Kurobuta Boneless Ham

Kurobuta, or "black hog," is the Japanese term for the Berkshire breed, the source of the famous Japanese kurobuta pork from the Kagoshima Prefecture. Like its Japanese counterpart, Snake River kurobuta is deep in color and streaked with fine marbling that makes this ham exceptionally sweet, juicy and tender. Its rich flavor is complemented perfectly by expert curing according to an old family recipe and light smoking over hardwood chips. Whole ham: Approx. 6 lb. (serves 12-16). Half ham: Approx. 4 lb. (serves 8-10). Fully cooked. Shipped frozen. Made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
Review 1 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NSB53
,Robbinsville
,NJ
April 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a ham !!!!!!!!
April 26, 2014
This was by far the best ham I've had. Made a good apple cider, brown sugar glaze for it and it was perfect. Even though it was expensive, I would still buy it again. We may even eat ham more than once a year now.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: expensive
Review 2 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mhmcook
,Lexington NC
April 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weight not what expected.
April 20, 2014
Cannot complete review as I have not cooked it yet but 2 lb 10 oz is not what I expected. I can't see this baby feeding 7 people. I have been a customer (big fan) since the 60's when I lived in California. and this is my biggest disappointment. I hope it's wonderful so that I will feel a little better about you.
mhmcook
Response from Williams-Sonomaby JosephineFood BuyerApril 28, 2014
I’m so sorry your experience with our Kurobuta Boneless Ham did not meet your expectations. We have reviewed your experience with our vendor, and would like to offer you a replacement ham to rectify the situation. As the ham is a natural product, size variation can occasionally occur, and we appreciate your feedback on this order. Our vendor is taking additional steps in order to ensure this issue does not happen again.

I hope this information helps improve your experience and satisfaction with your Kurobuta Boneless Ham, and we hope you enjoy your new order.
Review 3 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yeringtonian
,Yerington and Reno
,NV
April 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
April 4, 2014
I ordered the half-ham, which is listed as weighing about four pounds. I realize that this weight will vary and was expecting a ham somewhere around ( or less than) the listed weight. But 2 pounds and 9 ounces is not really anywhere close to the promised approximate weight. I sincerely hope that the taste of the ham will make up for the lack of quantity.
Cons: Amount
Response from Williams-Sonomaby JosephineFood BuyerApril 28, 2014
I’m so sorry your experience with our Kurobuta Boneless Ham did not meet your expectations. We have reviewed your experience with our vendor, and would like to offer you a replacement ham to rectify the situation. As the ham is a natural product, size variation can occasionally occur, and we appreciate your feedback on this order. Our vendor is taking additional steps in order to ensure this issue does not happen again.

I hope this information helps improve your experience and satisfaction with your Kurobuta Boneless Ham, and we hope you enjoy your new order.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Yeringtonian
Yerington and Reno, NV
Posted May 2, 2014
Much Happier
The Kurobuta ham tasted absolutely wonderful. Its slightly smoky and sweet flavor was most excellent, and the leftovers worked very well in a frittata and with baked ziti. After I pated my review, W&S contacted me and their communications and actions have made me very satisfied and has reinforced for me how important their customers are to W&S. Fan For Ever!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,Ca
Santa Cruz CA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I wanted to like it more, but...
January 3, 2013
I looked forward all year long to trying one of these hams for the holidays. It was good, but not as outstanding as I expected an expensive piece of pedigreed meat to be. There was nothing particularly wrong with it, aside from being a little salty like many hams are. I normally enjoy all the foods I buy from, WS, but this ham was just not any different from a good quality store-bought ham. The 4 lb size is good for two people, though, and generated enough leftovers for sandwiches and a quiche.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CBanana
,Seattle
,WA
York, PA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Flavor and Super Moist Ham
December 30, 2012
I ordered this ham for Christmas dinner last year and everyone loved it so I ordered it again this year. Again, it was a favorite at our dinner table so we decided it will become our family's tradition to serve this ham for Christmas dinner every year. It has a great smoky flavor, is not too salty or fatty and if very moist.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 6 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lokigirl
,Newport Beach
,CA
Newport Beach, Ca.
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best ham Ever!!!!!
February 8, 2012
I love Kurobuta pork. This is my second Kurobuta Ham from Williams-Sonoma. Tender texture and a flavor to die for plus very easy preparation. Highly recommend.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
betzk
,Sidney
,MT
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So delicious!
January 4, 2012
This was a "gift" sent to my parents house to contribute to Christmas dinner. It was so good! The only bad part was there were absolutely no leftovers. Would highly recommend this and I am looking forward to Easter so we can get another one.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 8 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottMc
,Baltimore
,MD
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
January 3, 2012
This is the perfect ham. I did not try to "enhance the flavor" in any way. Simply heated and served. Unbelievable. Universally liked by everyone I was entertaining. It is expensive, but worth it for that occasion when nothin less than perfect will do.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 9 for Kurobuta Boneless Ham
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hamlover
,Gainesville
,VA
USA
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the cost
January 1, 2012
Extremely disappointed based on price per pound. Expectations were high but this ham was no better than a ham that could be purchased at our local grocery store at a much lower cost. Save your money by buying from your favorite grocery store.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor