KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer

Meet the first KitchenAid mixer to combine a dramatic glass bowl with the convenient bowl-lift mechanism preferred by most professional bakers. Our Professional 6500 Design Series stand mixer also boasts the company's quietest motor for preparing commercial-size batches of batter and dough. Finished in your choice of high-gloss metallic colors, the mixer makes a stylish addition to your kitchen. Expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. 1-horsepower motor delivers consistent power for mixing tasks from small to large. Heavy-duty 6-qt.-cap. glass bowl with measurement markings accommodates dough for up to 13 dozen cookies and over 8 loaves of bread. Lift mechanism raises and lowers the bowl. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speed settings range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Heavyweight die-cast zinc construction ensures a lifetime of dependable mixing. Power hub on head accommodates more than 12 optional attachments for everything from rolling out fresh pasta to juicing citrus. Stand Mixer includes: 6-qt.-cap. glass work bowl. Flat beater. Dough hook. Wire whip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFVeggie
,Willowick
,Oh
December 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quiet and Powerful
December 7, 2014
I bought this to replace my 5 Qt. Kitchenmaid. I needed a larger bowl. My favorite cookie recipe was always a battle by the time I added the chocolate chips.
I was surprised how much quieter and more powerful the motor is.
Moving from a tilt-head to the lift design has taken some getting used to, but it is no problem and the whole machine feels stronger and sturdier. I keep it on my counter on a placemat so I can pull the mat forward when I need to use it. No problem with storage,
The glass bowl is a joy. All my baking is gluten free and at times xanthan gum can get stuck in the bottom or sides. With the clear bowl I can see anything that isn't mixed and deal with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, set up instructions
Review 2 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ynot2003
,Peoria
,IL
December 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Replacement Glass Bowl
December 2, 2014
HELP -- I love my stand mixer, but I would love to have an additional glass bowl. Can only find 5 qt. I need a 6 qt.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: replacement bowls not available
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
eeinnc
Posted December 8, 2014
According to KitchenAid, coming soon
KitchenAid has been promising a stand-alone glass bowl for 6QT bowl-lift mixers for about a year, and they now claim it should arrive in early 2015. My guess is that it will be sold as a kit with the coated scraper/dough hook.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UKMeatPies
,Wilmette
,IL
April 16, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Workhorse
April 16, 2014
I purchased this product back in December on an excellent deal. My old Cuisinart I have had since 1996 started falling apart but functional. I made Italian cranberry bread that I gave away as a gift. It was amazing. The only drawback is it does not fully mix to the bottom in the middle. It's annoying as I love the large size. I still love it it just makes it a little bit harder to use that's all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: doesn't mix all the way through at the bottom
Review 4 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hungrygirl
,CO
March 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it but one issue
March 31, 2014
I got the red. Gorgeous color!!
My problem is that the "scraping" paddle doesn't scrape anything! It doesn't even touch the bowl at all, leaving a bunch of ingredients in the bottom. I have the same problem with the wisk, but that isn't as high as the paddle. Yes, I did have the bowl lifted and locked into place...
Other than that being annoying, I haven't had any problems. Ingredients are tricky to get in while it's going without spilling and the glass bowl is heavy, which was not a surprise, since glass is heavy.
Pros: Durable, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Blount
Piedmont, CA
Posted October 11, 2014
something that might help
I had the same problem with my 550 series mixer. There is an adjustment screw at the top of the post that holds the motor. Check the manual for which direction to turn it, it's there to alter the height of the attachment in relation to the bottom of the bowl.
0points
Customer avatar
mastercheif
CAlifornia
Posted August 18, 2014
instructions
I have this mixer also. In the instruction book there is a place where it tells you how to adjust the mixer so that it catches the whole bowl. I did not need to do the adjustment, but this may be helpfull.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
manoki
,NH
March 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Mixed Mixer Review
March 15, 2014
A huge step up from my 20-yr old 4.5 quart tilt head KA mixer. Doesn’t come with a pouring shield or bowl cover (yet). Bowl is large & heavy. Bowl takes up a lot of space in dishwasher. Bowl has no measurement markings on the side and has a metal ring to hold it onto the prongs, so it can’t go in the microwave. I’m going to buy the light stainless steel bowl. When will I want to use a glass bowl…? I never felt I needed to see what I’m mixing from the bottom. Mixer goes on slowly (good), but light ingredients still fly out when you turn it on. Scraper beater isn’t as good as my old one. Butter gets caught in the middle of it and I have to use a hand scraper anyhow. It easily fits dough for 2 loaves of bread but not the 8 the ads say (unless they’re mini-loaves). The mixer smells funny when I have it on for more than 10 min. With such a powerful motor, that shouldn't happen--it didn't happen so quickly with my tilt-head mixer. It’s very noisy.
Pros: Durable, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Store, Loud, heavy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rustymick
Posted March 24, 2014
Many Kitchenaids to Choose From
Why did you buy this mixer (one of only 2 available) with a glass bowl if you didn't need or like a glass bowl? Williams-Sonoma has a great return policy, you could always take it back and get one you do like with a metal bowl rather than spending more money for another bowl.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rustymick
,Coolidge
,Az
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
She's a Beauty!
January 28, 2014
This mixer is gorgeous! My husband purchased this mixer for me in Candy Apple Red and it's beautiful. I have owned Kitchenaid mixers for about 8 years now and have never been in love with one like this one. I have an Artisan and a Pro600 that I have given to one of our sons. This mixer is so quiet, powerful, and I can't stop looking at it. I have made bread, cookies, mashed potatoes, and pancakes in this mixer and this one outdoes them all. The 1 hp motor (don't confuse hp and watts, this motor is different from the usual ones) is amazing and I'm so glad I chose this mixer. The mixer we purchased at the store had to be exchanged, but, Kitchenaid has, and has always had, the best customer service.
I would recommend this to anyone who likes bowl-lift mixers (don't buy this if you love the tilt-head) and will need it for heavy-duty use.
P.S. Thanks to Williams-Sonoma for having a 1 day sale on this, otherwise I'd still be dreaming about owning it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bgrob
January 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointed in mixer
January 14, 2014
I received the mixer for Christmas and am disappointed in it. The dough hook did not fit this model, the motor makes a clicking noise when mixing anything thicker than water. The beater attachments are difficult to remove when bowl is on stand and drip on stand if removed after the bowl.
I had wanted the glass bowl so I could soften butter, etc before mixing but you cannot put the glass bowl in the microwave. The bowl also has a band around it that will be very difficult to keep clean.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 8 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
biscottimaker
,Pacific NW
,WA
January 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorites
January 8, 2014
I say 'one' because I actually have 4 KA stand mixers. 2 have been passed down to my sons after only 2 years of use so no quality control issues with KA. A year ago, I purchased the 7 qt KA that WS sells and was thrilled but when I saw this one w/ the clear bowl I HAD to have it. For my super heavy duty recipes, I will use the 7qt but love using this one just as much. The hp motor is truly a significant difference over my 575 & 525 watt (still powerful) handed down mixers. My only issue concerns the outside rubber seal around the middle of the bowl. On the sides where the bowl fits onto the lift mechanism, the design has the rubber 'shaved' so as not to catch. However, a design flaw exists in the back of the mixer. When you click the bowl into place the 'catch' has ripped the rubber. I called KA & they are aware of the problem. Although the bowl works just fine, they are sending me a replacement. To avoid any more ripping, my husband 'shaved' it and no more problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, cool to watch & awesome customer service
Cons: design flaw/bowl rubber seal. kitchenaid knows.
Review 9 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NOLAMonkey
,New Orleans
,LA
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Issues with Quality
December 10, 2013
I'm assuming the issues are related to KitchenAid and not Williams-Sonoma. I bought the white mixer and when it arrived it had oily black smudges all over the mixer. The back plate that raises the bowl up and down had yellow/green grease oozing all over the place.
Also the biggest issue I had was it takes tremendous amount of force pushing down on the bowl to lock it into place. My wife and I have difficulty getting the bowl to lock.
I called kitchenaid and the lady on the phone had the mixer next to her and she was shocked how hard it was to actually get the bowl to lock.
The final straw was no matter how much i adjusted the screw the beater would hit the bowl on speeds above 7. Kitchenaid said they would send out a replacement, and after two weeks I called back and they said it was back ordered and they never bothered to call me. I will be bringing this mixer back to the store for a refund.
Pros: Power, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, hard to lock bowl
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NOLAMonkey
Posted December 31, 2013
Issues with Second Kitchenaid 6500
I received a second Kitchenaid 6500 and now the whisk is banging the bowl. No matter what you do to the adjustment screw it still hits. The glass bowl became scratched with black marks. I called Customer Support at Kitchenaid and they said I had a invalid model/serial number and they had no record of it. I was not going to give it a third shot so I replaced it and moved on. Be warned.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4evermom
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incorrect Information
December 7, 2013
Love this mixer, but buyers should be aware that this mixer comes with a 6-wire whisk, not the 11 as described. I would much prefer an 11 wire whisk, but it does not fit this mixer. Other than that, truly excellent, I just wish Williams Sonoma would pay more attention to the details.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
manoki
NH
Posted March 15, 2014
11 wire whip
KA said this is a brand new model (fall 2013) and they'll be coming out with all the good accessories soon.
0points
Customer avatar
RobinDensford
Posted December 17, 2013
11 wire whip IS available.
I bought the 11 Wire whisk for My 6 Quart online. Much happier with the whisk than the original. I suspect it's not included because whipped products can be quickly over whipped if careful attention isn't paid.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for KitchenAid Professional 6500 Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrisHL
,memphis
,Te
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-7points
9of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite mixer to make cupcakes
September 15, 2013
My favorite mixer to make cupcakes. I cannot wait to have some free time to use it, and prepare something delicious for my beloved ones.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly