Italian Tomato Press

Nothing compares to the bright flavor that vine-ripened tomatoes impart to sauces and soups. Separating pulp from skin and seeds in no time, this simple Italian tool makes it easy to process fresh tomatoes.Attaches to a counter or tabletop by suction.Stainless-steel strainer is easy to clean.Includes recipes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
66 of 78(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Tomato Press
Review 1 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TNWildflowers
,Woodbury
,TN
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely Happy
August 22, 2013
I have made tomato sauce which is now simmering into a marinara for dinner and applesauce. I used raw tomatoes and cooked apples. Both were a total success. I passed the tomatoes through the press 2 or 3 times to get all the juiciness. I may just give my food mill to Goodwill! It holds securely to the counter with the vacuum and didn't even balk too badly at some of the tougher tomato pieces. It is a challenge to figure out how to clean it at first, but it went back together very nicely. Also, it took some maneuvering to get the bowls situated so that none of the peels ended up in the sauce, but it wasn't over-burdensome. Next I'm trying concord grapes to make jam. So very happy with my new tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rlupo
,Lebanon
,Or
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have had one years ago
November 29, 2012
Cannot say enough about how great this is! Removes and separates skin and seeds for the best sauce ever. Easy to use and clean. Love that it has a suction cup which does not budge, no need to scratch the counter tops with the old style clamp on attachment. Love it so much that I bought a second one. Not that I think it will break, it is very sturdy. I just cannot bear the thought of being without one for any reason now! I may buy more to give as gifts. Worth every cent at this reasonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bethdh
,Clifton
,NJ
New Jersey
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Tool
August 13, 2012
I just used this to make a batch of tomato sauce. It is very sturdy, heavy duty plastic unlike most stuff you find. The only problem was that some of the skins get stuck on their way out. This does not affect the flow of the garbage but you can't release them until you take the machine apart to clean it. Its not really a big deal. The other thing is the garbage spout is very close to the sauce spout so you just have to watch your bowl because sometime the garbage falls into the bowl. It has heavy duty suction, you can lift the table! It is very easy to clean. The WHOLE thing comes apart pretty easily to be cleaned. I'm looking forward to using it for more tomato sauce and for apple sauce this fall!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KBTKC
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for apple butter and apple sauce
August 6, 2012
I have used mine for over 10 years. This is seriously WAY better than a Foley Mill, and its use is not limited to just tomatoes. I use a simple hand press apple slicer to core and cut each apple (no peeling), cook them until they're soft, then run the pulp through this fabulous tool (run the skins through twice). It's easily cut my pulp processing time in half.
A couple tips:
* Slightly dampening the countertop before suctioning the tool down really helps it to stay put much easier. It works fine on formica.
* Yes, the chutes are close together, but so what? A relatively flat serving bowl to catch the pulp and a taller cup to catch the skins are just fine.
* All parts do unsnap for cleaning. On the white cylinder, find the notch on the side and gently wiggle open using a table knife.
A one-use item, but it will ALWAYS have a place in my cabinet!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, price is worth every penny!
Review 5 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OpalcaGardener
,Knoxville
,TN
July 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Garden Lifesaver
July 22, 2012
I've used this press for at least 10 years, and I love it. A few notes:
- You get a more liquid with slicing tomatoes instead of paste tomatoes. I like Opalca, but Romas will do. With these, you get a fresh sauce thick enough for a margarita pizza or fresh tomato pasta. Or cook down to puree, sauce or paste. The juice from slicing tomatoes can also be cooked down.
- I don't blanch, peel, or quarter - just drop them in. I use a large spoon to push them down - prevents splatters. 3 times through does great. 10 minutes to process 2 stock pots.
- Suction works on flat dry counter. At least mine does.
- If the handle is screwed in fully, no dripping from there. If I disconnect the whole device and take it with the bowl to the stock pot, I have fewer spills.
- i find the center roller a little hard to clean. One review said it comes apart. How?
I couldn't do without this tool - not with 6-12 batches of sauce every summer!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Marya01
Posted August 25, 2012
Thank you!
This is a really helpful review. Thank you!
0points
Customer avatar
KBTKC
Posted August 6, 2012
Cleaning the center roller
When you are holding the white center roller, there is a little notch on the side of the cylinder. You can put a small table knife in that notch to pry the side of the cylinder open. It all snaps back together again after cleaning.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaggieMay5
,Chico
,CA
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Homemade Tomato Sauce a Breeze!
October 12, 2011
I love this tomato press! I was a little worried at first, after reading some of the negative reviews, but pressing my first crop of romas put any concerns to rest. I have noticed that it does take 2 or 3 passes to get all of the pulp and juice, but this press makes the process so quick and easy that I don't mind running the skins and seeds through again. My only critique is the height; I wish it was a few inches taller to accomadate a larger bowl. Otherwise, I would recomend this to anyone who wants a quick, easy, way to process their tomatoes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Review 7 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lynnescarfo
,ma
September 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
time-saver!
September 26, 2011
Love this press. The mechanism is easy to assemble and works like a charm. I've owned mine for about 15 years and it is still in perfect condittion. Was so glad to still find it available. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Italian Tomato Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ccandme
,Easton
,MA
September 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a little disappointment
September 13, 2011
I bought several of these for a friend as she is a chef who was going to be teaching a class in canning and preserving for SEMAP (Southeastern Massachusetts Agricultural Partnership).
I was going to be participating in the class as well as helping to market. same.
We found the product difficult to use and created quite a mess. The suction (which held the press to the tables) would not hold.The design was poor in spacing the shutes so that if you were lucky enough to manage to get the sauce in the bowl without the suction lifting off...the seeds and skins were everywhere!
The product did clean up easily enough but we had to put it aside...run out and get traditional metal foley presses and it was quite a disaster to say the least.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 9 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsLMP
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes short work of garden fresh tomatoes!
September 6, 2011
We had hundreds of pounds of tomatoes from our garden this year-we quickly blanched and peeled them then ran them through this press and jarred the puree. It worked easily and quickly and was easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 10 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobBob
Columbia, TN
August 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great!!!
August 15, 2011
I actually found this product at a yard sale. I am purchasing a new one just to have. I use it to make homemade spaghetti sauce. It does work better if you run the tomatoes through at least 3 to 4 times, it gets more of the paste out of the tomato. I do highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 11 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mewrew
Northern Virginia
August 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
August 13, 2011
I've had this press for nearly 15 years. It is one of the best, reasonably priced purchases that I have ever made. It does a great job of separating the seeds and skin from the meat of the tomatoes. After hundreds of uses, it still looks and works like new. Easy to assemble, and easy to clean. Thank you WS for offering this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Italian Tomato Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lusu
willits, CA
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a disappointment
August 2, 2011
This product was to help with the making of tomato sauce. When the roma tomatoes were used, all that came out was clear juice. It also had trouble sticking to the kitchen counter. The exiting shoots are very close together, making it very difficult to catch the juice separate from the skins and seeds. This does not represent William Sonoma quality and should be eliminated from your inventory.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Djecpa
Posted August 19, 2011
You need to run the tomatoes through a few times to extract all of the sauce. We do the same thing with apples. Great kitchen tool; have been using ours for years. Will need to find a replacement soon given all the use ours has seen over the years.
Even ran cherries through it to make a sauce reduction (make sure ALL pits have been removed)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vtcows
Farmville, VA
July 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent tool
July 31, 2011
I just used this to process a bunch of tomatoes. This thing is the trick. I did not cook them. I just quartered them (the bigger tomatoes I cut into 6ths). I also ran the mixture through 3 times and there was very little left. Clean up was very easy. I highly recommend this product. My only complaint is the shoot for the juice is not very long. I just used some aluminum foil to make a chute. No problem.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paradisecanner
big sandy, tennessee
July 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my press
July 19, 2011
We received a tip from a friend 13 years ago abut how great this press was and tried hers and immediately bought one. We have used it for tomato juice and apple sauce- works fast and efficintly. Yes, you do get juice people. that is what tomatoes give, then yuou simmer it down to get sauce. I process a bushel of cooked tomatoes in 10-15 minutes. I usually run them through 3 times.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 15 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
envgm
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic & versatile tool!
July 15, 2011
I received the press as a present and have used it every year to prepare tomato sauce and jams. Amazing job on separating skin and seeds from pulp and juice. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomatoesRUS
Silver Spring, MD
June 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the best
June 8, 2011
I have owned this for 6 years and cannot believe how great it is! I was just looking to see if it was still available for a friend and decided to write a quick review. My husband grows hundreds of tomatoes every summer and I have become an accidental farmers wife!
Yes, it is plastic. Yes, it does make juice, not sauce -- squeeze a tomato, that what you get! Simply quarter tomatoes and use arm power to grind and there is no skin, no seeds. Amazing. And, as I mentioned, mine has lasted 6 years, through at least 1000 pounds of tomatoes.
One tip - there is a cylinder in the center that turns the blades. When you take it all apart for easy cleaning be sure to open that cylinder carefully. It will be filled with the best, thickest sauce. Empty it into your pan, not down the drain!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Joseff
Yellow Springs, OH
Posted July 27, 2011
Excellent Tip!
This tomato press was featured about a year ago in a cooking magazine (and -- finally -- I'm going to order it). The article was VERY positive about it, mentioning its main features and touching on the cleaning process. But nowhere did I learn about that "cylinder in the center." Many thanks TomatoesRUS for that excellent tip!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Italian Tomato Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
spunkygal
Pilot Mountain NC
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not metal, just plastic
March 23, 2011
I didn't realize it was made of plastic. Silly me. Haven't tried it out yet, though, so it may work fine. Just had thought it was metal when I ordered it.
Review 18 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeganwyer
Colombia, South America
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best of the Best
January 20, 2011
I buy one for my country house, other for my apartment at the city and I used several times at month.
When my son start to study at the university, I teach some recipes, and he take mine Tomato press to his new apartment because its easy to use, he can make more tomato sauce with less and the sauce can be keep perfect for more days, because the press machine put off the seeds and the skin.
Great invention!
Review 19 for Italian Tomato Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bakn
illinois
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
want soup?????
January 4, 2011
i was expecting to get puree not soup. this is what i received from this product. it was messy also. tomato bits were stuck in that mesh.
but could have dealth with that. who wants soup to make sugo. waste of money
Review 20 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HankL
Bend, Oregon
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Purchasing
December 19, 2010
This is a fine product the only problem when I received my new unit it was damaged and I had to return it. I guess there is always one tha was not manufactured correctly and guess what, I got it.
Otherwise it is definetely worthwhile purchasing because it does a great job.
page1 2 3 4 next