Italian Tomato Press

Nothing compares to the bright flavor that vine-ripened tomatoes impart to sauces and soups. Separating pulp from skin and seeds in no time, this simple Italian tool makes it easy to process fresh tomatoes.Attaches to a counter or tabletop by suction.Stainless-steel strainer is easy to clean.Includes recipes.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Tomato Press
Review 1 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TNWildflowers
,Woodbury
,TN
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely Happy
August 22, 2013
I have made tomato sauce which is now simmering into a marinara for dinner and applesauce. I used raw tomatoes and cooked apples. Both were a total success. I passed the tomatoes through the press 2 or 3 times to get all the juiciness. I may just give my food mill to Goodwill! It holds securely to the counter with the vacuum and didn't even balk too badly at some of the tougher tomato pieces. It is a challenge to figure out how to clean it at first, but it went back together very nicely. Also, it took some maneuvering to get the bowls situated so that none of the peels ended up in the sauce, but it wasn't over-burdensome. Next I'm trying concord grapes to make jam. So very happy with my new tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rlupo
,Lebanon
,Or
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have had one years ago
November 29, 2012
Cannot say enough about how great this is! Removes and separates skin and seeds for the best sauce ever. Easy to use and clean. Love that it has a suction cup which does not budge, no need to scratch the counter tops with the old style clamp on attachment. Love it so much that I bought a second one. Not that I think it will break, it is very sturdy. I just cannot bear the thought of being without one for any reason now! I may buy more to give as gifts. Worth every cent at this reasonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bethdh
,Clifton
,NJ
New Jersey
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Tool
August 13, 2012
I just used this to make a batch of tomato sauce. It is very sturdy, heavy duty plastic unlike most stuff you find. The only problem was that some of the skins get stuck on their way out. This does not affect the flow of the garbage but you can't release them until you take the machine apart to clean it. Its not really a big deal. The other thing is the garbage spout is very close to the sauce spout so you just have to watch your bowl because sometime the garbage falls into the bowl. It has heavy duty suction, you can lift the table! It is very easy to clean. The WHOLE thing comes apart pretty easily to be cleaned. I'm looking forward to using it for more tomato sauce and for apple sauce this fall!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KBTKC
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for apple butter and apple sauce
August 6, 2012
I have used mine for over 10 years. This is seriously WAY better than a Foley Mill, and its use is not limited to just tomatoes. I use a simple hand press apple slicer to core and cut each apple (no peeling), cook them until they're soft, then run the pulp through this fabulous tool (run the skins through twice). It's easily cut my pulp processing time in half.
A couple tips:
* Slightly dampening the countertop before suctioning the tool down really helps it to stay put much easier. It works fine on formica.
* Yes, the chutes are close together, but so what? A relatively flat serving bowl to catch the pulp and a taller cup to catch the skins are just fine.
* All parts do unsnap for cleaning. On the white cylinder, find the notch on the side and gently wiggle open using a table knife.
A one-use item, but it will ALWAYS have a place in my cabinet!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, price is worth every penny!
Review 5 for Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OpalcaGardener
,Knoxville
,TN
July 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Garden Lifesaver
July 22, 2012
I've used this press for at least 10 years, and I love it. A few notes:
- You get a more liquid with slicing tomatoes instead of paste tomatoes. I like Opalca, but Romas will do. With these, you get a fresh sauce thick enough for a margarita pizza or fresh tomato pasta. Or cook down to puree, sauce or paste. The juice from slicing tomatoes can also be cooked down.
- I don't blanch, peel, or quarter - just drop them in. I use a large spoon to push them down - prevents splatters. 3 times through does great. 10 minutes to process 2 stock pots.
- Suction works on flat dry counter. At least mine does.
- If the handle is screwed in fully, no dripping from there. If I disconnect the whole device and take it with the bowl to the stock pot, I have fewer spills.
- i find the center roller a little hard to clean. One review said it comes apart. How?
I couldn't do without this tool - not with 6-12 batches of sauce every summer!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Marya01
Posted August 25, 2012
Thank you!
This is a really helpful review. Thank you!
0points
Customer avatar
KBTKC
Posted August 6, 2012
Cleaning the center roller
When you are holding the white center roller, there is a little notch on the side of the cylinder. You can put a small table knife in that notch to pry the side of the cylinder open. It all snaps back together again after cleaning.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)