KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer

Offering power and versatility that will please the most avid bakers and cooks, our exclusive model easily handles commercial-size batches of batter and dough. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. Extremely powerful motor for professional-quality mixing. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Lift mechanism raises and lowers the bowl. Power hub for use with optional attachments. 6-qt. two-tone stainless-steel bowl locks to base; ergonomic handle. Professional whip with 11 stainless-steel wires operates 33% more quickly than typical whips for optimal aeration of egg whites or cream. Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
4.376 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
102 of 117(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ISSeg
,Santa Clara
,CA
Pittsburgh, PA
March 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointed
March 15, 2014
This was supposed to be an upgrade from a much loved, well used Artisan KitchenAid. What a nightmare. It's just not as well designed or as thought out or put together as the lower category mixer.
The paddle attachment fits as described in the manual. The whisk doesn't fit no matter what. There is a screw to make height adjustments to the attachment depth, but the range is too small to make a difference. The whisk hits the bowl and makes an awful racket.
I miss the smaller Artisan. I had extra bowls to make up for the smaller size. If I had to recommend a mixer to someone, I'd tell them to get the smaller version.
Pros: Power, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, poor design
Review 2 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsK2
,Atlanta
,GA
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love my mixer! Seriously.
December 22, 2013
I have used this mixer for over 5 years. I have 2. One at my work kitchen & one at my home kitchen. My work one was "borrowed" from my home kitchen and I missed it and its abilities so much that I bought a second. I have never experienced a single problem in the 5 years I have owned my 1st machine (still going). I am simply in love with my KitchenAid mixer and all of its attachments (and I DO have all of them). I am admittedly a kitchen gadget junkie (I believe in good cooking and making it simple to do) however, I would give up ALL of my other gadgets to keep my mixer if it came to it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 3 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousAndy
,Wichita
,Ks
Wichita, Kansas
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It gets the job done
May 28, 2013
You've just got to love Kitchen Aid... they make products that last. We use this model in a working kitchen and, yes, we do have much BIGGER mixing machines; however, from kneading a bread dough, to mixing a delicate cake batter, this mixer is our go-to machine.
In over twenty-five years of working with Kitchen Aid products, I have never had a problem... not one.
If you're looking for a mixer that just might be the last one you will ever buy, then this is the one... Awesome.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 4 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dvan
,Tucson
,AZ
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I expected more from KitchenAid.
February 25, 2013
Mine stopped working after 4 years of gentle use the first time I attempted to use the bread hook attachment. I called KitchenAid, and they said I over taxed the motor, as I was in stir mode, in which the fan does not come on to cool the motor. Basically, they only offered me the option of an expensive repair, and were not very interested in making me happy. No more KitchenAid products for me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: short life span
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LadyInRedd
NY
Posted May 27, 2013
So sorry that happened to you.
I'm so surprised that you had this experience. I bought my KitchenAid mixer 25 years ago and a year after I bought it, they came out in colors. I've been waiting for 25 years for mine to conk out and I use it for very heavy cookie batters and doughs. I finally gave up waiting for it to die and bought the red one as a present to myself. I think it's awful what happened to you. Sorry you had a bad experience. I'm truly surprised.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Randal
,Wayland
,MA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very dissapointed
December 31, 2012
This mixer failed after a year. Very noisy and then stopped turning while making a chattering sound. I expect more from this brand. The only repair option is driving an hour away and paying 45$ plus parts. This will be my last KitchenAide purchase.
Cons: Quality, Fragile, poor reliability
Review 6 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DCRU
,Davis
,CA
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
April 17, 2012
I have owned this mixer for 3 years and it has stopped working. It appears the gears are stripped. I have owned other KitchenAid mixers in the past that have lasted for years, this one does not appear to be of the same quality.
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DCRU
Davis, CA
Posted April 29, 2012
Thank you Williams-Sonoma!
Williams-Sonoma stood by and as usual had wonderful customer service. They offered a one time replacement of my product. I chose to return and upgrade to the next model that has all metal parts. I will always buy from Williams-Sonoma as a result. To know a company will stand behind a product even after the company that made it won't makes the decision of where to purchase an easy one!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seitan
,Douglas
,ma
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
14of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shame on Ktchen Aid, Kudos ot William Sonoma
January 16, 2012
I wanted one of these mixers for years and finally got one for my birthday in April of 2008. I used it to make bread and cookies until it recently stopped working. I found out that teeth on the gear that runs the attachment broke. I never even used any attachments! Kitchen Aid's solution was for ME to pay to ship the mixer to them, pay to fix it and pay to ship it back to me. They do not sell parts so to fix it ourselves. They referred me to a "local" repair shop- in another state. This shop does sell parts but does not take credit cards and you cannot go there. We were told to send them a check and they would mail the part. So disappointing for a $400 mixer to fail so quickly and have the company not willing to stand behind it. Luckily Williams Sonoma is wonderful and did stand behind their merchandise. I would not recommend purchasing this mixer and will NEVER buy another Kithen Aid product.
Cons: poor quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Posted March 22, 2013
Gears
The gears can be ordered online and are not expensive at all. Very easy fix.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BuonAppetito
,CA
December 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT for a real baker...
December 11, 2011
My mixer is less than a year old. It was purchased to replace my smaller and older Kitchen Aid (15 years old). I want my old mixer back...
While making chocolate chip cookies the machine just stopped cranking. I called Kitchen Aid customer service and was connected to a VERY condescending "rep" who proceeded to lecture me on how one does not add the chocolate chips to the batter with this machine. I'm sorry. This is a $500 mixer. Your telling me to NOT use it to add chocolate chips?!! Not only have I used this very machine to make these cookies 100 times before, but for the past 25+ years I have used a Kitchen Aid mixer to do the same thing!
Kitchen Aid is replacing this mixer for me - and it will arrive in "7 to 10 business days". I would dump this mixer all together but I'm invested in the machine with my attachments (pasta rollers, etc.). My advice to you is to consider another brand. If you're looking to do anything other than beat egg whites you're in for a headache.
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 9 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Becca2
,Baltimore
,MD
October 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
11of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst KitchenAid Mixer
October 4, 2011
I had a very old reliable KitchenAid mixer that was a hand me down. Eventually, the motor went up and I decided it was time to upgrade. My husband brought this one home and I immediately disliked it. None of the blades reach the bottom or sides of the bowl, so that I am constantly stopping and scraping it down - even with manually adjusting the bowl to the highest height. You can't put the dough hook or the blender blade in the dishwasher - if you do, you get this black oily grime on the surface. When you change speeds, there is a slight delay, which I find to be disconcerting. Otherwise, it looks nice on top of your counter. Sure do wish I didn't give my old one away.
Pros: Power, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
leesbunny
Wisconsin
Posted December 1, 2011
info for you
I don't know if you know this or not, you can adjust the bowl higher by adjusting the screw in the back. Check your instruction book for info.
0points
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Kansas
Posted October 21, 2011
Can't believe your review....
I LOVE this mixer! Never have trouble with putting the attachments in my dishwasher. Of course I always rinse them off right after using them. I do occasionally scrape the bowl, but I thought that was just "normal" for any mixer. I wouldn't think you would want the metal attachments to rub against the metal bowl? Anyway, I can't believe you only gave it a one star. This professional mixer is fantastic! I would not use any other mixer! I also own a care home and care for elderly residents and I bought this mixer to use there too. It makes my life so much easier.
0points
Customer avatar
MRNC
Posted October 18, 2011
Taking your review with a grain of salt.
I have one of these at home and one of these at work. When the attachments (blade, paddle, hook) reach the sides of the bowl, it will scrape off bits of the metal bowl which get into your food. Perhaps you are okay with this, but I'm not. I've never had a problem with putting the attachments in the dishwasher, either at home or at the restaurant. Do you at least rinse the attachments first?
As for the delay when you change speeds, this is a motor with gears just like your car. A jack-rabbit start in your car is bad for the engine and causes undue wear. Same here. If the motor and gears are forced to star on "10" everytime, it's going to wear out very quickly. Perhaps this is why you needed to replace the first one.
Any professional chef will tell you this is a great mixer. It's a tool for the kitchen, not a robot to do the work for you. It's a shame you give this such a bad review. Someone out there will actually listen to you and miss out on a great kitchen tool.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IleneG
,Exton
,PA
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Good Mixer
September 12, 2011
I used my mother's Hamilton Beach stand mixer (1956) until I could not get beater replacements.... Researched the high end KA models, read tons of reviews and decided on the PRO 610 (595 watts) for making bread dough. The power of this mixer is amazing....just hums through it's paces...from stir to whip -- no matter what you need to do. The how-to instructions are easy to follow. I would definitely recommend the PRO 610 to anyone serious about having a mixer that has the power to do it all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
IleneG
Exton, PA
Posted November 8, 2011
Response to Leenette's Questions:
I use the mixer to make gluten-free bread. It requires only the flat blade attachment as the dough has a batter consistency.The 610 has a powerful motor that beats the gluten free batter to perfection...something my mother's mixer couldn't do without straining (it requires 5 minutes of beating the batter).
In answer to your questions:
How much bread do I make: 2 loaves a week.
How long is the kneading process:
The general instructions for RAPID MIX METHOD AND TRADITIONAL METHOD begin on pg 55. Excerpt below to answer that question..
Please note that the instructions in this manual are an easy read and very specific (and in good English, too).
RAPID Mix Method
1. Place all dry ingredients including yeast into bowl, except last 1 to 2 cups flour.
2. Attach bowl and PowerKnead Spiral Dough Hook. Raise mixer bowl. Turn to Speed 2 and mix about 15 seconds, or until ingredients are combined.
3. Continue on Speed 2, gradually add liquid ingredients to flour mixture and mix 1 to 2 minutes longer. See illustration A.
NOTE: If liquid ingredients are added too quickly, they will form a pool around the PowerKnead Spiral Dough Hook and slow down mixing process.
4, Continuing on speed 2, gently add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time. See illustration B.
5. Knead on speed 2 for 2 more minutes, or until dough is smooth and elastic. see illustration C.
6. Lower bowl on mixer and remove dough from the bowl and PowerKnead spiral dough hook. Follow directions in recipe for rising, shaping and baking.
TRADITIONAL method:
1. Dissolve yeast in warm water in warmed bowl. Add remaining liquids and ry ingredients, except last 1 o 2 cups flour. Turn to speed 2 and mix about 1 minute or until ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Proceed with steps 4 - 6 above.
FINAL COMMENT:
As eager as I was to use the mixer, I sat down and read all the basic instructions in the beginning of the manual, then proceeded to read the recipes.
ENJOY
GrammyG.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Leenette
Posted November 5, 2011
How much bread do you make at a time
and how long do you knead it at what speed? I've heard KA is not so good for bread but the alternatives are way out of my price range.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakingGal
Norristown, PA
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth it's weight in gold!!!
August 4, 2011
This mixer is fantastic!!! This is my third KitchenAid. I started with the Artisan...graduated to the Pro 600, now I have the Pro610. My next purchase will be the new 7Qt KitchenAid Mixer.
It is no surprise that I love KitchenAid mixers so much...they NEVER fail to deliver. I'm a loyalist for life!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile
Review 12 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
markoo
ontario canada
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
6of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
modern junk
July 18, 2011
have a kitchen aid mixer and had it fix once and now with in a year needs fixed again, not by me, the name stands for it self in need of aid in the kitchen.. these machines have gave me my daughter and brother grief needing repaired from grinding for relish . we will not buy kitchen aid product again, back to mix master that i should of stayed with .. these machines are for light duty cakes and are over priced machines for what they do
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 13 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knoeppel
San Miguel, CA
May 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I had gotten this sooner!
May 26, 2011
Great product! I especially like the fact that the bowl raises and lowers instead of the head of the mixer because that allows me to tuck the back half of the mixer under the upper cabinets while using it. This allows more counter space and is not possible with the model with the head that raises and lowers. Now you have to come up with a diet plan beacause of all the yummy things I've made...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 14 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ajdecker
St. Paul MN
April 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
7of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Motor already going
April 11, 2011
I purchased this mixer in Oct 2009 the mixer is 1 1/2 years old and the motor is already going out in it. It makes and awful noise when it is ran on higher speeds and will sometimes just freeze up and not work at all. I have been very careful to keep my mixer clean and used as directions say. Like, Never going past a speed of 2 when making dough. I am very dissappointed, I had a cheaper smaller version from Kohls that lasted 8 years, used daily and then I gave it to my aunt who still uses it regularly. Wish I wouldn't have upgraded.
Also to get the hook, whip, or beater off you have to dip it back into what you are making. Bowl is also tough to get on and off.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Loud
Review 15 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MezaMom
Southern California
March 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny
March 3, 2011
I upgraded from the 325W model to the Pro 610 because I do a lot of large batches and heavy doughs. I have to say that my sourdough bread has been better than ever! the power of the motor plus the new S dough hook really does a great job kneading the dough. This machine can handle anything I throw at it. My kids (high school and college students) even love this machine, I many have to make sure they don't take it with them with they move out. It is a real work horse and worth every penny. I have even sold others on it because I love it so much.
I also bought the 3 qt combi mix bowl and love it for smaller batches or when I need to mix two different things and gthen combine them. So glad I decided to get it.
Review 16 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Lafayette,LA
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-10points
0of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
kitchenaid 610 stand mixer
February 21, 2011
The mixer arrived well packaged for its protection and all the parts were present. My wife has not used it yet , but is enthusiastic about its possibilities.
Review 17 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sease
Chapel Hill, NC
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Beat this Mixer
February 15, 2011
This mixer is a heavy duty work horse. It is made to last. The extra large bowl can probably hold batter for two cakes. I cannot be without this mixer. It is worth the price.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
oldgrump
Chicago
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Miserable product
February 14, 2011
Bowl was VERY difficult to place on stand. Flat mixing blade did not get anywhere near the bottom of the bowl.
After 5 months I returned the mixer because the motor started making awful noises that sounded like there were a bunch of lose parts flying around in it.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianaCarolina
Miami, Fl
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beginners & experts this is a Great Investment
February 14, 2011
• I bought myself the Kitchen Aid 610 this Christmas. Williams-Sonoma were the only to carry the KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer in Nickel Pearl; not only does it look like a piece of art work in my kitchen but it works like magic! I love to bake so this was the next step in making my baking more exciting. I recommend that you read and follow directions before using it because this is a very powerful machine. My first recipe was “Red Velvet Cake”. Because I was too excited to read the directions, I went right into making the cake…the taste was amazing but the texture was to smooth. I have made a few cakes since then but I have to admit that the best cake fondant I have made was with my Kitchen Aid. I highly recommend that everyone that loves to bake or cook have this in his or her kitchen.
Review 20 for KitchenAid Professional 610 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BAListo
Kingfield ME
February 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the 'cadillac' of mixers
February 8, 2011
I have wanted a stand mixer for past 25 years but could never justify the expense. I looked at cheaper models but figured they wouldn't hold up. I finally decided to treat myself this past holiday and am so happy I did. I have used this for bread dough, cakes, and other desserts and just love it! Well worth the investment.
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next