Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler

This Kuhn Rikon peeler from Switzerland effortlessly slices through all kinds of fruits and vegetables without tearing the skin. Straight blade peeler swiftly removes skin and peel from fresh produce. Potato bud remover on the side remove "eyes." Plastic and carbon steel. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma Exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
17 of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
Review 1 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HTStarr
December 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rusted - trash
December 22, 2013
worked great the one and only time i got to use it. washed in dishwasher - rusted. trash.
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, rusted
Review 2 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kittensmom
,Olalla
,wa
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peeler recommended by American's Test Kitchen
November 26, 2013
I have not used this peeler yet, but I expect it to work beautifully.
Review 3 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inam
,kennesaw
,GA
November 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best peeler i ever had!
November 25, 2013
This works like a dream,the price is unbeatable!
I used it for sweet potatoes which are hard to do and its great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 4 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ajf1
,NJ
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great peeler for low price
November 18, 2013
I'm very pleased with the kuhn rikon peeler, the blade is sharp and the handle is very ergonomic. I'm most impressed with the quality for the low price i paid. I will recommend to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4dogmom
,Dublin
,VA
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best peeler ever
October 22, 2013
Forget about other peelers. This shape somehow makes peeling much easier and quicker. I'm like a dynamo peeling carrots with these little guys. We won't use anything else (and believe me, we have a drawer full of useless peelers).
Cannot recommend more highly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
conniewonnie
,Fair Oaks
,Ca
June 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed, I haven't been able to replace it!
June 28, 2013
I love it, or did, until my husband accidentally threw it away. Very sharp and easy to use. Had it for several years. The store has been out of it for months and its on back order on line! As far as the blade rusting, it's carbon steel, take care of it! It's not rocket science.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Size
Review 7 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JulieW
,Byron
,Mn
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peelers Ever!!
April 29, 2013
I bought this peeler, and loved it, and then my sister in law tried it and loved it, now my mother has it, and everyone of her friends!! What have I started... the point is this is the best peeler that I have ever used and just love it. I will never use another kind as long as these are available.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alice01
March 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't believe I'm writing a review about a peeler
March 1, 2013
But it's that good. When I bought it, I was cautious; it is very cheap and very.. plastic. But it cut through my potato like air and the little circle on the side was perfect for gauging out those black bits. Just brilliant. I've never been so quick at peeling before, either. So good, I felt obliged to write a review- something I've never done before.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 9 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dictionary
,Santa Clara Valley
,CA
San Jose, CA
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
In a pinch
January 5, 2013
If you didn't have another peeler this one would do but honestly the Swissmar ones are much better. I bought this one and found that it has a really small handle, cuts nicely but the blade rusted after one use. I only bought this because my grandson inadvertenly threw away 2 of my Swissmar peelers by mistake..alas I am disappointed with this one so will buy another set of 3 from Swissmar.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: Quality, Size
Review 10 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marlena
December 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Straight Peeler
December 14, 2012
Although my purchase was very small, for marketing you might want to remove the $3.50 price tag from each of the 2 peelers, since I paid $4.00 for each. Other than that, they are just what I was looking for.
Review 11 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
May 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go to Peeler!
May 8, 2012
Sturdy, works like a charm! This is my second one, as the first one I threw in the garbage in error, as the clear/white color and small size fell into the shavings so be careful. Other than that works far better than any other peeler I have ever had. Inexpensive, worth having a few...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 12 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shirts
,Bronxville
,NY
March 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peeler Ever
March 4, 2012
I was reluctant to buy this little peeler at first but went ahead a purchased it anyway well, I have to tell you it's the best peeler I have ever used in my life and I love it!
I strongly urge you to buy one or 3, like I did.
I use this little power house peeler on everything from peppers to fruit and is the only peeler I keep in the kitchen.
Joe
Review 13 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
drjec20002
,Rumson
,NJ
Rumson, NJ
February 29, 2012
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
At best it's OK
February 29, 2012
The blade on this works well; however, the handle is so small it is too awkward to comfortably work with. This is better for a picnic but not for daily use.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 14 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paturi
,Davison
,MI
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbeatable peeler
February 17, 2012
So happy these are still available and still made in Switzerland! The one I had finally broke after several years of use and I could not go back to a regular peeler. These are so sharp and comfortable to use, make quick work of peeling chores. I stocked up and bought four.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 15 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zuckererbse
San Diego, CA
December 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have for your kitchen!
December 10, 2011
One of the most reasonably priced items in the store, this peeler beats its more pricey cousins in every aspect. Small and easy to hold, it removes very thin layers of peel thus preserving vitamins. And it keeps a keen edge.
As with all metal cutting devices, Never Put Them Into A Dishwasher Ever!!! This will dull their edge and make them dangerous to use, plus the additives in high-end dishwasher detergents these days will most certainly damage any blade very quickly and make them start to rust. It is not the product that is at fault here, it is the dishwasher. Look after your cutting utensils and wash them by hand. They will thank you for it :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellerchef
December 9, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best peeler ever!!!
December 9, 2011
This is the best peeler ever, and for the price you can't beat it. To the previous reviewer...take the time to hand wash your tools like a proffesional and they will last longer. Wipe the blade with a little oil once you are done washing it and that will take care of the rust issue. This is the only peeler I will use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean
Review 17 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FDeSmet
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas, TX
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You get what you pay for
November 28, 2011
This is hands-down one of the worst peelers ever! I rarely take the time to review most items on this or any other kitchen supply website, but I felt the need to write one for this item to warn everyone about it. The only plus to this peeler is it peels very thin slices, so there's minimal waste. However, the peeler began to rust after just the 2nd use! I don't have the time to hand-dry and babysit items, so I was upset that allowing this to air dry was not sufficient enough to keep it from rusting. As my headline states, you get what you pay for... so don't expect this peeler to last very long!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality, rusts easily
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
parothstein
Posted November 30, 2011
Wow - I couldn't disagree more!
I use mine almost daily and LOVE it! It's the best peeler I have ever used...the key is to wash and dry it after use and you will not get a bit of rust.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scottj
,Chicago
,IL
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
By far the best peeler for the money
November 28, 2011
To start I have recommended this peeler to many of my friends. I have owned a few peelers such as the OXO and Kyocera (the ceramic blade). I was pretty disappointed with the Kyocera because it is decent at peeling but the swivel head isn't the strongest and likes to rotate between peels. The OXO and similar models just don't have a decent blade on them. The Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler is my favorite and I've owned it for a few years now. The peeler goes through squash skins no problem, in fact, much better than the ceramic Kyocera. I highly recommend this peeler, especially for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 19 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parothstein
,Lindenhurst
,IL
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peeler - PERIOD!
November 26, 2011
I don't know how there can complaints about this peeler. I have used expensive peelers $15-$20 and there is no comparison! The blade never dulls and it is a comfortable peeler to use and fits a hand perfectly. For those that complained that the blade rusted...I wash and dry mine immediately after use and that solves that problem. Plus they are so inexpensive, that you can buy a few of them. Love this peeler...you won't be disappointed!
Review 20 for Kuhn Rikon Straight Peeler
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Carla689
October 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peeler is rusty!
October 6, 2011
I bought this peeler a couple of months ago and it already starts to rust. This really disappoints me especially since it seems to be a Swiss product and they are usually really good quality.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
parothstein
Posted November 30, 2011
Just dry the peeler and you will not have rust!
If you wash the peeler and dry it, you will not have issues with rust
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next