This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Kurobuta Pork Baby Back Ribs, Set of 4 Racks

Delicately marbled with fat, which renders as the pork slowly cooks, these ribs are moist, sweet and flavorful enough to stand up to the spiciest, tangiest sauce. Kurobuta, or "black hog," is the Japanese term for the Berkshire breed, the source of the famous Japanese kurobuta pork from the Kagoshima Prefecture. Like its Japanese counterpart, Snake River kurobuta is deep in color and exceptionally sweet, juicy and tender. Set of four racks, 10-12 ribs per rack; 1 lb. each. Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kurobuta Pork Baby Back Ribs, Set of 4 Racks
Review 1 for Kurobuta Pork Baby Back Ribs, Set of 4 Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellebeejay
,Los Angeles
,CA
February 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
I AM THE RIB MASTER!
February 27, 2013
OK, let's agree this is a lot of money to throw around. A friend gifted these to me for a special event, so I was game.
I did not do much prep: defrosted, rubbed with a simple spice rub, allowed them to come to room temp. Cooked them low and slow over briquettes for a few hours. That's it. (If you're spending this much money on ribs, don't use them merely as a vehicle for sauce!)
They were amazing. Very meaty, both in texture and in taste; an unmistakably pork-y/ham-y taste. Everyone was telling me "My God, this recipe is amazing - I must have it," and I - naturally - smiled and thanked them, but I knew it was really the meat they were loving. They were gone in a flash...I wish I'd had more.
I will definitely invest in these in the future...maybe two packages. The pricing is a bit above my local Whole Foods, but the flavor is worth it.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Kurobuta Pork Baby Back Ribs, Set of 4 Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mismax
,Houston
,MS
Houston, MS
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for the grill
June 27, 2012
Although these are a little pricey, they were delicious. I used WS Adhoc rub, wrapped them in plastic and let sit in refrigerator over night. Then I grilled them using indirect heat, moving over to direct heat at the end while basting with barbecue sauce. Will probably order again for 4th of July. These were so much better than what I've been able to find at mmy local grocer.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 3 for Kurobuta Pork Baby Back Ribs, Set of 4 Racks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JamesH
,Portland
,OR
June 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Good, but...
June 25, 2012
When we received them we were disappointed by the size. The average rack of ribs in our local supermarkets is about 2 ½ pounds per rack, the Snake River ribs were about 1 ¼ pounds per rack.
We cooked them sous vide and finished with grilling and a cold smoke. The flavor was excellent. Compared the other ribs there was a deeper, richer almost ham like flavor with a ton of umami. They were moist, but still had a firm meaty texture.
The bad news was that the ribs had evidently been cut with a dull saw. There were bone chips pressed into the meat near each end of almost every rib. These were uncomfortable to eat around/spit out (twice I had them stuck between my teeth). I would not have wanted to serve these to a child where they would have been a hazard.
Overall the flavor and mouth feel were excellent, but the small quantities and bone chips were disappointing, particularly at the price point these ribs.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Cons: quantity, bone chips in meat
Review 4 for Kurobuta Pork Baby Back Ribs, Set of 4 Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobS2
Cincinnati, OH
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Really great ribs!
June 3, 2011
Expensive for ribs but well worth it! They are a bit smaller than grocery store ribs. The fat renders out more completely. They also cooked a bit faster on my smoker at 225 - 5 hours versus 6-7. I'll order again.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount