KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer

Offering power and versatility that will please the most avid bakers and cooks, our exclusive model easily handles commercial-size batches of batter and dough. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. Extremely powerful motor for professional-quality mixing. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Lift mechanism raises and lowers the bowl. Power hub for use with optional attachments. 6-qt. two-tone stainless-steel bowl locks to base; ergonomic handle. Professional whip with 11 stainless-steel wires operates 33% more quickly than typical whips for optimal aeration of egg whites or cream. Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
2.091 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
2 of 11(18%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
19AT
August 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
August 10, 2014
Really disappointed in this mixer. The head doesn't lift up like the original model, making it very difficult to pull the bowl out from under the mixer without making a mess. I really regret this purchase.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Assembly
Review 2 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Burkeh
,Johnson City
,TN
July 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definite disappointment
July 25, 2014
Really wish I had just gone with the smaller artisan. The whisk does not reach the bottom of the bowl (or anywhere close) and the bowl jumps when the mixer is on , the posts do not keep it even and results in a noisy moving bowl ! After less than 5 uses! I expected more for sure !
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Loud, Assembly
Review 3 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
truck300lb
,shady point
,Ok
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not impressed
July 6, 2014
They said that it had the power as an industrial mixer, Not even close and the price is outrageous for what it is not capable of doing
Cons: Power, Temperamental, Loud
Review 4 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
erictigger
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
May 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a great Kitchenaid
May 30, 2014
I've had this mixer about 3 years now. My grandmothers had kitchenaids that worked like a team of mules, quiet and sturdy. Mom had Osters which were also quiet and lasted, but the plastic chipped.
This kitchenaid is far from quiet and it sounds like it is going to die every time a make bread dough with it.
The motor should have plenty of power but it wobbles, groans, and shakes kneading dough.
It works great for everything from mashing potatoes to mixing cake batters but even chocolate chip cookie dough stresses it.
Its so bad I've looked at replacing it with the 1.3hp 7qt model.
Pros: Design, made in usa
Cons: Power, Loud
Review 5 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ISSeg
,Santa Clara
,CA
Pittsburgh, PA
March 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointed
March 15, 2014
This was supposed to be an upgrade from a much loved, well used Artisan KitchenAid. What a nightmare. It's just not as well designed or as thought out or put together as the lower category mixer.
The paddle attachment fits as described in the manual. The whisk doesn't fit no matter what. There is a screw to make height adjustments to the attachment depth, but the range is too small to make a difference. The whisk hits the bowl and makes an awful racket.
I miss the smaller Artisan. I had extra bowls to make up for the smaller size. If I had to recommend a mixer to someone, I'd tell them to get the smaller version.
Pros: Power, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, poor design
Review 6 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsK2
,Atlanta
,GA
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love my mixer! Seriously.
December 22, 2013
I have used this mixer for over 5 years. I have 2. One at my work kitchen & one at my home kitchen. My work one was "borrowed" from my home kitchen and I missed it and its abilities so much that I bought a second. I have never experienced a single problem in the 5 years I have owned my 1st machine (still going). I am simply in love with my KitchenAid mixer and all of its attachments (and I DO have all of them). I am admittedly a kitchen gadget junkie (I believe in good cooking and making it simple to do) however, I would give up ALL of my other gadgets to keep my mixer if it came to it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BrightwaterCentralKitchen
Brightwaters, New York
Posted June 1, 2014
OMG I have 6
I like to coordinate my colors, I have literally learned how to cook, bake and everything with this mixer. They are heavy and I do move them, I usually have two out at all times, large and small. This kitchen Aid is my best friend. I have every attachment. Prior to 12 years ago, a cake was bought in the store, and baking a cake was from a box. Bing! what a pretty mixer! Oh god that is gigantic! Everyone had something to say. This machine taught me how to bake everything amazing, I became a cook because of this machine. In fact it started me baking. My first carrot cake from the Williams-Sonoma cookbook and it was perfect. I felt like I was doing a cooking show, I usually cook and we eat in the kitchen. I designed it so I am never out of the conversation or stuck in the kitchen alone.
NOW those same Friends come early to help and they love it, we make pasta, cakes, pastries, pies. We have so much fun that it turns into an all night affair. So yes I have 6 or so but they work their buts off because we do two cakes, and frosting or double cookie dough's so they are constantly running. The only break I get is when this thing is working, I could never imagine life without it. I could never mix effortlessly like it does or beat like it does or combine heavy things like it does. My arms would break. Cooking is hard work well if your going to do it then you must do it right. You really only need one, I am ridiculous but that mixer is the conversation piece of the century, everyone wants to see what color I will pop out with next. So I am on the same platform as MrsK2. If I had to give it all up and I am a kitchen gadget junkie as well I would have to keep my mixer and all the attachments or the cooking and the partying would stop. Life as we know it would be boring, and our arms would hurt and you know what? I never thought that I would say this but, yes here in the year 2014 I have not used store bought whipped cream in over 10 years. Lets go another step. My mother who is a better cook than me says she cannot believe my angel food cake is perfect every time. i LOVE MY MIXER! SERIOUSLY! ... SERIOUSLY!... I do have a life and we have to eat, so lets have fun while eating and cooking all at the same time. I love you Kitchen Aid
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousAndy
,Wichita
,Ks
Wichita, Kansas
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It gets the job done
May 28, 2013
You've just got to love Kitchen Aid... they make products that last. We use this model in a working kitchen and, yes, we do have much BIGGER mixing machines; however, from kneading a bread dough, to mixing a delicate cake batter, this mixer is our go-to machine.
In over twenty-five years of working with Kitchen Aid products, I have never had a problem... not one.
If you're looking for a mixer that just might be the last one you will ever buy, then this is the one... Awesome.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 8 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dvan
,Tucson
,AZ
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I expected more from KitchenAid.
February 25, 2013
Mine stopped working after 4 years of gentle use the first time I attempted to use the bread hook attachment. I called KitchenAid, and they said I over taxed the motor, as I was in stir mode, in which the fan does not come on to cool the motor. Basically, they only offered me the option of an expensive repair, and were not very interested in making me happy. No more KitchenAid products for me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: short life span
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LadyInRedd
NY
Posted May 27, 2013
So sorry that happened to you.
I'm so surprised that you had this experience. I bought my KitchenAid mixer 25 years ago and a year after I bought it, they came out in colors. I've been waiting for 25 years for mine to conk out and I use it for very heavy cookie batters and doughs. I finally gave up waiting for it to die and bought the red one as a present to myself. I think it's awful what happened to you. Sorry you had a bad experience. I'm truly surprised.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Randal
,Wayland
,MA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very dissapointed
December 31, 2012
This mixer failed after a year. Very noisy and then stopped turning while making a chattering sound. I expect more from this brand. The only repair option is driving an hour away and paying 45$ plus parts. This will be my last KitchenAide purchase.
Cons: Quality, Fragile, poor reliability
Review 10 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DCRU
,Davis
,CA
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
April 17, 2012
I have owned this mixer for 3 years and it has stopped working. It appears the gears are stripped. I have owned other KitchenAid mixers in the past that have lasted for years, this one does not appear to be of the same quality.
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DCRU
Davis, CA
Posted April 29, 2012
Thank you Williams-Sonoma!
Williams-Sonoma stood by and as usual had wonderful customer service. They offered a one time replacement of my product. I chose to return and upgrade to the next model that has all metal parts. I will always buy from Williams-Sonoma as a result. To know a company will stand behind a product even after the company that made it won't makes the decision of where to purchase an easy one!
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seitan
,Douglas
,ma
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
17of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shame on Ktchen Aid, Kudos ot William Sonoma
January 16, 2012
I wanted one of these mixers for years and finally got one for my birthday in April of 2008. I used it to make bread and cookies until it recently stopped working. I found out that teeth on the gear that runs the attachment broke. I never even used any attachments! Kitchen Aid's solution was for ME to pay to ship the mixer to them, pay to fix it and pay to ship it back to me. They do not sell parts so to fix it ourselves. They referred me to a "local" repair shop- in another state. This shop does sell parts but does not take credit cards and you cannot go there. We were told to send them a check and they would mail the part. So disappointing for a $400 mixer to fail so quickly and have the company not willing to stand behind it. Luckily Williams Sonoma is wonderful and did stand behind their merchandise. I would not recommend purchasing this mixer and will NEVER buy another Kithen Aid product.
Cons: poor quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Posted March 22, 2013
Gears
The gears can be ordered online and are not expensive at all. Very easy fix.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)