Kouign Amann, Set of 8

To pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon, a kouign amann tastes like home. From his native Brittany, this classic Breton "butter cake" relies on layers of handmade puff pastry dough to create a decadent treat with a sweet, buttery center and crisp caramelized-sugar coating. Hand made with the finest natural ingredients, the frozen pastries are simple to prepare-just let them rise overnight and bake. They emerge from the oven with crunchy, sugar-speckled exteriors, tender interiors and an irresistible buttery aroma. 8 pastries; 2 lb. 3 oz. total. Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
28 of 35(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
Review 1 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arooli
,Pasadena
,Ca
April 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brunch must have
April 12, 2014
I ordered this item for the first time for a brunch I was hosting. It was a huge hit!!! Everyone loved it and was a crowd favorite :)
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fernie14
,San Antonio
,TX
March 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
let them rise and delicious
March 8, 2014
Surprisingly delicious. Wish there were more in the box. With slight adjustments, I was able to bake them in my toaster over for a little less time than the oven would have taken.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent
Cons: Amount
Review 3 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AEHolmes
,District Heights
,MD
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved Them!
January 15, 2014
They are delicious. They are buttery, flaky and have just enough sweetness with the sugary crust to bring it all together to make it an enjoyable treat. I just wish there were more in the box.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, buttery, flaky
Review 4 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just the right sweetness
July 26, 2013
These are slightly sweet. If the morning buns and sticky buns are too sweet for you, this is your pastry. Lovely!
Review 5 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bisquick1
,Hampstead
,MD
March 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT Kouign Amann
March 31, 2013
This is nothing like real Kouign Amann which is rich and buttery and sugary. I make better Kouign Amann. This has been a passion of mine ever since visiting Brittany and this product is not even close. This is a pleasant pastry that should not be called Kouign Amann. I was hopeful because it is a very difficult pastry to make correctly (especially without Breton yeast and flour). If you're looking for the real thing, this ain't it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, not anything like kouign amann
Review 6 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MnT73
,Hoboken
,Nj
January 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not So Great
January 28, 2013
I tried these this morning, they rose perfectly, and do bake beautifully but it is very BLAND. It is like a croissant with a slight taste of sugar. I was not expecting that, I guess I was expecting way more by the reviews, sad it wasn't better. My husband tried it and also didn't care for it, he found it greasy. Glad I did try them though.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, bland
Review 7 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Mission Viejo
,CA
January 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
P-E-R-F-E-C-T!
January 8, 2013
We have bought all of the pastries from WS, both for ourselves and for gifts. The Kouing Amann were another big hit for us and our friends. Like a trip to France - tasting of fresh butter and crunchy sugar, divine!! These are as easy to make as the other pastries and are completely delicious - for adults and kids. We fight over the last one every time! You can make a few at a time, or the whole box. We try to make a few at a time to stretch the experience! They defrost and rise overnight and bake fresh in the a.m. Or you can defrost in the a.m. and serve as an amazing dessert. What's not to love?!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, delicious
Review 8 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makala
,Sioux Falls
,SD
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expensive but delish-e-ous!
January 7, 2013
Even betten than expected, almost addictive! I just ordered a second box. Not a good fit with my diet but I will find a way to cut back somewhere else.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 9 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PetiteBean
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredibly delicious, use butter!
January 6, 2013
These are everything in good French pastry that you can't get in the States, outside certain city spots and a few outposts. Amazingly flaky and delicious - the outside is light and crispy while the inside has melty delicious buttery layers. Two tips that make them even better - grease the baking tins with softened butter, not spray (we thought the spray gave an unpleasant acidic flavor), and let the pastries rise in the warmest place in your kitchen (we use our gas oven, since the pilot makes it consistently warmer than room temp) for 10 hours at least.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Decadent, Flavor
Review 10 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FLANATIVE
,Orlando
,Fl
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melt in your mouth delicious
August 21, 2012
These are so addictive!! The first time I made them, I forgot to spray the little pans with cooking spray. Then I re-read the directions. They dont look like the picture. They are more like rounded domes on the top. The next time we couldn't eat them fast enough. I am now ordering them for the second time. They are very light and fluffy with an unusual flavor and just a hint of sweetness, that is just delicious. I just wish they didn't have to rise so long before you can eat them, but its worth the wait.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Time to Prepare
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
FLANATIVE
Orlando, Fl
Posted December 17, 2012
cooking time
I also reduced the cooking time to 22 minutes and the temp to 340 degrees. The bottom doesn't get burned with these changes.
0points
Customer avatar
HaydenLakeKaren
Hayden Lake, ID
Posted December 15, 2012
Domed Shape
I thought the same thing the first two times I bought these. The third time I turned them over and they looked like the picture.
True story.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJill128
,Bellevue
,PA
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious!
August 13, 2012
I have had two order of this fabulous pastry and each time have been absolutely delighted. The last order I shared with company and they, too, thought the pastry to be out of this world. Just enough buttery flavor, just the right amount of sugar. Perfection.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 12 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shannon222
,PENN VALLEY
,CA
July 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Pronounce Them, We Just Eat Them Anyway
July 11, 2012
I read all the reviews before trying these, and was very happy I got them. We love them. They don't look anything like the photo online, ours always look like little puffy pillows. They're crispy cinnamon on the top and airy and tender inside. We're a bit addicted to them now. We haven't been to France and we have no French bakeries anywhere near where we live, so we don't have any preconceived ideas about what these pastries should look or taste like. Maybe they are rising too long and that's why they are puffy, and maybe they aren't exactly the way they are "supposed" to be in some way, but they're delicious and unusual and one of our favorite weekend treats. (We also enjoy the mini croissants, and the sticky buns.)
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCW713
,Houston
,TX
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The next best thing to being in Paris
February 17, 2012
I tried Kouign Amann for the first time on a recent trip to Paris. It was amazing and I became addicted.
There are some French bakeries in my town, but no of them attempt this. I looked at some recipes online, but it sounds pretty complicated, so I was thrilled to find an online option. I love the fact that they come frozen, so you aren't forced to use then all at once. Expensive, yes, but certainly more reasonable than a trip to Paris. i'll definitely reorder!!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 14 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DCLady
,Washington
,DC
Washington DC
February 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
February 11, 2012
I really wanted to love these because I love everything I have gotten from Williams Sonoma. They look really good in the pictures but are not good at all. They are greasy, tasteless and nothing like expected. I ordered two boxes and gave one to a friend. When I asked him what he thought, he didn't like them either. We are both pretty advanced bakers and follow directions carefully. These did not rise well and didn't bake evenly. Don't waste your money, get something else instead (see suggestions listed)
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor, waste of time & money
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcsiouxsie
Arlington, VA
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decadent and delicious treat
February 7, 2012
Expensive, but one of the best pastries W&S carries, hands down. If you don't have any bakeries nearby that make this one, it's worth ordering, as long as you're not afraid of a little butter, because this version is really good. Everyone in the family liked it, and no problems with shipping, the overnight rise, or any part of the process.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robospa
,Crescent city
,Ca
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious pastry
February 5, 2012
These are a great pastry, and I would order them again. The individual baking dish for each pastry "captures" the caramelized sugar, making the kouign a decadent treat.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 17 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Malabargold
January 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Avoid these
January 30, 2012
Stick to the plain and chocolate filled croissants. Tried these twice, collapsed to gooey flat messes after coming out of the oven. Followed directions to a "T".
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 18 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mklaves
January 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pastry yet!
January 28, 2012
We have tried most of the pastries from Charon including all flavors of croissants, morning buns and sticky buns. These are hands down my families new favorite. We call them Creme Brulee pastry and have re-orderd twice!
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 19 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fabfood
,Quakertown
,Pa
pennsylvania
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful way to start the day!
January 25, 2012
these were absolutely scrumptious! Warm out of the oven--a great breakfast, or perfect for afternoon tea!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 20 for Kouign Amann, Set of 8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamasanh
,Emeryville
,CA
Emeryville, CA
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME!!!
January 25, 2012
Having these hot from the oven, there is nothing better! I've had them from our local Bay Area bakery, and they are good too, but there is something about fresh from the warm oven that makes these the perfect weekend pastry! YJC - your folks know their stuff! Keep up the great work!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount
page1 2 next