Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler

Equipped with an ultrasharp ceramic blade, this precision tool shaves outer layers from produce with effortless speed. The blade is made of zirconium oxide ceramic, which is second only to diamond in hardness and stays sharp far longer than steel.Head adjusts to three cutting angles - vertical, 45 degrees and horizontal - to follow the contours of a variety of fruits and vegetables.Ceramic blade won't react with foods.Ergonomic handle provides a comfortable nonslip grip.Accommodates right- and left-handed users.Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
11 of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
Review 1 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmkay
,Chicago
April 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blade broke
April 18, 2014
I was willing to believe it was me when the blade broke after a few months. But when I bought a replacement and THAT blade broke too, no longer thinking it is a user problem. Now I have an oxo peeler and it is still sharp and working after 2 years.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 2 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ereader
,CA
San Francisco, CA
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Okay Peeler
January 2, 2014
It is fine, but not all that great. I have four other Kyocera knives and use them constantly, but not so with this peeler.
The peeler works, but not even marginally better for all foods except carrots. Sometimes I pull out this Kyocera sharpener, but most times I just stay with anyone of my metal ones.
I am back using any of my “old” metal peelers (I have many; I kept buying them when they dulled). I simply sharpen them with a Tri-Angle Sharpmaker by Spyderco. At the end of their training video they show how to sharpen kitchen peelers. Simply hold one of their sharpening stones like a carrot (about to be peeled) with one of the three corners up, then run the METAL peeler blade down the stone, as if you were peeling a carrot (I rotate the blade and remove the burrs on the back, but finish again with the first movement). The sharpening guru at Spyderco is right, there are not very sharp new. Very quickly the peeler will be sharper than new and it will work wonderfully.
Pros: Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bonniebleu
,Pittsburg
,CA
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new lefty tool
October 26, 2013
Eureka! For years I've tried to find a peeler that works continuously well for left-handlers. I love that it's adjustable, the peeling is super thin compared to other peelers, cleans up very well, doesn't rust and remains sharp. Oh, and allows me to peel faster.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoosMom
,Fairview and Ocean Isle
,NC
October 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite potato peeler
October 20, 2013
After buying this peeler and my daughter used it once, she loved it so much we went shopping and got her one....bonus it was on sale half price. I wish I had bought more to give as gifts while they were on sale. It slices like butter.....I threw my old peeler away! Really easy handling with arthritic wrists too. Just be careful around your fingers and I hand wash to preserve the quality of the blade. Dishwashers can dull knife blades so I never put anything like that in there. I don't recommend for cheese slicing but all peeling it does wonders!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loves2CookMuch
,Port Washington
,NY
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great peeler
October 15, 2013
This peeler works well. Like the fact that you can change the angle used for peeling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katethechef
,Shreveport
,LA
October 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Favorite Peeler
October 4, 2013
This peeler is awesome. It is so sharp (be really careful!) and peels anything in a snap. The swivel function is great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJAN
,Trondheim - Norway
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome product!
September 19, 2013
First impression was really awesome. Got this as a gift to my Mom and she really loved it.
Thanks Williams Sonoma for making it easy to ship outside of US.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chef58
,Philadelphia
,pa
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
stick with tried and true
May 28, 2013
Many years of cooking classes showed that chefs used this type of parer. I was very wary about trying it because I had no complaints about my XO stardard parer. It is totally safe and does a quick and efficent job. So many raves about the Kyocera and I have their knives...........I decided to take the plunge. Paring potatoes right out of the gate I cut the tip of my finger and nail so finely that I didn't even feel it. There's a plus.
Perhaps good surgical tool but not for the faint of heart of finger.
Cons: Temperamental, Inaccurate, does not save time
Review 9 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babs1963
,San Diego
,CA
San Diego, CA
April 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peeler
April 2, 2013
I absolutely love this Peeler! I have thrown out all my other peelers that were not worth the money I spent. I have bought these peeler for all family members and they are as pleased as I am.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fullcloset
,WA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peeler
January 27, 2013
This is the best peeler I have ever used. As the previous reviewer said, I have tried lots of others that break, rust, or are just poorly made. I've always had a hard time with peelers and usually end up cutting myself....I have arthritis and have trouble keeping a grip on things. This tool is not difficult to hold, and the shape/style of the blade makes it easy to peel carrots, potatoes, apples, and more. Well worth the money. I purchased one for myself and am buying another as a gift to my mom.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leo70
,Sunnyvale
,ca
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peeler Ever
January 4, 2013
This is an absolutly awesome peeler. I'm 68 years old, and finally got tired of wasting money on peelers that rust, dull, and bend. Put this on my Christmas list as a request for the "best peeler ever", and boy that's what this is. The different angles are perfect for various veggies, and the blade is razor sharp. Love it! Well worth the money, as I doubt I will ever have to buy another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaLOO
,Encino
,CA
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peeler
October 25, 2012
This is the best peeler I have ever used. You will never need another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Design
Review 13 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reflect
,Palmyra
,PA
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mine broke also
August 31, 2012
Used peeler one time and the peg holding the blade popped out. Very disappointed.
Pros: nice idea with the ceramic blade
Cons: Not Durable
Review 14 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sueover60
,Hamilton
,NJ
USA
July 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This peeler is great
July 15, 2012
This peeler is easy to find in the drawer and works great. I was forever catching my nails with the steel blade on my other peeler. Don't have to worry about nicks on my nails anymore and it does a wonderful job on anything I'm peeling. Because its reversible, right or left hand, it takes up just a little more space in the drawer, otherwise I would have given it 5 stars.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Americangirl
Spokane WA
Posted August 15, 2012
Top 25 Contributor
Thanks from a left handed arthritic gal
Thanks. I have been looking for left handed reviws.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KitchenWitch2012
,Aspen
,CO
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, until it broke!
May 31, 2012
I loved this peeler until it broke. It was versatile, comfortable, and effective. However, it has been rendered useless junk since it broke. The blade is held on by two very tiny plastic pegs. Once one peg pops, the peeler is broken for good. Back to the drawing board!
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ereader
San Francisco, CA
Posted January 2, 2014
It Does Not Sound Like Your Peeler Is Broken
The blade actually pops out from these pivot points. It is easier to clean with the blade off the handle. Occasionally one or the other end will come out while I am peeling, with a little pressure it will go right in and I continue working.
I sporadically pop mine out to soak my blade in a bleach solution to disinfect and remove discolorations (usually from eggplant and carrots) from the blade. I clean my Kyocera knifes in a bleach solution too (of course with their handles on and sticking up out of the solution).
I actually do NOT prefer this Kyocera peeler. I use my metal peelers more and regularly re-sharpen their metal blades.
Good luck!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kyocera Adjustable Ceramic Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charliem
,Georgetown
,tx
Georgetown,Texas
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so great I got one for my sister
March 7, 2012
This is a fantastic peeler. won't cut you but does a wonderful job on veggies and fruit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design