Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.

Introducing the largest, most powerful - and quietest - KitchenAid mixer we've ever offered. With a generous 7-qt. capacity, this machine equips home bakers with a full range of high-performance commercial features for fast, efficient mixing and quality results. Commercial design includes a bowl lift and heavy-duty metal knobs. 1.3-horsepower motor delivers robust mixing and kneading with surprisingly quiet operation. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Polished 7-qt. cap. stainless-steel bowl with comfort handle. Professional whip with 11 stainless-steel wires operates 33% more quickly than typical whips for optimal aeration of egg whites or cream. Commercial power hub works with all KitchenAid attachments. Hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. Includes wire elliptical whisk and a flat beater and dough hook. Makes up to 14 dozen cookies or 8lbs of dough. All metal gears and touch points are built to last and backed by a 5 year total replacement warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
72 of 87(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
Review 1 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Irvine
,CA
December 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
broken down in only a year
December 2, 2016
We purchased this mixer for my daughter-in-law from Williams Sonoma a little over a year ago because she loves to bake and cook and, as you can see, paid close to $600 for it. In a little over a year it has broken down. The motor is dead. She turned it on and nothing happened. For the price, I would suggest you think twice about purchasing this mixer
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Size
Cons: High-Maintenance, dead motor
Review 2 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
October 10, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yes it clicks when kneading, BUT...
October 10, 2016
I have been using this since April 2016 and it only clicks when kneading bread dough, which isn't very loud and isn't for an extended period of time. I use the ice cream maker almost every week and it does NOT click when churning, which would have been a deal breaker since that is for 30 minutes! Of course no clicking when doing lighter jobs such as cake batter, etc. (I bake a cake or cookies every week).
Overall, the motor is still SO much quieter than my old KitchenAid 4.5, and I just LOVE the extra power and bowl capacity. I can see a difference in the results of my breads/yeast doughs. In my opinion, the occasional-but-short-term clicking is forgivable. I only removed one star for the clicking.
Review 3 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Bethesda
,MD
June 27, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchenaid, click click click
June 27, 2016
Like many others, I have a new Pro 7 qt mixer that clicks. Kitchenaid says the clicking is normal, but will not say what is causing the problem. There are a lot of people writing about problems with metal gears in Kitchenaid mixers. This seems to be a very poorly manufactured appliance. It would be nice if Kitchenaid would address this problem.
Pros: Versatile
Cons: Temperamental, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
EmeliaAprilia
Portland
Posted September 12, 2016
electric motor noises
Our 1999 K5SSWH has worked flawlessly since bought new.
The Heavy Duty motor has always made noises at lower speeds. It smooths out in its "comfort zone" of doing anything at higher speeds, and lower speed tasks such as working on, say, a 7 pound batch of sweet bread dough, or beating a full batch of divinity (candy) for a half hour.
It doesn't overheat or get so hot one cannot touch it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,South Hill
,VA
May 17, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really, really nice mixer
May 17, 2016
We love it so far. Still need to test it with a big batch of bread dough but we're not worried.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Quality, Power, Assembly
Cons: Size, Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 5 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,fl
January 15, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
more power
January 15, 2016
wife loves the size. Had and old one ,4 1/2 qt for 25 years. this one has more power and can handle a double batch of anything. Now we have to think what to do with the old one -still working great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Speed, Size, Time-saver, Power
Review 6 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Alpine
,Tx
December 31, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product but not perfect
December 31, 2015
It is beautiful. I stepped up from the 5 qt KA mixer. This 7 qt will double up a batch of cookies with ease. However you must hand mix the bottom of the bowl into the batter at the end to ensure proper mixing. Honestly single batches of cookies are better in the 5 qt. Another issue is that when I made the first pizza dough recipe (from Michael Ruhlman) the machine wobbled off the counter and fell to the floor while I had my back turned. It still works though. So all in all I would still recommend it because my three kids can go through oatmeal cookies so fast that I want the ability to make double batches. However since I have the space I will buy another 5 qt to use as well. Just my opinion of this machine for what it is worth...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Time-saver
Review 7 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,TX
December 17, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen Aid Pro Line Stand Mixer, 7 QT
December 17, 2015
I have used a Kitchen Aid mixer for years. I have had two Artisans and the next size up. I bought the Pro Line. Very unhappy with it. Yes, it does look pretty on the counter but that is it. When I use it, it make a loud clicking sound. KA told me this is normal....really?? I don't think so. I never had a clicking sound with the other ones. They did send me a new one....same thing. I just called them and they will send another!! Not happy at all. The clicking is very annoying.
Cons: Loud, loud clicking noise
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
jccwc
San Diego
Posted June 16, 2016
Top 50 Contributor
No clicking on mine
I've had mine since January of this year and have never heard a clicking noise. It's so quiet and smooth that it make my 575 KA sound cheap. It makes mixing croissant and English muffin dough a breeze. The speed at which it whips is amazing. I'd be very persistent w/KA to get one that's quiet and doesn't click.
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
Customer avatar
faithane
Posted March 26, 2016
same problem
I had the same problem. Traded up to this machine after a similar problem with the Artisan model.
0points
Customer avatar
Busybaker2
Camarillo, CA
Posted December 29, 2015
Love it!
I thought the same thing as you did when using this new mixer for 5 + lbs of meatball mix last night. After reading quite a few reviews I thought I was going to have to return it or get another. My husband took a look at it and it is tight when putting the bowl on. Thought I could';t do it at first. Since he was able to put it on this morning, I have put it on correctly several times and it is EXTREMELY smooth and quiet. Very happy with it!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
December 11, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely Disappointed
December 11, 2015
I purchased this mixer before Thanksgiving. When it arrived, there was a chip in the enamel and the splash guard did not fit the machine properly. More important, the machine made a loud clicking noise. I called customer service to complain about it, and they sent me a new one. The new one clicks even worse (even with nothing in the bowl), and when I plug in the food processor attachment the entire attachment is forced up and down by the motor. Obviously Kitchen Aid has some quality control problems, and it's unacceptable. Clicking should never be normal - regardless of what customer service says - and is almost certain to wear down the motor way too fast.
Cons: Temperamental, Loud, Quality
Review 9 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome machine.
November 13, 2015
I love this mixer although I had to buy elsewhere to get the merlot color. Gorgeous!
The Pro-line is more powerful, runs cooler and is quieter than the 5 and 6 quart models. I would urge you to spend a little more and get one of the models with the DC motor, especially if you plan to use it for kneading bread. My only complaint is I wish KA would come up with a better way to attach the bowl. It would also be nice if they included the NSF versions of the attachments. I did upgrade the bowl and the beater attachments to the NSF versions but I had to spend extra to do that.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Power
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jccwc
Posted December 27, 2015
Top 50 Contributor
DC & NSF?
What is a DC motor, why would you recommend it, what model has a DC motor and what is NSF attachments? Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Penfield
,NY
October 31, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Power
October 31, 2015
I have always had Kitchenaid stand mixers from as early as the late 1970's. I am a professional pastry chef and am totally disappointed with the speed settings.
My old 5 qt that I gave to my daughter has more power than this recently purchased 7 Qt Pro-Line with 1.3 horsepower motor. It certainly is pretty, but not worth the price point with these issues. I have only used it twice, because I am seriously considering
returning.
Another unusual issue is that often times the bowl doesn't clip into the mixer stand easily.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed
Review 11 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this mixer!
October 23, 2015
I begin with that I got the black colored version and it looks beautiful on my counter. It is quite heavy and very well made. Love the size of the bowl which is perfect for the big butches of batter or dough, but at the same time if I need to do small ones it does that too. The motor is very quiet and for sure the quietest of any mixer I ever had before. I have it for over 3 years now and never had any issues with it and I use it a lot! I do a lot of dough in it for my homemade pizzas and bread all the time several times a week and this appliance handles it very well. Also I got attachments for the pasta and those work great too. Any kind of cake batter comes out perfect as well as any frosting. Although if I need some small amount of frosting I got the smaller size work bowl for it which fits perfectly. And for the creaming method of mixing when I make cheese cakes or any kind of pond cake for example, I got the scraper bowl attachment which makes the job even easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power
Review 12 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbus
,OH
October 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great mixer for doing heavy yeast doughs
October 22, 2015
I received this mixer as a gift, after my 24 year old Kitchen Aid 5 quart mixer began skipping down my counter when kneading bread dough (which it what I usually make in my Kitchen Aid). I read many reviews and talked to store personnel and asked my partner (the real bread lover in our family) if we could replace my old mixer. He agreed and one week later it arrived. It is unbelievably strong and quiet, just as advertised. I have used it twice (to make french baguettes and bagels) and absolutely recommend it if you need a more powerful, larger mixer. Love it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Time-saver, Power
Cons: none
Review 13 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lancaster
,PA
July 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect size
July 27, 2015
I had a 5.5 Quart, but I like to double recipes on occasions and the 7 Quart is perfect. Also love the cover over the bowl so flour doesn't get all over the place.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power
Review 14 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,New York
,NY
May 24, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
14of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Distressing noise
May 24, 2015
I have been having the same experience as the previous reviewer. My ProLine mixer makes a loud clicking noise with only a light load in the bowl. Since I use it primarily with larger loads -- to mix and knead bread-- I am constantly worried that I am stripping the gears and that it will break down entirely. I am hugely disappointed. I had an old Kitchen Aid stand mixer for nearly 40 years and bought this one to get more capacity. The old one was much higher quality. Think twice before you invest in this machine.
Pros: Design, Size
Cons: Loud
Review 15 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Southern
,NH
Southern NH
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+21points
25of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Clicks under even modest load
March 20, 2015
I replaced my 20+ year old 4.5 quart mixer with this when the rebate was offered. Almost immediately it developed a substantial clicking noise when mixing even slack bread dough or cookies. Kitchenaid says this is "normal". They will replace it if you like but warn you that the replacement may do the same thing.
I'm sorry but metal gears or not, that is no excuse for clicking. What would most people do if their car clicked every time they climbed a hill or if their washer clicked every time they put more than 10 lbs of clothes in it.
This is either a bad design or their manufacturing tolerances are poor.
I think it's unacceptable that Kitchenaid writes this off as "normal". Maybe they should list clicking as a feature! Buy Kitchenaid: you know it's working because it's clicking!
Pros: Power
Cons: Loud
Review 16 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mission Viejo
,Ca
Mission Viejo, CA
March 6, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
March 6, 2015
I made a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting last weekend. This mixer work great.
Noise - I've read some reviews where they thought it loud, however I did not have the experience. The only odd noise I found was on speed 6 using the paddle attachment there was a bit of a whistle. on 5 or 7 it was not there so I figure it is just a harmonic and not a big deal.
Centering - for lack of a better description. I noticed that mine might not be dead center. I say that as on both the whisk and paddle attachment every once in a while I would hear it just barely touch the side of the bowl and when I cleaned the paddle I could see were some of the coating (paint?) was no longer present. I didn't notice it cause any issues but none the less I noticed it.
Weight - not an issue for me as I'm a 6'1" guy. However, if you have a weak upper body you may find this mixer a bit heavy if you plan to store it/vs leave it out with a cover.
Hope this helps...
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BelleFleurs
Houston
Posted February 2, 2016
Mixer needs to be calibrated
If your paddle is not centered properly it will hit the sides of the bowl and cause your paddle attachment to chip.
You can re calibrate it easily.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tracy
,CA
February 12, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mixer Ever
February 12, 2015
I have been wanting a KitchenAid Mixer for a long time. I finally decided that with all the gift cards I received for Christmas this year I would pay the difference and get the 7qt Pro Line. I am so glad that I finally did it. I have used the smaller mixers in the past and this one is really quiet and very well built. I am able to make very large batches of cookie and bread dough fast and without hearing the motor lag. I love that small batches are easy because the beater, dough hook and fancy new wire whip are so well fitted to the bowl. My egg white whipping comes out beautiful for the meringues. I wish I didn’t wait so long to get one.
Added bonus - It is beautiful on my counter! When I see it I start to think of all the baked goods I should make.
.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, the finish is beautiful
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 18 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Great Falls
,MT
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my new Kitchen aid Pro!
January 12, 2015
I had one of the first Kitchenaid mixers (23 years), it still works but I needed to update.I am a journeyman baker and would not use the dough hook on my older version because it couldn't handle it. I ordered the Kitchen Pro and am very happy with all of the features from the bigger bowl, the pouring sheild,the power and how quiet it is. I would recommend this product for any serious/novice baker and or cook!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: the bowl is a little harder to put on
Review 19 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Philadelphia
,PA
November 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Every kitchen should have one!
November 1, 2014
I've been looking at KitchenAid stand mixers for decades. I purchased the Pro Line 6 Qt. for my daughter, when she got her first apartment a few years ago. Last year, I purchased this model for myself and I couldn't be happier. The motor is much quieter than the 6 Qt. My daughter and I have the pasta and ice cream attachments. Every cook deserves a KitchenAid stand mixer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for KitchenAid(R) Pro Line(R) Stand Mixer, 7-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Jose
,CA
September 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Mixer!
September 29, 2014
I received this as a present after using the Artisan for some years. The difference is night and day. While I liked my first KA, this one us so much easier to use, so much quieter and sturdier. I am not good with machines, but had no trouble learning to put on the beaters or mixing bowl. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
page1 2 3 4 5 next