This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Irish Stout Braising Base

When you stop in for supper at a pub in the Irish countryside, you're likely to find at least one savory braise on the menu-and odds are that a hearty stout will be a key ingredient. Our all-natural starter gets its mellow flavor and rich body from Irish stout, slowly simmered with a traditional blend of ripe tomatoes, vegetables, stock and spices. 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Irish Stout Braising Base
Review 1 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teaandscones
,Bucks County
,PA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Bring this back!
January 29, 2013
I used this last weekend and it was delicious. I used a 3 pound bottom round roast, cut into cubes, and cooked in the oven. The sauce had just the right amount of spice. I did add a bottle of Black and Tan beer during the cooking period.
I'm so sad to see that it's no longer available.If you don't bring this back, could you at least publish a recipe?
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookingMaven
Camden County, NJ
Posted February 22, 2013
No more Irish Stout Braising Base?
I am shocked and saddened when I realized that the Irish Stout Braising Base is no longer available. I agree with the previous reviewer, please share the recipe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
safetylawyer
,Takoma Park
,MD
Maryland
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Why Stop Making This?
January 15, 2013
I have tried most of the WS braising sauces and this has been my favorite ... I just reordered and was informed it is no longer available. Shocking! Please bring this back ... why discontinue something with 5 star reviews?
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LindasKitchen
,Manhattan Beach
,Ca
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Family favorite year after year
October 14, 2012
When Fall comes around each year this is the first thing I want to make. The short ribs we make with the Irish Stout Braising Base are beyond compare! I have people call to tell us they are going to be in town and would I "please make your short ribs while we are visiting?"
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blueeyes43
,Wheeler
,OR
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Lamb Shanks
August 4, 2012
Makes a great sauce for cooking the shanks and great gravy for the potatoes and vegetables.
This is a staple in our house.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Irish Stout Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lesross
,Honolulu
,HI
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Irish Stout Braising Base
June 21, 2012
Again, WS creates a great, tasty time-saving starter sauce. Used with lamb shanks and braised them for 3-4 hours, added chicken stock as needed. Great and have bought again!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lysh
,Dallas
,TX
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My family Loves this
March 29, 2012
My kids ask for this all the time! Easy to make in the crockpot and delicious! I usually have a pretty far drive to buy this but I finally thought to look online and here it is. My family will be so happy to have this more often now.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnfromAK
,Kenai
,AK
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great with any kind of red meat....
February 13, 2012
I only had ground moose and ground beef in the freezer. However, I made the most wonderful version of sloppy joes with this braising sauce in my slow cooker. I cannot wait for the next time I go to Anchorage and get me some pork belly!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BonnieL
Jackson, Mississippi
March 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious!!!
March 10, 2010
I made the short ribs, and before I had a bite in my mouth my husband announced it was DELICIOUS!! The meat was so tender it fell off the bone. The sauce is excellent, and served with buttered noodles as suggested on the label, made a very easy yet delicious meal. I will be stocking up on my next trip to Williams-Sonoma. I only wish I had tried it sooner!!!
Review 9 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MECox
Spotsylvania, VA
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH
January 14, 2010
We have purchased the Irish Stout Braising Base many times. On Christmas Eve we enjoyed the oh so scrumptious short ribs slow cooked with the base. We are going to make it a tradition.
Review 10 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GottaCook
New York
January 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wish I had some now
January 8, 2010
Cannot believe that a jarred sauce can be so absolutely delicious! Have made shepherds pie twice more at insistence of whole family. Wonderful flavor and simplifies the recipe... a winning combination.
Review 11 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karli
Columbia, MD
October 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Perfect Football Sunday Meal
October 12, 2009
Absolutely perfect meal for a lazy Sunday. Prep time less than 15 minutes. I slow cooked beef short ribs with the Irish Stout braising base and threw in some carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms about 30-45 minutes before serving. The flavors, smell and taste were out of this world. A nice crispy baguette works great to soak up all of the leftover juices. Perfect slow cook in my Le Creuset, 3-4 hours at a low temperature. YUM!
Review 12 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NGreen
Rochester, NY
September 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
yummy
September 14, 2009
This base makes the best shepard's pie ever. Absolutely delicious and easy!
Review 13 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MCox
Spotsylvania, VA
August 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
SCRUMPTIOUS
August 28, 2009
The Irish Stout Braising Base cooked with the short ribs is so delicious and easy in the slow cooker. Highly recommend!
Review 14 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
osoitaliano
Hayward, CA
November 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
love it!
November 26, 2008
Very good. I LOVED it and would highly recommend. The taste is great and it is very versatile. You can make a stew or just drizzle meat and sauce over mashed potatoes. Excellent.
Review 15 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PattyJean
November 24, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious
November 24, 2008
Short ribs in the slow cooker...really nice for a dinner party. Awesome.
Review 16 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisaF
Beaverton, Oregon
November 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolutely Amazing!!
November 5, 2008
I was tempted by the recipe card at my local Williams-Sonoma. I was looking for an easier way to make a tasty shepherd's pie. This base makes a fantastic sauce, with a full bodied flavor. It's so easy to make, makes the house smell awesome, and it tastes like you slaved away at a hot stove all day, only you dont have to!! I've bought more to stock up. With winter approaching, I'm sure to be using this base alot!!
Review 17 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenn
Petaluma, CA
September 22, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Flavor!
September 22, 2008
I used the beef ribs recipe on the back and made them in the oven. They turned out perfect! The sauce had an excellent flavor - perfectly seasoned! Why do it yourself when Williams Sonoma does it so much better!
Review 18 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KarenfromMI
Michigan
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great taste!
September 4, 2008
I used this sauce to make lamb in my slow cooker and it was great! My entire family enjoyed this meal including my children. I will be buying this product again and would recommend this product to others to try.
Review 19 for Irish Stout Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dick
Richmond, VA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Too Stout For Me
September 4, 2008
Either I was having a bad day or the Braising
Base has a bad taste. Either way, my lamb
shanks just did not appeal.
Review 20 for Irish Stout Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakelover
Camden, SC
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for beef ribs
September 4, 2008
Loved this Braising Base! Used it in slow cooker beef ribs recipe. Flavor was excellent!