KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment

Use any KitchenAid mixer to prepare ice cream parlor treats at home - it's easy with this accessory. The rotating dasher and insulated freezer bowl attach to your mixer, whipping up 2 quarts of velvety-smooth frozen dessert in just 20-30 minutes. Compatible with all KitchenAid stand mixers. Produces 2 qt. of soft-consistency ice cream in 20-30 minutes; for firmer consistency, store ice cream in freezer for 2-4 hours. Double-walled metal freeze bowl filled with specially formulated liquid to ensure uniform freezing; plastic housing. Plastic dasher/churning paddle mixes and scrapes ice cream batter. Drive assembly attaches to motor head and drives dasher. Bowl adapter ring attaches to bottom of freeze bowl to fit select tilt-head model mixers. For homemade ice cream at a moment's notice, store the bowl in your freezer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
52 of 64(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
Review 1 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KABK
,Anderson
,SC
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great. Easy to use.
October 7, 2013
Have used the attachment several times with several different recipes and all were excellent. Very easy to use and clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
July 7, 2013
I bought this back in May thinking I would love it as I love my 7 qt. Kitchenaid. I tried it 4-5 times to make sure I gave it a full chance. I always double my ice cream recipes and use it side by side with the Cuisinart 11/2 quart ice cream maker. The Cuisinart made ice cream quicker and more solid than the KA everytime. In addition I found the cleanup more arduous with KA and ice cream would start climbing up onto the spinning KA attachment arm. If I hadn't had the Cuisinart working side by side I might have kept the KA but I ultimately returned the KA for the Stainless Steel (unfortunately not really SS), 2 qt. Cuisinart ice cream maker and cleanup is a snap now.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 3 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ECarv
,Louisville
,KY
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really excited!
June 25, 2013
My husband and I used this for the first time yesterday. Here are some things to consider when using this attachment:
- the bowl needs to be kept in the freezer overnight before you are ready to make ice cream. We constantly keep ours in the freezer, but it takes up a considerable amount of space.
- ice cream mixtures must be completely cooled before you add them to the machine - in the fridge for several hours.
- the ice cream that comes out of the machine will NOT be the same consistency as what you find in the stores. It will need to stay in the freezer to truly harden.
With all of that being said, we do love this machine! We made our first batch of french vanilla following the recipe found in the instruction manual and have really been enjoying it. The mixture does make more than you would originally think - it expands during the process. We greatly look forward to experimenting more with our recipes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: Speed, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ryanandmarielove2cook
,bakersfield
,ca
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, and much better then store brands
June 25, 2013
A very nice sales assoc at my local williams sonoma recommended this attatchment over a stand alone ice cream maker... My HUSBAND AND i LOVE THIS! we can make icecream in the morning and be ready to wow our friends by dinner.... it is so quick simple and less messy and less loud then the old style rock saltn and baged ice method... we keep the bowl in the freezer so its ready to go.... made homemade rocky road with the williams sonoma chocolate ice cream mix... hands down the best I have ever had! will make chocolate peanut butter next....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WendO
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Treat your family and friends
May 28, 2013
Keep the attachment and parts in the freezer and its always ready to churn. The machine doesn't do all the work for you as you generally have to heat the ingredients or do other preparation. The ice cream is pretty soft after churning and has to be placed in another container to finish freezing so plan ahead. Texture is okay. Flavor is fantastic! (Adjust the sugar according to your own taste.) Clean up is a breeze!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 6 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryPickyShopper
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!! Quick and easy!
May 15, 2013
Love, love, love this Kitchen aid attachment. Easy to use, easy to clean and makes delicious ice cream!!!
I buy the Williams-Sonoma Ice cream mixes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 7 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeCook69
,New York
,NY
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ease of use with delicious results.
January 23, 2013
After reading some of the reviews, I was hesitant.
However, the delicious & creamy ice cream that this attachment produces has proven the negative reviews wrong. The issue maybe the quality of the custard and not the attachment's effectiveness. I have used various recipes and it's produced delicious results.
I highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 8 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concordenerd
,Central
,Pa
Central, PA
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Winner!
November 22, 2012
I have 6 KitchenAid mixers. I love all of them. I bought a 7qt not that long ago and as a bonus it came with a mail in rebate that included the ice cream maker. I have used this twice. Both times over Thanksgiving. Batch #1 was vanilla and then I added in some pb chips and reese cups as well as pb. Batch #2 was pumpkin. Easy to make as long as you follow directions in the book!!! Great!! Going to try some soy ice cream for me as I am Vegan. Can't wait.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed
Review 9 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voorcroix
,Mahopac
,ny
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great KitchenAid attachment
August 22, 2012
I love my KitchenAid mixer. I have been using KitchenAid for close to 40 years and I have always wanted the ice cream maker attachment. I used to have a seperate machine for making ice cream and wasn't sure I would like the results I would get from using just an attachment. I was quite pleasantly surprised. The product congealed quickly and evenly and the cleanup was incredibly simple. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ringsafwife2010
,Albuquerque
,NM
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite ice cream maker!
August 6, 2012
It was a bit tricky at first but once I got the hang of it I haven't had problems! I love it!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Review 11 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrLB
,Miami Beach
,FL
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the freezer space
July 1, 2012
I have never liked the ice cream makers that have bowels that stay in the freezer because they do not seem to work well. I was getting tired of the noise and mess of my old fashioned machine so I decided to give this a try. The bowl must be in your freezer for at least 24 hours and you need to make the ice cream mixture ahead of time so it is cold. I chillled my ice cream mixture overnight. I still felt that the final ice cream could have been a little more frozen but this device is the best I have ever tried and it took up less freezer space than the ones I have used in the past. I think the trick would be to put the mixture itself in the freezer for at least 30 minutes (afer the 8 hours in the fridge) to get it a little colder at the beginning. That might solve the problem. Also- do not overfill the bowl. You need the space when the mixture freezes and almost doubles in size. I would buy this again and I look forward to trying ti again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 12 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SophieT
,Groveland
,Ca
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
June 12, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to make delicious ice cream with this Ice Cream Maker Attachment. I'm looking forward to making many, many more batches this summer- No more store bought ice cream.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 13 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpieprzica
,Gillett
,Tx
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Ice Cream
April 30, 2012
I always thought Williams-Sonama was expensive and I never shopped there, until one day I got bored. Man, I've been missing out. The store is reasonably priced and I found this attachment to my Kitchen-Aid on sale so I couldn't resist. I followed the instructions and well my first batch left something to be desired. But a change in procedure by cooling the ice cream mixture overnight turned out to be the perfect solution. My ice cream came out smooth and delicious. Better than any bought from a store. My favorite, pineapple!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Loud
Review 14 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicDanger
,Memphis
,TN
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need to buy at least two...
January 25, 2012
As sure as you are breathing, your daughter or best friend will be envious and eventually you will have to get them one too! It is a fact that of all of the KA attachments out there - this (and the pasta attachment) are the ones that people actually use mostly. O.K.- just a few simple rules to follow. 1) Make sure your freezer is on hi "cold" and you have left the bowl attachment in there for all day. 2) You MUST pre-chill your ingredients - no off the stove custards. 3) to aid in softening final product if re-freezing: simply fold in two firm but not too stiff beaten egg whites at the end during the soft serve stage. This will add air and a creamyness to your ice cream or sherbert and allow you to scoop it out easily after it has been in the freezer for a couple of days. Don't make this difficult - it's very easy to use!!
Review 15 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IndigoZ28
,Mulberry
,FL
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
December 8, 2011
I love it. It works fantastic!! I want to buy another stand mixer. Does anyone know the color that is shown with the ice cream maker attachment? It's exactly what I'm looking for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Kyetta
NYC
Posted December 15, 2011
Its Williams-Sonoma Green. I think it discontinued.
0points
Customer avatar
maryclaudia
Augusta, GA.
Posted December 10, 2011
Name of Mixer Color
According to KitcheAid's web site, I think it is called Bayleaf. Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Foodfun
,Seattle
,WA
November 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice cream quick and easy
November 23, 2011
The Kitchen Aid ice cream accessory worked very well on my first attempt. Equipment is very easy to use. It got the cooled custard to the "soft-serve" stage in 20 minutes, just as advertised, The final product ripened nicely in the freezer. Recipe for basic ice cream was misleading, however. It produced about 3 pints, which is absolutely the maximum the the freezer bowl will hold for a single freezing. The additions -- for example to make strawberry ice cream -- would result in an overflow as it froze. Instructions for cooking the custard must have been written by someone who had not personally tried it. Don't worry about bubbles or steam -- just cook until it thickens. Most of my ice cream recipes yield a single quart; that should work nicely. All in all a very satisfactory product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 17 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DarthBaker
,Austin
,TX
Texas
November 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great attachment
November 2, 2011
I received this recently as a gift and love it. I made my first quart of ice cream and it turned out just perfect - creamy and the perfect texture. I've got enough recipes to try to keep me busy for months. Easy to use, easy to clean. I'll never buy another ready-made container of ice cream at the grocery store now that I can make my own. My only complaint is now I need to find a place to store the bowl when not taking up space in my freezer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 18 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StellaBella1
,Orange County
,CA
October 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Some advice if you have trouble
October 15, 2011
I love this attachment! I have made icecream 5 times now and it has always come out nice. if you want firm icecream you do have to finish it off in the freezer for a couple of hours. Also make sure you are using speed 1 to mix the icecream so it will start to freeze. The last time I made icecream the KA mixer sounded different and the icecream wasn't setting, turns out the KA mixer had to be returned as a governing pin had 'gone missing' and speed 1 was running the same as speed 2, which is too fast to make your icecream set. So if your icecream isn't setting check there is a difference between those two speeds. BTW my KA is only 4 months old- and in for repair (under warranty)! I'm happy with the attachment but disappointed the mixer is in for repair.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Assembly
Review 19 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LBSweety
,New York
,NY
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unhappy With Product
October 12, 2011
I made sorbet using the ice cream maker attachment a few times. I froze the attachment in a deep freezer for one week and refrigerated my simple sugar overnight. My sorbet comes out soupy each time. I am deeply disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Youscream
Chicago
Posted November 2, 2011
Freezing point depression
Sugar greatly reduces freezing point. Your recipe may have to much sugar for the bowl. Try ice cream.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuperMomNYC
NYC
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like an ice cream dream
September 7, 2011
I used the ice cream maker attachment for the first time last week. I followed the recipe for the vanilla ice cream that came in the manual and substituted a whole vanilla bean for the extract the recipe called for. It turned out delicious. I still have some in the freezer. I can't wait to make more flavors. It was super easy to use and clean up. I store the bowl in my freezer so it is ready to go any time. You do have to make sure all your ingredients are cold before you go to make your ice cream or it will never set up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design, Assembly
page1 2 3 4 next