Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting

The artistry of master ceramists is evident in every detail of this French stoneware collection-a fresh, modern interpretation of classic 1950s silhouettes. Renowned for coaxing rustic warmth from every piece they make, artisans shape and glaze the dinnerware entirely by hand, using an intricate 17-step process to create the unique "crackled" appearance and unparalleled richness of color. Extremely durable and chip-resistant, these distinctive mugs, plates and bowls are crafted in the south of France at the award-winning Jars pottery, founded in 1857. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Sets of four. Mugs, 14 1/2-oz. cap.; 3 1/2" diam., 3 1/2" high. Bowls, 23-oz. cap.; 7" diam. Salad Plates, 7 3/4" diam. Dinner Plates, 10 1/4" diam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
Review 1 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IsleofPalmsCook
,Isle Of Palms
,SC
September 7, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dishwashing ruins the unglazed bottom
September 7, 2014
I took a very long time considering the options before investing in new dishes. I purchased TWO 16-piece sets of the Jars Cantine and they are very beautiful. The lovely unglazed bottoms, however, stain with food debris in the dishwasher. The aesthetics are ruined and the stains won't even come off using an SOS pad. One dish has broken (dropped) and one has chipped (don't know how) and I've had them for less than 7 months. So sad I made this OVER $700 investment!
Pros: Color, Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AddingComment
Longmeadow, MASS
Posted October 25, 2014
Top 50 Contributor
did not experience same issue
that s too bad you have had problems. we have owned our sets and used daily for one and a half years and have not experience the issues you have mentioned. I can tell you metal chips can get trapped in the unglazed finish so I would NOT use sos pads on them. If you already have, try scrubbing with baking soda and a sponge, it may lift up the metal chips. Best of luck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fitzie
,ma
May 4, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyday dishes
May 4, 2014
I've had the dishes over a year and it was an excellent investment. I've had no issues with scratching and just love them for everyday use!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Store, Appearance, Versatile
Review 3 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chellebelle
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but not indestructible
March 24, 2014
My first set was light blue in September 2013. My cobalt fiestaware was missing pieces after 10 years, 5 moves, one of them cross-country. I fell in love with the finish and color. They really are beautiful in person. Plates and bowls are perfect size. And photograph well for Instagram food shots. (ha) I added 4 of the mini bowls in white for condiments and spices. It was about that time that I broke one of the light blue bowls (technically my dog did, as he knocked off the counter) and shortly after that I dropped one of the mini bowls. I begrudgingly replaced at individual cost. Recently I added a set of the grey and they blend well together. The bowls and plates are used daily (I don't drink coffee, never used mugs) and beside the initial causalities are holding up well and I expect to last for years to come.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VGREENIE
,NY
March 6, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Its Okay that the Backs are Not Glazed
March 6, 2014
I'm writing for those of you who might hesitate because of the comments regarding the fact that the backs of the plates are not glazed. Some reviewers said that they felt the need to separate the plates in the cabinet to prevent scratching. It almost made me pass. Good news is that I don't think this is necessary. I've had the plates for two weeks, washed in dishwasher a number of times. They are fine. There IS a sound that they make when they rub against each other -- and the sound would make you THINK that the plates are being ruined. But the plates are fine. The plates are beautiful. The sizes are right for cabinets and dish washers. They stack very closely together, and we fit 16 in a regular size cabinet no problem. Especially like the size and shape of bowls - just big enough to double as a soup bowl, deep enough for cereal, and shallow enough to stack pretty well in a dishwasher. All in all, we expect these bowls to last a long time, and we are very happy with purchase.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AddingComment
Longmeadow, MASS
Posted August 6, 2014
Top 50 Contributor
One thing to be careful with unglazed end
We have owned our set now for about a year and half and they are all as good as new even with 3 kids using them daily. There IS something as a heads up to be careful about. The unglazed part of the plates can get marked up from metal like from pans. So keep pans from lying against the back of plates in the dishwasher. If marks occur, use baking soda and sponge to remove the metal marks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rufers
,Saint Paul
,MN
January 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heirloom set
January 3, 2014
I can't say enough about our dinnerware! We bought a mixture of red, orange, yellow, and white and the pieces intermix beautifully. They are sturdy and well-made. I was a little hesitant because of the unfinished base, but we simply put felt between the dishes. We put them in the dishwasher and have had no chips or cracks. I love that each piece is unique. Beautiful!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Appearance, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Imadancer
,Colorado Springs
,CO
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok, but not great
November 24, 2013
These dishes are very pretty and the colors are nice, but why did they not put glaze on the bottom of the dishes? I personally do not like the unfinished bottom and I'm not sure if I will keep them.
Cons: unglazed bottom
Review 7 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
firesidereader
,MI
November 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the gray!
November 8, 2013
I picked up a mug/coffee cup in the green at the store; it is nice to hold and looks great, but my coffee didn't stay hot as long as some of my other mugs. Undeterred, I ordered a set of 4 salad plates in the gold. It turned out to be a pretty bold gold, and while it's no doubt fine for many, it just bothered me; I wanted something lower key. Ordered the gray as a replacement and love them! I also love that these are made in France; I just don't like to eat off dinnerware made in China. Am considering the full dinner set when I replace my current dishes.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Appearance
Review 8 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JRene
,Washington
,DC
October 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chipping problems?
October 12, 2013
I ordered four sets of these beautiful plates--three are on back order. After washing the only set to be delivered and putting it away, I noticed a chip on rim of one mug. I of course have never used the mug, as I had just washed it for the first time in the dishwasher. Has this been a problem for others? I am wondering if I should cancel my backordered items, since I planned to use these plates every day. Thanks.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Chodur
Bethesda, MD
Posted January 3, 2014
They are lovely but.......yes, the chipping
problem. I ordered 8 cups, and
as I remember five of the bowls were
chipped and cracked, the crack ran down
to the bottom of each bowl, and it was
evident on the outside of the bowls too.
I took them back to the local store, and
they replaced them with no problem, and
I haven't had any chip or crack since.
0points
Customer avatar
AddingComment
Longmeadow, MASS
Posted December 26, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
no chipping
We bought our set about 9 months ago and have not had any problems with chipping. We are a family of 5 and use the plate as our main dishes. They are pretty tough. The only time we had a problem was one small plate broke in two in the microwave one time. We got a replacement at no cost. Frankly, the whole set looks like brand new still after nine months. Hope this helps.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JennP
,Barrington
,RI
August 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What to do about the bottoms
August 19, 2013
These dishes are beautiful. We had been looking for new dishes for years, but couldn't find something that we loved that would also be durable and stylish, yet timeless. We bought 3 sets - one blue, 1 gray, and 1 white. They look beautiful mixed and matched on the table! Our only complaint would be the finish, or lack there of, on the bottom. The dishes tend to "grind" together and so we are afraid of ruining the glaze. As a result, we have put rubber shelf liners in between each dish. Not exactly practical, but we don't want to ruin the beautiful glaze. We asked in the store and were told this was probably a good idea.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, rough bottoms
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AddingComment
Longmeadow, MASS
Posted September 22, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
Scratching comment
We ve had our plates since march and there hasnt been any scratching. We use thkem every day and have three kids. Once in a great while We get scratches on the bottoms from pans aka metal chips in the rough finish. They have come out via scrubbing with baking soda. Good luck and hope you dont have to be too concerned.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aceholly
,Chesapeake
,Va
May 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!!!
May 26, 2013
I love these plates. I bought a set of the blue and they are amazing! These will only be used on special occasions because they were expensive, but because they are really chip resistant I'm sure you could use everyday with no problems. If you've been going back and forth, trying to decide whether they are worth it....... They are. Buy them.
Review 11 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AddingComment
,Longmeadow
,MA
Longmeadow, MASS
March 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice retro look and bright color
March 29, 2013
The pieces are bright and high quality. We are surprise at how little space these plates use during storage. They are very thin and the bowls also stack nicely. The coffee cup and bowl design is very retro 50's looking.
Pros: bright colors, use very little space for storage, nice retro 50s look
Cons: high cost
Review 12 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pgpg
,Sacramento
,CA
March 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dishes
March 14, 2013
I am a klutz and have chipped every set of "chip resistant" earthenware and "ironware" I have ever bought. Porcelain is almost all plain white and boring. I bought 2 of these plates and took them home and banged them together really hard and then slammed them into the edge of the counter and the edge of the cabinet (which is where most of my chips happen) and they were fine. They are also incredibly beautiful. I was going to just get a set of 12 in the cool colors, bone, blue and grey,but my husband liked the yellow and orange so much we got a selection of those too. Have had them 3 months now and love them more than ever.
Pros: really beautiful, actually are chip-resistant!
Review 13 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freda
Ocean Springs, MS
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love These!!!
February 20, 2013
We bought these dishes in the store after seeing them in the catalog. They were much prettier in person. Had a hard time chosing between the gray and the yellow but got a whole set of the gray and just love them. They stack so nicely in the cabinet and fit in the dishwasher well. The size of the dinner plate is perfect. I love the texture of the underside as well. Will probably go back the get the yellow set eventually.
Review 14 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaCheryl
,Citrus Heights
,CA
February 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Picture doesn't do it justice
February 8, 2013
The white Mikasa dinnerware we've used for many years is starting to show a bit of wear, so I've been on the lookout for something different. W-S had me from the picture in the email! My husband and I went to our local store to see the pieces in person and were particularly wowed by the orange dishes, though it was still a difficult decision which colors and pieces to get as the pieces are sold individually. We thought the crackle finish was prettiest in the blue and the orange but decided on two each of the orange and yellow plates, bowls, and salad plates as they go with our kitchen decor. When I got a coupon in my email, we decided to order the set of orange dinnerware online and absolutely love the slightly different glazed finish on each and every piece. Eventually we will probably pick up a couple more yellow place settings. Also after seeing the new Moroccan dinnerware paired with the Jars orange plates, we plan to purchase a few of those pieces to mix and match.
Pros: beautifully hand glazed, each piece unique, dishwasher and microwave safe, they feel sturdy and stack well, and my husband loves them too!
Cons: a little pricey but worth it
Review 15 for Jars Cantine 16-Piece Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LucyMaddieDogLover
January 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It has taken me years to find something I love!
January 31, 2013
I have looked for years to find that perfect orange every day dish and I finally have it in Jars Cantine. Each piece is different yet they match. They are heavy duty yet on the lighter side for dishes of this quality. You can throw them in the dishwasher. They are warm and rich in color saturation and can be dressed up or down dependent upon what else is on the table. I loved them in the photos on line but in person they are even more stunning. They have a simple yet elegant line to them. I'm thrilled and even my two teenage daughters love them and that is saying a lot!