Komin Grill Pan

Japanese industrial designer Komin Yamada takes cast-iron cookware to an innovative new level with sleek, lightweight cookware that's exceptionally responsive to heat. Use this versatile, high-ridged pan for grilling everything from steaks, burgers and chicken breasts to fresh seafood and veggies. It can also double as a shallow roasting pan. With all the heat-retaining qualities of a heavier, more traditional cast iron piece, this surprisingly lightweight and easy-to-handle cast-iron pan heats up rapidly, transfers heat uniformly and responds quickly to changes in cooking temperature. Cast iron with nonreactive black matte silicon coating. Designed by world-renowned Japanese industrial designer, Komin Yamada. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Oven and broiler safe. 10" diam., 2" high. Crafted in Niigata, Japan, a region long famous for its fine ironwork.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Komin Grill Pan
Review 1 for Komin Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Frankie08
,Lords Valley
,Pa
September 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great stovetop grill pan
September 6, 2014
Only 4 stars because although there were no instructions about seasoning this grill before using ,it does need seasoning or everything will stick and it will be hard to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Komin Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sewcook
,Bethlehem
,Ct
August 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible grill pan
August 28, 2014
Used this pan once to grill some vegies and drizzled Balsamic vinegar over them at the end of cooking and the vinegar stuck to the pan in the grooves and I was not able to get it cleaned. I tried everything to soften the burned on grit.
Pros: Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ridgetopdjk
,Plymouth Mtg
,PA
August 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome for grilling on stovetop
August 28, 2014
This grilling pan is lightweight so it's easier to handle than cast iron but it behaves like cast iron. I've used it to make steak -- can sear on top of stove then finish in the oven. It's also great for grilled sandwiches or pretty much anything you want to grill. Love it! Got one for friends who also like to cook and they love theirs, too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warski
,West Hollywood
,CA
August 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfecting the Perfect?
August 6, 2014
After purchasing the Komin frying pan, I returned to "William Sonoma to purchase this grill and the other Komin Yamada cast iron piece.
This brilliant transformation of our beloved, traditional cast iron pan is a work of genius! Yamada's pots and pans are lighter by 2/3s and they heat faster by the same or near to the same ratio. Remarkable!
Using my great, old cast iron pans is always a treat, but an effort too. These Komin Yamadas make it easy for me to use cast iron every day - and I love that. (I'll save the traditional cast irons for special family holidays.)
IMPORTANT: these pots and pans season beautiful with little effort and are easy to clean if you follow the simple directions. And, best of all, I've found zero difference in the taste of everything I've cooked thus far.
If there is such a thing: Mr. Yamada has perfected the perfect. Congratulations.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, cools quickly, fast heating
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Warski
West Hollywood
Posted September 1, 2014
Answer to Comment (Seasoning)
Just oil it lightly before and after use. Use whatever oil you wish depending on the smoke point. (Often, it is not necessary to oil again, once it's been used and oiled.) There is no need to season more than that with this pan.
The experts at Wm. Sonoma instructed, "No scouring items, use no stiff brush, no harsh chemical cleaners - just dish soap and hot water. If food is baked on, let that soak with soap and water till softened. (If some small area seems hardened still, I scratch that area gently with my fingernail - my idea. And, I have used a brush, but I make sure it's SOFT.)
So, use a sponge to clean with hot water and dish soap. After that, dry it completely (soft cloth) and oil the pan lightly. (As said above: oil after use. Then, you rarely have to oil it again before use.)
I hang my pan on a wall rack so occasionally I see a small oil residue at the bottom of the inside lip. I'll either wipe that into the pan or wipe and discard.
Best wishes to you!
0points
Customer avatar
okbart
Tulsa, OK
Posted August 28, 2014
Not an Advanced cook
Several people have commented that food sticks, the instructions said no seasoning necessary, etc. You mentioned seasoning the pan. What is the best method of seasoning the pan? I want to start out right and not ruin the pan.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkMiddletownCT
,Middletown
,ct
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for induction or other glass cooktops
June 13, 2014
A work of real craftsmanship! Does a remarkable job making sear marks, due to its deep ridging. As lightweight as it is, it's ideal for our new glass induction cooktop. Cleanup is easy: when anything sticks, I use a salt/water paste and scrub with a firm brush. Seasoning is also easy: rub with oil and bake in 325 oven for 1 hr.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Komin Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tpagal
,Tampa
,fl
April 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely disappointing
April 1, 2014
I loved the design of this pan, but the instructions said it did not need to be seasoned so I did not. Everything I grill in it sticks. At this point it is almost impossible to clean all the charred stuff off. after several uses, I cleaned it up best I could and I seasoned it anyway. it was better for one use and now it is horrible again. I am consulting with a couple of sources to see if it can be salvaged. And forget contacting the manufacturer. I have searched the internet and they are no where to be found. For the price, I really expected more. Very, very disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted May 25, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Try Scanpan
You may want to try Scanpan's square grill pan instead. It's very easy to clean and grills food nicely.
Although, I have used Scanpan fry pans for years; (not wanting to waste money) I waited several years before giving my Calphalon grill pan away because it was too difficult to clean. I wish I had replaced the Calphalon, with Scanpan, sooner.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoCruising
,Chicago Suburbs
,Il
February 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best grill pan ever
February 27, 2014
I was intrigued when I saw this pan in one of the emailed ads. I made a point of looking at it the next time I was at the store, and brought one home. I love this pan! Great for healthy cooking for two. I sear the meat or fish and put it in the oven. When the sides are ready, the grilled item is too. Think lamb chops, chicken breasts, salmon...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katileigh
,Upstate
,NY
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill pan-easy to use
January 2, 2014
So far, this is a lovely little pan. I really like the closely spaced and subtle grilling grates; they make grill marks, but still disperse heat nicely. I can grill a chicken breast at a medium/low setting, and nothing sticks. I did spray with PAM grilling spray before using it. It's a nice size-fits 4 chicken breasts without crowding, and covers a large burner without much overhang.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: can't say yet
Review 9 for Komin Grill Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
azcookingfan
,Phoenix
,AZ
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely to look at, difficult to clean
July 29, 2013
The shape and weight are perfect, and this is great size for when I'm cooking for just the two of us. It's definitely my go-to pan for grilling veggies.
Do be careful with the heat, especially if you're grilling anything that's been in a marinade containing any sugars. You can easily end up with a baked-on (grilled-on?) mess that is difficult to clean. [And yes, the pan is well seasoned.]
Pros: Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LordForceOne
Tampa, FL
Posted July 31, 2013
Heat Retention
I'd like to ask you how this pan retains heat compared to traditional cast iron.
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Komin Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mssm
,nc
May 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my new go to grill pan
May 8, 2013
really enjoy the design of this pan. it is perfect for grilling vegetables, fish, et al. due to the design of this pan, grilling on a slightly lower heat than my regular le creuset skinny grill works best. Use it all the time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Komin Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Debbithebaker1
,Chico
,CA
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
8of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I expected more for the price
May 6, 2013
I love cast iron. I only buy 'already seasoned' cast iron pans. Silly me, for over $80.00 I assumed this 10 inch pan was already seasoned. It is not. My fajitas stuck like crazy and I'm still trying to pry the remains out of the pan.
It is beautiful. I love the design of it. Not worth the price.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
LordForceOne
Tampa, FL
Posted July 31, 2013
You should season
Seasoning yourself is far superior to the pre-seasoned pans. It's also very easy. One of the best things you can do is season with a mixture of refined avocado oil because of it's high temp properties and use an animal fat such as lard or tallow. Rub the pan down and heat in oven to 400 degrees for an hour, then shut oven off and allow the pan to cool in the oven. Perfect seasoning every time.
 
My Recommendations
 
 
0points
Customer avatar
Northward
Wisconsin
Posted June 28, 2013
you don't season your pans?
Excuse me, but people have been seasoning their own pans for thousands of years. This looks like a brilliant beautiful pan. I'm going to rush out and buy one. And season it myself.
0points
Customer avatar
nat29
New York
Posted May 26, 2013
grill pan
I'm looking into buying that pan and I find the price reasonable. Have u tried cooking spray?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)