Komin Fry Pan

Japanese industrial designer Komin Yamada takes cast-iron cookware to an innovative new level with a sleek, lightweight fry pan that's exceptionally responsive to heat. Use this hardworking pan for everything from frying burgers or making grilled cheese sandwiches to cooking up bacon and eggs. Also great for baking country-style skillet cornbread. With all the heat-retaining qualities of a heavier, more traditional cast iron piece, this surprisingly lightweight and easy-to-handle cast-iron pan heats up rapidly, transfers heat uniformly and responds quickly to changes in cooking temperature. Sleek, modern design is perfect for kitchen-to-dining-table presentation. Cast iron with nonreactive black matte silicon coating. Designed by world-renowned Japanese industrial designer, Komin Yamada. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. 9 1/2" diam., 1 1/2" high; 2 lb., 6 oz. Crafted in Niigata, Japan, a region long famous for its fine ironwork.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Komin Fry Pan
Review 1 for Komin Fry Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Warcal
,West Hollywood
,CA
September 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mind Change
September 14, 2014
So sorry. Rather than use this pan for anything but deep frying, I wrote 2 glowing reviews. Then, I used it for bacon - 3 strips. The bacon left unremovable crust on the bottom of the pan and the bacon itself, was difficult to remove. Sticking to the bottom, it came out of pan in shreds, more or less.
Someone wrote that they had trouble similar to this too and thought there might be a problem with this pan's reaction to sugars. He may well have a point.
As for deep frying small amounts of breaded chicken, et al, the pan is super. I'm sorry I didn't fry more before leaving my earlier reviews (WarBurt and Warski).
William Sonoma was more than kind and compliant, when I returned all three of these pans that I bought. They are not good enough for me to keep just for one aspect of cooking.
I write this here, because I saw no place to remove my previous reviews of praise.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Komin Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callyc
August 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use a lot.
August 28, 2014
I have a cast iron pan that I liked & really didn't thing need this pan. Well with the sale & 20% off I went for it. Glad I did, I use it everyday. Use a little coconut oil. Clean only with water & soft sponge, If anything stuck on a little coconut oil & edge of silicone spatula to scrape off.
Review 3 for Komin Fry Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
artperson
,Orange County
,NY
August 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
form over function
August 6, 2014
This pan, supposedly a revolutionary type of cast iron, is much smaller than the dimensions indicated, and, while very attractive to look at, is not in any way a substitute for conventional cast iron. It's really a waste of time.
Pros: Design
Cons: Weight, Size
Review 4 for Komin Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seth
,Louisville
,KY
Nashville , TN
April 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From "nice to have" to "indispensable" !
April 27, 2014
I bought the Komin fry pan last Nov during a sale @ W/S. I did not need another frying pan but the fact that it was cast iron and yet unusually light intrigued me. Five months later, I am not only cooking with it but my Calphalon & Le Creuset pas have gone into
storage. It cooks faster than either especially when I need to brown onions or veggies. The handle stays cool unlike Le Creuset pans which get terribly hot quickly and you cannot hold them without
a silicone grip or oven mitts. I was so thrilled with this purchase that I also bought the dutch oven recently.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, cool handle
Review 5 for Komin Fry Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mabean
,New Orleans
,LA
January 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not for glass cooktop
January 14, 2014
Although I do love the feel and cooking ability of my Komin fry pan, after less than a month it has left very noticeable fine scratch marks on the burner of my top-of-the-line glass cooktop, mostly around the circumference of the pan bottom. There are also small "bubbles" under the glass. No other pots have done this in the 9 months I have this cooktop, not even Magnalite. I only used the Komin on one burner and that's the only one affected in this way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: scratches glass cooktop
Review 6 for Komin Fry Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TSexton
,Paramus
,NJ
NY, NY
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lite, but...
November 10, 2013
Love the weight and actually cooked very well. Heated up quickly and evenly.
After just over 2 months use 2-3x a week, the pan started to loose what appears to be a coating. Still cooked well, and as far as cast iron pans go I really liked using the pan.
Wasn't due to cleaning as I simply used a wok brush to clear it off then wiped it down, so no detergents/soaps ever used. Some areas chipped, other were as if the coating was fading. Not sure what the coating is composed of, so decided to return.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dfurCA
Posted March 15, 2014
Cleaning instructions
The cleaning instructions say not to use a brush, so perhaps that might be the issue?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Komin Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Veralieb
,Plano
,TX
Plano, TX
October 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best steaks ever!
October 31, 2013
I love the light weight and ease of cooking with this pan. Not only is it esthetically lovely but highly functional. This is my first cast iron pan since I was never at ease lifting the heavy conventional ones. Will consider more of the Komin line after such a positive experience.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 8 for Komin Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissPam
,Tulsa
,OK
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's Beautiful. It's Efficient.
August 25, 2013
The first thing I thought when I slipped it out of the box was "What a beautiful thing." Cooking with it has enhanced my first reaction. I cook on a barely working electric apartment stove. I had already made the switch to cast iron, but Komin sets the bar. It heats very evenly, it doesn't use as much heat, It responds quickly to various temperature settings. it wipes clean with a damp cloth, and it doesn't hurt my wrist. I'll get the casserole next. Truly, I am more excited by this fry pan than I have been over any piece of kitchenware in years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Komin Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Northward
,Midwest
,WI
Wisconsin
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful pan
July 27, 2013
This pan is the first one I pick up for small frying jobs. I love the feel, and the silicone exterior is lovely, kind of soft to the touch. It is not so light that it doesn't feel like a quality pan. And it's off-center rim is charming and a design triumph for my pot rack. You will love this, perfect for us. Glad I purchased it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Komin Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pz43
April 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Cast Iron Frypan
April 9, 2013
Eggs don't stick with some oil and it cleans up easily. Much lighter than traditional cast iron cookware. Hope they will stock the smaller 20 cm casserole pan.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight