This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Italian Beef Sandwich Starter

Italian beef sandwiches are famous all over Chicago- everywhere from diners and taverns to family restaurants and food carts. Make the Windy City legend at home with our interpretation of this classic savory-sweet sauce. Our Italian Beef Sandwich starter sauce combines vine-ripened tomatoes, bell peppers, onions, fresh garlic and Italian herbs with beef stock, olive oil and a splash of red wine. Simply combine the starter with beef chuck roast in a slow cooker or Dutch oven and cook until the meat is fork tender. Serve the shredded beef on toasted rolls with melted provolone cheese and the extra braising sauce along side for dipping. For a quick meal, simmer deli-sliced roast beef in the sauce until warmed. 1 lb. 9 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
Review 1 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zekiesmom
,Media
,PA
media, pa
August 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
delicioso!!!!!
August 15, 2013
I am glad i read the reviews AFTER making a chuck roast in this sauce in my slow cooker. It may not be what the Chicago people deem to be their sauce but here in the Philadelphia area it was scrumptious. Italians from Brooklyn concurred. I just bought 4 more before it is gone so I can make roast beef sandwiches this winter. People were actually licking their fingers to not miss a drop!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 2 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adnil
,New York
,NY
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
August 1, 2013
Made the Italian Beef Sandwiches last night and they were so good, that I went online to order a couple of more jars. So, disappointed to learn that this product is no longer available!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: no longer available
Review 3 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Elissa121
,IL
IL
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Nope, not good
May 13, 2013
I'm from the suburbs of Chicago, and can tell you this does not resemble the real deal. I agree with the other poster that it has a tomato-ness that is way off from what's authentic. This wasn't terrible tasting or gross, but it wasn't good either. And for the price, I would never buy this again, and would recommend you don't waste your time on this.
Cons: Flavor, not authentic
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MrRed
La Ciudad del Lago Salado
Posted July 30, 2013
Italian beef started
I lived in Chicago for and ate beefs from Taylor Street to Oak Park to Evanston. Never have I encountered tomato with my beef or with my combo!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MainStShopGirl
,Orlando
,Fl
June 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Not Even Close
June 1, 2012
Having spent most of my life in the Chicago area, I can assure you this in NO WAY resembles Chicago Italian Beef. The sandwiches were tasty, much more like a very mild barbeque. But I won't lie . . . for $14.95, I can make a whole lot of barbequed beef that DOESN'T come out of a jar.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, not as represented
Review 5 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ocbaker
Orange County, CA
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
If you're from Chicago...take a pass
May 24, 2012
This starter does not produce Chicago style Italian beef. Not even close. If you never had a Chicago beef sandwich, you might like this. The flavor was ok. Has more of spicy tomato base. If you like Chicago Italian beef, you'll be disappointed with this.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Port Saint Lucie
,Fl
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Absolutely Delicious!
April 29, 2012
I'm shocked by some of the negative reviews this starter received. I can't compare it to a traditional Chicago Italian beef sandwich because I've never had one, but this is delicious no matter what you call it. I use the Dutch oven method and follow the directions on the jar (provolone & sub rolls). I actually have one in the oven now and it smells unbelievable. This will be my second time making it; I hope WS never stops selling it!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
toolulu22
Long Island, NY
Posted June 19, 2012
I am surprised as well!
I see that the Chicago folks do not believe this tastes authentic. However, I agree with you- that it is a delicious meal. I came here today to put an order in and was surprised to see a three star review and the negative comments. I guess those expecting a Chicago style dish may be disappointed, but- everyone else should not let the reviews turn you away. This is a yummy starter!! BTW- I have been to Chicago many times. Next time I will be sure to try this sandwich for reference. ;)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
andyg
,Seattle
,WA
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Good grief this is awful
April 17, 2012
I should have known better, but had a weak moment and bought this. I grew up in Chicago and can tell you this product is nothing like any Chicago Style Italian Beef I have ever tasted. Not even close. I'm sure the chef who created it had good intentions, but he or she has never been to Chicago and sampled a real Chicago beef sandwich. A pound of roast beef gave it's life for this experiment. One taste and it was thrown out.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, smell, Flavor
Review 8 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
imaluckycharm
,AR
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for tailgating
April 4, 2012
I made this for my family and what a hit. We follow our favorite football team at home and on the road in our rv and this is going to be a great choice for tailgating. It is so easy and everyone in my family loved it from my 3 year old granddaughter to my picky eater husband!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
twointexas
,Fort Worth
,TX
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
No resemblance to Chicago beef AT ALL
March 28, 2012
I would like to know in which alternate universe the chefs who concocted this sauce visited Chicago. I was born and raised until the age of 17 on the South Side (near Midway Airport), and I can tell you that this is a joke. Very bland, no italian seasonings at all (no oregano, garlic, rosemary, etc.), but liberal tomatoes and green peppers. People, please! Green peppers are an optional topping, not part of the sauce. I found it very unpleasant, but my husband did not mind it so much. . . as long as you thought of it as "hot roast beef sandwiches."
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
andyg
Seattle
Posted April 17, 2012
I could not agree more.
Anyone who liked this ick has never been to Chicago. I plan on writing a letter to the Italian Beef Anti-Defamation league for the labeling on this product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Italian Beef Sandwich Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
toolulu22
,NY
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Tried this and loved it!
January 23, 2012
We followed the directions exactly as to the cut of meat, cheese, bread, and so on. Loved it! This starter was absolutely delicious. The sauce is sort of like an au jour consistancy (except with bits of onions and peppers), so you can use it to dip your meat into, pour over your sandwich, or use for the leftovers in a lunch meal. Very flavorful but low sodium, which is a plus. I would highly recommend this for a relatively simple and tasty weekend meal (it takes time to cook)!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Flavor