KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment

Use any KitchenAid mixer to prepare ice cream parlor treats at home - it's easy with this accessory. The rotating dasher and insulated freezer bowl attach to your mixer, whipping up 2 quarts of velvety-smooth frozen dessert in just 20-30 minutes. Compatible with all KitchenAid stand mixers. Produces 2 qt. of soft-consistency ice cream in 20-30 minutes; for firmer consistency, store ice cream in freezer for 2-4 hours. Double-walled metal freeze bowl filled with specially formulated liquid to ensure uniform freezing; plastic housing. Plastic dasher/churning paddle mixes and scrapes ice cream batter. Drive assembly attaches to motor head and drives dasher. Bowl adapter ring attaches to bottom of freeze bowl to fit select tilt-head model mixers. For homemade ice cream at a moment's notice, store the bowl in your freezer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
Review 1 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CPP47
,San Antonio
,TX
July 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen Aid Ice Cream Attachment
July 14, 2014
What a great addition to my kitchen tools! It makes great ice cream--better than you can buy! We love the Nutella Ice Cream!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 2 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Richmondmom
,Glen Allen
,VA
June 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy the cuisinart ice cream maker instead
June 9, 2014
I love my Kitchen Aid and use it constantly (bagels, pizza dough, cookies, whipped cream, frosting, cakes, etc.) But the ice cream attachment is not worth it. The bowl is huge and takes up a ton of freezer space. Mine leaked and the blue freezing liquid stained my cabinets and I had to throw it out. The cuisinart ice cream maker is so much better for less money and comes with a second bowl.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Size
Review 3 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COfoodie
,CO
May 30, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect every time
May 30, 2014
I have used this maker many times and it is just the best. Both the bowl and the mixture must be cold to achieve the perfect bowl. Then freeze the mixture and you won't be disappointed. Have also used on 2 different mixer models and again.......
Perfection.......super easy and efficient..
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 4 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ProBrownie
,New York
,NY
May 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Kitchen Aid Quality
May 29, 2014
Purchasing the product I knew there were some unfavorable reviews and that the parts are made of plastic, but I was giving KA the benefit of the doubt. It just stinks. It is impossible to get all of the mixture easily into the bowl. The paddle tension/gear mechanism is poorly made and nearly impossible to keep it inline if you want to try to keep things tidy by gently scraping off the extra that landed on the paddle or sides. For all the quality that is behind most Kitchen Aid products and especially the stand mixers, I can't believe how cheap and uncooperative this product was. I will be returning it and purchasing the Cuisinart ice cream maker.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Weight, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 5 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KitchenToys
,University Place
,Wa
Washington State
May 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My issues are with the unit itself
May 18, 2014
The issue I'm having is with the design. The drive assembly has never fit all that well. It snugly fits. It doesn't click in.
Second, the dasher. The dasher is to go into the ice cream when the bowl is in the down position for the bowl-lift mixer, then you raise the bowl, and the drive assembly and dasher are supposed to line up.
Herein lies the problem. If they do line up, there's slippage. If they don't line up, there's slippage.
The first time I used it, it took 5 tries; then it just magically aligned, and it worked fine. My next few times all worked wonderfully. Today, I tried 20+ times to get it to line up and catch and work. Not a chance. Very frustrating.
And there is no troubleshooting section in the instructions/recipe book.
If anyone has had this issue, I would love some feedback.
Pros: Easy to Clean, tasty end product
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Assembly
Review 6 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KABK
,Anderson
,SC
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great. Easy to use.
October 7, 2013
Have used the attachment several times with several different recipes and all were excellent. Very easy to use and clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 7 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
July 7, 2013
I bought this back in May thinking I would love it as I love my 7 qt. Kitchenaid. I tried it 4-5 times to make sure I gave it a full chance. I always double my ice cream recipes and use it side by side with the Cuisinart 11/2 quart ice cream maker. The Cuisinart made ice cream quicker and more solid than the KA everytime. In addition I found the cleanup more arduous with KA and ice cream would start climbing up onto the spinning KA attachment arm. If I hadn't had the Cuisinart working side by side I might have kept the KA but I ultimately returned the KA for the Stainless Steel (unfortunately not really SS), 2 qt. Cuisinart ice cream maker and cleanup is a snap now.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ECarv
,Louisville
,KY
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really excited!
June 25, 2013
My husband and I used this for the first time yesterday. Here are some things to consider when using this attachment:
- the bowl needs to be kept in the freezer overnight before you are ready to make ice cream. We constantly keep ours in the freezer, but it takes up a considerable amount of space.
- ice cream mixtures must be completely cooled before you add them to the machine - in the fridge for several hours.
- the ice cream that comes out of the machine will NOT be the same consistency as what you find in the stores. It will need to stay in the freezer to truly harden.
With all of that being said, we do love this machine! We made our first batch of french vanilla following the recipe found in the instruction manual and have really been enjoying it. The mixture does make more than you would originally think - it expands during the process. We greatly look forward to experimenting more with our recipes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: Speed, Difficult to Store
Review 9 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ryanandmarielove2cook
,bakersfield
,ca
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, and much better then store brands
June 25, 2013
A very nice sales assoc at my local williams sonoma recommended this attatchment over a stand alone ice cream maker... My HUSBAND AND i LOVE THIS! we can make icecream in the morning and be ready to wow our friends by dinner.... it is so quick simple and less messy and less loud then the old style rock saltn and baged ice method... we keep the bowl in the freezer so its ready to go.... made homemade rocky road with the williams sonoma chocolate ice cream mix... hands down the best I have ever had! will make chocolate peanut butter next....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WendO
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Treat your family and friends
May 28, 2013
Keep the attachment and parts in the freezer and its always ready to churn. The machine doesn't do all the work for you as you generally have to heat the ingredients or do other preparation. The ice cream is pretty soft after churning and has to be placed in another container to finish freezing so plan ahead. Texture is okay. Flavor is fantastic! (Adjust the sugar according to your own taste.) Clean up is a breeze!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 11 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryPickyShopper
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!! Quick and easy!
May 15, 2013
Love, love, love this Kitchen aid attachment. Easy to use, easy to clean and makes delicious ice cream!!!
I buy the Williams-Sonoma Ice cream mixes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 12 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeCook69
,New York
,NY
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ease of use with delicious results.
January 23, 2013
After reading some of the reviews, I was hesitant.
However, the delicious & creamy ice cream that this attachment produces has proven the negative reviews wrong. The issue maybe the quality of the custard and not the attachment's effectiveness. I have used various recipes and it's produced delicious results.
I highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 13 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concordenerd
,Central
,Pa
Central, PA
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Winner!
November 22, 2012
I have 6 KitchenAid mixers. I love all of them. I bought a 7qt not that long ago and as a bonus it came with a mail in rebate that included the ice cream maker. I have used this twice. Both times over Thanksgiving. Batch #1 was vanilla and then I added in some pb chips and reese cups as well as pb. Batch #2 was pumpkin. Easy to make as long as you follow directions in the book!!! Great!! Going to try some soy ice cream for me as I am Vegan. Can't wait.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed
Review 14 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voorcroix
,Mahopac
,ny
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great KitchenAid attachment
August 22, 2012
I love my KitchenAid mixer. I have been using KitchenAid for close to 40 years and I have always wanted the ice cream maker attachment. I used to have a seperate machine for making ice cream and wasn't sure I would like the results I would get from using just an attachment. I was quite pleasantly surprised. The product congealed quickly and evenly and the cleanup was incredibly simple. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 15 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ringsafwife2010
,Albuquerque
,NM
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite ice cream maker!
August 6, 2012
It was a bit tricky at first but once I got the hang of it I haven't had problems! I love it!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Review 16 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrLB
,Miami Beach
,FL
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the freezer space
July 1, 2012
I have never liked the ice cream makers that have bowels that stay in the freezer because they do not seem to work well. I was getting tired of the noise and mess of my old fashioned machine so I decided to give this a try. The bowl must be in your freezer for at least 24 hours and you need to make the ice cream mixture ahead of time so it is cold. I chillled my ice cream mixture overnight. I still felt that the final ice cream could have been a little more frozen but this device is the best I have ever tried and it took up less freezer space than the ones I have used in the past. I think the trick would be to put the mixture itself in the freezer for at least 30 minutes (afer the 8 hours in the fridge) to get it a little colder at the beginning. That might solve the problem. Also- do not overfill the bowl. You need the space when the mixture freezes and almost doubles in size. I would buy this again and I look forward to trying ti again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 17 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SophieT
,Groveland
,Ca
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
June 12, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to make delicious ice cream with this Ice Cream Maker Attachment. I'm looking forward to making many, many more batches this summer- No more store bought ice cream.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 18 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpieprzica
,Gillett
,Tx
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Ice Cream
April 30, 2012
I always thought Williams-Sonama was expensive and I never shopped there, until one day I got bored. Man, I've been missing out. The store is reasonably priced and I found this attachment to my Kitchen-Aid on sale so I couldn't resist. I followed the instructions and well my first batch left something to be desired. But a change in procedure by cooling the ice cream mixture overnight turned out to be the perfect solution. My ice cream came out smooth and delicious. Better than any bought from a store. My favorite, pineapple!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Loud
Review 19 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Ice Cream Maker Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicDanger
,Memphis
,TN
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need to buy at least two...
January 25, 2012
As sure as you are breathing, your daughter or best friend will be envious and eventually you will have to get them one too! It is a fact that of all of the KA attachments out there - this (and the pasta attachment) are the ones that people actually use mostly. O.K.- just a few simple rules to follow. 1) Make sure your freezer is on hi "cold" and you have left the bowl attachment in there for all day. 2) You MUST pre-chill your ingredients - no off the stove custards. 3) to aid in softening final product if re-freezing: simply fold in two firm but not too stiff beaten egg whites at the end during the soft serve stage. This will add air and a creamyness to your ice cream or sherbert and allow you to scoop it out easily after it has been in the freezer for a couple of days. Don't make this difficult - it's very easy to use!!