La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish

Hand made in the La Chamba tradition that dates back more than 700 years, this ceramic pot is designed to withstand direct contact with heat, great for use on stovetops, especially open flame cooktops. This covered dish is perfect for slow-cooking casseroles and stews in the oven or it can be used on the stovetop for soup and rice dishes. Made completely by hand in the village of La Chamba, Colombia, long famous for its pottery. Only natural, locally mined clays are used. Colombian artisans burnish the clay with agate pebbles prior to firing to give each piece its unique look. The black satin finish and distinct organic shape of this dish makes it excellent for oven-to-table presentation. Natural glaze won't react with foods and is completely food safe. Clay retains heat well for keeping the dish warm at the table.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
Review 1 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barefootbess
,Murphy
,NC
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
M Favorite Cooking Vessel
July 27, 2013
After reading so many positive reviews, I order my La Chamba casserole dish and seasoned it according to instructions. The next day I tested it on my gas range by preparing my favorite dahl recipe with red lentils. I'll admit, I held my breath as I turned up the gas burner to bring the lentils to a boil. La Chamba performed perfectly. When the soup was done, I served it from the vessel and the clean up was easy. This cooking vessel sits on my range top waiting to be utilized again. It's so attractive, It will not be stored under a cabinet. I find myself searching for more recipes that can be prepared in La Chamba.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DonnaEC
,CT
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
La Chamba Colombian Clay Casserole
October 7, 2012
I have been using La Chamba cookware for more than 15 years and "LOVE IT"! It not only is perfect for every occasion, "I use it DAILY"!!! It always gets compliments on it's functions AND appearance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Miffy
,Castro Valley
,CA
June 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a beauty!
June 22, 2012
This cookware was on my wish list for a long time. I think it's a piece of artwork just by itself on the counter top. My husband thought that I'm using this just for decoration.
I fill the pot 3/4 full of water and leave on gas stovetop, It took too long to get liquid to the boiling point (about 40 mins). However, it kept warm pretty well after turn off gas.
I would recommend it to my friends and give it 5 stars if it has better heat conduction.
By the way, it shows burn mark on outside of bottom part after 2 usage (see pic.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: poor heat conduction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SkySilk
Honolulu, HI
August 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Hand-Made Original
August 21, 2011
I knew I had to have this clay pot the moment I saw it on display at Williams-Sonoma Honolulu. Each pot is hand-made, so each is unique. The first entree I made in it was a pork roast using David Chang's Momofuku clay pot sauce. It was delicious. Having more confidence, I tried Emeril Lagasse's Honey Lemon Chicken recipe for clay pot cooking. When I lifted the lid at the end of the cook time, I was so impressed. It was beautiful. Oven to tabletop...no problem. The contrast of the golden-colored chicken against the black of the pot really showed off the dish. The chicken was tender, cooked evenly and delicious. In addition to moist and tasty cooking results, this pot retains heat well and keeps the dish hot throughout dinnertime. I highly recommend this cookware.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 5 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tinyopolis
Edmond, OK
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best gift at a Wedding Shower
May 19, 2011
I purchased this Cassarole dish off of a Registry, and had it ship the week before the shower. It arrived beautifully gift wrapped, so I didn't know what to expect until the bride to be opened it up, and everyone gasped. It is amazing. Much larger than I thought it would be, and nice and heavy. It can go on the stove, or oven. Amazing quality. The entire set was just beautiful. It made me want to rethink my whole set of cookware. Imagine making a stew in this and coming home from work to pull it out of the oven. YUM!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, beautiful displayed
Review 6 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shefa
Washington, DC
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fragile but worth it!
March 1, 2011
It is only because the pot is fragile that I give it 3 stars. Had it been sturdier, I would give it an easy 4, pushing 5.
This pot is very fragile, breaks easily as it took three shipments before I got it in one piece (now with 3 lids). W-S replaced each one quickly without hassles. Yet, if you can keep it from breaking, use the heat diffuser and cook on a low heat, there isn't much more divine than the food that results! Tender, infused with flavor - perfection!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefJeffrey
Kennebunkport, Maine
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite since 1986
January 20, 2011
I have been using Chamba handmade dinner plates and bowls daily for over 20 years (hand wash). The unique terra cotta "mud" from the Chamba Valley is super durable and contains mica and other minerals that allow the bakeware to be used on grills and wood fires (traditional historical use) as well as on today's modern stove tops: electric and gas (sorry, won't work on conduction) as well as in the oven or microwave. I love to bake/broil in La Chamba.
Follow recommended cleaning instructions. I simply boil water in it on the stove top to release any stuck on baking residue.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Round Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
housecharmer
New Haven CT
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not only is it gorgeous...
December 13, 2010
I have had the oval LaChamba for years and use it all the time for everything from rich dark beef stews to the more delicate fish casseroles and chowders. Browns great, evenly heats, keeps the food warm and everyone who see it says how absolutley cool it looks on the cooktop where it resides. I will purchase this one for a wedding gift along with the bake dish.