KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer

Offering power and versatility that will please the most avid bakers and cooks, this Pro 600 series mixer easily handles commercial-size batches of batter and dough. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. Extremely powerful motor for professional-quality mixing. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Lift mechanism raises and lowers the bowl. Bowl locks securely into the lift arms to support robust tasks such as heavy kneading and high speed whipping. Power hub for use with optional attachments. 6-qt. polished stainless-steel bowl; ergonomic handle. Includes flat beater, dough hook, 6 wire whip and pouring shield. Stand Mixer includes: 6-qt.-cap. stainless-steel work bowl. Flat beater. Dough hook. Wire whip. Clear plastic pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
capitalcityguy
,Washington
,DC
August 18, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Mixer
August 18, 2014
I've had this mixer for years. I bought it the year the cobalt blue color became available so I'm guessing it's over thirty years old. It is a work horse of a mixer and I've used it countless times. I've never had a problem with this machine. I would recommend this mixer to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BamaMom1970
,Birmingham
,AL
July 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of the Best!
July 8, 2014
I have had this mixer for over ten years. I keep in on the granite counter top and slide back and forth. When I am finished using it, I slide it back in the corner and put a cover on it. I have all of the attachments and it truly is the workhorse of my kitchen. I use it to grate cheese, make pasta, grind meat, juice citrus, make home made ice cream. I love the way the attachments can be added so quickly and are all dishwasher safe. I also like the large bowl. My friends have the smaller versions, but mine is the perfect size. I cannot imagine my kitchen without it. I even sometimes double cookie recipes and bread recipes and have never had a problem!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bjsaha6
,Little Rock
,AR
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heartbroken over this mixer!!!
December 22, 2013
Just pulled out this mixer to make cookie dough for Christmas baking and it just bit the dust!! Another recent review compelled me to write this warning. I believe that the gears must be stripped. The motor has always made a loud rattling noise. I purchased this machine about 5 years ago with great promise, thinking it would help me develop a love for baking among other things that this machine is capable of doing. However, because it was SO LOUD…and also heavy, I have barely used the mixer. I have opted to just use a hand mixer instead. I have probably used this mixer less than 20 times.I believe that this machine was never right from the time of purchase. I had nothing to compare the noise to, but I now know that my friends kitchenaid mixer is much quieter and motor runs much smoother. Although I have read wonderful reviews on WS return policy, I fear contacting them because so much time has passed since the original purchase. Very very sad about this very limited use appliance!! :(
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CeGe
Rialto, Ca
Posted March 8, 2014
Contact KitchenAid
You should contact KitchenAid. Explain what happened and maybe they can replace or repair it for you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1Johnnyo
,Scottsdale
,AZ
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT the Kitchen-Aid of the Past
December 6, 2013
2013-12 Thumbs Down! I was a Kitchen-Aid fan but their product quality & warranty dropped to last place. Why? These two scenarios will convince you. I bought a Kitchen-Aid Professional 600 Mixer 3-years ago & used it approx. 1-time per month. Our machine’s gears were stripped mixing dough on speed-2 (Kitchen-aid required speed). Kitchen-aid estimates repair cost above $100 & I pay shipping each way. This is their PROFESSIONAL model? My 2nd Scenario: My father bought a Kitchen-Aid, home model, 37-years ago, which I still own. I am 1 of 10-children & we used that mixer 20-times per month, making cakes, bread, grinding meat, grating cheese & potatoes. The machine was used on top speeds & on occasion got stuck in dough, or pressure on grater or meat grinder. Never did we strip a gear. The machine has never been repaired. It’s never been in for maintenance. The machine still works! The dough hook runs above speed-2. I do NOT recommend Kitchen-Aid as their quality was left in the past!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, Speed, Weight, Difficult to Store, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile, Size, gears strip making bread dough, repair costs high
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DrMendes
Posted December 10, 2013
Re: 1Johnnyo
As much as I love Kitchenaid Stand Mixers, I quite agree with this reviewer. My father has a 25 year old Kitchenaid Stand Mixer home model which has stood the test of time and never been fixed or needed repair. I am no stranger to using the stand mixers and was not married two years before my Kitchenaid Stand Mixer (which was a wedding gift) started breaking down on the dough cycle.
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KennyT123
,New London
,CT
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Caviar color and performance
July 13, 2013
I like this mixer--the caviar color is beautiful--I use this as my primary mixer superseding my old Sunbeam Mixmaster. It is big and heavy but I mix a lot of heavy batters and use the meat grinder attachment--both do the task wonderfully. I did have a problem with the bowl lift sticking but a good spray of WD-40 solved that problem. Also skip buying the splatter guard. The opening is too small to add dry ingredients without spilling things all over the guard instead of in the bowl. Not quite a 5 but still better than any other mixer I'd consider.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, Color
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size, splatter guard
Review 6 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stella
,Philadelphia
,Pa
Philadelphia, PA
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but heavy
January 30, 2013
I like the mixer but it's so heavy to move and it tends to be a little noisy.
Pros: Power, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Use, Weight, Difficult to Store, Loud
Review 7 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarBoo
,Greenville
,SC
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
December 18, 2012
We have owned this machine ( in white) for many years and can not imagine not having it during my baking days! It kneads dough with ease and stirs up triple batches of cookie dough. LOVE this mixer! When our house burned a few years back, this was the very first item I replaced. If you like to cook, this is the one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Review 8 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
anch
,Anchorage
,AK
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you cook alot, get a different machine
December 16, 2012
I have had a Professional 600 Kitchenaid 6qt for 5-6 years. I have now gone through 2 motors. It is noisy, gets hot and vibrates so much kneading bread dough that it moves the machine on the counter. It simply isn't powerful enough to do the big jobs. I use it 3-4 times a week to help cook for my family of 7. Buy something with a bigger motor and better reliability.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, Speed, Power, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, not heavy duty as advertised
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SavvyShopper48
Yorktown Heights, NY
Posted June 7, 2014
Rock 'n Roll
I owned (past tense) a KA Artisan, and generally was very good, but not for kneading/mixing heavy doughs/batters.
Owned it for about 8 years. During the last year, it would sometimes "move" on my kitchen island. Distracted one day, I was unaware that it came precariously close to the edge and over it went, Crashed onto my tiled floor, but the mixer kept mixing! After unplugging and lifting it back to the island counter, I examined the damage. My floor tiles are large, thick Italian tiles. There was one small "chip" that was caused by the fall. And the mixer? It was a little difficult to change speeds but otherwise was functional. But it would start up at a slightly faster than normal speed, causing nasty splash ups/splatters all over me, the counters, and floor. So it has been put to rest. I am considering purchasing another KA from the Professional series. I've got to say though, that with some of the negative experiences that some reviewers has reported, I am going to research before making a decision. It is expensive but want it to be an investment, not a case in frustration.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrittanyK
,Pittsburgh
,PA
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great upgrade!
July 31, 2012
I purchased this to compliment my smaller kitchen aid stand mixer. Wow, it is wonderful! It handles double and triple recipes with ease and mixes thoroughly. I highly recommend this mixer!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Loud
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for KitchenAid Professional 600 Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MWCD
,Alexandria
,VA
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Product Hate the Color
July 19, 2012
We got this mixer off our registry in the Copper Pearl...it is not a pretty copper, like the Professional 610, not even a nice dark copper...it is ORANGE! It totally clashes with our countertop and cabinets, so we keep it hidden below (It is also too tall to fit on the countertop). I wish we had the packaging still (my husband opened it up to "surprise me") so we could return it. Ahh well.
The product itself is AWESOME! My mother has one, too (in a nice color)! I am excited to get mixing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
htebazile
mclean, va
Posted November 17, 2012
exchange it while you can!
if you just got this machine in july 2012, you can still exchange it for a color that you like. bring into your ws in old town and tell them you don't have the box but it's from your very recent bridal registry. if they won't do it, escalate it to the manager, the district manager, etc. the return policy is to accept it for ANY reason. good luck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)