Italian Braising Gravy

On Sundays, Italian American kitchens are filled with the rich, savory aroma of tomato sauce mixed with braised meat simmering on the stovetop. The sauce goes by lots of names, from "Sunday Gravy" to "Mamma's Sauce." It's always made with love, and every family is convinced their recipe is the best. We make Sunday supper easy with our own version of this legendary all-purpose sauce. A nostalgic Italian-American blend of Italian tomatoes, fresh garlic and basil, sauteed in extra-virgin olive oil with a splash of red wine, then slowly simmered for authentic homemade flavor. Just braise with your family's favorite meat and serve over pasta. 32 oz., 2 lb. Can be used in a slow cooker as well as the oven. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Braising Gravy
Review 1 for Italian Braising Gravy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jelm5
,chicago
,il
May 14, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome sauce
May 14, 2013
This is my fave sauce of all WS offers. It makes an incredible chicken parm!
Pros: Authentic, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
choochoogirl
Winter Springs, FL
Posted October 19, 2013
Better Than Homemade
This sauce is better than homemade because it saves precious time! I don't need to spend hours making my "gravy" when WS has done it for me. Please don't stop offering this sauce.
(I wish you would bring back Posole. My family keeps asking for it).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Italian Braising Gravy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SEMS
,Atlanta
,GA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing beats this sauce for a great pot roast
December 31, 2012
I have used this sauce several times now. I brown my pot roast and then add it with carrots, celery, onions, and bay leaf to slow cooker. Turns out great every time. I just ordered two more bottles.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Italian Braising Gravy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strader411
,Houston
,TX
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So simple, so fantastic!
December 2, 2012
Used this sauce with a 2 pound bone-in pork shoulder and 4 links of spicy Italian sausage. Browned the meat in a Staub Braiser and then deglazed it with 1/4 cup of red wine. After deglazing, added back the meat, covered it with this sauce, then baked for 2 hours at 350F. Pork shoulder was amazing, tender and succulent. Highly recommend this sauce. Easy to prepare and delicious.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Italian Braising Gravy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zuckererbse
,San Diego
,CA
San Diego, CA
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Semplicemente deliziosa!
October 5, 2012
I was craving good comfort food on a day when I had little time to cook, and followed the recipe on the back of the jar for chuck and sweet sausages. I just threw everything into the slow cooker late morning and let it simmer for the recommended time. For hours the kitchen was filled with tantalizing scents of herbs, spices and meats bubbling away in this truly delicious gravy that would not disappoint. At the end of a long day I just had to cook some pasta. This one is a keeper, and it might be a nice idea to have in the pantry during the holidays when you are either too tired to cook or just want to eat something else than turkey :)
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Italian Braising Gravy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TonyfromOC
,Anaheim
,CA
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and Mouth Watering
March 11, 2012
I thought I'd try this new braising sauce with a variation of the recipe on the bottle. I used a 3 lb chuck roast and sweet Italian sausages that I seared after first generously applying truffle salt and pepper to each side in just a bit of olive oil. A majority of the oil was removed from the dutch oven (I used a 5 1/2 qt Staub from WS). I added a mirepoix (1 onion, a celery rib and a medium onion - all diced) and topped the whole thing with the braising sauce. I placed it in an oven at 250 degrees for 4 hours. The meat came out so tender you didn't need a knife and the taste was superb. I served the meat and remaining braising sauce over a porcini mushroom risotto. It was easy to do. When my wife took some of the leftovers to work the next day, she shared it with a couple of friends who said it was the best tasting roast they have had.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Italian Braising Gravy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KNordvik
,SF
,CA
January 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family pleaser
January 19, 2012
I brought two jars of this up to the snow last weekend with my extended family. Instead of slaving away in the kitchen, I just breaded and browned some chicken breasts, dropped them into the "gravy", covered with cheese, baked and served over pasta. It was quick, easy and tasted great! When my Aunts and Mom asked for the recipe, I just handed them the jars.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Italian Braising Gravy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SharonPag
,Vineland
,NJ
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So much better then expected
January 5, 2012
This sauce has a nice flavor. I used the slow cooker recipe on the jar with a small pork loin and about 5 links of sausage. The sausage adds to a lot of oil sitting on top, but fairly easy to skim off. All served over some pasta and cooked on low for about 8 hours in the slow cooker, Will definitely purchase again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor