This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Kai Folding Knife

From one of Japan's leading knife makers, this compact folding knife is a beautiful-and indispensable-addition to your picnic basket. The Japanese stainless-steel blade offers sharpness combined with the safety and durability you need for an on-the-go pocket knife. The blade is the perfect size for slicing fruit, cheeses and sausages. Mirror-polished high-carbon stainless-steel blade. Razor-sharp edge is long-lasting and corrosion-resistant. Handle is polished black Micarta, a laminate material that is extremely hard and durable. Steel and brass rivets accent the handle. Lockback keeps the blade securely locked open during use; releases easily to fold the knife closed. Blade, 3" long; handle, 4 1/4" long. (4" long overall when closed). Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
3 of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kai Folding Knife
Review 1 for Kai Folding Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jimfet
,NC
NC
March 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is a great pocket knife.
March 17, 2013
In case you don't read my review. KAI owns Kershaw and Shun. Kershaw does not own KAI. You can google this information, if you like.
Plus look on the blade of your Shun knife. Right above the model number will be the letters KAI. Again this is a great folding knife for the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape
Review 2 for Kai Folding Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LAIRD
,Emporia
,KS
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Not a Shun
February 28, 2013
Do not be fooled by the price of this knife, it is not a Shun. The brand is KAI which is manufactured by Kershaw. It is a nice folding knife but no where near the quality and craftsmanship of a Shun. I own both Kershaw and Shun knives and like them both for there intended purposes but if you are expecting a Shun spend the money and buy the gentleman's folding knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: Quality, brand confusion
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jimfet
NC
Posted March 17, 2013
This is a Shun, sorta.
First let me say this is a very nice and sharp folding knife. I have bought 4. Three as gifts.
But let me correct a statement here. Kershaw does not own Kai. Kai owns Kershaw and Shun. A simple Google search will show you. Plus if you have a Shun knife, look right above the model number on the blade. You will see the letters KAI.
I am a big Case fan, but this is the best small folding knife I have owned.
So this or Case is in my pocket and Shun is in my kitchen.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Kai Folding Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nictek
,alhambra
,cs
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
i love my shun
January 29, 2013
I have to say i went in to WS retail store and was looking to purchase a Shun Large Higo Nokami Gentleman’s Knife. This was sold out but i didnt go home with out a folding knife. the rep at the store brought this item to my atention and the price was just jaw dropping. The craftsmanship on this knife is simply amazing as soon as i held this knife I could really feel the quality of the knife alongI with the quality of the materials that went into making thIs this knife. whenever I pulI this knife out among people who know a thing or two about knivesI they will do a double take and ask what makes that knife and I am proud to say it's a shun.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LAIRD
Emporia
Posted February 28, 2013
Sorry
Hate to bring you bad news but the knife you are proudly showing off is not a Shun it is a KAI built by Kershaw.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)