This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer

This professional-quality hand mixer offers nine speed settings to handle everything from fluffy meringue to heavy cookie dough.Nine speeds allow precise control.Digital control pad displays beater speed at a glance.Electronic sensor automatically maintains speed.Innovative lockable swivel cord for easy maneuvering to any angle.Soft-start feature eliminates splattering and wafting flour.Soft-grip handle.Includes beaters, whisk, blender rod and dough hook.A convenient accessory bag keeps attachments organized.
Average Customer Rating:
3.868 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
39 of 53(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetiePieBaker
Tucson, Az.
August 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
One More KitchenAid Product To Love!
August 1, 2011
I was thrilled to experience KitchenAid at this level. Great variety of tools, including dough hooks ......Digital Controls Provide Quick & Easy Changes. Love the non-clogging vents, and as a left-hander, being able to lock the cord in a position best for me is an absolute treat! Put that Baby down, when you're finished mixing....and it doesn't tip, like most other mixers on the market .....it just sits there...stable. Thank You KitchenAid Design Team!
Pros: non-clogging air vents, non-tip heal rest, locking swivel cord...locks in either direction
Review 2 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maddie1234
Chandler, AZ
June 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
My favorite mixer
June 21, 2011
I have a KitchenAid standing mixer, but I find the Kitchen Aid 9- Speed Hand Mixer so much easier to use because it is lighter. I used it for my favorite cake recipe, and it was awsome, so easy and fun to use. The extra tools are a gem to own.
Pros: light and the name you can't beat
Review 3 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nashville
Nashville, TN
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Never worked.
January 9, 2011
I received this mixer as a Christmas present and, as many other reviewers, mine never worked. I tried different outlets, but no go. It was also missing two of the mixing attachments. Store staff offered a different brand, but typical KitchenAid mixers have been rated well in magazines, etc. so I got a lower-end, more reliable version at a department store.
Review 4 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAnnS
SwKY
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Dead on Arrival
December 29, 2010
I didnt have the opportunity to try this product's usage as it was dead out of box!!!!
Review 5 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
boys2enough
Chicago
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Mine too broke right out of the box
December 12, 2010
The power of this mixer was quite impressive for the 5 minutes when it was working: at Speed 3 it was already more power than my previous, now dead, hand mixer. I turned it off in the middle of making frosting and was not able to turn it back on. Dead. Silver lining? So thankful I was not in the middle of making a birthday cake or something more important/urgent.
Review 6 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Would not work
December 11, 2010
I was so excited to finally ditch my 30-year old hand mixer for a brand new sexy red one. But to my dismay it did not work. Tried multiple outlets and even checked to make sure I did not have a tripped circuit breaker. My sexy red mixer still would not work. Finally had to visit our local WS store to exchange the sexy red non-working mixer for a working and rather conservative cocoa silver mixer. However, sales staff were great.
Review 7 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alwaystrustreviews
Norman, OK
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Would not work
December 11, 2010
I would not recommend you purchase this mixer because the one I just ordered would not work and now I have to return it at my expense. Very disappointed! I should have trusted the other reviewers who said their's didn't work either.
Review 8 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Missy999
Decatur, AL
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Beware of this product!
December 10, 2010
I just received this blender and plugged it in to find...it doesn't work! I tried several plugs and none worked. I'll be returning this for a refund.
Now I see that several others have had the same experience with it. Save your money and don't buy this.
Review 9 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pherbea
Winston Salem, NC
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Broken at the gate
December 6, 2010
My mixer would not work - I tried multiple outlets but it never came on. The folks at the store were great. When I called, they located the last red one in stock and held it for me until I came in the next day. We tested the replacement ti be sure it would work. Customer service was terrific even if the original product was a loser that cost me an irritating extra trip. Really, no points for the non-working mixer, and 5 stars for the employees.
Review 10 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lizabeth
San Diego, CA
December 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Never worked . . .
December 5, 2010
. . . and when I returned it the cllerk said people return them all the time and get the cheap one. The cheap one worked. This one is digital - too many bells and whistles. More to go wrong.
Review 11 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
maudelivers
wisconsin
December 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
dissapointment
December 5, 2010
I was incredibly surprised when this mixer died on me with very light use after having it for just a few years. One of the beaters also broke after just 1 year but I limped along with it, fixing it and having it break, fiixing it having it break because the replacements were so expensive! Then it just died?? Not in keeping with the kitchenaid name. I pray my stand mixer has better staying power!
Review 12 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nanatotriplets
Norristown, PA
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
KitchenAid Disappoints
December 2, 2010
Having so much respect for the KitchenAid product line, I was so disappointed when I received this mixer and it wouldn't even turn on. I see from the reviews it has happened before but I'm still going to rely on the majority of reviews and request a replacement mixer. Hopefully, this isn't too common a problem and the second one will work. KitchenAid, where is your quality control?
Review 13 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lwer
Deer park, tx
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Outstanding blender
October 12, 2010
Great product for the money. The different beatters work great. I have made fresh bread ,to mash potatoes. Very light weight product.
Review 14 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frog1
Port St. Lucie,FL.
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Didn't work at all
October 12, 2010
It did not work at all, so I sent it back, waiting to get my money back.
Review 15 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katees4
Lake Tapps, WA
September 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great hand mixer with attachments
September 18, 2010
I just used my hand mixer for making mousse and what an amazing mixer. I was so happy with the variable speed settings and also am impressed with the accessories and bag that come with the mixer. The bag holds all of the attachments so that everything stays organized. I have used many hand mixers and this by far is the best I've used
Review 16 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grischer
Livermore, Ca
August 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Disappointed in KitchenAid
August 31, 2010
I purchased this unit on-line and when I went to use it for the first time it did not come on. I returned it to a Williams-Sonoma store and bought a different brand name.
Review 17 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cottagelot
Catskill Mountains
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
BIG DISAPOINTMENT
August 6, 2010
The lovely red mixer arrived promptly, but did not work at all. Williams-Sonoma's representative was very helpful in replacing it with a Cuisinart. Lets hope that works.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kin415
San Francisco
July 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
All-time superstar hand mixer
July 16, 2010
I bought this only because my existing 7-speed model was too old for the attachments available. When I saw this model came outfitted with the attachments I wanted, I was sold. At half the weight of my old model and what felt like twice the efficiency in creaming a batch of cookie dough from cold butter, I am thrilled.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wobbleknees
Steinhatchee, FL
July 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Hand Mixer
July 5, 2010
This 9 speed mixer is everything I hoped for and more, with all the included attachments. It is a dream to use.
Review 20 for KitchenAid Architect 9-Speed Hand Mixer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pzlr
Iowa
July 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Impressive!!
July 5, 2010
Since I prefer not having a counter-top mixer, I've "made do" with hand-mixers. None of them were great, but most were okay. This product is Far Superior to any others I've tried. It handles easily, it stores easily, and the performance is far and above the rest. I recently used it for my cheesecake recipe, and have never had results so smooth and creamy. High recommendation!
page1 2 3 next