KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer

A smaller version of commercial-size models, this versatile stand mixer is designed with enough power and capacity to prepare large batches of cake batter or cookie dough without compromising your kitchen counter space. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919.Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing.Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating.Head tilts for easy removal of work bowl and beaters.Power hub for use with optional attachments.5-qt. stainless-steel bowl locks to base.Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
116 of 120(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marcela
,Fort Belvoir
,VA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best.Mixer.Ever
February 28, 2014
I have owned a KitchenAid for over two years and I mud stay I'm in love with it. It's a sturdy, heavy duty mixer that can handle almost anything you throw at it. I have cooked and baked even more ever since I got it. I also received the pasta attachments for Christmas, and loved them! II highly recommend getting one of these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tiger2013
,Sacramento
,Ca
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is old better than new?
November 28, 2013
I have owned a kitchen aid mixer since 1978. My husband thoughtfully purchased me the anniversary edition in 2009- for Christmas. I gave my daughter my 1978 mixer- thank goodness she lives close. About 2 months ago while using the grinder attachment my beautiful cherry red mixer dies at LESS THAN 4 years old! Took it to a certified repair person who said it would be over $215 to repair. So, I had to repossess my old mixer. Now I don't know whether or not to buy another.. My husband purchased it at Williams Sonoma in Sacramento, CA. I am not happy. Oh, I am not a rookie.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Assembly
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EnochianCub
,Kansas City
,MO
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick shipping, amazing mixer.
September 24, 2013
First and foremost I have to express my joy at receiving the mixer three full days before I was supposed to with the standard shipping.
As to the mixer itself, in the first week using it I made dozens of cookies, marshmallows and several loaves of bread. Including a dense pretzel dough that I was sure would make the motor struggle. It handled everything amazingly well and surprisingly quiet.
Definitely worth the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 4 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aalleexx
,Woodland Park
,CO
Woodland Park, CO
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Mixer
September 24, 2013
Between this and the Breville Slow/Fast Cooker, these are the two best purchases I've ever made for my kitchen. The recipe book that comes with this is great. I've made the pizza dough, meringue for pie, brownies, and bread. I always look forward to cooking with this item. It's stainless steel and wonderful. You won't be disappointed. All pieces are dishwasher safe except for the whisk. If anyone here knows where I can find a cover for this, please let me know.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: absolutely nothing
Review 5 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paperbag
,Dallas
,TX
September 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a necessity
September 13, 2013
nothing is wrong with this mixer. every kitchen needs one! I love mine and it is beautiful to have out on the counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 6 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen must for every home
August 25, 2013
There is no other mixer that can compare to a kitchen aid in my opinion. The artisan model is perfect for the everyday home baker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seeen
,Chicago
,IL
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen staple for a lifetime
July 29, 2013
I received a KitchenAid Artisan stand mixer for my wedding a decade ago and love it so much I just bought one for my sister's upcoming wedding. It's an appliance every home cook should have especially if you love to bake.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 8 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LGMema
,Wendell
,NC
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't know how I got along without it
July 28, 2013
This is the first stand alone mixer I've had in years and I absolutely love it!! It's been a great addition to my kitchen. My husband is a diabetic and I am constantly experimenting with recipes to find new sugarfree desserts and this has been so much more efficient. I highly recommend it - very easy to use, changing attachments is a breeze and cleaning is simple. Wonderful product!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Housewife4Now
,Copperas Cove
,TX
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Appliance
May 27, 2013
Anyone who bakes should have one of these mixers. It works as well as everyone told us it would and we use every excuse to bake or cook to use the mixer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 10 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TexasFoodie13
,Arlington
,VA
March 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Love!
March 25, 2013
I look for recipes just so I can use my mixer. I love the color (Caviar), the attachments, and the possibilities.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lloyd7Hyten
,Dexter
,Mo
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
March 5, 2013
We got this new for Christmas 2011 so it is only about 14 1/2 months old. It has already quit working, the mixer part won't turn. The motor runs but it will not turn. I assume there is a gear of some type in it that may be worn out. How do I check it out and see about replacing it?
Thanks, very dissappointed in it not lasting more than 14 1/2 months.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: did not last long
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
carol155
texas
Posted January 2, 2014
mixer
I have had the same problem.motor runs but be matters will not work. It is about 3 yes old but have not use into the Christmas season.very disappointed with this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stella
,Philadelphia
,Pa
Philadelphia, PA
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great mixer!
January 30, 2013
I like using this mixer because the mixer can tilt the beaters. It is quieter, easier to use, and the variety of different colors made it easier to match the colors in my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 13 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rochesterbaker
,pittsford
,NY
January 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't believe I waited this long
January 18, 2013
I LOVE the mixer. I could never bring myself to spend the money on the mixer even though I knew it was a good machine.
When WS had a sale, I took advantage and purchased it. Now I truly cannot believe I did not buy it sooner. I love to bake and this makes it so much easier and faster. Very easy to use and clean up.
It does take up a lot of counter space and is heavy but it works for me.
I definitely recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 14 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsBirdman
,Alexandria
,VA
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite toy
December 28, 2012
I'm so excited about my mixer!! The first thing I made was a 7up cake and it was delicious....I'd been eyeing this mixer for sometime and finally bought it when there was a coupon on the site for it...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 15 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catcar
,Nashua
,NH
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't live without it.
December 12, 2012
I have had my mixer for most likely 12 years and it runs as perfectly today as it did when I got it. If you take care of it properly, the finish also holds up incredibly well. Mine looks brand new.
One of my older friends received one for a wedding gift 45 years ago and she told me she wishes her would die so she could get a newer color. Amazing that it can last so long. A truly quality product and even better that it is made in the US.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 16 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bodyguard
,Augusta
,GA
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Cake
October 18, 2012
I could not believe how easy and how great my cake was!
My old mixer was a Hamilton Beach which I have had over 50 years!
Why didn't I purchase this mixer sooner, rather wait until my other one finally stopped working!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
upb4sunrise
Polo, IL
Posted November 11, 2012
Need to say "thanks" for this review. I am using my mom's Hamilton Beach mixer she received as a wedding gift in 1956. It is dying, and I have put off buying new, as I love it and weird as my be, it has sentimental value to me. The only mixer I have ever known, and the one I have been teaching my daughters to bake with. Your review has helped me - have wondered if I'd like the new as well and if I'd notice a difference. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Homewood
,AL
October 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredibly durable and powerful mixer.
October 16, 2012
I received this mixer as a birthday gift and couldn't be happier with it. I also received the meat grinder attachment and stuffer kit. The grinder is equally as awesome with the exception of the plunger included with it. The plunger needs to be slightly bigger in diameter so the ground and mixed sausage can be pushed down into the attachment without coming up on the sides. This makes stuffing sausage somewhat irritating and causes the sausage to contain more air than desirable.
All in all, KitchenAid makes an incredible mixer worthy of being used in the best kitchens.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carden
,Wimberley
,TX
October 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't miss a beat!
October 3, 2012
Recently replaced a similar 1980 model with this one. Must admit some aprehension regarding the qualiity of a current product. No regrets whatsoever after heavy usage in my kitchen. Mixer performs without flaw, except overheating while mixing bread dough. All of my old attachments are still usable with this machine. Thje color is more than expected and fits perfectly with my other kitchen appliances.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 19 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marmit4
,Monrovia
,CA
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VISUAL APPEAL WITH A WORKING 'TUDE
August 28, 2012
One may feel it is the 1950's again at first glance of the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer, a smaller version of commercial-size models, yet it is versatile and designed with enough power and capacity to prepare large batches of cake batter or cookie dough without compromise.
The mixer's 10 speeds start at very slow stirring to very high beating, plus the head tilts for easy removal of bowl and beaters. It has a power hub for use with optional attachments. The 5-quart stainless-steel bowl locks to the base and Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, red color rocks visually speaking :)
Review 20 for KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roland64
,Austin
,Tx
June 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have appliance
June 3, 2012
I love to cook and bake and I couldn't imagine not owning this appliance. If you spend anytime in your kitchen, this is a must have. I use mine at least 3 times a week. I have made everything from various sauces and dressings to cookies, cheesecakes, cakes etc.. I have the meat grinder attachment as well. It came in handy when I created 100 pork eggrolls for a 40th birthday party at my home. I also use it for ham salad and making sausage. I just ordered the ice cream maker attachment yesterday and I look forward to some delicious summer sorbets and creamy treats!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next