations above 5,000 feet (not included). White Glove Delivery - with a total charge of $1,300 - is required for this item. Our special service provides scheduled delivery, placement in the desired location within your home, unpacking and inspection with the removal of all packaging materials. Procedures for final assembly and installation, including standard gas and electrical connections, are outlined in the owner's manual. We recommend that you make arrangements for professional installation prior to delivery.
Average Customer Rating:
1.5 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(2 Reviews) 2
0 of 2(0%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for La Cornue CornuFe Stove, Gloss Black
Review 1 for La Cornue CornuFe Stove, Gloss Black
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jp1958
December 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+25points
26of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't buy one
December 25, 2013
I have had 2 La Cornue stoves. They are not worth the money. You cannot control the temperature. Set it to 350 and it will vary 30-40 degrees from 350. I also have a Wolf gas stove. They are incredibly will made and very accurate.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Temperamental, inaccurate temperature
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
LaCornueLover
Bakersfield, Ca.
Posted February 21, 2015
I'm wondering,
Your review almost made me rethink my choice to purchase a La Cornue stove. But I am not willing to give up on my dream stove! I've learned that they offer both ovens as convection heating. Which cook your food at a lower temperature that what a recipe would call for. I'm wondering if this is where the variance is from you are referring to? I hope so as I think I will be purchasing one anyway.
0points
Customer avatar
vgchef
USA
Posted January 12, 2015
From what I've seen on their own website, in La Cornue models with 2 ovens, typically 1 is gas & the other is electric. Were you referring to a gas or electric oven not being accurate? Gas ovens, manufacturer notwithstanding, are notoriously inaccurate when it comes to maintaining temperature & ANY gas oven can vary several degrees from what the temperature is set at. However, electric ovens rarely have this problem unless something in the heating mechanism is damaged or poorly constructed. I personally would request 2 electric ovens & then keep the gas for the top burners. What I like about the La Cornue ranges I've seen is that beside the gas burners, they also come with an electric burner for low simmers & other gentle heating. I've never owned a La Cornue but would like to learn more about them & possibly purchase one. Wolf ranges are considered the best in the American-made brands because of all of them, they're designed with an oven seal that helps maintain temperature. Nonetheless, you'll still find temperature variations in their gas ovens, which is why I now always look for "duel fuel" ranges (electric ovens, gas stove tops), to eliminate this problem (Wolf does, btw, offer duel-fuel ranges). Since La Cornue products are custom designed for each customer & hand made, it might be worth contacting them & asking if both ovens can be made electric.This should eliminate your temperature variation issue.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for La Cornue CornuFe Stove, Gloss Black
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
upscalebohemian
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, CA
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+33points
53of 73found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Destroyed by Chintzy Control Knobs
October 4, 2012
I absolutely love the look of this range, and having inspected a few at several different stores I don't get how everything can be so well constructed except the knobs that control the cooktop.
Touch one at all (let alone turn it) and it wobbles in your hand. The knob itself is beautiful but what it attaches to through the metal facing is terrible and wobbles. It doesn't give a secure feeling at all. The knobs also come right off (supposedly to clean easily) but they just feel cheap in every way when you use them.
This was an absolute deal killer, and I just don't understand how the doors can close so reassuringly but the knobs can be attached to such chintzy underpinnings.
It absolutely killed my interest in this range until they revise the design, and it wasn't just one of these, it was several at several stores -- all with the same issue.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted September 1, 2014
Top 50 Contributor
Thanks
Thanks for the response, LaCornueUSA. I will be happy to check the range out again. In the past at both Williams-Sonoma in San Francisco and Walnut Creek, and at the distributor here in San Francisco, the control knobs were wobbly and would literally come off in my hand. It ruined everything. I would have been embarrassed to spend so much on a range and have friends think of this as the Emperor's New Clothes of ranges.
I'll be happy to check these out and see for myself if the situation has improved. In all other respects I loved the look of the range and how solidly the doors closed.
I appreciate the response (and the design change). I have still not invested in a range because really I wanted this one. It's perfect aesthetically and in terms of size.
Thanks again.
0points
Customer avatar
LaCornueUSA
Paris, France
Posted August 28, 2014
CornuFe Knobs
thank you for the comment, upscalebohemian. please note that the knob inserts that you experienced (a pressure print set inside the knob) has been changed to a solid insert. what you came across was a knob that had experienced years of store visitors cranking on it, and the pressure prong had released. while this is 100% replaceable, La Cornue made the design change when this first came to light. current models have a solid connection from the knob to the range, and it would be virtually impossible to loosed in.
we hope that you appreciate La Cornue dedication to a satisfied consumer. Since the design change, we have had zero complains on the knobs!
(Side Note: any Williams-Sonoma store with the old style knobs have been or should be replaced with the new style.... we think we've gotten them all!)
0points
Customer avatar
slowfoodcook
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posted February 24, 2014
Knobs are wonderful
I do not get this review at all. The knobs are solid brass, well-fitting with a very substantial and stable feel to them, and control the burners and ovens with simplicity and elegance. There is nothing chintzy about them. I had read reviews from a couple of years ago that said the fittings had a tendency to break, but when I asked me Cornuefe rep if I could buy a couple of extras to keep on hand in case that happened, he told me that was a problem with the first iteration of the stove, it had been fixed, and he would replace any knob, anytime if one broke, but would not sell them to me as he would be wasting my money. The knob feel was one of the selling points for me when I tested the range, and I have not been disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)