Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup

The classic Salam teapot was first created in 1957 by celebrated French silversmith Guy Degrenne, who was inspired by the ancient tradition of Bedouin teapots and the welcoming hospitality of sharing a freshly brewed pot. The elegant design combines a porcelain body with an insulated stainless-steel cover that helps keep tea deliciously warm. Made of white porcelain with a removable insulated 18/10 stainless-steel cover. Felt-lined steel cover helps keep tea at ideal serving temperature for over an hour-twice as long as traditional teapots. Removable aluminum strainer inside holds loose tea leaves; brew tea to your desired strength and then lift out the strainer. 6-cup cap. Hand-wash. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
Review 1 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lauranoelle
April 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as hot as I would like
April 16, 2012
I was hoping this would keep tea hotter longer, I suppose it’s better than a regular teapot but not like the old teapots and cozy’s I remember growing up in Ireland.
I think it’s a bit pricey for the slightly longer warmer tea. I might return it.
Pros: nice looking
Cons: doesnt keep hot for too long
Review 2 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eloisa
April 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A contemporary teapot for making the best tea
April 7, 2012
Absolutely elegant and just the right size. Keeps tea aroma and temperature perfectly. Simply love it.
Review 3 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chrisy
Fords, NJ
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellant tea pot
February 24, 2011
I bought this teapot in Verona, Italy about 20+ years ago. This is the best purchase ever. Brews tea wonderfully, keeps the tea warm to serve for hours. I recently broke the handle and was heart-
broken. I am delighted that I have found a place so that I can replace it. Yes, it is pricey, and I am worth every penny of it. This is a tea lovers delight.
Review 4 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeaJunkie
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great teapot
December 1, 2010
We love our teapot. We've had 2, as I broke the first one. The cover keeps tea warm for a couple of hours. Wish there was a smaller version
Review 5 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CreamTea
St Louis, MO
June 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Large insulated tea pot
June 26, 2010
I would recommend this pot with reservations. The best part is the metal top. However, A. The pot is too big; it is heavier than a tea pot should be. B. The spout is so shaped that it cannot be cleaned out easily. Also, the 4th cup poured slops into the cup, seemingly due to the quantity of tea versus the shape of the spout, and care must be taken not to make a mess. C. The tea does not stay hot beyond 30 or 40 minutes.
Review 6 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KathyJane
Langhorne, PA
February 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks nice and does stay hot
February 2, 2010
I keep my house rather cool, so I was pleasantly surprised that this teapot really did keep the tea hot for about 2 hours. Although others have commented that they would prefer the inner basket to be deeper, I prefer that those last few cups in the bottom of the teapot don't become bitter or too strong. My lovely floral teapots will be for decoration from now on.
Review 7 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LoriMc
Putnam County, NY
November 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For me, it wasn't worth the money
November 5, 2009
Normally I love everything I've ever purchased or received as a gift from WS, but I was disappointed in this teapot. I found that it didn't keep the tea hot enough for very long even when I primed the pot with hot water first. It's certainly a very attractive pot and it keeps the tea hot for as long as a standard teapot does but if the insulation cover doesn't perform over and above what I would expect from a normal teapot, then it really wasn't worth paying 5 times more for this item.
Review 8 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mvrm
Pittsburgh PA
August 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a no-dribble teapot
August 10, 2009
I remembered a pot like this that we received as a wedding present and have wished over the years that we could get another. I looked on the web several times and then when I found it on your web site I ordered it immediately. I like the cozy that doesn't get stained and the way it pours. It is a thoroughly satisfactory teapot. I think that we'll take better care of it this time around.
Review 9 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmickyg
Covington, LA
June 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FABULOUS
June 10, 2009
My husband and I love this tea pot. We are huge tea drinkers and use it every morning. I wake up much earlier than him and make tea in this pot first thing. By the time I leave for work my tea is ready to go and there is still plenty left over for him. And the best part is that it is still nice and hot by the time he gets to drink his first cup! Sometimes we do have leftovers, but we just put it in another pitcher and chill it in the fridge. Also it doesn't drip all over the counter... a huge plus.
Review 10 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glori
Monte Vista, CO
May 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
May 2, 2009
This my new "favorite tea pot"! It keeps my tea hot for a long time!
Review 11 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ILuvTea
Atlanta, GA
April 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Teapot
April 9, 2009
I have had this teapot for nearly two years and it is awesome!!! $99 is expensive but when I bought it, it was $26, that is the best money I have ever spent! I makes a really nice cup of tea and stays hot for ages
Review 12 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tealover94
March 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
attractive & useful
March 28, 2009
I really like how attractive this tea pot is.
It does make a lot of tea for one person, but I just cool the leftover tea in the fridge & then drink it later as iced tea.
It's delicious!
Review 13 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ynyny
New York, NY
February 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great but too big
February 26, 2009
This teapot is fantastic for keeping tea warm and it doesn't drip after your pour which is a great plus however it has two things that really detract. First, because of where the strainer basket sits on the inside, you're forced to make an entire pot of tea, which, given the size of the teapot, is way too much for 1 or even 2 people. Secondly, the way it's designed, both the handle and the spout stick out very far from the body of the pot, so a large amount of space is required for storage -- an issue if you live in a small Manhattan apartment. The pot does keep tea warm for quite a long time, however.
Review 14 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
globalgourmet
San Francisco Bay Area
February 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sized for entertaining
February 25, 2009
Williams-Sonoma doesn't mention the brand, but this teapot is from Guy Degrenne (it comes in the GD box), a classy French brand.
Anyway, the design of the teapot is very clever in terms of keeping tea hot without a distracting tea cosy. I would agree with the other customer who commented that it would be nice if the tea basket went all the way down into the bottom, rather than 1 1/2 inches short. This simply means that a lone tea drinker, like me, has to commit to a lot of tea at one time. It would be great for a couple or small group.
I considered returning the teapot because of the size issue (fyi, the average mug holds about 1 1/2 cups of liquid, so a 6-cup teapot holds four mugs of tea), but the price cannot be beat. This large size is less expensive than the 2-cup version of the same teapot elsewhere!
Review 15 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NancyGT
Fairfield County, CT
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have a cuppa
February 5, 2009
Crisp winter days cry out for a cup of steaming tea. The insulated teapot allows service for several people or a nearly unlimited supply of hot tea just for you! The infusion basket is easy to remove and clean and the pot is easy to wash. A true winner.
Review 16 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
warqueen
south carolina
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great way to make tea for 1 or 2 for long periods
February 5, 2009
By using this teapot you can make tea in the morning and have hot tea most of the day- without having to make another pot of tea. since tea turns bitter when kept hot artificially this is a great way to have great tasting tea all day .
Review 17 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chloe315
NYC
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awkaard Tea Pot
February 5, 2009
Tea surges from spout when pouring.
Normally shoiuld have gradual steady pour, but with this pot one gets an unanticipated surge of tea.
Tea steeping is fine which presents an excellent tea flavor.
Review 18 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ddad
Chicago area
December 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tea pot. Need deeper strainer or smaller ver
December 27, 2008
This is almost the perfect tea pot. Nice that it keeps the tea warm and it looks nice. Frustrating though that you have to fill with 4 or 5 cups to get the water over the tea in the strainer. I rarely need to make this much tea. Make the strainer longer to get toward the bottom of the pot so we can make 2 cups instead of 4 or 5.
Review 19 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nordyshper
Yorba Linda, CA
December 21, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Teapot Ever
December 21, 2008
I am a tea drinker. I brew a pot of loose leaf tea every morning. I have had this teapot for several years and think it is the best. At first I did not want to give up my cute teapots . This teapot won me over. It is easy to use and clean, it has it's own built in tea cozy. The stainless steel always looks nice.
Review 20 for Salam Insulated Teapot, 6-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElizMead
New York, NY
September 30, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best teapot ever
September 30, 2008
This teapot is awesome. It keeps the tea warm for almost 2 hours. It looks nice on the table and the silver cozy keeps it looking so modern. I simply love this pot and I wish it were made in smaller versions too so i could serve different teas to my guests.