KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment

With this groundbreaking attachment, you can put your KitchenAid stand mixer to work making small and large macaroni, bucatini (thick hollow tubes), spaghetti, fusilli (corkscrews) and rigatoni (short ribbed tubes).Compatible with any KitchenAid stand mixer.Attaches to mixer's power hub for motorized operation.Rugged plastic housing.Six pasta plates for assorted noodle styles; store in included case.Built-in wire cutter lets you customize noodle length.Includes recipes, cleaning brush and pasta pusher.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
104 of 113(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
Review 1 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicoTerry
,Chico
,CA
September 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best Kitchen-aid attachment yet!
September 6, 2013
Honestly, making fresh pasta could not be easier. Using the recipe in the booklet makes perfectly leathery pasta and the attachment extrudes beautifully. It operated exactly as indicated in the manual. Easy to assemble and clean, and coupled with being able to make the pasta dough with the Kitchen-aid (and not having to use a food processor) this attachment is the BOMB! Now, I want Kitchen-aid to create more pasta plates, like fettucine and other shapes!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Deastville
,AL
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Pasta Attachment
August 4, 2013
We have been contemplating purchasing this attachment for a year or so and when the 20% off sale we grabbed it. Made pasts today and used the rigatoni wheel. It was very easy to make and use. Wish we had purchased this years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mismax
,Ennis
,TX
Houston, MS
July 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I will NEVER buy dried pasta again
July 31, 2013
I don't know how I lived without this attachment. It is so simple to use, and you have fresh homemade pasta in minutes. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who loves pasta. The difference between fresh and dried in a box is beyond description. You will not be disappointed in this attachment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 4 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
calymom
,Seal Beach
,CA
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product
July 13, 2013
I've been wanting to make my own pasta for a long time now. First batch came out great. Like the others, error on the side of caution and don't put too much water in. Just 1 tablespoon at a time. Love this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooknwgas
,San Antonio
,TX
San Antonio, TX
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time to make pasta. Won't be my last.
June 29, 2013
I've never made pasta at all, but consider myself fairly competent in the kitchen. I read all the I directions, mixed up the basic dough recipe provided, and was worried it was too dense. But I dropped the dough into the press to make spaghetti and crossed my fingers. It looked just like the video. Out came lovely strands of spaghetti. It cooked so fast and tasted so good. The dough is dense, so clean-up took a few minutes, but that won't dissuade me from using the machine a few times a month. I used the whole batch of dough to make spaghetti. Next time I will split varieties, I think. It seems to make quite a bit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 6 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
,Shirley
,NY
Long Island, NY
April 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I learned by practice
April 17, 2013
Read the manual for the basics, too many to list here. But what the manual doesn't say is that most of the 6 plastic die can be pulled apart for easy cleaning! A revelation. I learned that by a lucky accident.
I only make egg-free pasta. I use the food processor to mix the dough using 12 oz of flour to 3/4 cup of water and a pinch of salt. I hold back the last teaspoon of water bc it is best to err on the dryer side. By trial and error, I found that If the dough wraps completely around the blade, it is too moist. Get it to the wet sand stage. Knead a few times by hand, cover, and let rest.
The extruders for the larger macaroni are the best place to start, less sticking and easier to handle. I am practicing with different combos of flours but I always use 12 oz. of flour to 3/4 cup of water for a pound of pasta.
The attachment is sturdy! I dropped the attachment on the kitchen hardwood floor, I held my breath, but it was ok! This machine is fun to use too.
Review 7 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
msmaggie007
,Camden
,NY
Camden, NY
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
KitchenAid Pasta Extruder
January 23, 2013
It has taken me a long time to finally post this review. I wanted to make sure that the plastic could hold up to heavy use.
It DOES. It makes wonderful shapes. Perfect macaroni and spaghetti. I do prefer my old hand crank Imperia pasta maker for fettuccine but for macaroni/ziti there is nothing out there that is better.
It is extremely important the pasta dough be of the right consistency and be VERY thoroughly kneaded and allowed to rest before even attempting to extrude. Even a little bit too wet or too dry will have you either digging out clumps of (too wet) dough or watching in horror as strands of dried up playdough looking crud comes out of the machine.
IF you get it right and have the correct moisture (and you will eventually get it if you persist), it makes absolutely perfect pasta.
I highly recommend this product to those of you who have mastered the art of homemade pasta and wish to expand the shapes of pasta you make.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CupcakeSparklePants
August 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked for me!
August 8, 2012
After reading the mixed reviews, I decided to take a gamble and buy this Pasta Press. I'm happy to report that the pasta came out perfect!
To the folks who said the plastic ring which holds the die in place broke - I'd ask if they read the part of the instructions which gives guidance on what mixer speed should be used with which pasta press (i.e. macaroni at a lower speed than spaghetti).
To the folks who had trouble with the dough, I made the egg pasta just as the directions described. I was nervous that it didn't mention letting the dough rest (so I didn't), how dry the dough was once kneaded, and breaking it into "walnut" sized balls to feed the machine. I did what the directions said exactly and the finished product was great! As the machine heats up, this heat is transferred to the dough and a silky noodle is produced (rough edges on the macaroni - but you want this for the sauce to stick to).
I am very happy with my purchase and all my friends are happy with their pasta!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrewM
,Fallbrook
,CA
Fallbrook, CA
June 4, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+24points
24of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please read before buying!
June 4, 2012
Okie dokie, here goes. This pasta maker is GREAT!!! Please ignore the negative reviews. The only problem that Kitchen Aid has is that it's Egg Pasta Dough recipe is not 100% right. I can understand that this produces some frustration for novice pasta makers, but there is an easy fix. First of all, I live in a dry climate. I need to use about 4T water to make a proper dough. In the mixing bowl, use only the beater, not the dough hook. Next, mix until it resembles coarse sand. Then pour out on board and bring together into a disk. Then, after wrapping in plastic wrap, let the dough REST for an hour to let the flour absorb the liquid completely. The finished dough should NOT be sticky to the touch. Then, follow the directions KA gives. I've used the press at least 30 times without a glitch. Good luck.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Design
Review 10 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jpalnewman
,Camarillo
,CA
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boun Appetito!!
January 25, 2012
I always wanted to make my own pasta but I was apprehensive how difficult and time consuming it would be, and how the pasta would come out. I received this pasta press attachment for a Christmas gift this past holiday and I just used it for the first time a couple weeks ago. I am now in love with making homeade pasta. The variety of different types of pasta this attachment can make is really nice, and the pasta recipes in the users manual that it comes with are delicious - not to mention the overall ease of assemble and clean up. My only issue is that I didn't try using this sooner!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKH96
,Tyler
,TX
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun & Easy
January 23, 2012
I had my eye on the pasta press for almost 2 years. I waited for and read all the reviews. I finally decided to spend the money and splurge on what I consider a new toy. I am NOT disappointed. So easy to use and tons of fun. My girls (7 & 4) helped shape the pasta balls and I fed them into the press. Tons easier than the basic KitchenAid pasta attachment. In a short time we had yummy homemade pasta and had lots of fun making it. I highly recommend this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ChefMD
Warren, NJ
August 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun Shapes
August 13, 2011
The Pasta Press is so intuitively obvious to set up and use you barely have to read the instructions. Very easy to switch from shape to shape - I made spaghetti for my daughter and bucatini for me and my wife.. However, I found that too much pressure needed to be applied to the dough to get it to feed through. All in all a good product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 13 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deniu
rockford, IL
May 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better that I expected!
May 22, 2011
I've had several pasta machines over the years that I sold or packed away. I kept going back to my old Italian crank one. This is the first one that I am completely pleased with.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Assembly
Review 14 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLC17
MA
May 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The easiest pasta maker ever.
May 7, 2011
I love this pasta maker. I make sauce about 1-2 a week and use this for my husband and I who has to have a special pasta because of health reasons. So I can make my own and in many different choices. So easy to use and is fresh every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
klllllllllllllllll
Minnesota
April 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
KitchenAid Pasta Press
April 21, 2011
Easy to Use, Easy to Clean but very LOUD. Pull out the earplugs, you'll need them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: very loud - need earplugs to operate
Review 16 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wander
North Carolina
April 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ktchenaid Pasta Press attachment
April 21, 2011
Used this pasta press only one time. I am excited about making my own pasta now. It is not as fast as I thought it would be. Maybe I just need more practice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed, Loud
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MarlaB
New York, NY
Posted August 2, 2011
Getting pasta to come out quicker
If the speed of the pasta coming out is an issue then turn the speed of the Kitchenaid higher. You can control the speed by adjusting the mixer speed.
Hope that helps!!!
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nickie409
Illinois
April 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WONDERFUL ATTACHMENT!!!
April 15, 2011
I have been using the Popeil pasta maker for years (I know, corny, but fresh pasta beats dry any day). I have been wanting one of these since they came out. I just got one for my birthday (yay!). I used it for the first time tonight. I made the pasta dough with my Cuisinart Elite food processor (the spinach recipe). I fed the balls through, and it worked BEAUTIFULLY!! I am HIGHLY recommending this attachment to anyone who loves pasta. It was quick to make, and made WONDERFUL pasta. I am currently letting the pasta dry on the unit, but if it is anything like my other pasta machine, it should not be TOO bad to clean.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msmagnolia
Mississippi
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is so fun!!
March 18, 2011
I actually got this for Christmas in 2009 and finally got the nerve to use it today, over a year later. I had the BEST time. I did not use the dough recipe included in the very small cookbook. Instead I used an egg pasta recipe from The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles. I made the dough in my KA food processor - EASY, OMG! I let it rest about 30 minutes and then made spaghetti. The extruder worked flawlessly, no delays, no having to push the dough in, no strain to the KA.. There was practically no waste - a small ball of dough left over after all pasta was made. Cleanup was easy. I would like to try some of the eggless pasta recipes next. The spaghetti was a bit thicker than I am used to (I buy thin spaghetti), but I LOVE the fact that I know exactly what ingredients have gone into the pasta. I am going to give this attachment as a wedding gift next month.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
Posted April 10, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
Eggless pasta ideas?
I noted you said you wanted to try eggless pastas. I have a little granddaughter allergic to eggs so I too am practicing with egg-free recipes. I am new to this machine as well, so any tips, recipes, etc., that will help me out will be most appreciated.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AKPasta
Anchorage, AK
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent pasta every time!
March 8, 2011
The KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment is a wonderful accessory to your KitchenAid and your kitchen. Utilizing this attachment makes it easy to have ready to eat pasta in no time! I will recommend this attachment to all of my friends!
Review 20 for KitchenAid Pasta Press Attachment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meredith53
Boston, MA
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fresh Pasta
February 20, 2011
This pasta press is a wonderful alternative to rolling and slicing noodles. It's much less labor-intensive and it works so easily. The pasta just presses out, and I barely have to lift a finger except to press the dough down once in awhile. It's a great product and totally worth every penny!
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next