KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment

Use any KitchenAid mixer to prepare ice cream parlor treats at home - it's easy with this accessory. The rotating dasher and insulated freezer bowl attach to your mixer, whipping up 2 quarts of velvety-smooth frozen dessert in just 20-30 minutes. Compatible with all KitchenAid stand mixers. Produces 2 qt. of soft-consistency ice cream in 20-30 minutes; for firmer consistency, store ice cream in freezer for 2-4 hours. Double-walled metal freeze bowl filled with specially formulated liquid to ensure uniform freezing; plastic housing. Plastic dasher/churning paddle mixes and scrapes ice cream batter. Drive assembly attaches to motor head and drives dasher. Bowl adapter ring attaches to bottom of freeze bowl to fit select tilt-head model mixers. For homemade ice cream at a moment's notice, store the bowl in your freezer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
52 of 64(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
Review 41 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrendaF
West Helena, AR
September 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic product
September 5, 2008
I have an older model Kitchenaid stand mixer and wondered how well this Ice Cream Maker attachment would work. It was easier than I imagined and I will enjoy this for years to come.
Review 42 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
murphy92198
Portland, OR
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed
June 3, 2011
I was so excited to get this ice cream maker because I love my kitchen aid mixer. I'm so disappointed. I've tried different recipes (in their book and others) and nothing works. The bowl is completely frozen and at one point had been in the freezer for 2 months. I have NEVER gotten soft serve ice cream. It's usually very soupy and doesn't "become" any more ice cream like after freezing. I'm sad to give it a bad rating, but it's terrible. At one point I tried a 1/2 batch thinking there was too much in the bowl. This didn't work either.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store, doesn't make ice cream! makes cold soup
Review 43 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concordenerd
,Central
,Pa
Central, PA
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Winner!
November 22, 2012
I have 6 KitchenAid mixers. I love all of them. I bought a 7qt not that long ago and as a bonus it came with a mail in rebate that included the ice cream maker. I have used this twice. Both times over Thanksgiving. Batch #1 was vanilla and then I added in some pb chips and reese cups as well as pb. Batch #2 was pumpkin. Easy to make as long as you follow directions in the book!!! Great!! Going to try some soy ice cream for me as I am Vegan. Can't wait.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed
Review 44 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicDanger
,Memphis
,TN
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need to buy at least two...
January 25, 2012
As sure as you are breathing, your daughter or best friend will be envious and eventually you will have to get them one too! It is a fact that of all of the KA attachments out there - this (and the pasta attachment) are the ones that people actually use mostly. O.K.- just a few simple rules to follow. 1) Make sure your freezer is on hi "cold" and you have left the bowl attachment in there for all day. 2) You MUST pre-chill your ingredients - no off the stove custards. 3) to aid in softening final product if re-freezing: simply fold in two firm but not too stiff beaten egg whites at the end during the soft serve stage. This will add air and a creamyness to your ice cream or sherbert and allow you to scoop it out easily after it has been in the freezer for a couple of days. Don't make this difficult - it's very easy to use!!
Review 45 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JulesL
Pampa, TX
January 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice cream frustration
January 28, 2010
I make ice cream once a week, and had hoped this would work better than my old ice cream maker. The paddle and paddle attachment piece are difficult to use. To keep the paddle from freezing to the sides of the bowl, the mixer must be turned on as soon as the paddle is attached. Then you must pour in the custard while the mixer is moving so that it does not immediately freeze to the sides of the bowl, which would prevent the paddle from turning. As the bowl is smaller than the standard mixing bowl, with thick insulated sides, it is difficult to pour into and is very messy. A pouring shield would make things easier.
Review 46 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeCook69
,New York
,NY
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ease of use with delicious results.
January 23, 2013
After reading some of the reviews, I was hesitant.
However, the delicious & creamy ice cream that this attachment produces has proven the negative reviews wrong. The issue maybe the quality of the custard and not the attachment's effectiveness. I have used various recipes and it's produced delicious results.
I highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 47 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ringsafwife2010
,Albuquerque
,NM
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite ice cream maker!
August 6, 2012
It was a bit tricky at first but once I got the hang of it I haven't had problems! I love it!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Review 48 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuperMomNYC
NYC
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like an ice cream dream
September 7, 2011
I used the ice cream maker attachment for the first time last week. I followed the recipe for the vanilla ice cream that came in the manual and substituted a whole vanilla bean for the extract the recipe called for. It turned out delicious. I still have some in the freezer. I can't wait to make more flavors. It was super easy to use and clean up. I store the bowl in my freezer so it is ready to go any time. You do have to make sure all your ingredients are cold before you go to make your ice cream or it will never set up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 49 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
privatechef
Maryland
June 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great anniversary present
June 17, 2011
i've had this ice cream maker attachment for about a year and a half. at first i was unsure since my ice cream did look like soup, so i decided to put it in the freezer right away to see what will happen. the ice cream came out like ice cream you would buy at the store! it was not too hard and not too soft. one of my friends had a cuisinart ice cream maker and follows the direction to put it in the freezer, but her's came out like ice. i have made modifications to using this. i will churn more than 20 minutes, which the recipe book recommends, and i put it in the freezer after it is finished churning for a couple of hours, and the results have been the same. my husband loves the different flavors i've made and it is a great anniversary present!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 50 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motherof9
Ypsilanti, MI
April 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite attachment
April 20, 2010
I love this attachment! It is so easy to use, there are very few parts, and it is very quiet (not to mention, and after all, this is the most important factor, it makes great ice cream!) I used two recipes that I've made with my other ice cream maker (which requires ice and rock salt) and the results were a creamier ice cream. All pieces clean easily.
Review 51 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EclecticFoodie
Fairhope, AL
June 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Kitchenaid Attachment
June 20, 2009
We received this attachment as a wedding gift and now cannot stop using it. We love that we control what goes in the ice cream, it is fresh, creamy, and delicious, and the mixer takes care of all the work. We also recommend you purchasing the cookbook The Ultimate Ice Cream Book, also available at Williams Sonoma. The coffee ice cream is to die for!
Review 52 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voorcroix
,Mahopac
,ny
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great KitchenAid attachment
August 22, 2012
I love my KitchenAid mixer. I have been using KitchenAid for close to 40 years and I have always wanted the ice cream maker attachment. I used to have a seperate machine for making ice cream and wasn't sure I would like the results I would get from using just an attachment. I was quite pleasantly surprised. The product congealed quickly and evenly and the cleanup was incredibly simple. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 53 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thesuz
Coxs Creek KY
June 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought It Tried It Love It
June 22, 2011
I also picked up the ice cream makers book and found many different recipes. Follow the directions, put it in the freezer for a couple of hours and WOW, what great treats. I've done orange sherbert and strawberry sorbet as well as ice cream. Just awesome. Kitchenaid is great. Thanks
Review 54 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
icecreamisfun
Florida
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun icecream maker
February 12, 2011
This was very easy to use, clean, put together (Takes 2 split seconds). Yes the icecream does come out soft, but you can stick it in the freezer and just wait and it will harden. I read the reviews when it was on the way (a gift from my brother) and they scared me. I have never made icecream before this and I am no rocket scientist but it was easy! Just remember all the tips people gave and read the instructions. Easy!!!! Have Fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 55 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fresh
Louisville KY
July 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better than my cheaper Cuisinart machine
July 23, 2010
This is not a faultless machine, but probably better than similarly priced options. The ice cream made w/the KitchenAid is better than that made in the approx. $50 Cuisinart machine: denser, thicker. The difficulty, as others have noted, is pouring in the ice cream while the machine is running.
Review 56 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
irunnoft
Asheville, NC
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, Fun and Delicious!
January 9, 2010
We just used the KitchenAid Ice Cream maker attachment tonight for the first time. My family went out for pizza and instead of stopping for ice cream at a local shop, we decided to go home and make our own! I'd already frozen the bowl for over 24 hours, so it was ready when we got home. I purchased some WS chocolate ice cream mix at my local store for our first batch. Having never used this attachment before, I followed the directions step by step and in about 25 minutes we were all enjoying velvety, rich chocolate ice cream! The attachment was very easy to use and I found the directions quite simple to follow. The churning process wasn't really very noisy at all as the unit is only turned on to stir (the lowest setting) for the duration of the ice creaming making process. I highly recommend this product!
Review 57 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angus
Austin, TX
December 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Churns ice cream mixture very well
December 10, 2008
This attachment is used on my 6 qt professional KitchenAid. It churns extremely well. It is easier to use with a tilting head mixer. I do have some difficulties attaching and aligning the dasher occasionally.
It is essential that the dasher be moving before you pour in your mix or the dasher and ice cream will immediately freeze to the side of the canister.
As with all ice creams, the key to quality French or Philadelphia ice cream is the recipe and the ingredients you use. Never compromise on the vanilla. Your guests and children will be able to tell immediately that your home-made is vastly superior to store bought.
The KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker attachment allows you to make the best ice cream at home any time you want. Get 2 so you always have 1 in the freezer ready to go!
Review 58 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mamacelly
Murrieta, CA
September 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome
September 11, 2008
I can't believe I can tell people I make my own ice cream! With the recipes in the book, make sure to follow the directions and approximate times. Even though it looks about the right consistency and you still have five more minutes, wait for five more minutes.
Review 59 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrLB
,Miami Beach
,FL
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the freezer space
July 1, 2012
I have never liked the ice cream makers that have bowels that stay in the freezer because they do not seem to work well. I was getting tired of the noise and mess of my old fashioned machine so I decided to give this a try. The bowl must be in your freezer for at least 24 hours and you need to make the ice cream mixture ahead of time so it is cold. I chillled my ice cream mixture overnight. I still felt that the final ice cream could have been a little more frozen but this device is the best I have ever tried and it took up less freezer space than the ones I have used in the past. I think the trick would be to put the mixture itself in the freezer for at least 30 minutes (afer the 8 hours in the fridge) to get it a little colder at the beginning. That might solve the problem. Also- do not overfill the bowl. You need the space when the mixture freezes and almost doubles in size. I would buy this again and I look forward to trying ti again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 60 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thecateringspecialist
Los Angeles, Ca
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best product for the money
February 27, 2011
Of course I would love to have a commercial Ice Cream maker how ever that is not presently in the budget, I've use this product twice now and making Ice Cream has never been easier, the mixer and Bowl do all the work and clean up is a snap! I have been wanting this product for years now and I own it, The Kitchenaid Ice Cream attachment is one of the finest product to have, I wouldn't change owning it for anything, Also purchased the Pasta Press but have yet to use it, will write a review when I have my first experience!
 
My Recommendations
 
prevpage 1 2 3 4 next