This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Irish Stout Braising Base

When you stop in for supper at a pub in the Irish countryside, you're likely to find at least one savory braise on the menu-and odds are that a hearty stout will be a key ingredient. Our all-natural starter gets its mellow flavor and rich body from Irish stout, slowly simmered with a traditional blend of ripe tomatoes, vegetables, stock and spices. 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Irish Stout Braising Base
Review 1 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teaandscones
,Bucks County
,PA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Bring this back!
January 29, 2013
I used this last weekend and it was delicious. I used a 3 pound bottom round roast, cut into cubes, and cooked in the oven. The sauce had just the right amount of spice. I did add a bottle of Black and Tan beer during the cooking period.
I'm so sad to see that it's no longer available.If you don't bring this back, could you at least publish a recipe?
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookingMaven
Camden County, NJ
Posted February 22, 2013
No more Irish Stout Braising Base?
I am shocked and saddened when I realized that the Irish Stout Braising Base is no longer available. I agree with the previous reviewer, please share the recipe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
safetylawyer
,Takoma Park
,MD
Maryland
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Why Stop Making This?
January 15, 2013
I have tried most of the WS braising sauces and this has been my favorite ... I just reordered and was informed it is no longer available. Shocking! Please bring this back ... why discontinue something with 5 star reviews?
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LindasKitchen
,Manhattan Beach
,Ca
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Family favorite year after year
October 14, 2012
When Fall comes around each year this is the first thing I want to make. The short ribs we make with the Irish Stout Braising Base are beyond compare! I have people call to tell us they are going to be in town and would I "please make your short ribs while we are visiting?"
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blueeyes43
,Wheeler
,OR
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Lamb Shanks
August 4, 2012
Makes a great sauce for cooking the shanks and great gravy for the potatoes and vegetables.
This is a staple in our house.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Irish Stout Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lesross
,Honolulu
,HI
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Irish Stout Braising Base
June 21, 2012
Again, WS creates a great, tasty time-saving starter sauce. Used with lamb shanks and braised them for 3-4 hours, added chicken stock as needed. Great and have bought again!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lysh
,Dallas
,TX
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My family Loves this
March 29, 2012
My kids ask for this all the time! Easy to make in the crockpot and delicious! I usually have a pretty far drive to buy this but I finally thought to look online and here it is. My family will be so happy to have this more often now.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnfromAK
,Kenai
,AK
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great with any kind of red meat....
February 13, 2012
I only had ground moose and ground beef in the freezer. However, I made the most wonderful version of sloppy joes with this braising sauce in my slow cooker. I cannot wait for the next time I go to Anchorage and get me some pork belly!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift