This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish

Hand made in the La Chamba tradition that dates back more than 700 years, this ceramic baker is designed to withstand direct contact with heat, great for use on stovetops, especially open flame cooktops. This versatile baker can be used in the oven for casseroles, lasagnas and baked desserts or on the stovetop for sauteing and griddle recipes. Made completely by hand in the village of La Chamba, Colombia, long famous for its pottery. Only natural, locally mined clays are used. Colombian artisans burnish the clay with agate pebbles prior to firing to give each piece its unique look. The black satin finish and distinct organic shape of this dish makes it excellent for oven-to-table presentation. Natural glaze won't react with foods and is completely food safe. Clay retains heat well for keeping the dish warm at the table.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
Review 1 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefDare
,Chicago
,IL
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
New addition to the family
October 15, 2013
This is the second piece of the La Chamba collection that I have. The first was a soup pot received as a gift. I liked the product so much, I decided to add to my collection. I bought this baking dish and immediately knew what I was going to cook first. I baked a peach cobbler. This clay dish was perfect for that. The crust was so flakey. The size is just right so that you aren't making too much; but, you are making enough. I can't wait to do something else like enchiladas. And, I want to try these on the grill.
I'm still new to clay cookware and i'm still somewhat over cautious about handling so that it doesn't crack. But, I think its a durable product and I will become more comfortable with that over time.
I would HIGHLY recommend this collections for any cook out there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinnyH
,Lincoln
,NE
Lincoln, NE
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Wonderful bakeware
October 27, 2012
I have now purchased two of the oval baking dishes. They make a wonderful presentation and are great on the stove top for simmering soups. I was so enthusiastic about the first purchase that I bought a second for my daughter. Easy to use and clean. I did return an earlier purchase that arrived in pieces, but the return and credit were handled with ease & the next two arrived in perfect condition.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape
Review 3 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
North Georgia mountains
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Great clay bakeware
June 6, 2011
I love this bakeware! I received the covered cassarole as a gift for Christmas and I just ordered and received the baking dish for myself because I loved the other so much. It cooks evenly and makes a great presentation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight, nice presentation
Review 4 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Parker, CO
April 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fantastic!
April 3, 2011
I already had the covered pot and loved it so much that I had to have additional pieces. This baking dish does not dissapoint. I love that you can use it on the stove top, in the oven and it looks beautiful to serve in. Couldn't ask for more!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 5 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmateurAmalia
West Des Moines, IA
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Loving the La Chamba
January 22, 2011
I absolutely love using my la chamba baking dish. I have made enchiladas, artichoke dips, queso fundido, and many other foods. I look forward to the presentation, because I get compliments on the dish. It is smaller than I expected but definitely don't let that stop you from purchasing this great item. I say it is a MUST HAVE for all cooks.
Review 6 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moontown
Huntsville, AL
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
So Lightweight and love the handles
January 1, 2011
I purchased the medium size baking dish today and used it on the cooktop to saute fresh vegtables. I am delighted with it's light weight, ease of picking up due to the perfectly shaped handles and the best part was how easy it is to clean. I plan to buy more pieces for my motor home as well.
Review 7 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OnlineShopper2010
Chattanooga
October 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
not near as large as the measurements
October 21, 2010
the medium size has interior dimensions of 8.5 x 8.5 x 2.25, which is not anywhere close to 12 inches square... but it does hold 1.5 quarts.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
kithenaficianado
Orangeburg, SC
Posted March 19, 2011
Buy next larger size La Chamba baking dish
The OnlineShopper2010 might be happier with the larger dimensions of the large LaChamba baking dish. :)
0points
Customer avatar
agoldie
Atlantic Beach New York
Posted December 16, 2010
For the Unhappy customer It's the Christmas Season
Dear unhappy La Chamba clay dish customer;
Have you told William Sonoma your not satisfied with the dish? Have you asked the store to exchange it for the large size one. I'm sure they can and will accomodate you.
Have a Merry Christmas.
Rosanna
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for La Chamba Colombian Clay Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TerriQ
Fort Worth
September 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+24points
29of 34found this review helpful.
Awesome Amazing Stuff!
September 3, 2010
I have many pieces of this pottery and have used every one for years now. The meals I have made come out wonderful & perfectly heated, especially when kept warm for someone showing up late - I have the individual plates that can be cooked on, as well. It maintains heat for a nice long time for those nice long dinners, too.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mosey47
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posted January 26, 2011
Taste the finish??
I received my La Chamba baking dish from my son for Christmas. I just love the concept however, the first time I tried to make anything in it (grilled cheese sandwhich) it smelled and tasted bad. I was careful to follow the instructions on "sealing the pores" prior to first use. Does anyone have any suggestions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)