Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker

A great choice for beginning baristas, this is the only manual espresso machine on the market with an automatic tamping system. To guarantee a perfect cup every time, it takes care of the tricky task of tamping the ground beans-just insert the portafilter under the tamping hand. Tiny teeth on the tamping hand help the machine determine the precise pressure needed for the ultimate espresso. Machine automatically tamps ground beans, then brews perfect espresso. Use the removable nozzle to steam and froth milk for cappuccinos and lattes. Control espresso strength and volume using the intuitive manual knob. 15-bar pump ensures a smooth, rich amber crema and a perfectly balanced espresso. Thermoblock heating system gives you superb control of the water temperature. Stainless-steel cup warmer helps ensure the proper serving temperature. Claris water filtration system optimizes flavor and prolongs the life of the machine. Easy Cake Ejection System lets you clean the portafilter by pushing a single button. Drip tray removes for easy cleaning. Includes a handy measuring spoon. 33-oz. cap. removable water tank. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker
Review 1 for Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JEFFIEE
,MINNEAPOLIS
,MN
June 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BAD BUY ON KRUPS
June 8, 2014
THE STEAMER KEEPS BREAKING AND IVE HAD TO EXCHANGE TWICE ALREADY
Cons: steamer breaks
Review 2 for Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skypilot
February 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pleased User
February 22, 2014
I have used a Krups machine for seven years and needed to buy another - but have been worried by the reviews of current offerings. Most troubling was the almost universal disdain for the frother which seemed to break for everyone. I am happy to report that Krups - or perhaps Willaims Sonoma - have solved that issue and it is far more secure than what I had on my older machine. And the coffee created is smooth and more solid - more so than with my past machine. If I have a complaint it would be that I haven't figured how to get as much froth as I could with my last machine. I anticipate this will be my favorite and that it will last.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 3 for Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
riverhs
,Richland
,WA
February 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Basic but Great
February 13, 2014
Switched from French Press and love this machine. It's simple, basic, but makes great lattes, and coffee. We prefer a double shot and have figured out how to get just the right balance with this machine. Frothing is easy and machine is easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappilyCaffinated
,Kansas City
,MO
January 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive!
January 31, 2014
Very durable feeling. Easy to operate and works fast! Ensure the water reservoir is at least half full every time so it always has enough to do its job. Got an amazing amber crema, even off our cheap espresso grounds! In fact, it completely altered the taste of our cheap grounds into something we didn't think possible---not nearly as bitter yet robust, clean and really hot. The self-tamping system certainly packs the grounds down tight which I can only assume has something to with why we have much more flavor. The frother side works amazing. Whether you're just steaming milk or want thick foam, this will do the job. As much as we'd love to spend thousands on some insane machine that does everything but basically serve it to you in bed, I can't imagine anything would do much better than this, ESSPECIALLY for the price! We prefer classic style espresso which is why we avoided the pod-style systems of equal cost. We won’t ever go back to a steam based system after having a bar pump style.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed
Cons: the cup warmer on top is kind of useless
Review 5 for Krups Precise Tamp Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TLJUMPER
,Little Rock
,AR
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+24points
26of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice espresso machine
November 4, 2013
I bought this espresso maker with the express desire to cut my Starbucks bill. I found I wanted a latte every day and the cost was prohibitive. I purchased the espresso machine and walked down to Starbucks and bought their coffee and syrup. They ground the beans to the fine texture for espresso and I started experimenting. It didn't take but a couple of tries before I was making lattes I couldn't tell from "store bought" lattes. I totaled up the cost of each for just the ingredients at about $1 per latte and if I want them in little paper cups with sleeves now made by solo cups $1.20 each. With the $3.30 I save per day the payoff is under 90 days. I love the little machine, maybe coffee snobs would feel differently but it works perfectly for my needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TLJUMPER
Arkansas
Posted February 21, 2014
So now the problems start.
Everything was fine for two months then the steaming wand failed. Williams and Sonoma replaced the entire machine which was great. Then a month later the steaming wand on the second machine failed. I took it to their repair facility and after two weeks they said they repaired it. The steam wand failed again in three days. I called Krups twice and each time they said they were mailing me a new steam wand, never received one. I tried wrapping the threads with Teflon tape and it worked for a few more days. Finally I broke down and purchased a Brieville Milk Frother and it works great. Just add milk and push the button, I can be fixing the espresso while the milk is frothing. Much less mess and frustration. I would avoid this machine unless you are willing to buy a separate frother.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)