La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish

Hand made in the La Chamba tradition that dates back more than 700 years, this ceramic pot is designed to withstand direct contact with heat, great for use on stovetops, especially open flame cooktops. This covered dish is perfect for slow-cooking casseroles and stews in the oven or it can be used on the stovetop for soup and rice dishes. Made completely by hand in the village of La Chamba, Colombia, long famous for its pottery. Only natural, locally mined clays are used. Colombian artisans burnish the clay with agate pebbles prior to firing to give each piece its unique look. The black satin finish and distinct organic shape of this dish makes it excellent for oven-to-table presentation. Natural glaze won't react with foods and is completely food safe. Clay retains heat well for keeping the dish warm at the table.
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
Review 1 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
eurekajos
,Seattle
,WA
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
4of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not good for stovetop use
February 21, 2013
We registered for this gift a few years ago and looked forward to using it as described under "use and care" including stovetop and oven use. I sealed the pores as instructed, and then proceded to use this on my electric stovetop. I used medium-low heat, but my stovetop burned the shape of my heating elements onto the bottom of the pot. After this, even for oven use, my pot would give off an odor. I finally took it in earlier this month and WS thankfully exchanged this dish for a new one. I won't be using the new dish on my stove and hope that the odor won't return.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted April 14, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
Not Surprised
Of course it did that. For an electric stove top these are supposed to have a heat diffuser. Per Bram Cookware's web site: "A heat diffuser is required for electric cooktops and recommended for gas cooktops to reduce the risk of thermal shock and cracking the pot. We carry a variety if you need one."
0points
Customer avatar
08NutMeg11
Fort Worth, Texas
Posted April 2, 2013
You are supposed to use a heat diffuser on an electric stovetop with this type of cookware. Says in the description....
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LilLiz
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lid doesn't fit
January 11, 2013
Lid doesn't fit, so pot is unable for my purpose. I'll try returning this to my local store, but am irritated and disappointed.
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wenp
,Austin
,TX
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful pot!
December 18, 2012
This clay pot is gorgeous and cooks amazing delicious food. I have been using it non stop since the day I received it. Food came out juicy, succulent and so tender. Easy to clean. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elizabete
,South Padre Island
,TX
Illinois
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love my La Chambas
December 16, 2012
I have several pieces of La Chamba cook ware and love them. I use them on my gas stove, my electric glass top stove, and also in the oven. I ordered this particular one as present and had it shipped. Unfortunately it arrived broken, in several pieces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mamabear559
,Fresno
,CA
November 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
November 9, 2012
1st pot- the lid didn't fit
2nd pot- wasn't packaged correctly, arrived cracked
3rd pot- the lid didn't fit
3 strikes, finally cancelled the order and requested full refund. Very disappointed. Customer service was helpful but product did not meet my expectations.
Review 6 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deb2020
,Mission
,TX
McAllen, TX
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hook on clay pot cooking
August 3, 2012
Bought this clay pot because of a recommendation from a friend about the merits of clay pot cooking. I love the food, the flavor and the texture! the pot clean well and will hold a whole chicken without problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 7 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Oval Casserole Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
addicted2kitchen
,Charlotte
,NC
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unique Cookware
May 29, 2012
I prepare a lot of meals in dutch ovens, because I love the depth of flavor that you can achieve from long term simmering. I stumbled on La Chamba on this website and thought I would give it a try. I have cooked with clay pots before but this one is truly unique in style and versatility. It performed great on my gas cooktop and just as well in my oven. Note that the lid is not fitted which allows for steam to escape, but it lends character to the piece. I absolutly love my new kitchen accesory !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design