This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4

Bottle and preserve your homegrown fruit and vegetable harvests with a dependable kitchen classic. With a history dating back to 1840s England, Kilner jars have been a trusted choice of generations of European families for preserving foods at home. The Kilner clip-top jar is a tried-and-true favorite featuring a glass lid with metal clip and rubber ring, which makes for easy sealing and opening. Clip-top jar for bottling fruits and preserving jams, chutneys and pickles. Clear glass body won't absorb odors. Glass lid with hinged metal clip and rubber ring for creating an airtight seal. Kilner logo embossed on front. Also ideal for storing dry foods such as rice, sugar and flour. Dishwasher safe. Sold in sets of four, all of the same size. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
21 of 25(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
Review 1 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ruru
,Bellevue
,Wa
June 4, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Black spots on ring
June 4, 2014
I was shocked when I saw the products. Black spots sowing rust on the metal. Disappointed be the quality..
Review 2 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathiT
,mentor
,oh
May 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
PERFECT for some uses
May 28, 2014
These jars are perfect for certain uses
They are heavy glass and perfect for certain uses. I am using mine for preserved lemons, which do not get heat packed. Also great as canisters. The quality is superlative.
I went to order more and was seriously disappointed to see that WS no longer sells them. PLEASE BRING THE KILNER CLIP-TOPS BACK!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 3 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DonnaofTennessee
,Lebanon
,TN
May 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great for preserves or munchies!
May 26, 2014
This container is just the right size for munchies in our home. Food stays fresh and it is so easy to see what is in each jar.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 4 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mykichen
,Annandale
,VA
May 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
NOT Kilner quality
May 9, 2014
Becareful, these Kilner clip-top jars are not same quality compare to real Kilner clip-top jars out there. They look very low in quality, they are imperfect, crack, damage, Kilner logo embossed on front are uneven, metal clips are rusted already coming off, and rubber rings are about to melting. This is waste of time and money. I called WS customer service and explained the problem, she said will send the replacement sets, I am not so sure about the replacement sets that I will get but will see...
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Leilax
Seattle, WA
Posted May 16, 2014
I have the same problem!
I just ordered two sets, and both sets (all 8 jars) have the same problem you described! These jars are heavy, and it's annoying to have to lug them back and forth for a refund.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennieJen
,Jefferson
,AR
April 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kilner CLIP-TOP Jars
April 24, 2014
I order the 50oz CLIP-TOP Jars. Superior Product - heavy, thick glass, and the orange rings are a beautiful in color; just the right pop for my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AEOO
,Seattle
,Wa
April 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Watch out....
April 19, 2014
I ordered 1 set of each size, and the "chrome"/metal finish on each and every jar was already coming off, and there was black residue on the metal. Maybe it's because they're made in China now and that's why they're being discontinued? Decided to keep them only because I'll be using them for storage of dry ingredients and not canning, and the sale price cannot be beat! After prewashing, I removed all the metal components and dried separately to prevent the additional appearance of rust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
CityLiving
Chicago, IL
Posted May 9, 2014
Oops - error in comment
I meant I bought Weck jars for preserving, not kilner.
0points
Customer avatar
CityLiving
Chicago, IL
Posted April 23, 2014
Had the same problem
I faced the same problem as you. I love these jars, the size, and especially the price, but the state of these jars were horrible.
I bought 2 sets of each size and spent the past couple weeks inspecting and returning jars. I dealt with chipped jars, cracked rubber seal, broken rim, black residue, etc.
After the last replacement set I received, I knew there was some damage but I just gave up and kept them.
Williams-Sonoma has been very responsive and their customer service has been great, but the problem here is the warehouse. One box I opened had all this sticky tape as if they were pulled from shelves.
These jars are meant to be used for preserving, but I can't trust that. I just bought Kilner jars for that.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpstat
April 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kilner Clip-Top Jars - Perfect
April 12, 2014
I use 16.9 oz jars all the time. Although I have a few different sizes of these jars 16.9 oz works the best for me. I use and re-use them every few week mostly for small batches of egg plant caviar and fruit preserves. I found that cooking a little more of those and canning actually saves time in a long run. (13 qt Staub helps a lot too!). Initially I used traditional jars with metal lids. However, those require lids replaced every time, and are more difficult to open. So I replaced them with Kilner's jars and cannot be happier. They are easier to use, and look beautiful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cosbakes
,Hoffman estates
,Il
chicago
April 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Shame these are discontinued
April 8, 2014
These are wonderful, sturdy jars. I use them for so many things including storing my home made dehydrated fruits, salad dressings, marmalade and especially storing open bags of pasta, rice and beans. All three sizes are essential to my pantry. And they look pretty, too! It is a real shame they are no longer available in the stores and it looks as though they are being discontinued online as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: discontinued
Review 9 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CityLiving
,Chicago
,IL
April 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Carefully inspect jars BEFORE use
April 5, 2014
2nd review attempt!
Received these jars and after washing 2, I noticed the rubber gasket was cracked. Since a cracked rubber gasket is useless for canning, I decided to use that jar for dry storage. I purchased extra gaskets, so no biggie. I used it to store homemade candied ginger and emailed W-S for a replacement gasket.
The next day, I noticed the metal band was rather chipped giving the appearance of black marks on it. I was a bit worried because I had purchased 6 boxes because of the sale price, but with so much obvious damage, I had to open every box and inspect all jars.
Starting with the first jar I used, I found a 2 inch crack at the base of the jar. Every box I opened had 1 or 2 damaged jars - hairline cracks, degraded metal, chipped jars, scuff marks, you name it. I emailed W-S with pictures and they've again offered replacements.
Hopefully, the replacements will be fine, but I don't know if these will be right for preserving.
Wondering where they got these.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: received damaged jars
Review 10 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bufanditas
,TX
San Antonio, TX
March 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pretty and Functional
March 18, 2014
Can't get enough of these!! I started with one set in all three sizes and turned around to order more. They are great for storing dry goods and the different sizes help optimize space. Easy to open and close and my husband even commented they looked very attractive on our shelves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 11 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Americangirl
,Spokane
,WA
Spokane WA
December 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love These Jars for Everything
December 2, 2013
I was so glad to see these for sale on WS site as I had been buying up when in San Francisco. I love these for everything, They are made of excellent high end glass and secure great. Very Useful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nicoleS
,Navarre
,Fl
navarre Fl
November 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great glass canning and storage jars
November 10, 2013
I just ordered two sets of all three sizes of these jars. They are very nice looking. I like that they are made of heavy glass and you can store bags of different types of flours and mix in the two larger sizes easily for dry storage. Great buy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 13 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnaMontanna
,Pensacola
,FL
Pensacola, Florida
November 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Nice storage Jars!
November 6, 2013
I love the 50 oz size storage jars for my pantry. I like the look of glass rather than plastic containers and they are pretty for display on the kitchen counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 14 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookerCannerGardener
,Aurora
,OH
October 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Not just for canning
October 18, 2013
I have never water bath canned in these jars. However, I use for quick or refrigerator pickles, etc. and for excess (of whatever canning that's too small for jars) and store in fridge. Keeps for many weeks as the hot jar with the hot liquids creates a great seal. Also, like to store peppers and cherry tomatoes that I've dehydrated. Great seal again and I can see what's inside (be sure to store where get's little light, though). Also, great for leftover sauces and soups. Love the ease of opening and closing. I have in every size. Only con is metal rusted slightly when run through dishwasher.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: metal rusted
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakingandcooking
,Mendon
,NY
August 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect for pickling and storing
August 31, 2013
I got the biggest size of these jars and use them for pickling and storing. They are just perfect for this. Although I haven't tried yet, they look just right for keeping a sourdough culture too.
Pros: Easy to Use, material, Size, Versatile
Review 16 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NanaHoard
,Asheville
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great for Food Storage
August 8, 2013
I bought all three sizes 12 for food storage. They are a nice heavy, very heavy glass jar. The lids are a very thick heavy top. However, the only negative is the metal that holds the top to bottom is flimsy. They look great!
Pros: Quality, Size, Appearance
Cons: Weight
Review 17 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChaG
,Colorado Springs
,CO
July 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kilner Clip-Top Jars - Storage
July 21, 2013
I love these jars and purchased different sizes to store many of my dry goods in since I recently found out I’m gluten intolerant. They are nice sturdy jars, look pretty in my cabinets and best of all they keep my gluten free items separate and visible so that I don’t accidently grab the gluten variety of oatmeal, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 18 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greythound
April 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great Jars
April 18, 2013
Very pleased with my purchase of the Kilner clip jars.
Review 19 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jefgain
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
April 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
For home made yolk free mayo & salad dressings
April 9, 2013
Beautiful and fine Kitchen Ware, like an object d'art to me.
I bought it so I could make yolk free mayo and salad dressings with a blending stick directly in the container and store in the fridge. It serves that purpose beautifully.
It was delivered promptly and packed well. I was able to track the package on line with my account. I love Williams-Sonoma.
Review 20 for Kilner Clip-Top Jars, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lubidulia
,San Juan
,PR
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
So beautiful and strong!
February 20, 2013
They are a beauty. I bought them to put in my homemade yogurt, and they are simply perfect. Loved it, I want tons more.
Pros: stackable, strong
page1 2 next