Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker

We designed and developed our Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools collection to make it easy for you to watch cooking videos, search for recipes, listen to music and even video chat while you cook and entertain. Sized to fit securely under our Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Kitchen Stand (sold separately), this speaker features Bluetooth(R)technology that wirelessly delivers exceptional sound quality from any Bluetooth(R)-enabled device, a line-in port for connecting iPods and other portable music players, and two USB ports for charging devices. It can also be used as a speakerphone for your Bluetooth(R)-enabled phone. Designed and developed by Williams-Sonoma. Crystal-clear sound quality in the kitchen - or anywhere in your home. Wirelessly connects using Bluetooth(R)technology. Built-in rechargeable battery makes the speaker portable and provides up to seven hours of play time. Two USB ports recharge your devices - never run out of power during your favorite cooking video or in the middle of a conversation. Speakerphone capability. Nonslip silicone base for stability. Premium finish is easy to wipe clean. We recommend that all current iOS users upgrade to the 6.1 release to experience the best performance from their Williams-Sonoma Bluetooth Speaker.
Average Customer Rating:
2.474 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
7 of 19(37%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dallison
,Reynoldsburg
,Oh
March 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
March 8, 2014
Had high hopes for this item, connected perfectly via Bluetooth however the sound quality not so great. For the price I expected better. I will be returning it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: sound quality
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AZsmitty
,Tucson
,AZ
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bluetooth will not connect!
December 30, 2013
I'm so disappointed. I cannot get my iPhone5 or 2nd generation iPad to connect through Bluetooth. I tried it repeated times and am NOT technologically challenged. I tried unplugging it as suggested in the instructions, to no avail.
Any suggestions would be appreciated before I return it.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KRG126
,Long Beach
,CA
Huntington Beach, CA
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
December 27, 2013
Had my son set it up and it still cuts in and out; ipad speakers are better.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JBinJamul
,Jamul
,Ca
June 5, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Music
June 5, 2013
This music pod is fantastic. Any prior bugs have been resolved. The sound quality is wonderful. The entire unit is fabulous especially for a devoted cook, crafter, painter, or anyone who needs to use their tablet, protect it and have musical ambiance at the same time. This is up to Williams Sonoma standards. Buy it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, sound quality is wonderful
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChappellHillsTX
,Chappell Hill
,TX
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This speaker is a champ
May 27, 2013
I use the speaker in all rooms of my house and by the pool. It works great, never loses signal, fantastic sound.
I had a party last weekend, this little speaker was a hit. Everyone wanted to know where we got it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eduardo323
,Los Angeles
,CA
May 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sleeps even when plugged in?
May 21, 2013
It's worked great for me so far on my night stand constantly plugged in to power. I play the radio app from my iPhone5 to go to sleep.
But when I wake up in the morning, I have to reach over and turn it on before I can use it again.
Is there a way to over-ride this?
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jhulford
,Oak Forest
,Il
April 14, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So-So Sound Quality
April 14, 2013
I really wanted to like this speaker system. It looks great and was super simple to set up and use from my laptop, ipad and phone. I had no connection issues and was actually surprised with the bluetooth range I got from it (around 10-15 ft), but I just couldn't get past the incredibly average sound quality.
I could get almost no real bass range and everything just sounded really tin-y through the speakers and, as a couple others noted, the max volume level was not that great.
I ended up getting another brand's similarly sized and priced speakers that have all the same features and did a side by side comparison...the other device won on sound quality hands down.
My advice, if you're really looking for great sounding speakers, pass on these, but if you want a solid functioning device that looks pretty, go for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: tinny sound
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BonMangeur
,Gurnee
,IL
Illinois
April 9, 2013
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great portable bluetooth speaker
April 9, 2013
I must start by saying that we received this speaker as a gift. Had I read the reviews of the product here, I would not have purchased this speaker. While some have seen less than stellar performance, we couldn't be happier with the speaker. Not once have we had any connectivity problems (or any other issues for that matter). The sound quality is crisp and clear for such a compact speaker. Perfect for the kitchen or office.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: price
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KT9342
,Chevy Chase
,MD
March 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite FM station loud and clear
March 21, 2013
Before ordering the Smart Tool Set, I read the reviews. I was very disappointed with the negative comments that the Bluetooth Speaker got, so I ordered the Kitchen Stand and IPad covers, deciding to wait awhile to order speaker. I waited 2 weeks. The comments got much better. I ordered the speaker, and when it arrived both my husband and I were extremely pleased with the wonderful sound.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NurseJan
,Overland Park
,KS
March 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bluetooth cuts out and goes to sleep
March 9, 2013
Love the concept but it cuts in and out. I have iOS 6.1.2. Goes to sleep after awhile. Williams Sonoma, please fix these problems. Mine will be returned until a better more reliable product comes out.
Disappointing!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TazMan7
,Melbourne
,FL
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Goes to sleep
March 5, 2013
First off, this is a great concept and a nice physical design! Unfortunately, the operational side is far from what is advertised. I purchased this for my wife as a gift and attempted to attach it via blue tooth to her tablet. It will connect, but the connectivity consistently drops. Additionally, regardless if the unit is plugged into an outlet or fully charged, it will go to sleep after a bit. I am totally dissapointed with this product and would not recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Temperamental, operations
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
calcheme
,San Jose
,CA
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Form, Fit and Function
February 25, 2013
I have to admit I bought this speaker with some trepidation because of the reviews I saw here. But its such an attractive speaker I thought I'd give it a shot.
I found it very easy to install (I watched the install video to save some time).
I paired the ipad with the speaker quite easily. Bottom line: From opening package to having the system running was about 5 minutes.
The maximum volume is a little on the low side but its perfectly fine for kitchen and dinner table activities and I also have used for games(as a speaker enhancer) and playing music.
The combination of the speaker and kitchen stand is quite attractive and the ability to operate wirelessly reduce clutter. Battery life is great. As far as the speaker itself the quality is decent but the Smart Tools speaker is not a Bose or Denon speaker. Thats why its probably good to understand what you're using this speaker and not ask it to do things it wasn't intended for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Catherine25
,San Diego
,CA
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sounds awful
February 3, 2013
Connected my i-pad and got a crackly sound, so I connected my i-pod and had the same problem. I am returning it.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SallyT
,NC
January 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loses connection frequently
January 26, 2013
I received this as a gift and was hesitant to even try it out after reading the reviews here. WS assured me that I can return it with no problem, so I gave it a whirl.
Unfortunately, the reviews are correct. The speaker will lose connection frequently for absolutely no reason, even when the device is right next to it. I have an iPhone 4S and an iPad3, and don't plan to upgrade either any time soon. I see no point whatsoever in having a bluetooth speaker that has to either be connected to my device or re-paired often.
So the speaker and complementary iPad holder, to the tune of $200, are going back to the store. It's a pity as the design is cool and the sound is decent. Why the devil don't they test this stuff?
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Michelle, Smart Tools BuyerFebruary 13, 2013
The Bluetooth connection concerns that some users have reported experiencing with devices running iOS 6.0 or iOS 6.0.1 appear to be limited to those two operating system releases. We’ve conducted thorough testing with devices running iOS 6.1 and have found that the Bluetooth interruption problem has been corrected. We recommend that all current iOS users upgrade to the 6.1 release to experience the best performance from their Williams-Sonoma Bluetooth Speakers.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SallyT
Posted May 16, 2013
Change review!
I have tried several times to update this review, but I guess I can only comment. Although an update to iOS wasn't available when W-S commented, it did show up as an option on my iPad a little later. After I updated iOS, the speaker worked very well. I am now really pleased with it--it sounds good and looks good. Glad I kept it.
0points
Customer avatar
TonyAn
San Francisco, CA
Posted February 11, 2013
iPhone 4S with IOS 6.1?
I had the same issue before the IOS 6.1 update came out a few weeks ago. I tried iPhone 4S with IOS6.01, and the bluetooth was unstable especially when streaming music. iPhone 5 worked a lot better with the speaker, but the connection still broke up sometimes.
The IOS 6.1 update seems to fix the problem.... At least, the bluetooth connection on my old iPhone 4S is good now.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Glparoda
,Medina
,Oh
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing gift
January 23, 2013
I received this as an anniversary gift and didn't have any problem pairing with my iPad. The problem started with sound issues. I decided to pair it with my iPhone to see if it would work. The sound was great. Two days later I tried to pair again with my iPad and it would not pair. I then couldn't get it to pair with my iPhone. It will be going back.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HungryHubby
,Wilmington
,NC
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disapointed
January 7, 2013
Like others, I wanted this to work. Bought as a gift for my wife and now I will be making my own dinners. Device keeps dropping the connectivity while paired with a second generation IPad . Nice idea, nice size, great look......Poor execution!
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, poor connectivity
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lacemum
,Augusta
,Ga
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like it a lot, but...
January 6, 2013
Very nice design and very convenient. I have an iPad with 6.0.1 and am also experiencing sound drop out, but can bring it back up simply by touching the volume button on the stand.
For iPad users, I also recommend turning on the bass boost in settings. It helps the sound quality.
Michelle, yes i can use the cord, but the convenience of bluetooth was a big factor in buying the stand. Please let me know when you get a fix, and how to implement it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design, very convenient
Cons: Temperamental
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CavalierSpaniel
,Montclair
,Va
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Faulty Bluetooth
January 6, 2013
We have IPads 3 and 4 using OS 6.0.1 and I bought this for my wife for Christmas. Immediately out of the box, the Bluetooth would keep cutting off. From the comments posted here and on the Apple web store, Williams Sonoma and Apple know of this problem and yet continues to sell this product and either can't or won't offer a solution. We are returning the product and will purchase a Bluetooth device that actually works with Bluetooth.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools Bluetooth(R) Speaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wisdomdakini
Cleveland, OH
January 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loses Connection
January 5, 2013
Just tried out the speaker with my iPad 3 after charging it overnight. It lost the connection after listening to music for a short time. I will be returning it shortly. I have successfully paired my iPad with other bluetooth devices (e.g. Zagg keyboard, Phiaton earbuds, Apple keyboard) so the problem must be with the WS bluetooth device.