Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener

Take the strain and frustration out of opening jars of sauce, pickles and more with this handy jar opener. It easily removes a wide variety of threaded lids, including smooth-sided and grooved - just tighten the opener's knob and push the lever. Easily opens a wide variety of thread-capped jars ranging in size from 1" to 3 1/2" diam. Compatible with both smooth-sided and grooved lids. Stainless-steel lever and gripping teeth; ABS plastic housing. 9" long. Dishwasher safe. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
Review 1 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BethanyBowen
,TX
November 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Jar Opener I've Ever Used
November 22, 2014
This is best working jar opener that I have ever used. It is sturdy, well made, and works amazingly well. It grips securely, does not slip, and opens with just a quick turn. As with any jar opener you need to hold on to the jar tightly as you open it. This jar opener does not require a lot of strength to use, so it is especially beneficial to anyone where strength is a problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJ3167
,Redford
,MI
Michigan
April 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT...
April 3, 2014
I am in my late 40's and unfortunately, over the years, I have developed Carpal Tunnel in my dominating hand...right wrist. Having this jar opener assists me in lessening the pressure in that area which alleviates the pain later. I appreciate the fact that it saves me time, accommodates/molds to multiple jar sizes with ease, it is sturdy and built well! I am so glad I decided to purchase this item!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gingerflies
,Gresham
,OR
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well but hold on to the jar.
July 13, 2013
This device looks like the Swiss army version of a vise grip. It works and works well, it gives you good grip and ease in turning the jar lid with out having to beat up the lid in the process. However, do make sure you have the jar bottom on a no slip surface and hold the jar level. My first use was with a pickle jar. I didn't hold the jar properly, when the lid released there was pickle brine and pickles all over the counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: not sure how well it will clean
Review 4 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lovelyflower
,AR
February 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost loved it
February 7, 2013
It worked well on small bottles and I was very happy with it until I needed to open lids that are flat on the side like the pickle jar. It just smashed in the sides and scraped the paint off and then it wouldn't hold tight. I tried it on another flat sided lid and it just dented the side and wouldn't open it.
Up to this problem I really did love the ease of using it
Review 5 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mjhc
,mentor
,OH
OH
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better then a husband.
January 31, 2013
I have one for myself and love it, so I bought one for a neighbor and now she travels with it all the time. She says it is the only thing that opens her water bottles and pop bottles. Will be buying another for another friend as she has arthritis in the hands. Love this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver
Review 6 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Louisville
,KY
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no luck opening jars with this jar opener
December 5, 2012
This jar opener gets a super good grip on the lid of jars but unless you can hold on tight enough to the glass bottom and twist you're out of luck.
I really didn't feel that this jar opener gave me any kind of advantage in opening jars- I tried to no avail on several different sizes.
Returned it
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use, ineffectual
Review 7 for Kuhn Rikon Jar Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoraeS
October 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No more painful hands!
October 13, 2012
I kept injuring my hands trying to open jars and bottles -- and kept bending utensils trying to loosen the containers' edges to break the vacuum -- and then this arrived and made all those problems go away! It works very well for many different sizes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design