KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer

Redesigned to exceed the expectations of serious home bakers, this powerful ten-speed stand mixer is clad in your choice of nickel or copper and engineered to handle commercial-size batches of batter and dough.Extremely powerful motor for professional-quality mixing.Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing.Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating.Shuts off and resets automatically in case of overload.Spiral dough hook allows you to knead 20% more dough per batch.Soft-start feature reduces spattering.Lift mechanism raises and lowers the bowl.Power hub for use with optional attachments.6-qt. stainless-steel bowl locks to base; ergonomic handle.Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SaraND
,Charleston
,SC
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The most beautiful thing in my kitchen
January 9, 2013
I am so grateful that this new addition will not fit in my cabinets becuase secretly, I want to look at it every day. It is so beautiful. My recipe repetoire has always lacked baked goods that require a mixer...I'm really enjoying all the new recipes I get to learn. Mashed potatoes for a crowd of 16 people was my innagural use. It whipped the potatoes without any trouble. It was amazing to watch. Lemon Merengue Pie was my lastest creation. This mixer whipped the most fabulous merengue I've ever seen, heard, or tasted. Three days later, the topping is just as firm and beautiful as it was the day it came out of the oven. I am so grateful for this Christmas gift!
Review 2 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Qball
,Watertown
,SD
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty is, as pretty does...
February 3, 2012
...and both of those bases are covered by this product! I'm in awe of its beauty, and it's a workhorse also. I don't like to have kitchen tools on my countertop. Let's face it. Most are ugly and create clutter. Even *I* will allow this one to be on display rather than hiding it in the cupboard. The only thing I regret is that W-S doesn't offer the attachments for one-stop shopping. Or, if they do, I somehow missed it. The attachments are a MUST for getting the most use of your investment from this wonderful mixer.
Pros: Durable, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Design
Review 3 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
5of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Anyone same problem with me?
January 14, 2012
I bought this KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer last summer. Since I am now live in outside of America I asked my sister to send it tome so she bought it in William sonoma store in Union square. Since I alrealy have other model (kitchaid artisan white one) I opened it last week , because I moved to a new home this month.
I tried to use it, and then I found out that somethings not right,
The bowl and the mixer doesn;t fit horizontality. I don't know the reason, maybe it;s the problem of the mixer or a bowl. So I am wondering if anyone had a same problem with me.
Answer me please..!
Pros: Quality, Design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Cincitosanfran
Reston, VA
Posted March 24, 2012
Mixing bowl alignment
I experienced a similar problem when I first tried to use this mixer. I tried the adjustment screw to fine tune the fit, but it did not allow for enough travel. Turned out the fault was entirely my own. I did not properly seat the bowl on the mixer. I aligned the pins on the side but I did not press on the rear of the bowl. If you press firmly enough you will hear a clicking sound and the bowl will drop enough to just clear the paddle blade. This was my first time using the stand mixer and I was unaware that I needed to secure the bowl snugly on the back side of the bowl. Hope this helps.
0points
Customer avatar
pjomd
usa
Posted February 28, 2012
problem with bowl
when you put the bowl on you need to push down on the back of it until it "snaps" into place. hope that works.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JSB1984
,Imperial
,ca
November 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-7points
4of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't wait to have my own!!
November 10, 2011
We purchased the Pro 600 as a gift for my mother's 40th aniv. Prior to trying out the Pro 600, i had always wanted the tilt head model but now that i've had my chance to use the lift models- I AM IN LOVE!! Dear Santa, I've been a good, good girl!! Please send me one soon!!! Oh, and the heritage bundt pan too!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concordenerd
,lewistown
,pa
Central, PA
September 18, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The one, the only, KitchenAid
September 18, 2011
I use this everyday. I am a pastry chef and they last and last. Very tough. 3 years going strong. Good. A++++
Pros: Easy to Use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Budsbloomsblossom
San Jose, CA
Posted October 23, 2012
620 series,prof,artisan
I have 4 mixers which I acquired from my mom 34 years ago , and later received others as gift... They all work great even the one I have for 34+ years. I will only buy a kitchen aid mixer. The best thus far.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricie
,Lyons
,NY
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is there anything else??
September 12, 2011
I started with the 5q KitchenAid. Had it for yrs and used it a lot, I use to bake cakes for extra money & fun. Then I got into making bread. My niece's mixer started making a"strange' noise, so I gave her mine. So I got myself this 620, LOVE it! Everything gets doubled now. My work friends eat well, as does my mail-lady. Any one who bakes more then twice a week should invest in one, they are worth their weight in gold!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Versatile
Review 7 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pateeto
New Jersey
July 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
14of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Egg White Machine
July 24, 2011
I purchased my first Kitchen Aid mixer in 1976 which was the large size, I believe it was made by Hobart, I loved it. In 2004 I decided to give my mixer to my daughter and I gave myself a new mixer, the Professional. Boy am I disappointed and here's why: the bowl is more shallow than deep therefore it spatters all over, I never had to use the shield till this mixer, and the motor is very loud and sounds like a clunker. You can tell my 1976 mixer was of a higher quality than what is made today.
Pros: Power, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Loud
Review 8 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
midgecoss
fort myers,fl
June 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
kitchen aid hangs on
June 22, 2011
bought my kitchen aid after burning out 4 hand mixer.we have 9 children so I baked alot !! every day.now retired bake a lot less but use it 1-2 times a week now.mixer could use a new paintjob but otherwise works fine.It is nowover44 years old I have given all my daughters and daughter-in laws one for their bridal showers.they love them ,too.thanks kitchen aid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed
Cons: Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TerryLS
Piedmont,Ca
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen aid mixer
April 6, 2011
My mother gave me my first Kitchenaid mixer forty-three years ago-a white, five quart workhorse that only broke down once after thirty-tree years! I got it repaired, and it still works on. About ten years ago, I bought a 6 quart cream one, and immediately tried all of my tried and true recipes in it, but in double or triple recipe size. Those recipes not only fir into the bowl, but the motor can take the mixing of shortbread cookie dough that the smaller motor cannot take. I now also have the copper one as well, and use it almost every day. Note:Did you know that any kitchen aid mixer can be professionally painted any color at any car painting shop? Have a new color in mind?
Go for it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, Loud
Review 10 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaNurse
Michigan
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Professional Mixer
January 4, 2011
Beautiful Mixer. Would have kept it, however, called KichenAid and informed them of the problems w/my old mixer and they are replacing it. So had to return the mixer.
Review 11 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
huiohana
Mililani, HI
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-7points
3of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My one and only mixer
December 14, 2010
I've had my KitchenAid since 1975, it (and me) is still going strong. I bake a lot for my R&R and look forward to using my mixer. I drool at the newer KitchenAid mixers but will hang on to this one until daughters take it away from me. Aloha!
Review 12 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
royalfuzziness
Chicago IL
November 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
November 20, 2010
An excellent machine i have had mine for
over 10 years with no problems. Nice to see something still MFG in the USA, hope it stays that way.
Review 13 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alysonc3
Waltham, MA
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Precious
May 7, 2010
My husband and I have been coveting the satin copper model for well over a year now. This past Christmas, I received it as a gift, and have absolutely loved using it. It's truly a beautiful piece of kitchen equipment and works wonderfully. I tend to take on large baking projects around the holidays, so this will make life so much easier. The bread hook makes baking fresh bread so much easier. It takes some getting used to if you've never used a mixer before, but I've had it for about 6 months and absolutely adore it. The one down side to the 620 Pro model is that it doesn't handle smaller batches as well, but they sell a smaller bowl/whip set that I imagine would make it easier. Highly recommended!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
rachel2035
Toronto Canada
Posted January 9, 2011
My Kitchen Aid Professional 500 Series
Your comment stated that the "one down from the 620 did not make smaller batches of bread well".
I own the 500 Professional Series and bake fresh bread every couple of days, in 2 loaf batches, as I don't want stale bread around. It takes me 10 minutes, with clean up to make these loaves, and the silkiness of the dough is amazing.
I don't understand your comment, my mixer makes everything beautifully, it's the best mixer I have ever owned, and would give it 6 stars out of 5. It's fantastic, and everything I have used it for it came through with flying colours.
Wouldn't trade this one for anything!
Rachel
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jeanluvscookies
Center Moriches, NY
March 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+22points
23of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am so disappointed!
March 17, 2010
I have been an avid baker since I was in my teens (30 years ago). I always enjoyed the beauty and functionality of my mother's 5 qt Kitchen Aid so when I got married I had to have my own.Two years ago my husband surprised me with the larger 6qt model. Truly a thing of beauty! However after two years of making cookies the whole planetary gear and housing fell out. The warranty is only for one year and a repair is $175.00. Kitchen Aid has not been too concerned with my disappointment over their product. I feel a " professional" product should be more durable. A mixer should be able to mix cookie dough. By the way my mother's 35 year old Kitchen Aid is still going strong. I was hopeful for the same success.
Review 15 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebfromAustralia
Melbourne, Australia
January 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Mixer
January 20, 2010
I live in Australia & this KitchenAid mixer is not sold here. My husband and I had a vacation in Honolulu last Christmas and I started looking at the mixer on the William-Sonoma website.
We ended up buying the mixer (copper) as soon as we walked into the Williams-Sonoma in Honolulu. I tested the mixer in our Hotel room and was very impressed. When we returned to Australia, I noticed a problem in that the handle would not stay up. I took my mixer to an authorised repairer in Australia who immediately noticed a spring had come loose (presumably in transit even though it was packed carefully in our suitcase). The repairer quickly reattached the spring and all was well.
I have used the mixer twice and am extremely impressed. The bowl handles a large capacity of cake batter etc.. I love the mixer so much that I have just paid to have it converted to Australian power.
This mixer is not only a great work horse but it also looks good on the counter top. I thoroughly recommend it.
Review 16 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hibb7777
Silicon Valley, CA
December 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Stand Mixer Worth Owning
December 26, 2009
I have resisted owning a KitchenAid Stand Mixer for 10 years because they're too bulky, a bit ugly in my opinion, and my anticipated use didn't warrant the loss of counter space. Well, that all flew out the window when I bought the brushed nickel KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer (Model # KP26M8XNK) and the KitchenAid Stand Mixer Pasta Press Attachment (Model # KPEXTA). The Stand Mixer is seeing action at least 4 times a week to make pasta or bread (my bread machine is lonely), and I’m now finding other excuses to use it.
Let's talk about looks. As a male cook who's been to professional cooking school, my guests have certain expectations when they stop by my kitchen. I have to admit that the KP26M8XNK is now one of the visually distinct pieces (along with a stainless steel Cuisinart MP-14) in my kitchen. The mixer-envy looks from the wives of some of my friends are priceless. KitchenAid has finally come up a stand mixer that doesn’t need an appliance cover. Bravo.
Review 17 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thankful123
Albany, New York
December 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth the wait
December 23, 2009
A friend got thist for me as a thank you present. I was besides myself since I had been wanting one forever. It works wonderfully and is so easy to use and clean. The stainless look matches my appliances and looks great on my countertop. So, at 1st I wasn't sure if I was doing something wrong b/c the top wouldn't titl up like all the others. It makes it difficult to remove the attachments without having to push it into your food. I called WS and even the Kitchen Aid manufacturer who said due to the bigger motor, they could not make it like the smaller models with the tilt head. Too bad. Still, it is great and I am fortunate to have it.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KSudela
Houston, TX
October 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-15points
6of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mine Broke
October 5, 2009
I got my mixer last year for my birthday, I haven't used it very much since then,probably 10 times total as I have been planning a wedding and moving at the same time, a few nights ago I was finishing up a batch of cookies, when I dropped the bowl down, it made a horrible sound, and nuts and springs fell out of the bottom. Thankfully I still had my reciept and Williams Sonoma was very helpful with exchanging it. I ended up getting the black 610 instead.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JKSTONGE
St. Louis, MI
December 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Mixer Out There
December 26, 2008
Love, love, love it! I bought this mixer over Thanksgiving and have been using it constantly since. It is powerful, easy to use and the brushed nickel looks stunning in my kitchen. It is a pleasure to use and display!
Review 20 for KitchenAid Professional 620 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neil
Dutch Harbor, AK
November 9, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Art for the kitchen
November 9, 2008
I bought this copper mixer for my wife for Christmas last year and she just loves it. It's hard to appreciate unless you see one in real life.
page1 2 next