Komin Grill Pan

Japanese industrial designer Komin Yamada takes cast-iron cookware to an innovative new level with sleek, lightweight cookware that's exceptionally responsive to heat. Use this versatile, high-ridged pan for grilling everything from steaks, burgers and chicken breasts to fresh seafood and veggies. It can also double as a shallow roasting pan. With all the heat-retaining qualities of a heavier, more traditional cast iron piece, this surprisingly lightweight and easy-to-handle cast-iron pan heats up rapidly, transfers heat uniformly and responds quickly to changes in cooking temperature. Cast iron with nonreactive black matte silicon coating. Designed by world-renowned Japanese industrial designer, Komin Yamada. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Oven and broiler safe. 10" diam., 2" high. Crafted in Niigata, Japan, a region long famous for its fine ironwork.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Komin Grill Pan
Review 1 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkMiddletownCT
,Middletown
,ct
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for induction or other glass cooktops
June 13, 2014
A work of real craftsmanship! Does a remarkable job making sear marks, due to its deep ridging. As lightweight as it is, it's ideal for our new glass induction cooktop. Cleanup is easy: when anything sticks, I use a salt/water paste and scrub with a firm brush. Seasoning is also easy: rub with oil and bake in 325 oven for 1 hr.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Komin Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tpagal
,Tampa
,fl
April 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely disappointing
April 1, 2014
I loved the design of this pan, but the instructions said it did not need to be seasoned so I did not. Everything I grill in it sticks. At this point it is almost impossible to clean all the charred stuff off. after several uses, I cleaned it up best I could and I seasoned it anyway. it was better for one use and now it is horrible again. I am consulting with a couple of sources to see if it can be salvaged. And forget contacting the manufacturer. I have searched the internet and they are no where to be found. For the price, I really expected more. Very, very disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted May 25, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Try Scanpan
You may want to try Scanpan's square grill pan instead. It's very easy to clean and grills food nicely.
Although, I have used Scanpan fry pans for years; (not wanting to waste money) I waited several years before giving my Calphalon grill pan away because it was too difficult to clean. I wish I had replaced the Calphalon, with Scanpan, sooner.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoCruising
,Chicago Suburbs
,Il
February 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best grill pan ever
February 27, 2014
I was intrigued when I saw this pan in one of the emailed ads. I made a point of looking at it the next time I was at the store, and brought one home. I love this pan! Great for healthy cooking for two. I sear the meat or fish and put it in the oven. When the sides are ready, the grilled item is too. Think lamb chops, chicken breasts, salmon...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Komin Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katileigh
,Upstate
,NY
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill pan-easy to use
January 2, 2014
So far, this is a lovely little pan. I really like the closely spaced and subtle grilling grates; they make grill marks, but still disperse heat nicely. I can grill a chicken breast at a medium/low setting, and nothing sticks. I did spray with PAM grilling spray before using it. It's a nice size-fits 4 chicken breasts without crowding, and covers a large burner without much overhang.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: can't say yet
Review 5 for Komin Grill Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
azcookingfan
,Phoenix
,AZ
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely to look at, difficult to clean
July 29, 2013
The shape and weight are perfect, and this is great size for when I'm cooking for just the two of us. It's definitely my go-to pan for grilling veggies.
Do be careful with the heat, especially if you're grilling anything that's been in a marinade containing any sugars. You can easily end up with a baked-on (grilled-on?) mess that is difficult to clean. [And yes, the pan is well seasoned.]
Pros: Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LordForceOne
Tampa, FL
Posted July 31, 2013
Heat Retention
I'd like to ask you how this pan retains heat compared to traditional cast iron.
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Komin Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mssm
,nc
May 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my new go to grill pan
May 8, 2013
really enjoy the design of this pan. it is perfect for grilling vegetables, fish, et al. due to the design of this pan, grilling on a slightly lower heat than my regular le creuset skinny grill works best. Use it all the time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Komin Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Debbithebaker1
,Chico
,CA
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
8of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I expected more for the price
May 6, 2013
I love cast iron. I only buy 'already seasoned' cast iron pans. Silly me, for over $80.00 I assumed this 10 inch pan was already seasoned. It is not. My fajitas stuck like crazy and I'm still trying to pry the remains out of the pan.
It is beautiful. I love the design of it. Not worth the price.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
LordForceOne
Tampa, FL
Posted July 31, 2013
You should season
Seasoning yourself is far superior to the pre-seasoned pans. It's also very easy. One of the best things you can do is season with a mixture of refined avocado oil because of it's high temp properties and use an animal fat such as lard or tallow. Rub the pan down and heat in oven to 400 degrees for an hour, then shut oven off and allow the pan to cool in the oven. Perfect seasoning every time.
 
My Recommendations
 
 
0points
Customer avatar
Northward
Wisconsin
Posted June 28, 2013
you don't season your pans?
Excuse me, but people have been seasoning their own pans for thousands of years. This looks like a brilliant beautiful pan. I'm going to rush out and buy one. And season it myself.
0points
Customer avatar
nat29
New York
Posted May 26, 2013
grill pan
I'm looking into buying that pan and I find the price reasonable. Have u tried cooking spray?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)