KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer

A smaller version of commercial-size models, this versatile stand mixer is designed with enough power and capacity to prepare large batches of cake batter or cookie dough without compromising your kitchen counter space. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Head tilts for easy removal of work bowl and beaters. Power hub for use with optional attachments. 5-qt. glass bowl locks to base. Includes flat beater, dough hook and wire whip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweetbakersara
,Northern Indiana
Northern Indiana
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this mixer
July 30, 2013
I love this mixer! I've had KitchenAid mixers for over 30 years. They never wear out, but I always want a new model with a bigger bowl or pretty color. The blueberry color is gorgeous, the glass bowl is beautiful, although a little tricky to attach at first. Now I have two KA mixers on my counter. You never know when you'll need two mixers!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 2 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UnhappywithKitchenAid
,Denver
,Co
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
10of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
December 31, 2012
I was given a mixer as a wedding give just over 25 years ago. I was very happy with that mixer, but the motor eventually died. I replaced it with this mixer and am very disappointed in this mixer. It is not the mixer that I've had all these years.
The glass bowel does not seat well, which I can get used to. However, the beaters are not dishwasher safe and have deteriorated to the point where they are useless. The flat beater no longer fits in the mixer because of corrosion (I can attach my 25 year old beater) and the wisk beater leaves a black residue on my hands. The metal is clearly inappropriate for kitchen electrics. Kitchen aid has offered to replace the flat beater with a white one but will not replace both. Absurd for a $400 mixer.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bettycrocker103
June 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am absolutely in love with this mixer!
June 10, 2012
I saw this in the store last Christmas and fell in love. So, at the end of May I gifted Mom my white KitchenAid and splurged on this baby. I couldn't be happier. Not only does it work like a charm, but it looks FABULOUS sitting on my kitchen counter! The pink has a hint of metallic in it, which just adds to it's beauty. Great buy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 4 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
myssdawn26
,New York City
,NY
March 8, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So So Happy!
March 8, 2012
I'd been wanting a kitchenAid mixer for a long long time but convinced myself I wouldn't use it as much I'd rationalized to myself. Well, boy was I wrong!! I had used beautiful candy apple red mixer for everything from cookies to mashed potatoes.
Im going to invest in the flex edge attachment very soon..
Highly recommend!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Versatile
Review 5 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kris65
,Bethesda
,MD
February 15, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
February 15, 2012
I have owned a kitchen aid mixer for the past 13 years. I have 2, in different sizes. The new Artisan is my third purchase and I love it. The electric blue is great, I feel like someone who has bought a new car. The mixer is much faster than my older model. The glass bowl is nice for measuring the amount of batter I have. It is a nice new asset to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Galapril
,Denmark, Europe
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A really messy beauty
February 2, 2012
I bought this as a celebration of my first real paycheck from a prestigious job in September 2011. I'm really happy about it and it makes everything easier. I get to baking every week, which I know I wouldn't without such a darling.
However, it bothers me a lot that exactly this model didn't come with a pouring shield. Recently I found out, that every standard mixer, except THIS one(apparently?) comes with the pouring shield, and I simple can't understand why this one doesn't? Is it a mistake? Everytime I have to stand and hold a kitchen towel to prevent flour and stuff from escaping. That is SO annoying. The pouring shield is quite expensive, so I sometimes regret splurging on this model, instead of a model with the shield(I thought it would be included in this one as all the others!)
I'm happy about it, but I think the next one is gonna be a Kenwood, hoping it will be a bit more durable and less messy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile, moves around a lot when used on speed 2 or higher, tilthead lock opens when used on speed 2 or higher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Citystyle52
Chicago, IL
Posted January 9, 2013
Pour Shield
I own the candy apple red mixer and the reason it does not come with a pour shield is it will not fit on the glass bowl. The pour shield was made for the stainless mixing bowl which is what majority of the mixers come with. I love the glass bowl so I do not miss the pour shield.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keli
,New Albany
,Oh
Columbus,OH
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm in love with this mixer!!
December 8, 2011
Wish I would've made this purchase years ago! Its cut my baking time in half. Plus its so pretty!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuLuMom
,ocala
,fl
September 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ah-mazingly and happily effortless
September 15, 2011
stunning to look at and works like a dream. love all the possible attachments, and simply as is. could not be happier. kids love it too. received many compliments about it. recommend a million times!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, Color
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lzantop
Texas
September 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this mixer!
September 2, 2011
I'm in love with this mixer! I have always wanted a KA mixer but was never fond of the "pepto bismol" pink one they have had for so long. When I walked into William Sonoma and saw this beauty on the shelf I fell in LOVE. My boyfriend was elsewhere shopping and I made him come to the store and look at it. Within 10 minutes we were walking out with it and I was all smiles! Great mixer! My first use was for Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Craisin cookies- it worked like a charm! Powerful and simple. I love the clear glass bowl too :-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CuppyCakes
Temperance, MI
August 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My dream mixer!
August 22, 2011
I bought this mixer today and I love it!
I've wanted a kitchenAid for a long time, and fell in love with this mixer as soon as I saw the Raspberry Ice color. What is even better than my mixer was the fantastic customer service I received from Williams-Sonoma when making my purchase. I came into the store with a ton of questions and they answered all of them with patience and knowledge. Then, when I got home and got the mixer out the box, I was missing the whisk attachment. I called Williams-Sonoma and the general management actually took time out of her evening to drive a replacement whisk over to my home. It was the most incredible customer service I've experienced and am so glad purchased from them!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Color
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheArkansasBaker
Arkansas
August 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, Love, Love It!
August 15, 2011
I love it!!! It's my first KitchenAid mixer and I couldn't have ask for anything more! It's so easy to use, powerful, easy to clean, very very pretty and I could go on with the list!!! I love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 12 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PattySueinKalamazoo
Kalamazoo, MI
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun! Fun! Fun!
August 11, 2011
The sale came at just the right time. I've been saving for this mixer for a while. What fun to use. My bread kneaded faster, rose higher, & didn't leave my wrists in pain. I've never baked an angel food cake that rose so high. I can't wait to try the next item on my list. I will have an issue storing it, because it's so tall, but what a problem, right?! It came with a small gouge on the frame. I can live with that.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 13 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHEFLEWIS
Wesley Chapel, Fl
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MAGNIFICENT CANDY APPLE
August 11, 2011
My husband & I have been considering buying one of these for a very long time!
Although we cook/bake a lot they are still a significant investment, so when I saw the opportunity of 25% discount, wow that was just too good an offer to miss. It is a wonderful tool, makes baking much easier and quicker, it mixes the cake mixtures and dough perfectly. The Glass bowl is not just easy on the eye, but makes it simple to measure, my husband made shortbread cookies last weekend yummy!!!! Would never buy anything but Kitchenaid, and of coure we now want all of the addons to go with it!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, mixes perfectly
Review 14 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hathanh024
Metairie, LA
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My 1st KitchenAid Stand Mixer
August 3, 2011
I've been wanting for this Raspberry Ice Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer for months and have been saving $$$ for it. I was THRILLED when Williams Sonoma had a 25% off sale (plus KA's $30 mail-in-rebate)on all KitchenAid Stand Mixers and bought it right away. What a bargain! Now, I'm having a great time using it and enjoying cooking even more. Thanks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 15 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookie33176
Springfield, MA
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most Wanted
July 5, 2011
I had been wanting a KitchenAid stand mixer for years, and finally broke down and finally purchased the Raspberry Ice stand mixer at the end of May 2011...It was a toss between the Candy Apple Red, which matches my kitchen decor, and the beautiful Raspberry Ice which caught my eye...The first time I used it, I didn't know what to do while it was mixing...! I was used to using a hand mixer with my arm getting tired...Now I let my mixer do all the work...Its quiet and efficient...It's a bit heavy to lift and move from counter to counter, but it's DEFINITELY worth the money...I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 16 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gibity
nj
May 24, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
adorable!!
May 24, 2011
its so pretty and i love it. it makes a clicking noise when it is on and my other kitchenaid doesnt do that. but thats the only thing so far!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
masonbee
Brooklyn, NY
May 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GORGEOUS - LOVE IT!
May 18, 2011
Received as a gift for Mother's Day. It is beautiful and works like a dream. I made meatballs and it did all the work for me! Normally meatballs are messy and not fun to make. Very powerful and extremely sturdy solid piece of craftsmanship.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 18 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RachelRay
Fargo, ND
May 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!
May 15, 2011
After years of debating, I finally broke down and bought this mixer after seeing it in the store. The color is absolutely gorgeous! I used it for the first time this am and can't wait to use it again! I wish I would have bought one years ago! I had no idea what I was missing out on.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Review 19 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
May 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Me Happy! Mixer
May 7, 2011
I love my new KitchenAid Raspberry Ice Mixer! It is beautiful on my counter, makes me happy when I'm baking, and I can tell it is more powerful than my KitchenAid I've had for 14 years. It whipped up my chocolate poundcake in no time! And the clear bowl is an added bonus!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 20 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikii
MA
April 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow!!!!!!!!!!!
April 24, 2011
I bought this several weeks ago after reading the reviews. Love it!!! I even bought and extra glass bowl. Mixes beautifully. It is a little loud and heavy but, I can certainly live with that. Easy to clean. If you are on the fence about a mixer, get this one. You will not regret it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight, Loud
page1 2 next