This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer

Offering nine speeds, this versatile professional-quality hand mixer automatically maintains the perfect power for tasks from mixing batter to whipping cream to making cookie dough. It features strong, durable construction and the heaviest-gauge beaters available. 9 speeds. Classic styling with a high-shine metallic finish. High speeds are ideal for cream, egg whites and meringues. Low speeds for mixing heavy dough, frosting and batter. ABS plastic construction. 8" x 3 3/4" x 5 3/4" high; 2 lb. 8 oz.; 220W. Made in China. Hand Mixer includes: Hand mixer. Whisk and beater attachment. Dough hooks. Blender attachment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Greek
,OH
Spencer, Ohio
August 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Handy for quick jobs
August 20, 2013
I have this hand mixer myself and like it very much. I just purchased two of these one for each of my daughters in law. One daughter in law tried it with the beaters and one of them broke at the point where the stem and beater meet. Hope this is just a fluke. I am basing my rating on the one that I have. Could have a little more power at highest setting, other than that I like mine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: Speed
Review 2 for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhonda3
,Houston
,TX
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
best on market...better than cuisinart brand
August 16, 2013
This mixer is great!! It beats cuisinart hands down. Mixer is comfortable in your hand and has plenty of power without pulling out the big tabletop mixer. The beater release is on top, not under the grip where it's easy to release by accident during mixings. Also, it starts out slow, unlike the other which begins fast and adjusts to the requested speed. It doesn't blow ingredients everywhere upon initially starting out. I returned a top Cuisinart and am tickled with the sale price and additional percentage off. Highly recommend!! Best Buy!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gramscookin
,Philadelphia
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
love this mixer
June 13, 2013
This is the perfect hand mixer. I have arthritis and this mixer is easy to handle, easy to clean and wonderful mixing performance. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Review 4 for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nickswife2004
,Waterville
,ME
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Well built and lasts
February 19, 2013
My mother and I both have had this hand mixer for YEARS. Unfortunately I lost mine in a house fire last January and am going to purchase another. It's a solid, reliable product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unc81
,NC
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-13points
7of 27found this review helpful.
Disappointed
December 25, 2012
In the last few years, I have made a concerted effort to purchase American made products to use in preparing and serving food. I searched for an American made mixer and thought I found one at Williams Sonoma. This product is marked American made on the website, but the box labels as made in CHINA.
Cons: not as described
Review 6 for KitchenAid Architect Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fuflans
,chicago
,il
November 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
10of 15found this review helpful.
fab product but died too young
November 27, 2012
got this from WS about three years ago. worked like a charm. AND is was baby lotion pink. loved it.
then this holiday season i picked it up again (don't bake much in the summer) and it was completely dead. guessing electrical components shot? talked to several repair folks and kitchenaid. no one could help (kitchenaid said 'we don't support' and everyone else said "$69 item, not worth it").
i would be less bummed if the gross $12 mixer my mom bought me in 1989 wasn't going strong in 2009 - when i sold it at a garage sale and bought the kitchenaid mixer.
won't be going there again. bought a cuisinart instead.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, durable
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ShaeM
Oregon
Posted February 4, 2013
We had the same problem but...
My husband pushed really, really hard on the 'on' button & it cracked some sort of seal & worked like a dream after that... Unfortunately we had already replaced it with a Breville, thinking it was dead & hence him really cranking on the thing, so we ended up selling it on Craigslist.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)