KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment

Use any KitchenAid mixer to prepare ice cream parlor treats at home - it's easy with this accessory. The rotating dasher and insulated freezer bowl attach to your mixer, whipping up 2 quarts of velvety-smooth frozen dessert in just 20-30 minutes. Compatible with all KitchenAid stand mixers. Produces 2 qt. of soft-consistency ice cream in 20-30 minutes; for firmer consistency, store ice cream in freezer for 2-4 hours. Double-walled metal freeze bowl filled with specially formulated liquid to ensure uniform freezing; plastic housing. Plastic dasher/churning paddle mixes and scrapes ice cream batter. Drive assembly attaches to motor head and drives dasher. Bowl adapter ring attaches to bottom of freeze bowl to fit select tilt-head model mixers. For homemade ice cream at a moment's notice, store the bowl in your freezer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
20 of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
Review 21 for KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mahopac
,ny
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great KitchenAid attachment
August 22, 2012
I love my KitchenAid mixer. I have been using KitchenAid for close to 40 years and I have always wanted the ice cream maker attachment. I used to have a seperate machine for making ice cream and wasn't sure I would like the results I would get from using just an attachment. I was quite pleasantly surprised. The product congealed quickly and evenly and the cleanup was incredibly simple. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 22 for KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Miami Beach
,FL
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the freezer space
July 1, 2012
I have never liked the ice cream makers that have bowels that stay in the freezer because they do not seem to work well. I was getting tired of the noise and mess of my old fashioned machine so I decided to give this a try. The bowl must be in your freezer for at least 24 hours and you need to make the ice cream mixture ahead of time so it is cold. I chillled my ice cream mixture overnight. I still felt that the final ice cream could have been a little more frozen but this device is the best I have ever tried and it took up less freezer space than the ones I have used in the past. I think the trick would be to put the mixture itself in the freezer for at least 30 minutes (afer the 8 hours in the fridge) to get it a little colder at the beginning. That might solve the problem. Also- do not overfill the bowl. You need the space when the mixture freezes and almost doubles in size. I would buy this again and I look forward to trying ti again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 23 for KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,East Rochester
,NY
April 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good ice cream maker
April 14, 2015
Very easy to attach to the Kitchen Aid. I have made some great ice cream with it but I do find it a little difficult and messy to use. You have to pour the liquid in while it's spinning which makes sense so it doesn't instantly freeze but with the small space that you need to pour into so close to the kitchen aid it makes it a very messy process. I think the design could be improved to make it easier to pour in the liquid.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Use, messy to use, Design
Review 24 for KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CO
May 30, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect every time
May 30, 2014
I have used this maker many times and it is just the best. Both the bowl and the mixture must be cold to achieve the perfect bowl. Then freeze the mixture and you won't be disappointed. Have also used on 2 different mixer models and again.......
Perfection.......super easy and efficient..
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 25 for KitchenAid(R) Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,University Place
,Wa
Washington State
May 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My issues are with the unit itself
May 18, 2014
The issue I'm having is with the design. The drive assembly has never fit all that well. It snugly fits. It doesn't click in.
Second, the dasher. The dasher is to go into the ice cream when the bowl is in the down position for the bowl-lift mixer, then you raise the bowl, and the drive assembly and dasher are supposed to line up.
Herein lies the problem. If they do line up, there's slippage. If they don't line up, there's slippage.
The first time I used it, it took 5 tries; then it just magically aligned, and it worked fine. My next few times all worked wonderfully. Today, I tried 20+ times to get it to line up and catch and work. Not a chance. Very frustrating.
And there is no troubleshooting section in the instructions/recipe book.
If anyone has had this issue, I would love some feedback.
Pros: Easy to Clean, tasty end product
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Assembly
prevpage 1 2