Kuhn Rikon Can Opener

Designed in Switzerland, this manual can opener quickly does its job - cutting the side of the can without leaving a sharp edge on the can or the lid.Simple manual operation.Automatically clamps onto can edge.Precision cutting blade circles side of can.Leaves a dull rounded edge.Holds lid in place until you release it.Comfortable stainless-steel handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
44 of 49(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
Review 1 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
firetecswife
,Waldorf
,MD
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought a second one as a gift
December 27, 2012
I love this can opener! I had tried many others, but they all seemed flimsy and would break. This one has really held up. I have had mine for almost 2 years now and it is great. I just bought one for my sister for Christmas!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HIgirl
,Kaneohe
,HI
Honolulu, HI
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't last long
November 24, 2011
Disappointed with this product. We eat mostly fresh food and do not use the can opener that frequently. Bought it about 6 mos ago. Worked great out of the box, but is now already dull. Have to run it over the cans several times before it opens them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2muchpasta
,Huntington
,NY
October 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing product
October 31, 2011
Buy this product! it is superbly crafted, works exceptionally well and solves the problem of dangerous and sharp can edges. As a high volume amateur chef I can tell you that once you master the technique of this device, you will never go back to a piercing can device.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 4 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skyrn
,Norman
,Ok
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great can opener
October 24, 2011
I love this can opener. Although it took me a minute to figure out, I loved it. It is easy to use and I would recommend it to everyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 5 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Berkeley
eagle idaho
September 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Messiest Can Opener Ever!
September 3, 2011
Yes, it keeps a sealed non cutting edge. That is the only great thing it does. Not only is it work to twist but after your done you have to yank on the lid to get it to pop off! So, then you get to clean off the counter mess and most likely your shirt.
All this messy fun before you even get your food out off can. DO NOT BUY if you are looking for quick, simple, and clean.
Pros: non cutting edge
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, does not let go easy of top..
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RRosebud
Los Angeles
Posted October 31, 2011
Note the button on the side
This can openner has a built in "tweezer" on the side of it that you use to pry off /lift the lid with. If you use that feature, I think you'll change your mind about how happy you are with the tool. I ADORE mine!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SandW
Cleveland, Ohio
August 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Can Opener Ever!
August 22, 2011
This can opener easily snaps to the top of the can, swiftly winds around and opens without a single sharp edge. This opener is good for people with arthritis because of ease of movement. I love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 7 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TaeM
Florida
July 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome can opener. Easy to use
July 26, 2011
We've had our Kuhn Rikon can opener now for several months and LOVE it! It's easy to use and opens cans without any effort. It was a great purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 8 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GooseHollowFarm
Palmyra, WI
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
By far the best can opener EVER!
July 18, 2011
This can opener is so easy to use and so much fun, I wanted to open cans that I didn't even need! Peice of cake and the edge really isn't sharp. (I don't know how they do that, but I don't care). For those who said they don't know how to use it, there is now a little tag on it that tells you how. I think part of the problem is that the photo for the can opener shows the wrong place to put it - thus causing confusion. It doesn't go on to the side like the photo, it goes on flat on top. you line up the wheels and turn clockwise. then when you feel less resistance, you turn counter clockwise and you are done. pop off the top, or use the little pincher thing to remove. SO EASY and perfect! How can you be in love with a can opener? I don't know, but I am! :-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Review 9 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slcscv
scv, ca
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stocking Stuffers
July 9, 2011
I read the reviews of all the hand-held can openers and was leery about all of them. Our local store didn't carry it so I couldn't see it and had to purchase online.
This can opener is THE BEST. Putting it on the can is easy, twisting the crank is easy, and smoothly glides around the can top. The only tricky part is figuring out how to remove the lid. The lid is cut to remove on the outside of the can (not inside the lip). Once you figure that out you'll love it. The other great thing is there are no dangerous edges to worry about.
Honestly it's the best and I'm going to buy them for my entire family as stocking stuffers!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design, no unsafe edges
Review 10 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fortheloveofcooking
Jacksonville, Florida
June 25, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh my gosh - a can opener that works
June 25, 2011
I live in Florida - hurricane season - therefore a manual can opener is imperative. This can opener is the best I have ever tried. Works smoothly, cleanly, effortlessly. I love it!! I love it so much that probably everybody on my Christmas list is going to get one. It would be worth twice the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, big turn handle for easy operation
Review 11 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveHomeCooking
Northville MI
May 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this can opener!
May 6, 2011
We have a small kitchen, space is at a premium. Bought this, liked the idea of the lid no longer falling in my can after opening (which is gross if you haven't washed the lid). Love this opener. Smooth, easy to use, although I agree with many others, the directions are written in a very small font! My family loved it too.. bought one for my brother and mother. My leftie Dad is the only one who isn't a fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
costumefaery
Evansville WI
April 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
April 29, 2011
Husband: You'd better show me how to use your new can opener before I throw it in the trash.
Me: it's really not that difficult.
Husband: ...
I showed him, now we have pumpkin muffins :D
Getting used to it is a little tricky.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 13 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DavCap
Los Angeles
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good can opener
April 28, 2011
This can opener does the job, but we had to look further for instructions because it has a single handle, and the instructions that accompanied it were useless and too small to read.
Pros: Quality, Size, Weight
Cons: useless instructions
Review 14 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
voodoo879
Atlanta, GA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great!
April 7, 2011
I had a little difficulty using it at first. I'm not very mechanical, but once I got the hang of it I loved it.
Pros: Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 15 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blades
San Francisco, CA
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Manual Can Opener on the Market
February 12, 2011
I have blown through my fair share of traditional swing-away and "no sharp edges" can openers (read: oxo).
We've had this can opener for a couple years now, and after heavy use it still works as well as the day we bought it.
Removes the lid on the first pass every time. Easily worth the premium price over traditional swing-aways.
Easy to use. It's a can opener, people. If you can't figure it out, talk to a WS employee.
Review 16 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BubbaGator
Gainesville, FL
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great can opener, DOESN'T GET DIRTY
February 5, 2011
I open cans of tuna frequently, and no juice ever gets on this one. It cuts the side of the can, not the rim, so that the lid isn't sharp to the touch. At first it looks a little confusing. You just hold it with the turn nub facing upwards, place the head of the can opener on the lid, and it instantly grabs hold of the can once you start to turn. You'll know when its finished when you feel the tension ease up. Then just start to turn it back counterclockwise and it will release. Its got little gripping teeth on the side to grab the lid. Just push down on the button seen in the picture to close the jaw.
Review 17 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nonie
FL
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Can Opener
November 22, 2010
I love this can opener, best one I have ever had. Once you figure out how to use it, it is so simple. It doesn't get dirty when you use it and the can & lid is left with smooth edges, no more cutting yourself with sharp metal!!!!!
Review 18 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LizBab
Ridgecrest, CA
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
October 20, 2010
This is an excellent item, but a small handbook about how to use it would be a big help. It's pretty much trial and error the first time you use it.
I'd like to comment that I had to nag Williams-Sonoma to get delivery on the item, which was back-ordered when I first sent in my order. I don't mind waiting, but would enjoy online updates in that case. I finally resorted to the phone to find out what had happened, and the item was then shipped the day after I called. Makes me wonder if I'd ever get it if I hadn't called!
Review 19 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
molly667
Helena, mt
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
0of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Manual can opener
October 18, 2010
I haven't used it yet because there were no instructions. I tried once, couldn't figure it out so I put it away and have yet to retry. I wanted one that would fit in a drawer so I could free up some counter space
Review 20 for Kuhn Rikon Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lookforquality
Nahville,TN
September 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Ever!!
September 12, 2010
I through out so many can openers because after a while they fail and brake. When I read about this one , have to admit didn't believe what I read. But once I started to use it - it is magic. My husband (men like gadgets:-) ) loves it!!!
It not only cuts the can in an easy way but you don't have any sharp edges any more. Unbelievably well thought utensil!
Highly recommended!
page1 2 3 next