KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer

A smaller version of commercial-size models, this versatile stand mixer is designed with enough power and capacity to prepare large batches of cake batter or cookie dough without compromising your kitchen counter space. It's expertly hand assembled in Greenville, Ohio, home of KitchenAid since 1919.Planetary action allows attachments to spin independently while making continual rotations around the bowl for thorough mixing.Ten speeds range from very slow stirring to very high beating.Head tilts for easy removal of work bowl and beaters.Power hub for use with optional attachments.5-qt. stainless-steel bowl locks to base.Includes flat beater, dough hook, wire whip and pouring shield.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
33 of 36(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Duff
,IN
West Lafayette, IN
June 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my mixer!!
June 8, 2015
I love my new KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer! I wish I would have purchased one years ago. I have wanted one for a very long time and decided to take advantage of the offered 35% discount. So glad I did! I chose one in Majestic Yellow and it is perfect. So pretty on my kitchen counter. I can't say enough good things about it. So far I have no negatives concerning this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quality, Power
Review 2 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KPBN
,CT
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible customer service, worth the $ ?
March 14, 2015
My stand mixer quit working a few weeks apropos of nothing. WS does not handle warranty or repairs, so I called KitchenAid. They promptly offered me 20% off a new stand mixer, but my point is that people are willing to spend a lot on this brand because of its reputation for quality and durability. They offered to have me send it to the factory for repair, but the factory does not accept or return calls. I am a very disappointed customer and I would urge KitchenAid to give some serious thought to the long-term relationships they want to have with their customers and the reputation of their brand.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bernie76
,CAMPTON
,NH
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is the perfect mixer. I love it.
January 19, 2015
This is such a jump up in quality and design from what I was using. I have been pleasantly surprised at the ease of use, the power and the general design. I am quite sure that my baking tastes better, certainly the lemon meringue pie is lighter and fluffier. I am delighted with with this mixer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 4 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydibit
,Yorktown Heights
,NY
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Second KitchenAid - I Love It!
January 5, 2015
I've owned a basic KitchenAid Stand Mixer for years. I've finally outgrown it and Artisan Stand Mixer is PERFECT. Even speeds and a heavy duty motor make baking a pleasure. Can't beat a KitchenAid Mixer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 5 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lena8401
,Harlan
,kk
Harlan KY
December 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-8points
3of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good looking at first glance but...
December 29, 2014
I purchased this for Xmas at 40% off in Caviar. The paint was chipped on the base of the unit and the color was less than expected, small glitter black but not as shiny as the photo. The Kitchenaid logo band around the top was also loose. As for operation, IDK, as I returned it based on its appearance. I will be looking in-store for the item.
Pros: Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Assembly, Size, low quality paint finish
Review 6 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeRev
,Pasadena
,CA
August 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Workhorse
August 11, 2014
I've had my Artisan mixer for nearly 20 years! At only 250W, it has been an amazing workhorse mixing bread dough, cookie dough, meatball mixture, pasta dough and so much more. My husband joked about using the gift card from friends to get a backup mixer for when the workhorse decides to retire. He's so right! I now have the 7-quart mixer in my basket. Thank you Williams-Sonoma and KitchenAid!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2BBride
July 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thrilled with purchase!
July 16, 2014
We received this as a gift and love it! Works wonderfully. We bought the regular red one and it matched everything red in our kitchen perfectly. It shipped quickly and was packaged securely. Recommended!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 8 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MollyMolly
June 26, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mixer Ever
June 26, 2014
Great mixer! Works wonderfully - I highly recommend Kitchen Aid mixers. It was packaged well to ensure no breakage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenGriffin
,Falun
,KS
June 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Stand Mixer
June 17, 2014
This mixer has everything you want! I love the tip back head instead of the pedastal lever that lowers and raises. All parts work perfectly. Let the creating begin!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelTee
,CA
June 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
4of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone Needs This
June 7, 2014
This mixer has been one of my favorite kitchen electrics since purchased! I use it for everything and it makes baking/cooking a lot easier. Paired with the 5-QT. Glass bowl attachment, it's something you need to have in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen must-have!
June 3, 2014
Even if you're not a baker, the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer is still a must-have because it can be used to make homemade pastas, sausages, mashed potatoes, whipped cream, ice creams, and the list goes on and on! The speed and power capabilities of this model are excellent and it has not had any problem with all of the shenanigans I've put it though!
I bought my mixer in Blue Willow and I absolutely love it. It is very beautiful and it is pretty enough to sit on the counter top, but I have a very, very tiny kitchen so I have to put it up every now and then when it is not being used. It is big and quite heavy, so storing it away can be a pain.
As much as I love this mixer, I wish I bought a bigger model because I frequently have to cook/bake for large parties and get-togethers. However, this 5qt size is more than enough for everyday family use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marcela
,Fort Belvoir
,VA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best.Mixer.Ever
February 28, 2014
I have owned a KitchenAid for over two years and I mud stay I'm in love with it. It's a sturdy, heavy duty mixer that can handle almost anything you throw at it. I have cooked and baked even more ever since I got it. I also received the pasta attachments for Christmas, and loved them! II highly recommend getting one of these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tiger2013
,Sacramento
,Ca
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
20of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is old better than new?
November 28, 2013
I have owned a kitchen aid mixer since 1978. My husband thoughtfully purchased me the anniversary edition in 2009- for Christmas. I gave my daughter my 1978 mixer- thank goodness she lives close. About 2 months ago while using the grinder attachment my beautiful cherry red mixer dies at LESS THAN 4 years old! Took it to a certified repair person who said it would be over $215 to repair. So, I had to repossess my old mixer. Now I don't know whether or not to buy another.. My husband purchased it at Williams Sonoma in Sacramento, CA. I am not happy. Oh, I am not a rookie.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Assembly
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
KPBN
CT
Posted March 14, 2015
Very similar experience
I have had a VERY similar experience, and the Kitchen Aid customer service is pretty much non-existent.
I would seriously caution anyone thinking of purchasing one of these mixers as Kitchen Aid does not seem to stand behind their products in a meaningful way.
0points
Customer avatar
fooddesigner70
New York, NY
Posted September 11, 2014
Same here
I had a kitchen aid artisan for years. It was great. When I upgraded o the pro I had nothing but trouble. Finally it is totally glitching out. I want to get another Kitchenaid, but. Don't know f I dare.
0points
Customer avatar
LizBW
Twin Cities
Posted April 23, 2014
Agree about old vs. new
I have had a similar experience with my less than 5 year old Artisan mixer. Because my "old" Kitchenaid was an entry level mixer, I thought I needed the higher powered Artisan. Big mistake. I saw no improvement in power, it often sounded like it was really straining, and is now in the repair shop. Not sure what the cost will be at this point. Very frustrating to say the lease, when the Kitchenaid has been my recommended mixer for a long time. (I get asked because I am a home economist.)
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 14 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EnochianCub
,Kansas City
,MO
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick shipping, amazing mixer.
September 24, 2013
First and foremost I have to express my joy at receiving the mixer three full days before I was supposed to with the standard shipping.
As to the mixer itself, in the first week using it I made dozens of cookies, marshmallows and several loaves of bread. Including a dense pretzel dough that I was sure would make the motor struggle. It handled everything amazingly well and surprisingly quiet.
Definitely worth the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 15 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aalleexx
,Woodland Park
,CO
Woodland Park, CO
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Mixer
September 24, 2013
Between this and the Breville Slow/Fast Cooker, these are the two best purchases I've ever made for my kitchen. The recipe book that comes with this is great. I've made the pizza dough, meringue for pie, brownies, and bread. I always look forward to cooking with this item. It's stainless steel and wonderful. You won't be disappointed. All pieces are dishwasher safe except for the whisk. If anyone here knows where I can find a cover for this, please let me know.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: absolutely nothing
Review 16 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paperbag
,Dallas
,TX
September 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a necessity
September 13, 2013
nothing is wrong with this mixer. every kitchen needs one! I love mine and it is beautiful to have out on the counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen must for every home
August 25, 2013
There is no other mixer that can compare to a kitchen aid in my opinion. The artisan model is perfect for the everyday home baker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 18 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seeen
,Chicago
,IL
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen staple for a lifetime
July 29, 2013
I received a KitchenAid Artisan stand mixer for my wedding a decade ago and love it so much I just bought one for my sister's upcoming wedding. It's an appliance every home cook should have especially if you love to bake.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 19 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LGMema
,Wendell
,NC
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't know how I got along without it
July 28, 2013
This is the first stand alone mixer I've had in years and I absolutely love it!! It's been a great addition to my kitchen. My husband is a diabetic and I am constantly experimenting with recipes to find new sugarfree desserts and this has been so much more efficient. I highly recommend it - very easy to use, changing attachments is a breeze and cleaning is simple. Wonderful product!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for KitchenAid(R) Artisan Stand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Housewife4Now
,Copperas Cove
,TX
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Appliance
May 27, 2013
Anyone who bakes should have one of these mixers. It works as well as everyone told us it would and we use every excuse to bake or cook to use the mixer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
page1 2 next