Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer

A smaller version of commercial-size models, this versatile stand mixer is designed with enough power and capacity to prepare large batches of cake batter or cookie dough without compromising your kitchen counter space. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919.Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing.Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating.Head tilts for easy removal of work bowl and beaters.Power hub for use with optional attachments.5-qt. stainless-steel bowl locks to base.Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
39 of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
July 24, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great mixer but not the bowl
July 24, 2016
After 20 years, I decided to replace my KitchenAid Mixer with a new one. No problems with the mixer but when using the dough hook, my bowl kept coming loose and working its way off mixer. The indentions on the bottom were not deep enough to hold the bowl in place. Took it back to my favorite retail store and it turns out the bowl was made in India and was no where near as sturdy as the bowls made in Korea. World of difference in weight and in the grooves at bottom of bowl. I love my retail store because they always take good care of any of my concerns. Just beware not to get any stainless bowl made in India.
Pros: Assembly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Power, Size, Speed, Time-saver
Cons: bowl inferior
Review 2 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Maplewood
,NJ
June 6, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great kitchen helper
June 6, 2016
I can't imagine how I got into my sixth decade of life before getting one of these. It is a great time-saver. The fact that it can be beating, whisking, etc. while I am doing some other task is such a help. I am not very adept with technical things but I find it extremely easy to operate and change attachments. Really lives up to its reputation! One caution: very large and heavy; takes up a lot of counter space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Time-saver, Power
Cons: Size, Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 3 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Auburn
,CA
June 4, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great mixer, great quality
June 4, 2016
Purchased the red artisan stand mixer in Dec 2015. Haven't been disappointed. It does a great job with cookie dough, pie crusts, pasta dough, bread dough, etc. I wonder why I waited so long? I waited to purchase til there was a sale and rebate. This was a great investment. The only heads up: the ceramic covering on the dough hook does chip readily...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Speed, Size, Time-saver, Power
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Leesburg
,VA
April 9, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Star of my Kitchen
April 9, 2016
Such a powerful tool. Mine sits on a counter and is the pretty pink focal point of my pink kitchen. But a word of warning! The color has begun to fade. You might prevent this if you cover it when not using it, but who wants to hide those gorgeous colors?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Power, beautiful colors
Cons: Difficult to Store, color fading
Review 5 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Carlsbad
,CA
February 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must for every baker
February 1, 2016
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas. They now come in so many great colors. I have had the same model for 30 years and use it every time I bake. When I'm baking for Christmas it doesn't even get put away. I use it for making cookies, pie crust, cakes, squares and bread. It makes the task effortless. I wouldn't be without it. My daughter keeps hers on the counter because it is such a pretty blue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Time-saver, Power
Review 6 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MD
December 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have bought one years ago...
December 21, 2015
Cannot go wrong with having one of these in your kitchen. Kids can help with recipes with ease now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quality
Review 7 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,IN
West Lafayette, IN
June 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my mixer!!
June 8, 2015
I love my new KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer! I wish I would have purchased one years ago. I have wanted one for a very long time and decided to take advantage of the offered 35% discount. So glad I did! I chose one in Majestic Yellow and it is perfect. So pretty on my kitchen counter. I can't say enough good things about it. So far I have no negatives concerning this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quality, Power
Review 8 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,CT
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+32points
38of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible customer service, worth the $ ?
March 14, 2015
My stand mixer quit working a few weeks apropos of nothing. WS does not handle warranty or repairs, so I called KitchenAid. They promptly offered me 20% off a new stand mixer, but my point is that people are willing to spend a lot on this brand because of its reputation for quality and durability. They offered to have me send it to the factory for repair, but the factory does not accept or return calls. I am a very disappointed customer and I would urge KitchenAid to give some serious thought to the long-term relationships they want to have with their customers and the reputation of their brand.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Pete10
Monkton, Maryland
Posted November 21, 2015
Good looking junk
I had just about the same experience! Hardly used it and last time I reached for it, it was all seized up. I thought it the gear mechanism, ordered replacement parts etc. but turns out the motor had seized! What? Used maybe 10x? While it seems they've a lock on the mixer market I'm loathe to buy their pricier models only to have a repeat experience. Ironically, the ugly little avocado hand held job my wife got for free back when she opened a checking account (30 yrs ago?) still gets the job done... noisy, but it works!
0points
Customer avatar
Ginnn
Posted November 17, 2015
Agree
I called Kitchenaid today regarding a dishwasher that was installed with an interior dent. They will not replace even though it is less than 12 months and should be under warranty. Will never buy another kitchen aid appliance.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CAMPTON
,NH
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is the perfect mixer. I love it.
January 19, 2015
This is such a jump up in quality and design from what I was using. I have been pleasantly surprised at the ease of use, the power and the general design. I am quite sure that my baking tastes better, certainly the lemon meringue pie is lighter and fluffier. I am delighted with with this mixer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Yorktown Heights
,NY
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Second KitchenAid - I Love It!
January 5, 2015
I've owned a basic KitchenAid Stand Mixer for years. I've finally outgrown it and Artisan Stand Mixer is PERFECT. Even speeds and a heavy duty motor make baking a pleasure. Can't beat a KitchenAid Mixer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 11 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Harlan
,kk
Harlan KY
December 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-10points
5of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good looking at first glance but...
December 29, 2014
I purchased this for Xmas at 40% off in Caviar. The paint was chipped on the base of the unit and the color was less than expected, small glitter black but not as shiny as the photo. The Kitchenaid logo band around the top was also loose. As for operation, IDK, as I returned it based on its appearance. I will be looking in-store for the item.
Pros: Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Assembly, Size, low quality paint finish
Review 12 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pasadena
,CA
August 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Workhorse
August 11, 2014
I've had my Artisan mixer for nearly 20 years! At only 250W, it has been an amazing workhorse mixing bread dough, cookie dough, meatball mixture, pasta dough and so much more. My husband joked about using the gift card from friends to get a backup mixer for when the workhorse decides to retire. He's so right! I now have the 7-quart mixer in my basket. Thank you Williams-Sonoma and KitchenAid!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 13 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thrilled with purchase!
July 16, 2014
We received this as a gift and love it! Works wonderfully. We bought the regular red one and it matched everything red in our kitchen perfectly. It shipped quickly and was packaged securely. Recommended!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 14 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June 26, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mixer Ever
June 26, 2014
Great mixer! Works wonderfully - I highly recommend Kitchen Aid mixers. It was packaged well to ensure no breakage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Falun
,KS
June 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Stand Mixer
June 17, 2014
This mixer has everything you want! I love the tip back head instead of the pedastal lever that lowers and raises. All parts work perfectly. Let the creating begin!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 16 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
June 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
7of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone Needs This
June 7, 2014
This mixer has been one of my favorite kitchen electrics since purchased! I use it for everything and it makes baking/cooking a lot easier. Paired with the 5-QT. Glass bowl attachment, it's something you need to have in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen must-have!
June 3, 2014
Even if you're not a baker, the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer is still a must-have because it can be used to make homemade pastas, sausages, mashed potatoes, whipped cream, ice creams, and the list goes on and on! The speed and power capabilities of this model are excellent and it has not had any problem with all of the shenanigans I've put it though!
I bought my mixer in Blue Willow and I absolutely love it. It is very beautiful and it is pretty enough to sit on the counter top, but I have a very, very tiny kitchen so I have to put it up every now and then when it is not being used. It is big and quite heavy, so storing it away can be a pain.
As much as I love this mixer, I wish I bought a bigger model because I frequently have to cook/bake for large parties and get-togethers. However, this 5qt size is more than enough for everyday family use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 18 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fort Belvoir
,VA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best.Mixer.Ever
February 28, 2014
I have owned a KitchenAid for over two years and I mud stay I'm in love with it. It's a sturdy, heavy duty mixer that can handle almost anything you throw at it. I have cooked and baked even more ever since I got it. I also received the pasta attachments for Christmas, and loved them! II highly recommend getting one of these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 19 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Sacramento
,Ca
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
22of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is old better than new?
November 28, 2013
I have owned a kitchen aid mixer since 1978. My husband thoughtfully purchased me the anniversary edition in 2009- for Christmas. I gave my daughter my 1978 mixer- thank goodness she lives close. About 2 months ago while using the grinder attachment my beautiful cherry red mixer dies at LESS THAN 4 years old! Took it to a certified repair person who said it would be over $215 to repair. So, I had to repossess my old mixer. Now I don't know whether or not to buy another.. My husband purchased it at Williams Sonoma in Sacramento, CA. I am not happy. Oh, I am not a rookie.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Assembly
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
KPBN
CT
Posted March 14, 2015
Very similar experience
I have had a VERY similar experience, and the Kitchen Aid customer service is pretty much non-existent.
I would seriously caution anyone thinking of purchasing one of these mixers as Kitchen Aid does not seem to stand behind their products in a meaningful way.
0points
Customer avatar
fooddesigner70
New York, NY
Posted September 11, 2014
Same here
I had a kitchen aid artisan for years. It was great. When I upgraded o the pro I had nothing but trouble. Finally it is totally glitching out. I want to get another Kitchenaid, but. Don't know f I dare.
0points
Customer avatar
LizBW
Twin Cities
Posted April 23, 2014
Agree about old vs. new
I have had a similar experience with my less than 5 year old Artisan mixer. Because my "old" Kitchenaid was an entry level mixer, I thought I needed the higher powered Artisan. Big mistake. I saw no improvement in power, it often sounded like it was really straining, and is now in the repair shop. Not sure what the cost will be at this point. Very frustrating to say the lease, when the Kitchenaid has been my recommended mixer for a long time. (I get asked because I am a home economist.)
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 20 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kansas City
,MO
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick shipping, amazing mixer.
September 24, 2013
First and foremost I have to express my joy at receiving the mixer three full days before I was supposed to with the standard shipping.
As to the mixer itself, in the first week using it I made dozens of cookies, marshmallows and several loaves of bread. Including a dense pretzel dough that I was sure would make the motor struggle. It handled everything amazingly well and surprisingly quiet.
Definitely worth the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
page1 2 3 next