KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment

Quickly process ingredients for spreads, relishes or meat loaf with this efficient KitchenAid grinder attachment. Helpful for sweet and savory recipes, it also turns out bread crumbs with ease.Compatible with all KitchenAid stand mixers.Attaches to mixer's power hub for motorized operation.Made of durable plastic.Two stainless-steel grinding plates create coarse or fine textures.Includes a plastic pushing tool that doubles as a wrench.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
29 of 33(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
Review 1 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobud
,Portland
,OR
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grinder
October 24, 2013
Easy to use, easy to clean, makes great sausage! Instructions were clear and easy to follow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Charleston
,SC
July 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like a charm
July 1, 2013
Works great. Used first time to make hamburger, handled 6 lbs of chuck roast and sirloin like a champ. Did the whole batch in 5-6 mins. I froze the cut up meat for 30-40 min prior to grinding. It did not get clogged or gummed up at all. Interior components die, auger, and blade seem quality. The only questionable part is the plastic housing. Will see if it holds up w/o cracking. easy to break down and clean. Overall very impressed and happy with purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbiZ
,Inglewood
,CA
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy as Pie
February 26, 2013
I was able to grind 3 pounds of pork country ribs in less than five minutes. I see where users are complaining about shavings in their finished product; this is due to over heating. All of my meat was perfect until I, tried to be cheap, and kept grinding in order get all of the leftovers out of the chute and ended up with shavings in one strand of meat. In addition, if the meat is gumming up, it's not the grinders fault, the meat is not cold enough.
I suggest freezing the meat, grind worm and plates for a 30 to 45 minutes, before grinding. Also, the large food tray helps because you can stack and continuously feed more meat therefore, the grinder doesn't have a chance to run empty, which will cause excess friction and shavings.
When coupled with the Pro Line Series mixer, the unit is extremely tall on the counter top. Thankfully, I'm very tall or I would have had to use the machine on the table.
I'm anxious to use the pasta attachments tomorrow!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed
Cons: extremely tall paired with proline mixer
Review 4 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RogerGP
,Peoria
,IL
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Food Grinder attachment is excellent!
February 21, 2013
My wife and I have had this attachment for our mixer and purchased this one for our daughter. We have used ours many times almost as frequently as we have used the mixer for other purposes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sltpdq
,St. Louis
,MO
January 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great piece for the money!
January 24, 2013
Works beautifully. We grind beef for burgers, and it is fantastic! It takes burgers to the next level. Note: the directions are terribly clear, so if you're disassembling the grinder to clean, the spiral part comes out by simply pressing the metal "plug" on the back of the piece!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redrocketcoupe
,Denver
,CO
Denver, CO
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Grinder I've ever used!
December 21, 2012
My wife and I make 25lbs of potato sausage every year for Christmas. Every thing has to be ground for it and we've never had a problem with this grinder. We used an old hand crank grinder in the beginning. It would come off the table and keeping it filled and grinding took forever. With this attachment we grind and mix it in a quarter of the time it took before. If I wear this one out I'll buy another one. I grind my own beef for chili in mine now too.
The comment about having trouble getting inside to clean it? Wash it in the sink with hot soapy water and use a bottle brush to clean it. Works perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 7 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BekahB
South Dakota
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lubricant in output
May 6, 2012
Followed the directions to a T in regards to cleaning, set up, putting food through, and the suggestions by other reviewers. While grinding chicken, I noticed when scraping to help with the output, grey lubricant mixed with the meat. My husband checked the KitchenAid forum and learned you were supposed to throw that meat away (but the lubricant is supposedly food safe?). Not sure if I am to expect this to happen every time, but it does sound expensive to waste a bunch of meat until it stops.
Great idea, wish it worked for us, but it's getting returned.
Troubleshooting I learned is a paper towel did help remove the meat from the blades more easily. Because it is plastic, I would imagine this breaking very easily. Wish the pusher was the wooden one in the picture. KitchenAid directions say to not use the enclosed pusher/wrench to tighten the cap around the blades, so what's the point (misleading)?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Speed, Power, Fragile, lubricant in food
Review 8 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookingsforme
,Tampa
,FL
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it for grinding chicken
January 4, 2012
I Got this for a Christmas present and just love it. I enjoyed grinding my own chicken breast. I also like grinding my own hamburger meat, you know what is really in it and can control the fat content. I use more chicken than beef in our meals and it is great for that. Fast and easy. Chicken goes much faster than the beef. Cleans easy if you clean it right away and not let the meat dry. Love it and will use it all the time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annapet
Marin County, CA
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must Have For Charcuterie Fans!
May 10, 2011
I received this KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment as a Mother's Day present a couple of years ago.
I used it today to give homemade sausage a try and I'm kicking myself for not trying it sooner! Making homemade sausage couldn't be easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 10 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eris
Argentina
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for home made food
April 19, 2011
It´s really good, I tried both chicken and red meat for burguers (amazing results).
As for the red meat I passed it twice and was perfect.
Chicken meat gives excellent results by passing it only once.
My only complain (maybe it´s because Im passing fresh meat instead of freezing it for a while) is that much of the chicken nervs and tendons get stuck and if you´re half way of your work its not comfortable to open the mioxer and remove it.
Apart from that, if this is just for home, you won´t miss the big machinery to get exquisite burgers :)
I still could not try the sausage device!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 11 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Graminator
Arcata, CA
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does the grinder grind?
March 23, 2011
I bought the grinder to use for my dogs'. Unfortunately, the grinder is not strong enough to deal with the meat I put through it. Boneless chicken breast gummed up the works, even though I removed as much of the connective tissue as I could. The other jobs the grinder performs I can do with my food processor. I am disappointed.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
minnie1dell0
Godfrey, Illinois
Posted July 28, 2011
Graminator
Try freezing the chicken a little and you
should have a better outcome.
I have ground meat (for sausage, beef
salad) with no problems. I am ordering a
new one because the plastic split , I
think from not having the unit pushed
all the way into the port. So try again and
I think you will change your mind.
0points
Customer avatar
triputup
Dallas, Tx
Posted May 1, 2011
Chicken Fixer
It helps to partially freeze any meat you will grind. It is especially helpful to freeze softer proteins. You will get better grind results without stopping up your grinder attachment. Just cut into 1# squares, spread on a baking sheet in one layer and place in freezer for 20-30 min.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jenny01
Corpus Christi, Texas
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Effortless!
March 14, 2011
I bought this because we usually use my grandmother's hand grinder that attaches to the table to grind chicken breasts for chicken salad. Using the hand grinder is SUCH a work out and takes forever! This grinder worked beautifully!! The chicken would get stuck every once in a while, but if you're patient it will work it's way through just fine. (I think I was pushing too hard with the stick). The chicken was ground in a quarter of the time and it was so easy to use! One other complaint is that it was hard to get way in there to clean out the chicken completely, but I finally got it.
Review 13 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MomInMadtown
Madison, WI
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My husband should write this review...
March 1, 2011
Since this was a gift for him, and he is the primary (OK - ONLY) user. He is thrilled with this new grinder - works easily with our good old KitchenAid mixer. The person stuck cleaning up (moi) is slightly less thrilled, but is happy that my hubby is happy.
Review 14 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nickie409
Illinois
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
10 stars if possible!
January 9, 2011
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this attachment!! I have had this for about 1 year now, and I use it regularly. I have always used ground turkey instead of beef (a little healthier for you), but the chance of bacteria content from ground meat of any kind, grossed me out. Since getting this attachment, I have purchased boneless, skinless chicken breasts and ground them immediately before making meatloaf, meatballs, or burgers. I know exactly what I am purchasing, and pretty much no fat. This is probably my favorite (and most used) attachment for my Kitchenaid. It grounds everything perfectly and uniformly. I have never had any problems with the results from this grinder.
Review 15 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nlvestic
Birmingham
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Metal Shavings in meat
January 8, 2011
We just bought this to grind 25 pounds of meat and on our second batch there was tons of metal shavings from the grinder itself. We took it apart cleaned it again and still are seeing metal shavings. Returning this item very disappointed.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
redrocketcoupe
Denver, CO
Posted December 21, 2012
Over Tightened the Device
A previous comment also stated that KitchenAid recommends not using the wrench to tighten the device. Over tightening it could cause this but I have never experienced any metal shavings in my food.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ferriel
Cincinnati, OH
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for grinding meat
December 29, 2010
This is a wonderful attachment that worked really well for gringing meat!
Review 17 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everybodiesmom
Lexington ,SC
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
make my own ground beef
December 28, 2010
I just love my grinder,it is great to make your own ground chuck.It saves me money, I can buy a choice cut of beef and ground my own bugers with less fat.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Georgia
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Meat grinder attachment
December 27, 2010
Awesome! I really like the ability to control what is in my ground meat.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SugarSugar723
Thousand Oaks, California
October 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If the meat is halfway frozen it is GREAT!
October 2, 2010
As far a the grinder and mixer, they are excellent. If you cut the meat into chunks, and freeze it at least an hour, and take it in sections so it doesn't defrost, it grinds well and clean. BUT if you put soft meat in, it is wet, messy, and shoots blood everywhere. I am trying to make a plastic food guard from a juice bottle, to hang on the grinder, forcing the goo to go into the bowl, below, which is not the mixer bowl, but a large PYREX Bowl, that sits on top of another that is upside down, to raise it up to the grinder level. Plus I cover the area in Saran Wrap to keep it clean. THEN IT IS GREAT! HMMMMM?
Review 20 for KitchenAid Stand Mixer Food Grinder Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Donnalovestocook
Collegedale, TN
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well but is expensive
August 19, 2010
I used this to grind pork for asian dumplings. It has two blades but neither is for grinding into very fine pieces like one normally finds in potstickers and asian dumplings. Also used it to make an appetizer where you feed raw bacon and velveta cheese through the larger grinding blade. Worked okay, but bacon kept clogging up the grinding blade. It was very slow going for grinding the bacon and cheese. Fairly sturdy but I feel it is overpriced for what it is.
page1 2 next