KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer

A smaller version of commercial-size models, this versatile stand mixer is designed with enough power and capacity to prepare large batches of cake batter or cookie dough without compromising your kitchen counter space. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919. Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing. Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating. Head tilts for easy removal of work bowl and beaters. Power hub for use with optional attachments. 5-qt. glass bowl locks to base. Includes flat beater, dough hook and wire whip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Betsy57
,Murphysboro
,IL
June 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
June 26, 2014
I am disappointed in the mixer. I had hopes to be able to stop having to knead my bread by hand (Okay, I'm trying to cheat) but all the dough does is stick to the hook and swirls around the bowl even after spaying it with Pam. It isn't kneading it. For other uses, it is okay. Definitely disappointed and would not have bought it had I known its vast limitations.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: doug sticks to hook and doesn't knead dough
Review 2 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweetbakersara
,Northern Indiana
Northern Indiana
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this mixer
July 30, 2013
I love this mixer! I've had KitchenAid mixers for over 30 years. They never wear out, but I always want a new model with a bigger bowl or pretty color. The blueberry color is gorgeous, the glass bowl is beautiful, although a little tricky to attach at first. Now I have two KA mixers on my counter. You never know when you'll need two mixers!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 3 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UnhappywithKitchenAid
,Denver
,Co
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
20of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
December 31, 2012
I was given a mixer as a wedding give just over 25 years ago. I was very happy with that mixer, but the motor eventually died. I replaced it with this mixer and am very disappointed in this mixer. It is not the mixer that I've had all these years.
The glass bowel does not seat well, which I can get used to. However, the beaters are not dishwasher safe and have deteriorated to the point where they are useless. The flat beater no longer fits in the mixer because of corrosion (I can attach my 25 year old beater) and the wisk beater leaves a black residue on my hands. The metal is clearly inappropriate for kitchen electrics. Kitchen aid has offered to replace the flat beater with a white one but will not replace both. Absurd for a $400 mixer.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bettycrocker103
June 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am absolutely in love with this mixer!
June 10, 2012
I saw this in the store last Christmas and fell in love. So, at the end of May I gifted Mom my white KitchenAid and splurged on this baby. I couldn't be happier. Not only does it work like a charm, but it looks FABULOUS sitting on my kitchen counter! The pink has a hint of metallic in it, which just adds to it's beauty. Great buy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
myssdawn26
,New York City
,NY
March 8, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So So Happy!
March 8, 2012
I'd been wanting a kitchenAid mixer for a long long time but convinced myself I wouldn't use it as much I'd rationalized to myself. Well, boy was I wrong!! I had used beautiful candy apple red mixer for everything from cookies to mashed potatoes.
Im going to invest in the flex edge attachment very soon..
Highly recommend!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Versatile
Review 6 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kris65
,Bethesda
,MD
February 15, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
February 15, 2012
I have owned a kitchen aid mixer for the past 13 years. I have 2, in different sizes. The new Artisan is my third purchase and I love it. The electric blue is great, I feel like someone who has bought a new car. The mixer is much faster than my older model. The glass bowl is nice for measuring the amount of batter I have. It is a nice new asset to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 7 for KitchenAid Design Series Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Galapril
,Denmark, Europe
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A really messy beauty
February 2, 2012
I bought this as a celebration of my first real paycheck from a prestigious job in September 2011. I'm really happy about it and it makes everything easier. I get to baking every week, which I know I wouldn't without such a darling.
However, it bothers me a lot that exactly this model didn't come with a pouring shield. Recently I found out, that every standard mixer, except THIS one(apparently?) comes with the pouring shield, and I simple can't understand why this one doesn't? Is it a mistake? Everytime I have to stand and hold a kitchen towel to prevent flour and stuff from escaping. That is SO annoying. The pouring shield is quite expensive, so I sometimes regret splurging on this model, instead of a model with the shield(I thought it would be included in this one as all the others!)
I'm happy about it, but I think the next one is gonna be a Kenwood, hoping it will be a bit more durable and less messy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile, moves around a lot when used on speed 2 or higher, tilthead lock opens when used on speed 2 or higher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Citystyle52
Chicago, IL
Posted January 9, 2013
Pour Shield
I own the candy apple red mixer and the reason it does not come with a pour shield is it will not fit on the glass bowl. The pour shield was made for the stainless mixing bowl which is what majority of the mixers come with. I love the glass bowl so I do not miss the pour shield.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)