Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4

Bottle and preserve your homegrown fruit and vegetable harvests with a dependable kitchen classic. With a history dating back to 1840s England, Kilner jars have been a trusted choice of generations of European families for preserving foods at home. The Kilner clip-top jar is a tried-and-true favorite featuring a glass lid with metal clip and rubber ring, which makes for easy sealing and opening. Clip-top jar for bottling fruits and preserving jams, chutneys and pickles. Clear glass body won't absorb odors. Glass lid with hinged metal clip and rubber ring for creating an airtight seal. Kilner logo embossed on front. Also ideal for storing dry foods such as rice, sugar and flour. Dishwasher safe. Sold in sets of four, all of the same size. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
Review 1 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpstat
April 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kilner Clip-Top Jars - Perfect
April 12, 2014
I use 16.9 oz jars all the time. Although I have a few different sizes of these jars 16.9 oz works the best for me. I use and re-use them every few week mostly for small batches of egg plant caviar and fruit preserves. I found that cooking a little more of those and canning actually saves time in a long run. (13 qt Staub helps a lot too!). Initially I used traditional jars with metal lids. However, those require lids replaced every time, and are more difficult to open. So I replaced them with Kilner's jars and cannot be happier. They are easier to use, and look beautiful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cosbakes
,Hoffman estates
,Il
chicago
April 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shame these are discontinued
April 8, 2014
These are wonderful, sturdy jars. I use them for so many things including storing my home made dehydrated fruits, salad dressings, marmalade and especially storing open bags of pasta, rice and beans. All three sizes are essential to my pantry. And they look pretty, too! It is a real shame they are no longer available in the stores and it looks as though they are being discontinued online as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: discontinued
Review 3 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CityLiving
,Chicago
,IL
April 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Carefully inspect jars BEFORE use
April 5, 2014
2nd review attempt!
Received these jars and after washing 2, I noticed the rubber gasket was cracked. Since a cracked rubber gasket is useless for canning, I decided to use that jar for dry storage. I purchased extra gaskets, so no biggie. I used it to store homemade candied ginger and emailed W-S for a replacement gasket.
The next day, I noticed the metal band was rather chipped giving the appearance of black marks on it. I was a bit worried because I had purchased 6 boxes because of the sale price, but with so much obvious damage, I had to open every box and inspect all jars.
Starting with the first jar I used, I found a 2 inch crack at the base of the jar. Every box I opened had 1 or 2 damaged jars - hairline cracks, degraded metal, chipped jars, scuff marks, you name it. I emailed W-S with pictures and they've again offered replacements.
Hopefully, the replacements will be fine, but I don't know if these will be right for preserving.
Wondering where they got these.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: received damaged jars
Review 4 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bufanditas
,TX
San Antonio, TX
March 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty and Functional
March 18, 2014
Can't get enough of these!! I started with one set in all three sizes and turned around to order more. They are great for storing dry goods and the different sizes help optimize space. Easy to open and close and my husband even commented they looked very attractive on our shelves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 5 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Americangirl
,Spokane
,WA
Spokane WA
December 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love These Jars for Everything
December 2, 2013
I was so glad to see these for sale on WS site as I had been buying up when in San Francisco. I love these for everything, They are made of excellent high end glass and secure great. Very Useful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nicoleS
,Navarre
,Fl
navarre Fl
November 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great glass canning and storage jars
November 10, 2013
I just ordered two sets of all three sizes of these jars. They are very nice looking. I like that they are made of heavy glass and you can store bags of different types of flours and mix in the two larger sizes easily for dry storage. Great buy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 7 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnaMontanna
,Pensacola
,FL
Pensacola, Florida
November 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice storage Jars!
November 6, 2013
I love the 50 oz size storage jars for my pantry. I like the look of glass rather than plastic containers and they are pretty for display on the kitchen counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 8 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookerCannerGardener
,Aurora
,OH
October 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for canning
October 18, 2013
I have never water bath canned in these jars. However, I use for quick or refrigerator pickles, etc. and for excess (of whatever canning that's too small for jars) and store in fridge. Keeps for many weeks as the hot jar with the hot liquids creates a great seal. Also, like to store peppers and cherry tomatoes that I've dehydrated. Great seal again and I can see what's inside (be sure to store where get's little light, though). Also, great for leftover sauces and soups. Love the ease of opening and closing. I have in every size. Only con is metal rusted slightly when run through dishwasher.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: metal rusted
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakingandcooking
,Mendon
,NY
August 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for pickling and storing
August 31, 2013
I got the biggest size of these jars and use them for pickling and storing. They are just perfect for this. Although I haven't tried yet, they look just right for keeping a sourdough culture too.
Pros: Easy to Use, material, Size, Versatile
Review 10 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NanaHoard
,Asheville
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Food Storage
August 8, 2013
I bought all three sizes 12 for food storage. They are a nice heavy, very heavy glass jar. The lids are a very thick heavy top. However, the only negative is the metal that holds the top to bottom is flimsy. They look great!
Pros: Quality, Size, Appearance
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChaG
,Colorado Springs
,CO
July 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kilner Clip-Top Jars - Storage
July 21, 2013
I love these jars and purchased different sizes to store many of my dry goods in since I recently found out I’m gluten intolerant. They are nice sturdy jars, look pretty in my cabinets and best of all they keep my gluten free items separate and visible so that I don’t accidently grab the gluten variety of oatmeal, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 12 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greythound
April 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Jars
April 18, 2013
Very pleased with my purchase of the Kilner clip jars.
Review 13 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jefgain
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
April 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For home made yolk free mayo & salad dressings
April 9, 2013
Beautiful and fine Kitchen Ware, like an object d'art to me.
I bought it so I could make yolk free mayo and salad dressings with a blending stick directly in the container and store in the fridge. It serves that purpose beautifully.
It was delivered promptly and packed well. I was able to track the package on line with my account. I love Williams-Sonoma.
Review 14 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lubidulia
,San Juan
,PR
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So beautiful and strong!
February 20, 2013
They are a beauty. I bought them to put in my homemade yogurt, and they are simply perfect. Loved it, I want tons more.
Pros: stackable, strong
Review 15 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KFHL
November 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdy Clips
November 25, 2012
These are great for food storage as I like to avoid as much plastic as possible. The clips on these jars are much sturdier than those I have purchased recently at another home store.
Review 16 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julita
,fairfax
,va
November 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Jars
November 15, 2012
for pickles, jam...nice & thick! wide opening easy to clean. I love it!!!
Review 17 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Rocksprings
,Tx
October 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite jar for making vanilla
October 1, 2012
This is a very well made product. The closure is not made from cheap material, which gives it a better seal.
Pros: good closure, thick glass
Review 18 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeanieB
,Santa Monica
,Ca
September 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these storage jars!
September 1, 2012
I LOVE these jars!! Not only are they functional, easy to open and close and air tight...but they are beautiful too! These are the 16 oz size and since I liked them so much, I just ordered the 32 oz size and can't wait for them to come!
Pros: easy access, beautiful, functional, air tight
Review 19 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Newmexicogal
,Las Cruces
,NM
July 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy this Product
July 19, 2012
Better than pictured. It will make an excellent presentation for gifts!
Pros: Durable, heavy glass, attractive, free shipping, made me feel like martha!
Cons: a little expensive